School Football Scholarships

A few years ago as many would remember Haileybury gave a huge number of scholarships. A lot of these were to boys from Catholic Schools (mainly St Bedes, who incidently went back and played for St Bedes in ammos), a huge fuss was kicked up by St Bedes and competing APS schools and an agreement was apparently reached that boys would not be poached.

In the last two years however it would seem this agreement has been thrown out the window with several schools grabbing players in their final years of schooling.
i.e
CGS:
Shiel (St Bedes), Kelly (St Bedes), Gotch (De La) , Maley (St Bedes) + there usual country kids - Bugg (Gippsland) Thorsen, several cricketers Wyatt, Lanigan and Paynter.

Others such as Roberts (MGS, was De La) and Boyd (BGS, St Bedes) have also been added.

Are they poaching these kids or are the kids approaching the schools?
Also are the catholic schools, going to let this happen or complain as they have in the past?

I have no affiliation to the Catholic schools however kids changing school at this later date does make a mockery of the comp.

The other major source of scholarships is the VIC Metro and VIC Country u15 schoolboys teams, which are often coached by APS associated people.

From last years teams alone the following have arrived (to my knowledge):

Thorsen (CGS), Hrovat (Carey), Bolger (MGS), Mottram (Car).

No doubt there are others I have missed and many also arrive in years 7,8 and 9.

Iknow a couple of boys that went to caulfield in year 10/11 for football and they approached the schools because there mates at the school from their tac sides had talked up the schools, cant really do much about it when a kid wants to go to a better school to play footy with his mates.

mate your an absolute idiot. you have no clue. pull your head out of your ass and stop acusing schools of doing so. i can tell you for a fact that wesley and xavier DON'T hand out scholarships. its just who ever goes to the school, and depends on the year levels and how much kids can actually play some good footy.

Gents, we all know every school has them and it is not worth arguing about whether it happens or whether it doesn't.

What you need to understand is how the scholarships actually work. There are schools who own up to their actions and admit they give out scholarships for football. But the dispute occurs when schools like Xavier operate far more under the radar giving out "general excellence scholarships" which are coincidently given to high class footballers.

The most famous scholarship nowadays is the "indigenous scholarship" which Xavier has given to the likes of Casey Sibosado (Fremantle) and current students Basil Sibosado(Brother of Casey) and William Rioli (Cousin of Cyril/NT state team).

Now i am certainly not condemning scholarships as they give a lot of kids great opportunities and the creates a high class comp but what annoys me and many others is when schools claim they don't give out these scholarships.

I am sure that it works like other schools that give similar scholarships, for every one they give out to a bloke with football skills there would be a whole bunch of others that arent good at footy.

true but it could also be argued that the "bunch of others who aren't good at footy" only exist to justify granting scholarships to talented sportsman. otherwise why aren't there academic standards that need to be met for such "general excellence scholarships" ? why do talented sportsman receive their scholarships in the same intake as the other scholarship recipients? the point is that there is a strong case that suggests those who receive "general excellence scholarships" only serve as camouflage to conceal schools' aggressive recruitment of talented sportsmen. i have no actual qualms with the process, but what I do have a qualm with is the clandestine nature of such programmes and I question the purported moral force behind them.

I am sure that it works like other schools that give similar scholarships, for every one they give out to a bloke with football skills there would be a whole bunch of others that arent good at footy.

Yeap that is probably something i should have said and that is my bad. There are certainly scholarships given for other things but what i was trying to get across was the process in which schools "recruit" players but without offering a football scholarship as such

Willie Rioli is not on any type of scholarship given out by Xavier College. Rioli's funds to come to the private school are being payed by the Melbourne FC. Being related to Cyril (Rioli) and the entire Rioli clan to pass through the AFL/VFL, another of his cousins is Austin Wonaeamirri who referred his club to the 16 year old from the North. Melbourne spent all last year deciding on which school to send him to, evidently Xavier college was the outcome. it had the best balance of Schooling Education to Football for his development. The Sibosado Brother's were not handpicked from their region in Western Australia also. They are on an 'Indigenous Scholarship' and were lucky for Xavier's sake that they are capable footballers. Xavier College does not give out Sporting Scholarships.

The original question was is it right or wrong?

Is it wrong to give a good sportsman a chance to go to a good school and maybe better themselves and raise the standard of the game.

Maybe it is wrong that the boys that have been playing in the team for the previous 4 years do not get a look in in senior football.

It is right that the existing players are subject to outside completion from new players.

Does it help the competition if some teams are able to purchase players and create an uneven competition. It could then becomes a bit of an arms race.

The risk then becomes that there is one team with a couple of very good players thrashing all of the other teams with one or two good players - this does not help the competition.

What I suspect happens is that the coaches get together (and they all know each other and love the game), and they say for the betterment of the competition we should all have a couple of extra lads. There would be a realization that bring in too many would be detrimental to their whole competition.

One way or another it happens. Does not mean that the players perform either.

So there you are ...... AFL socialism at grass roots level. A bit similar to the draft, but with a bit of MAD thrown in.

I just dont understand why everyone is so quick to deny that their schools give sporting (or general excellence) scholarships. They all do and to suggest they don’t is incredibly naïve. Just as they do with music and academic talent. It just the focus varies from year to year. Haileybury where absolutely red hot for a number of years about football but I believe they have now put their energies into music and academia. Some schools go through a phase when they are more intent on swimming or athletics. BGS built a pretty handy cricket team a few years back. St Kevs, Xavs, Cauflied, MGS ….. the list goes on. But what’s the big deal? The ACC and state schools have the cleaners put through them for their best sporting talent every year and just accept it as the way it is. Good on them. No one begrudges talented sportsmen getting a free or reduced education at an elite school on the back of some sporting ability. I just don’t get why everyone is so quick to deny it happens. There is big $ involved in attracting students to APS and AGSV school (although I concede that it happens far less in the AGSV). Obviously the powers that be reckon that a favourable sporting profile is good for the brand.

What does give everyone the $hit$ is when misinformed idiots carry on about how such and such a school produced this AFL footballer or that state cricketer, or this Olympic athlete. They seem to forget that the player in question probably played 100 –150 games of junior football with a particular club, spend 6 years at a primary school and in several cases often spent the formative years of his/her secondary education at another school all together. And maybe just maybe the player himself had just a little bit to do with their own development! Reality is that many are only at the school in question due to their existing prowess anyway.

Nothing wrong with taking pride in how your team is travelling but seriously this bull$hit about how many (insert relevant elite sport) you have produced is very very tiresome.

They seem to forget that the player in question probably played 100 –150 games of junior football with a particular club, spend 6 years at a primary school and in several cases often spent the formative years of his/her secondary education at another school all together. And maybe just maybe the player himself had just a little bit to do with their own development! Reality is that many are only at the school in question due to their existing prowess anyway.

Nothing wrong with taking pride in how your team is travelling but seriously this bull$hit about how many (insert relevant elite sport) you have produced is very very tiresome.
Could not agree more. It's always disappointing ( esp. for parents / volunteers ) when terrific junior footy clubs are plundered. As soon as elite enters, team vanishes.

The scholarships go out after the 15's (for years 11 & 12)

By that stage, the numbers are significantly reducing.

Not sure of a plunder, but an opportunity to play at a higher level. The representative sides are a similar aspect. It is just too hard for young bodies to play club and rep school/district football.

Again, it happens because the competition is more intense.

Not Auskick.