Preseason Training Thread - 2014

I would like to believe (hope probably a better word) That Brendon Lade and Maric to a certain degree will improve Shaun Hampsons Ruck work to the level which we all hope .....

And lets just hope that it isnt Richo giving him Kicking advise
If anything imo his ruck work and tapping isn't the issue. Its the game sense and skill work that needs work.

I'm unaware of how he is training at the moment but in line to pay for a car park a man of questionable braincells left after alcohol said "who do ya barrack for mate?" Assuming he meant AFL i said Richmond. He said " I love Aaron Edwards...cool tattoos. He'll kick heaps of goals." In which I smiled but then later thought, what if, with Jack, Tyrone, Jake, etc taking top defenders, this guy with the efficiency he usually has, probably could be a really important piece in the Richmond set up this year.

Reason I posted it here basically was seeing how his body and training is going. Sorry if it has been posted.

In my eyes, Edwards must play. He's our best leading forward, and he's either in front of Jack or just behind in defensive pressure. I'm serious, I would play Jack, Azzaaaaa, TV And Hampson/Maric all through the forward line.
Think of the weight these guys have dropped. Could you play Azza on a wing?

Or he cant run which was a problem when his groins were shot.

I think off memory this pre season he's completed more running than the last pre season? I think it's getting blown out of proportion the state of his groins.

lol

Its actually been reported in the media and besides, i have a better haircut then Ivan :p

Wash your mouth out with shampoo:eek::p

I think off memory this pre season he's completed more running than the last pre season? I think it's getting blown out of proportion the state of his groins.

I would think he would involved in more game based training, than just running, if he didn't have an issue. I do agree it may not have contributed to his performance, so if that is the case, he simply got beat hence the recruitment of Hampson.

Interestingly about Big Ivvy , just watching the rd 19 game 2013 against Hawks and the comontators mention that Ivan was to that point the leading ruck in the AFL in terms of taps to advantage....Not sure where they got the stat from.....

His H.T.A are very good actually but I think maybe it was tapering a little this year. This effectiveness against the tall rucks diminish though.

Did they say hit-outs to advantage or stoppages won that he's participated in? I vaguely remember reading that Ivan was one of the biggest positive differentiators in regards to winning a stoppage last year. I reckon that was because he is pretty good at winning the clearance himself - how many times have we seen him grab the ball out of the air and kick it forward? It's one of the things I really love about him.

From memory TT it was leading the AFL in terms of taps to advantage....:thumbsu:

Had a look at training this morning. My observations - nothing too revolutionary however i thought it'd give others a taste - follow....

