Discussion Round 1 Best 22

Agree.
Think he will be an important cog but there is a lot of water to go under the bridge.
I seriously hope he cements his spot though.
We seem to have identified some attacking weapons during draft and free agency, something that I think caused us to have not many legitimate avenues to goal last year.

Wasn't just you, hope you didn't feel singled out.
I just think you can physically see the difference he makes back there across the whole ground.
The way we defend, the way we counter, the way he directs traffic and the way we move the ball are all completely different.
Example would be the dogs game at the end of this season, I think that was the game, we obviously didn't win but I think Fisher having a few games under his belt started to be seeing the game again, and really put his stamp on it.
Not the best player on the ground, but it was coming back to him.
So important to our short term success.

Not at all mate. No stress. To be honest, I had simply overlooked him. You'll see in my team I've gone for a balance of experience and youth in our forwards and defenders, so fisher is important for that. If I had thought of him at the time he certainly would have been on there.

For me he's battling for longer for a spot. Not to be ruck but another tall

I think he plays hff before Acres does, ATM Longer is Ruck or bench IMO.

Roo, Membrey & 1 of Lee/White/McCartin* are my 3 'tall' fwds - initially.

I have a feeling Lewis Pierce is going to surprised a few of us in 2015.

Heard from a friend of mine who is also friends with Lewis that on a few occasions in his school football days (i think it was School footy) that he was a good contested mark up forward and kicked 5 goals on a few occasions.

Could that have been because he was about 20cms taller than everyone else though?

Can play Lewy, but I've not seen much that says he's much of a part-time forward.

If pierce (or Holmes for that matter) plays well this year then goodbye to one of the ruckman through trade

Early predictions:
- Lonie and McCartin will get plenty of games
- Bruce will play a lot of games due to his versatility (ruck/fwd/back)
- Longer will become no.1 ruck
- Ross and Saunders to have big years
- Will only play one of Curren and Saunders and one of Wright, Webster and Murdoch

FB: Geary, Delaney, Dempster
HB: Gilbert, Fisher, Webster
C: Ray, Armitage, Newnes
HF: Montagna, Riewoldt, Billings
FF: Templeton, McCartin, Bruce
R: Longer, Weller, Steven
I: Acres, Ross, Saunders, Dunstan
Sub: Lonie

Emergencies: Savage, Wright, Murdoch

Early predictions:
- Will only play one of Curren and Saunders and one of Wright, Webster and Murdoch

I think AR allready said that lonie will play mostly in the vfl next year (along with Sinclair)

Early predictions:

Huge call leaving out Sav IMO.

Early predictions:

You have 1 to many on I/C

I don't recall Bruce ever playing ruck, at any level. Would love to be corrected as he would have serious versatility if he could play as a tall utility (def/ruck/fwd), depending on match ups and game day flow.
But yeah, purely as a forward I would love White/McCartin to overtake Bruce, but feel that at their current development, Bruce will get the nod in round 1. As soon as Fisher/Gilbert goes down, Bruce straight into a key defensive post.

Apparently Bruce played ruck in his very first VFL game against Port.

If pierce (or Holmes for that matter) plays well this year then goodbye to one of the ruckman through trade
And leave us with literally a single backup option? VERY doubtful when teams like Geelong struggled getting one of four on the park this year.

So you wanna pay a ruck 400k to play in the vfl?

You reckon Lewis Peirce is gonna be on 400k a year?
I did say if one of them step up..

+ the new tv deal will mean players contract will be larger than ever

Assuming a fully healthy list

B- Dempster Delaney Geary
HB- Gilbert Fisher Webster
C- Newnes Armitage Savage
HF-Billings Riewoldt Membrey
FF- Saad Lee Hickey
F- Longer Dunstan Steven

B- Acres Bruce Montagna Sub: Templeton

Emerg- Ross,wright, white

Notes:

- Bruce off the bench for the perceived flexibility he brings
- lee ahead of white on the basis that he desperately needs to show a lot this year
- longer and hickey have to play out of necessity at the moment. I favour hickey considerably over longer

