'Questions that don't warrant a thread' Thread - Part 2

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/video/2015-05-16/team-song-hawthorn

I was listening to the players sing the song after the match and I think they have it wrong but want a second opinion.

From what I can hear it sounds like the players sing 'one for all and all for one is the way we ARE at hawthorn' where as the lyrics I always knew and which are published on the hawks website 'one for all and all for one is the way we PLAY at hawthorn'. Am I mishearing, got the words wrong or do the players really not know the words to the song??

Here are the lyrics:

http://m.hawthornfc.com.au/fans/club-song

I was listening to the players sing the song after the match and I think they have it wrong but want a second opinion.

From what I can hear it sounds like the players sing 'one for all and all for one is the way we ARE at hawthorn' where as the lyrics I always knew and which are published on the hawks website 'one for all and all for one is the way we PLAY at hawthorn'. Am I mishearing, got the words wrong or do the players really not know the words to the song??

Here are the lyrics:

Maybe they changed it to "are" because there is more to Hawthorn now than just the players? I don't know tbh

Here are the lyrics:

You are correct, they sing 'are' and not 'play'. It's not that they don't know the words, I think it was unofficially changed to 'are' some time ago but don't know the reason why. It's been like this for quite a while though. I prefer 'play' but that's because it's what I grew up with but don't have any strong objections to 'are' (strange for me as this is exactly the sort of thing that I would usually get my knickers in a twist over :p ).

I sing what the players sing, have done every night as a lullaby to my daughter who is now 13 (and she still likes her "songs" every night). I may miss around 10 per year for various reasons, so thats 355 * 13 = 4615 :)

to us, and the players, its "are" :)

I sing what the players sing, have done every night as a lullaby to my daughter who is now 13 (and she still likes her "songs" every night). I may miss around 10 per year for various reasons, so thats 355 * 13 = 4615 :)

to us, and the players, its "are" :)

Fair enough, but it was originally 'play' and if you listen to the official version that's what it still is. I always sing 'play' myself (have done for many years as well).

Under my username it says "Premiership player"
I've noticed others have "Norm Smith medalist", "Brownlow medalist", "All Australian", "Club legend", etc
Is it the amount of posts you make, likes you receive, years on BF, or whatever that gets you different descriptions?

Pretty sure its based on number of posts.

Seems like it at times doesn't it.

(I don't even get Bay 13, who wants to post just to get abuse hurled at you? :confused: )
I rarely venture out of team boards, but have been poking my head in there a bit lately and it seems every thread is trolling.

I like bay 13, banter and sledging is fun in its place.

Just saw the Queen on tv. Jesus Christ how good is her rack? Must be double D pushing E. God Bless the Monarchy..

Was wondering if you guys could settle a conversation I had with a Hawthorn supporter mate and perhaps tell me I am crazy. I could have sworn I saw footage of a Hawthorn side from the 70's or 80's including Rodney Eade etc singing Sons of the Sea (a sea chanty that our Sons of the West/Scray is based on). They were even doing the "bobbing up and down like this" actions along with the lyrics. Did I see a one off, did this happen often or am I crazy?

Thanks guys

Have been really disappointed in the 2015 season.I get the feeling we're yesterday's news nobody is talking about us there's no excitement etc obviously due to where we are on the ladder and our results.I'm kind of missing that "the hawks are unbeatable " vibe.the only time there was much said about us was when clarko belted the port fan and our champs got two and three game suspensions.All the wrong kind of press.Hope we can hit the headlines for all positive reasons soon.So much talent in our team but all we're hearing about is Sydney and freo:(etc. I guess your either hot or your not... Fickle game this footy.

With the majority of commentators former players, (including so many dick heads) how would you feel if some spots were given to ex umpires?

I think it would probably take some of the biased remarks out of the commentary. Maybe even a better idea on disputed decisions. I reckon it would be good.