Season 2008

no kicks20

Mar 23, 2008
Wodonga
So for every1 thats not in the region who won the league b & f? And what was the team of the year?

B: Cusworth (DMB) Elliott (DMB) Kindellan (KSC)
HB: Demarte (Barn) Dickens (C) (Chilt) Mounsey (DMB)
C: Rhodes (KSC) Day (KSC) Duryea (Wag)
HF: Culph (MU) T.Halliday (Beech) Osbourne (Wag)
F: Bradshaw (Barn) McEvoy (MU) Ja. Bartel (KSC)
R: Goonan (DMB) J.Nelson (MU) Hansford (TV)
Inter: McNeill (Barn) Fraser (MU) Jo. Bartel (KSC) Head Cassidy (Chilt)

What do the thurgoona boys think of the team of the year?:D:D

Run Straight

Dec 14, 2006
Thurgoona
B: Cusworth (DMB) Elliott (DMB) Kindellan (KSC)
HB: Demarte (Barn) Dickens (C) (Chilt) Mounsey (DMB)
C: Rhodes (KSC) Day (KSC) Duryea (Wag)
HF: Culph (MU) T.Halliday (Beech) Osbourne (Wag)
F: Bradshaw (Barn) McEvoy (MU) Ja. Bartel (KSC)
R: Goonan (DMB) J.Nelson (MU) Hansford (TV)
Inter: McNeill (Barn) Fraser (MU) Jo. Bartel (KSC) Head Cassidy (Chilt)

What do the thurgoona boys think of the team of the year?:D:D

I thought our best chances were Brett Wightman & Lucas Mellier, however we only won 5 games and looking at the team above I can't see which midfielders they might've pushed out. Todd Miller was probably unlucky not to grab a forward pocket, with 61 goals, ahead of Bradshaw not many and Bartel 32.

axernator

Rookie
Dec 27, 2007
ALBURY
wat happened 2 junior boy? mark 'cyril' jones! no votes in league medal. or no mention in team of year.any thurgoona supporters wish to comment?

benchwarmer1

Feb 15, 2007
Albury
wat happened 2 junior boy? mark 'cyril' jones! no votes in league medal. or no mention in team of year.any thurgoona supporters wish to comment?

did mark 'cyril judd' jones play this year? :D todd miller very unlucky i would have thought. agree with run straight some quality midfielders and only a couple of spots so very unlikely to get anyone else in maybe an argument for mark haydon did destroy bradshaw when they went head to head but maybe end of season form wasnt quite as good. good luck to everyone in finals, looking forward to it

Sunny Days

Apr 12, 2008
Wodonga
Melbourne Storm
What are peoples thoughts/predictions on this weekends first round of finals? I look forward to reading them. Mine are:

SAT:
1sts - Mitta to regain some lost form in a tight tussel against DMB. DMB will be confident after defeating mitta 2 weeks ago, and with the return of Dasher Elliott, however the return of a few key mitta players will make all the difference to the finals specialists. Mitta by 24 pts.
2nds - KSC will just edge out Barny with the result being much closer than last weekend. KSC will lose Alderman, R.Vogel and Arnott who have all played too many senior matches and these players will be hard to replace. If Barny play hard, physical footy they will push KSC all the way however, KSC by 8 pts.

SUN:
1sts - Barny will be too strong for Tallangatta. The tigers will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing showing against KSC last week. I would love to see Tallangatta advance to the second week of finals but I think Barny will win by 17 pts.
2nds - Terrific to see Wod Saints in the finals this year. They have played it clever and dropped some eligible senior players into the reserves line up over the past 6 weeks and are playing some good footy. They may even be a roughy for the flag. Hopefully they have a win. Saints by a comfortable 33 pts.

Good luck to all teams.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

switch the play

Jan 7, 2007
albury
What are peoples thoughts/predictions on this weekends first round of finals? I look forward to reading them. Mine are:

SAT:
1sts - Mitta to regain some lost form in a tight tussel against DMB. DMB will be confident after defeating mitta 2 weeks ago, and with the return of Dasher Elliott, however the return of a few key mitta players will make all the difference to the finals specialists. Mitta by 24 pts.
2nds - KSC will just edge out Barny with the result being much closer than last weekend. KSC will lose Alderman, R.Vogel and Arnott who have all played too many senior matches and these players will be hard to replace. If Barny play hard, physical footy they will push KSC all the way however, KSC by 8 pts.