Assuming a fully healthy list

B- Dempster Delaney Geary
HB- Gilbert Fisher Webster
C- Newnes Armitage Savage
HF-Billings Riewoldt Membrey
FF- Saad Lee Hickey
F- Longer Dunstan Steven

B- Acres Bruce Montagna Sub: Templeton

Emerg- Ross,wright, white

Notes:

- Bruce off the bench for the perceived flexibility he brings
- lee ahead of white on the basis that he desperately needs to show a lot this year
- longer and hickey have to play out of necessity at the moment. I favour hickey considerably over longer
If we have a full healthy list, Saad is no chance he is a rookie

Saad wont go straight back into the team after a year off. He will rip it up in the VFL though once he has his footing back. Betting on 4 goals opener.

BrianSpeaking said he would be the best of the lot!

Anyone know what kind of ruckman he'll become?

There are two ways to approach this question. One is personell, and one is position.

Let’s start with personell. First of all, I see no reason at all to pick any of our newbies. There are plenty of others who can play before them, and the top two of them – McCartin and Goddard – are both key position, and so will need some time in the VFL anyway.

From a personell perspective, who are the absolute non-negotiables, the must-picks, if fit? I’d say: Fisher, Delaney, Dempster, Geary, Webster, Bruce, Steven, Armitage, Dunstan, Newnes, Montagna, Savage, Riewoldt, Billings. That’s 14 of the 22. Let’s place those 14 in their positions on the ground (and sure, I’ll use the traditional format, even though I dislike it):

FB: Geary, Delaney, Fisher
HB: Dempster, Bruce, Savage
C: Newnes, Steven, Armitage
HF: Billings, Riewoldt, ????
FF: ????, ????, ????
FO: ????, Dunstan, Montagna
INT: Webster, ????, ????, ????

That leaves 8 spots. These have to fit positional needs. I don’t think there’s any needs for the backline that aren’t filled. Here’s how I’d answer each of those remaining needs:
  • 2 ruckmen: I’m going to go with 2 rucks, rather than 1 and relying on a non-specialist ruck to chop out. I'm not ecstatic about that, but hey. I’m hoping Longer and Hickey can eek out a goal or two each.
  • 1 Full-forward: I’m going with White. I think he’s the most senior of the options (which is saying something). McCartin has plenty of time on his side.
  • 1 Third-tall forward: I’d give that to Lee, but I think that his defensive pressure is pretty weak. I’d give it to Membrey, but I’m still a bit worried about him from a height perspective. Siposs and Murdoch are other options, that are also a bit short. Agh, I’ll pick Lee, because I think he needs to be given a final chance. But I wouldn't be surprised if Membrey gets a shot, because he's the shiny new toy. If so, Lee MIGHT squeeze White out for the FF spot, even though he's not a FF at all.
  • 2 inside mid grunts: I’d like a little more grunt in the middle, so I’d go with Curren and Weller. I suspect, though, that the Club will pick Ross over Curren, which I don’t like, but yeah.
  • 2 outside mids: Webster and Savage can rotate onto the wing from the back line, and Billings can do the same from the forward line. Ray isn’t part of my must-pick 14, but is darn close, so gets in just on seniority. That leaves one more spot, which needs to be about pace, something we really lacked last year. Some options for pace include Markworth and Acres, although both of them are very inexperienced, so if they’re going to get that spot, that may need to be based on NAB form. I’ll go with Wright for now.
So:

FB: Geary, Delaney, Fisher
HB: Dempster, Bruce, Savage
C: Newnes, Steven, Armitage
HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Ross
FF: Lee, White, Longer
FO: Hickey, Dunstan, Montagna
INT: Webster, Weller, Wright, Ray

Some “raised eyebrows”, in terms of those not selected, might include:
  • Gilbert: put simply, I think the game has slipped by him, that he’s too injury prone, and am at the very least very sceptical that he will be fit enough for Round 1.
  • Templeton: I would love to get him in, as he is a walking membership drive, as well as a talented player. But I think he’ll just have to wait. Still, I wouldn’t be surprised if he was picked.
  • Acres: He is one of the most talented on the list, and his NAB form could get him that last outside-mid spot over Wright. But right now, he’s still too green, for mine.
  • Saad: No question, I would find a way for him to be picked, if he wasn’t a rookie. If there’s a long term injury, he’d be #15 on my must-play list.
And thus endeth my verbose answer to a simple question.

