Round 23 Announced

Short memory. Go back to 2012, the year the AFL gifted you a flag by taking the Friday night game away from minor premier Hawthorn, gave it to their love child Sydney to make sure they had the longer rest and preparation for the Grand Final. Mate, everyone knows who the AFL's favourite team is, they wear red & white, so stop embarrassing yourself.

Both Prelims should be played on Saturday if they are at different venues.

What's the problem with Saturday night games?

I fully understand the Friday Night and Thursday night arguments. But is Saturday night really that much of an issue?

It's less attractive to Melbourne-based supporters, but by the same token, it's probably much better for a significant portion of Geelong-based supporters, who have local sporting commitments and the usual weekend stuff to do on Saturday afternoon. Swings and roundabouts. I live in Melbourne, but at the end of the day, the club should put its local supporters first. It does seem like Geelong (and/or the AFL) is loving the novelty of having the lights though.

I did think that Hawthorn had been looked after a bit with a Friday night game, but it's pretty hard to complain, when you factor in that they'll be coming off a Sunday afternoon game against the Dockers at Patersons in Round 21, followed by a Saturday evening game at the MCG against Geelong in Round 22. It's a bit problematic for a Geelong supporter to complain about Hawthorn's armchair ride, when we get to play them in the penultimate round on two days' less recovery and coming back from WA the previous week. Looks like being a reasonable weekend of footy, with Collingwood v Hawthorn and Fremantle v Port Adelaide shaping up as huge games for both teams.

Good enough for the GF.
And if you'd read my posts after you'd realise that my reasons why don't exist for the GF.

But hey why bother doing that when you can just drop in a smart ass one line.

It's less attractive to Melbourne-based supporters, but by the same token, it's probably much better for a significant portion of Geelong-based supporters, who have local sporting commitments and the usual weekend stuff to do on Saturday afternoon. Swings and roundabouts. I live in Melbourne, but at the end of the day, the club should put its local supporters first. It does seem like Geelong (and/or the AFL) is loving the novelty of having the lights though.

I did think that Hawthorn had been looked after a bit with a Friday night game, but it's pretty hard to complain, when you factor in that they'll be coming off a Sunday afternoon game against the Dockers at Patersons in Round 21, followed by a Saturday evening game at the MCG against Geelong in Round 22. It's a bit problematic for a Geelong supporter to complain about Hawthorn's armchair ride, when we get to play them in the penultimate round on two days' less recovery and coming back from WA the previous week. Looks like being a reasonable weekend of footy, with Collingwood v Hawthorn and Fremantle v Port Adelaide shaping up as huge games for both teams.
Hell yeah gringo we got the easiest draw this year everyone knows that esp. Pussy & bleeder supporters. ;)

And if you'd read my posts after you'd realise that my reasons why don't exist for the GF.

But hey why bother doing that when you can just drop in a smart ass one line.

So should the AFL do what the NFL does in the States and stay away from particular time slots all together so that other grades of the game get the uninterrupted spotlight?

NFL only touches Saturdays late in the season, if at all, to give College Football the most exposure. Friday Night is for the high schools.

So should the AFL just retire Saturday arvo footy for local grades?

Typical AFL looking after the Pies and Hawks and burying the ladder leaders on Saturday twilight.

Maybe they know something about the ladder positions come the final round that you don't know. As for minor premiers being shafted by the AFL, cough- 2012 prelim schedulding - cough.

For all the whingers out there go and make a better fixture if you're not happy, doubt it could happen.

Collingwood v Hawthorn - despite Collingwood's current form have to assume they will still be in contention for finls come Rd 23. Game will draw 70k+
Carlton v Essendon - probably only real contentious one. Essendon are expected to play finals as it is unlikely any potential ASADA penalties will be handed down between now and then given the legal wrangling. AFL would definitely like Judd to announce his plans before the game to help boost numbers, would still be expecting 60k at game. Only option for this game is direct swap with North v Melbourne.
Sydney v Richmond - Swans will finish top two and AFL would want them on Friday or Sat night, almost certain to be Saturday night 1st week of finals if they finish top 2.
North v Melbourne - As above only real option was to swap with Carlton v Essendon.
Geelong v Brisbane - Geelong still top 2 prospect, will all remaining games and they will be, as such will get Friday or Saturday final.
Gold Coast v West Coast - Gold Coast still mathematical chance, but with no Ablett unlikely, would of swapped with Adelaide v St Kilda for time slot.
Adelaide v St Kilda - There will always be one finals contender getting the Sunday slot. Surprised not the early game, but will mean if Adelaide make finals they'll play on the Sunday in week 1. Firmly believe given the later slot to please Ch7
Western Bulldogs v GWS - this game was pencilled in as Sunday twilight from the moment the fixture was released. Whilst it is not popular with Bulldogs fans, the AFL will always have a game picked for Rd 23 which they are over 90% certain will involve two teams that won't make finals.