SUN:
1sts - Barny will be too strong for Tallangatta. The tigers will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing showing against KSC last week. I would love to see Tallangatta advance to the second week of finals but I think Barny will win by 17 pts.
2nds - Terrific to see Wod Saints in the finals this year. They have played it clever and dropped some eligible senior players into the reserves line up over the past 6 weeks and are playing some good footy. They may even be a roughy for the flag. Hopefully they have a win. Saints by a comfortable 33 pts.

Good luck to all teams.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Don't know whether your team-mates would like to hear you say you would love to see Tallangatta advance to the second week of the finals when you are playing against them Sunny Days!Was there any truth to the rumour there was doubts on the elegibility of Sharp recruited from Wodonga Sunny days to you guys?Apparently there is continuing debate over his clearance being lodged and approved so a source from Chiltern was telling me.Apparently they were looking at it very closely with the league.Is it all clear and the Tigers are set to play on Sunday?

Sunny Days

Apr 12, 2008
Wodonga
Melbourne Storm
Don't know whether your team-mates would like to hear you say you would love to see Tallangatta advance to the second week of the finals when you are playing against them Sunny Days!Was there any truth to the rumour there was doubts on the elegibility of Sharp recruited from Wodonga Sunny days to you guys?Apparently there is continuing debate over his clearance being lodged and approved so a source from Chiltern was telling me.Apparently they were looking at it very closely with the league.Is it all clear and the Tigers are set to play on Sunday?

Sorry STP but you have a case of mistaken identity. I dont play with Barny.:)

oldmanemu

Aug 6, 2006
here
Haven't been here for 12 months, but I would like to congratulate Darren Mathey and everyone at the Tallangatta Footy Club on making the finals this year in the ones.

After opening my mouth too often last year, and then speaking to the man himself, I realised how passionate he was about the Hoppers, and going from where they were last year, to making the 5 is a magnificent effort.

Hopefully, the TFC can advance deep into the finals, and even go all the way.

Go Hoppers!!!!

Bodiefish

Apr 30, 2008
Australia
Umpire Appts for 1st week of finals

Seniors
Mitta v DMB: D Wilkinson, S Larcombe
Tall v Barny: W Martin, J Hawkins

Ressies
KSC v Barny: J Quilivan, N Healy
Chilt v WS: P Haddrick, J Knight

Martini

Rookie
Apr 27, 2007
Wodonga
Kiewa
Wodonga Saints are an easy club to bag or ignore because obviously we haven't won too many games over the last few years. But yesterdays win just gave our club some hope that all is not lost. Our last few weeks we have come close to winning but yesterday made this season worth playing for.
The seconds will be in the finals, the seniors will win next week and hopefully this will give us some momentum for next season.
Well done to all involved

your dreamin pal.

you have dropped half your senior side back to the reserves and you still wont get passed this weekend.

and if your using last week as momentum for next year then you blokes are screwed.

i reckon wahgunyah had a weekend off and they sent the o&m jets over to play for em against your mob.

HAWK20

Jan 11, 2008
Wodonga
your dreamin pal.

you have dropped half your senior side back to the reserves and you still wont get passed this weekend.

and if your using last week as momentum for next year then you blokes are screwed.

i reckon wahgunyah had a weekend off and they sent the o&m jets over to play for em against your mob.

Mate, if you don't know what your talking about why post at all?

If you think there are more than half our senior side playing in the reserves why don't you name them?

There are only 3 blokes in the reserves that have played a couple of senior games, the rest of them have played in the 2nds all year. Of those 3 blokes, none of them have played more than 5 senior games cause they were dropped.

As for momentum what better way to go into the finals than beating 3 teams (Yack, Wahgunyah & Thurgoona) in a row that were all fighting for a spot in the finals. Not bad form in my book.

Martini

Rookie
Apr 27, 2007
Wodonga
Kiewa
Wodonga Saints are an easy club to bag or ignore because obviously we haven't won too many games over the last few years. But yesterdays win just gave our club some hope that all is not lost. Our last few weeks we have come close to winning but yesterday made this season worth playing for.
The seconds will be in the finals, the seniors will win next week and hopefully this will give us some momentum for next season.
Well done to all involved

Mate, if you don't know what your talking about why post at all?

If you think there are more than half our senior side playing in the reserves why don't you name them?

There are only 3 blokes in the reserves that have played a couple of senior games, the rest of them have played in the 2nds all year. Of those 3 blokes, none of them have played more than 5 senior games cause they were dropped.