• Session was 2 hours at least, with very minimal/no breaks. Rapid changing between exercises, only a couple of 30 second drink breaks. Looked to be high intensity given the heat and wind. Intensity suprised me a little.
  • Rehab group was, Ivan, Jackson, Ricky, Grimes, ....and Thomas or Gordan (I wasn't sure #50).
  • The first drill i saw was main group doing some contested work, while the rehab group (and a few others) executed an exercise where they had balls 20-30 meters in front on them, several had blindfolds on and the others had to call directions for them to locate the balls. Looked to me some friendly competition on banter going on. This lasted 10 or so minutes, there after the rehab group mainly did laps. Ivy, Jacko and Petterd did a heap of laps. Jacko did even more near the end of the session, this time on his own.
  • Main group, which it was pleasing to see Conca and Knights involved in, alternated drills every 20-30 minutes.
  • About 30 minutes into the session I got reminded, quite professionally i might add, that the session is intended to be 'closed' and I'd have to relocate from my vantage point of the JD stand construction site to outside the gates. ....they didn't seem too fussed by it all - however in that spirit I'll refrain from giving anything but general obs below (not that I'm an expert in such matters, or i saw anything that'd I'd consider out of the ordinary). I'm glad they are taking this seriously.... Relocated to the super store and watched the rest through the fence.
  • Main group started with a short kicking .....I'm talking <10 metres..... drill. Multiple footy's, some guys sharp with this, others less so. This session had the most mistakes IMO and was only just ok in terms of skills.
  • Main group then moved onto medium length kicking, looking for the loose man essentially 30-40 meters away. Multiple groups.
  • Then moved onto long kicking, essentially using 100 meters or so to link up then deliver to a lead and receive the handball back. This was slick from what i saw. Not mu pressure but skills good/slick.
  • ....It was during this long kicking, or may have been the medium stuff, where Dimma at one point stopped the entire drill and made some very strong words about not marking the ball on the chest but using the hands out in front. Was really forceful. Was really basic instruction but good i thought.
  • There was a short burst of contested work, and i was surprised (but perhaps it is normal) how hard guys were putting others on the ground in the tackles. A couple i'd say are only just short of dumping the guy. Looked to be a focus to ****** the guy (slightly) after he deposed of the ball, and i saw this later in the match stuff.
  • After that was basically match simulation, only one ball, and the focus looked to be getting the ball out of the defensive 50. I could elaborate more on what i saw tactically, however wary of the closed session matra. Ross Smith and Lade were very vocal in this drill.
  • End of the session had some guys shooting for goal, which was tricky in the wind.
Other thoughts:
  • Lennon looks ready to go physically to me. Good definition on arms and shoulders. Kicking, as folks have mentioned, looked great. In match simulation he looked to be getting some advice from Chappy and others in terms of game plan/positioning ....so not sure he's ready in that respect but physically looks to be in the mix with good skills.
  • Hampson is huge. Again, others mentioned this. Took one cracking grab in match simulation. Got his hands much higher than anyone else in the pack;
  • Jack's whole face was white zinc cream. Looked like Marcel Marceau - funny. Waved his arms about a bit like him at times too. Looks fit.
  • No kingy at the session,....however sat next to him at the local cafe about 10 mins later. Given I'm not an underworld figure, and i didn't share a late with him, while Benny Gale may have no issue with it, the Hearld Sun will probably try to drag something up ;-)
  • No Houli either, congrats to him on the baby!
Pretty general i know - hopefully enough to give you a footy fix. If you have any specific questions I'm happy to try to answer.

Cheers,
TerraTiger.

Nice one !! TerraTiger ,really good post and I like the way you've mentioned the need to be mindful not to give away too much......but enough so we can get an idea of the session, cheers :thumbsu:

Hampson keeps getting the same remarks, big monster, hopefully he monsters the ruck. Was Griffs in it? Just can't wait to see the boys line up.

Thanks Terra

Extremely good reports coming out of tigerland this off season regarding both Astbury & Griffiths
Hopefully both these boys really step up and fill the kp posts in our team - Very excited about the way our depth is developing and the pressure for spots will be up there with the top teams.

Just need that 1 more big bodied classy inside mid

Sounds like Rance and Astbury are competing with each other which is great for Astbury. Couldnt learn off a harder worker.:thumbsu:

I've always liked Astbury... I think the only think holding him back is his pace and - unlike most of our players in the past, this might be because he put on too much size too early.

This is a possibility D.G, however we must remember that this is his first uninterrupted preseason and another couple more(on top of this in a row) and his pace (if in fact it is an issue) will be something he will work on. Also given that our head of fitness has been @ RFC for only 2 preseasons (this being his second) he will still be learning about each individual player and refining their training (guided by the coaches expectations etc). If both David & Ben can stay fit without major injury concerns this season, we may well see the emergence of a couple of very strong players at best, at worst a couple of solid contributers...Go Tiges :thumbsu:

Last edited by a moderator:
That's just B.S , I just lost a whole post Mods. That's never happend to me before guys. Doe the system still have teething problems Mods ???

Sorry guys I didn't realise you could click the bottom of the post to expand it out....:oops:

Preseason Training Thread - 2014