News Record Membership

The average member.

Who is less passionate than the member of the past.
Do you think that members in general are less passionate than they were in the past, SJ? If so, why do you think this? The AFL juggernaut making all clubs less attractive? The clubs doing more things behind closed doors than they used to- i.e. less interaction between players and supporters?

And what about the blue-rinse set that people are complaining about who apparently don't make enough noise or who tell people to be quiet or whatever? they don't sound like New Members to me.

And is there a difference in the passion between a member and a supporter- is a member more passionate because they paid for a membership?

It's actually piss poor after such a successful era. To many fans and not nearly enough members.
But the AFL keeps making attending the footy less attractive and watching on TV more attractive.

So if you live an hour or more from the footy (as a large proportion of Geelong supporters would), why would you bother signing up?

But the AFL keeps making attending the footy less attractive and watching on TV more attractive.

So if you live an hour or more from the footy (as a large proportion of Geelong supporters would), why would you bother signing up?
Be interested to know how many people have taken up the streaming option with their membership, as well.

I'd be interested to know how many more people are watching live footy on Foxtel (via new subscription) or free to air (only came on board in recent years).

Yeah the number is big even if people don't go to the games.
The main thing with three game or zero game memberships is that it is still another email address, and as mentioned before, another potential lead that can be sold to sponsors.

It leaves clubs open to get potentially six figure membership tallies if they want, which would def be valuable, but for the bottom line they really need us turning up to KP and buying chips and donuts and scarfs and stuff

I also think you'll see the membership options change for next year in reaction to the overall loss in membership revenue.

I could see the 3 game going away and becoming a 5 game, or at least another option between full 11 game and 3 game.

There is a void there IMO and the club should fill it.

Go Catters

Well, if you are a lazy tightarse who doesn't give a stuff about your club you wouldn't bother. Doesn't appear to be bothering Hawthorn or Collingwood supporters does it?

There are Melbourne home games for Melbourne members. It's shameful how we are regularly outnumbered 3 or 4 to 1 at our Etihad home games. So many of us don't deserve the success we've had.

Well, if you are a lazy tightarse who doesn't give a stuff about your club you wouldn't bother. Doesn't appear to be bothering Hawthorn or Collingwood supporters does it?

There are Melbourne home games for Melbourne members. It's shameful how we are regularly outnumbered 3 or 4 to 1 at our Etihad home games. So many of us don't deserve the success we've had.
Of course it affects those clubs.

Have you ever been to a Hawthorn home game? Their reserved seating area at the bottom of the southern stand is regularly half empty.

Have a look at their membership growth.
Yes. But their members can rock up without a ticket weekly and get a good seat.

And also who knows what type of memberships those are.

Yes. But their members can rock up without a ticket weekly and get a good seat.

And also who knows what type of memberships those are.
Loyal and devoted ones who show their support by tipping in and going to games. Reckon we'd be the only club that regularly has more oppostion supporters at Melbourne based home games. Plenty here are only too willing to hand out so-called advice but whose care goes no further than sitting on their fat arses in front of the telly probably watching through the bottom of a stubby.

Maybe because we are the only non-Melbourne-based club to play home games in Melbourne.