The senior non negotiables are pretty obvious IMO. The youngster version for mine are:

Billings
Dunstan
Acres
Eli
Webster
Wright
Newnes

If fit all must play. Ross, Saunders, Murdoch, Minchington, Curren etc need to work to get to that level.

I like your logical approach Perse...however, i can't have Roo, Lee, White & Longer in the Fwd line...add Ross in and opposition would walk out of there like a sunday morning stroll...

I'm starting to go against the Longer & Hickey partnership (It's a shame Lee isn't an inch taller). Maybe we need them both? I'm not sure.

Here's a couple of alternatives:

HF Billings Riewoldt Membrey
F Lee White Templeton

or

F Longer White Templeton

Personally, i'd go the first option, make Hickey work extra hard and make Lee the chop-out ruckman for 5 mins a Qtr.

Now I know some of you aren't gonna like this at all straight up. But I think the saints need to just bite the bullet and stop playing as many experienced players, to give valuable games to many of our youngsters.

B: Wright, Delaney, Fisher
HB: Webster, Bruce, Savage
M: Acres, Armitage, Montagna
HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Membrey
F: Lee, White, Templeton
Foll: Hickey, Steven, Dunstan
I/C: Weller, Ross, Newnes, Saunders (sub)

To start off answering some questions;
  • Gilbert: not included as he is simply never going to play to the same standard he did and his place is better taken giving experience to Wright/Webster/Newnes etc.
  • Ray: Simply no way that we can play Ray over the likes of Acres/Savage or even Ross, he severely lacks the disposal efficiency (or percieved disposal efficiency) or the ability to impact a game to warrant taking a spot and in my opinion has become a list clogger.
  • Dempster: similar to Gilbert in that he won't play at his best again, or if he does, for much longer. Despite being fully fit he is also the same in that I think his place would be much more valuable given to a kid.
  • New Draftees: as hyped as we all get about the new draft players, none of them are simply ready to play afl yet, let alone warrant a spot ahead of an older player, perhaps later in the year.
  • Longer: IMO, we really dont need a second ruckman especially with both Lee and Bruce able to pinch hit in the ruck. Although if someone were to provide a decent argument he could take Seb Ross' place on the bench.
  • Schneider: I think this one is pretty obvious, we only rookie listed him as a poor man's coach and I think both the club and Adam knew that. However he could play every third or fourth game for say Acres or Templeton if they needed a break.
  • Saad: as much as I would love to include him, unless Gilbert goes down with another LTI he is saadly ineligible to play round one :( He is IMO the best small forward we have by a fair distance.
  • Geary: While some people are real fans of Geary he has never really stood out to me as one who is a particularly outstanding player in any category and his place would alongisde both Dempster and Gilbert would likely be better used by Wright in particular who is similar but slightly better in most categories as well as being significantly faster.
  • Curren: another like Geary who tries his hardest but apart from having huge arms doesn't really have anything interesting about his game, he has weak disposals and a complete lack of game sense that sees him unable to find a large amount of the ball, fatal for an inside mid.
That is all.

B: Dempster, Delaney, Geary
HB: Savage, Fisher, Webster
C: Montagna, Dunstan, Newnes
HF: Billings, Riewoldt, Membery
F: Longer, Lee, Curren
R: Hickey, Steven, Armitage
INT: Ross, Weller, Bruce
S: Templeton/Acres

I like your logical approach Perse...however, i can't have Roo, Lee, White & Longer in the Fwd line...add Ross in and opposition would walk out of there like a sunday morning stroll...

I'm starting to go against the Longer & Hickey partnership (It's a shame Lee isn't an inch taller). Maybe we need them both? I'm not sure.

Here's a couple of alternatives:

F Lee White Templeton

or

F Longer White Templeton

Personally, i'd go the first option, make Hickey work extra hard and make Lee the chop-out ruckman for 5 mins a Qtr.

Well in an ideal world I'd go

HF Murdoch Riewoldt Membrey
F Saad That bloke from Geelong Billings

and Bruce on the bench