*Watch for something like St Kilda v GWS in the fixture next season as the AFL estimate of two teams highly unlikely to play finals so they have a Sunday twilight option straight up.

Is it Freo or Port you hate? ;)

Neither. It's the whole everything West of the Eastern states can drop off into the Indian ocean.

Freo v Port - Freo play Brisbane away on the Sunday so a 5 day turn-around coupled with the flight back from Brisbane meant they were never an option to play on the Friday night. Given then that they had to give Port the chance to get back to Adelaide on the Saturday it was always going to be an afternoon game.

To all other club supporters - how would you feel if your club was made to play 85% of your games in the Sunday Graveyard shift? Welcome to the life of a Dogs supporter. We are never on Free-To-Air TV either. I reckon we've had about 4 games this year on FTA.

So, what you're saying is you dont play Monday or Thursday nights? Maybe you need to put a spoonful of cement in your morning cuppa tomorrow :thumbsu:

They only play 6 Sunday twilights anyway, hardly 85% and 3 of there last 4 games are FTA.

• Collingwood v Hawthorn - MCG - Friday, August 29 - 7:50 PM
  • Carlton v Essendon - MCG - Saturday, August 30 - 1:45 PM
  • Fremantle v Port Adelaide - PS - Saturday, August 30 - 1:10 PM
  • Sydney v Richmond - ANZ - Saturday, August 30 - 4:40 PM
  • North Melbourne v Melbourne - ES - Saturday, August 30 - 7:40 PM
  • Geelong v Brisbane - SS - Saturday, August 30 - 7:40 PM
  • Gold Coast v West Coast - MS - Sunday, August 31 - 1:10 PM
  • Adelaide v St Kilda - AO - Sunday, August 31 - 2:50 PM
  • Western Bulldogs v GWS - ES - Sunday, August 31 - 4:40 PM
Good a Saturday game so we get a good break when the AFL kicks 6 teams out of the finals.

• Collingwood v Hawthorn - MCG - Friday, August 29 - 7:50 PM
  • Carlton v Essendon - MCG - Saturday, August 30 - 1:45 PM
  • Fremantle v Port Adelaide - PS - Saturday, August 30 - 1:10 PM
  • Sydney v Richmond - ANZ - Saturday, August 30 - 4:40 PM
  • North Melbourne v Melbourne - ES - Saturday, August 30 - 7:40 PM
  • Geelong v Brisbane - SS - Saturday, August 30 - 7:40 PM
  • Gold Coast v West Coast - MS - Sunday, August 31 - 1:10 PM
  • Adelaide v St Kilda - AO - Sunday, August 31 - 2:50 PM
  • Western Bulldogs v GWS - ES - Sunday, August 31 - 4:40 PM
If the final 8 turns out as it is now:
Friday night MCG - Hawthorn v Geelong
Saturday afternoon MCG - North Melbourne v Essendon
Saturday night SCG/Homebush - Sydney v Fremantle
Sunday afternoon AO - Port v Adelaide

Eddie seems rather quiet about sunday twilight now the pies arent playing them. Thought he was the voice of the people?
Eddie was vocal about Sunday NIGHT games.

But is saying that, Pies playing 3 Sunday twilight games in a row at the moment so not really sure what you are on about?

GWS play less sh1t late Sunday slots than Collingwood.

Carlton v Essendon should draw a massive crowd if it's a half decent day in Melbourne.
I reckon they'll get about 55,000.

There is always a bigger crowd for the 1st match of the year between Carlton and Essendon.

The only times the return match has drawn more than 60k in recent years was in 2009 and 2011 when both teams were in the Top 8. The matches in 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2013 averaged 57,300. (This was with one team in the Top 8 and the other team outside the top 8)

Blues fans have mostly stayed away in 2014, so maybe they'll turn in droves for the last game.

Short memory. Go back to 2012, the year the AFL gifted you a flag by taking the Friday night game away from minor premier Hawthorn, gave it to their love child Sydney to make sure they had the longer rest and preparation for the Grand Final. Mate, everyone knows who the AFL's favourite team is, they wear red & white, so stop embarrassing yourself.

Someone forgot to tell the umpires you bitter and twisted old fool.

The truth hurts… :rolleyes:

I've bolded the teams who received the extra day's break before the Grand Final

2013 - Haw (1st) v Frem (3rd)
2012 - Haw (1st) v Syd (3rd)
2011 - Coll (1st) v Geel (2nd)
2010 - Coll (1st) v St K (3rd)
2009 - St K (1st) v Geel (2nd)
2008 - Geel (1st) v Haw (2nd)
2007 - Geel (1st) v Port (2nd)
2006 - WCE (1st) v Syd (4th)
2005 - WCE (2nd) v Syd (3rd)
2004 - Port (1st) v Bris (2nd)