As for momentum what better way to go into the finals than beating 3 teams (Yack, Wahgunyah & Thurgoona) in a row that were all fighting for a spot in the finals. Not bad form in my book.

seems im not the only one who doesnt know what im talking about! thurgoona handed your ass to you.....or did you still want to talk about reserves football?

your reserves are only there to make up the numbers pal and like just like your senior team they will be given a football lesson. i reckon those three other clubs will be happy to sit out of the finals rather than embarass themselves like your side will in front of a finals crowd. aint nobody gonna remember who finished 6th 7th or 8th but they'll remember the sides that made a dick of themselves come finals time.

your club is a rabble

HAWK20

Jan 11, 2008
Wodonga
seems im not the only one who doesnt know what im talking about! thurgoona handed your ass to you.....or did you still want to talk about reserves football?

your reserves are only there to make up the numbers pal and like just like your senior team they will be given a football lesson. i reckon those three other clubs will be happy to sit out of the finals rather than embarass themselves like your side will in front of a finals crowd. aint nobody gonna remember who finished 6th 7th or 8th but they'll remember the sides that made a dick of themselves come finals time.

your club is a rabble

Obviously our club is struggling and it's easy for someone like you to take potshots at us. Even if we get our reserves team in the finals you still want to bag us. What have you got against us?

Weren't we talking about reserves in the first place?
You said that we had half our senior side in the reserves which I just told you was incorrect. Our club hasn't played finals for a while so don't you think it would be good for morale for 1 side to make it even if it is the reserves?

Bodiefish

Apr 30, 2008
Australia
Playing they have also signed Dale Andrews on the front foot early the dogs good to see. Massive win yesterday fitting send off i think

Friggin Hilarious! He must weight 150kg by now, is the forward line at Thurgoona big enough for him to even fit on the ground??:confused:

Also, if Andrews is signed, the doggies will have to expand the canteen and should be able to get sponsorship from every physio/paramedic in the area with the money he spends to go see them after every game!!:thumbsu:

Look forward to a good 3-4 quarters for the Doggies in '09!:D:D

bfox06

Draftee
Jan 1, 2007
where i shouldn't
Friggin Hilarious! He must weight 150kg by now, is the forward line at Thurgoona big enough for him to even fit on the ground??:confused:

Also, if Andrews is signed, the doggies will have to expand the canteen and should be able to get sponsorship from every physio/paramedic in the area with the money he spends to go see them after every game!!:thumbsu:

Look forward to a good 3-4 quarters for the Doggies in '09!:D:D
still be handy perched in the square. I reckon two bob may have a few ex barny players as well as a certain lavy reserve grade coach and a few lavy ressies heading his way. Don't know for certain but could be on the cards

Run Straight

Dec 14, 2006
Thurgoona
What happened at Cowpat Park today, I haven't seen any results yet. I went out yesterday and watched Mitta drag the game against Dederang down to a contested pack-ridden slugfest, which is exactly what they want. The sooner sides realise that if you let them play their style of game you will never beat them, the better. As the Sydney Swans have proven, that style of play is not pretty, but extremely effective against sides that don't know how to cope with it. Any comments on yesterday's or today's games?

The porch monkey

Apr 2, 2007
Woop Woop
What happened at Cowpat Park today, I haven't seen any results yet. I went out yesterday and watched Mitta drag the game against Dederang down to a contested pack-ridden slugfest, which is exactly what they want. The sooner sides realise that if you let them play their style of game you will never beat them, the better. As the Sydney Swans have proven, that style of play is not pretty, but extremely effective against sides that don't know how to cope with it. Any comments on yesterday's or today's games?

I went out today RS, Barny beat Tallangatta easy by about 10 goals. Were up for most of the day and game over half way thru the third quarter. Back to the drawing board for The Hoppers. Wodonga Saints won the 2's by a kick. Not sure of the junior results.

Run Straight

Dec 14, 2006
Thurgoona
I went out today RS, Barny beat Tallangatta easy by about 10 goals. Were up for most of the day and game over half way thru the third quarter. Back to the drawing board for The Hoppers. Wodonga Saints won the 2's by a kick. Not sure of the junior results.

Thanks porch, I can see that the results are now up on the website. Barnesy must've finished the free men's club beers at Sandy Creek and got home to post the results. Unless they've now got satellite broadband out at Cowpat Park. Next week, the big rematch, Mitta v Kiewa. Who will win and why ??

Albert Park

Jan 23, 2007
Albert Park

Interested to know what you mean by that RS, and what if any, is the solution ?

Run Straight

Dec 14, 2006
Thurgoona
Interested to know what you mean by that RS, and what if any, is the solution ?

Mitta are extremely good in tight, so if the game turns into one where there is a lot of packs forming, it plays right into their hands. When the game slows, they keep sending men to the stoppages, and opposition players keep following them to the stoppages, thus creating more packs and slower movement of the ball. (Which is reflected in their low scores). The solution is divide & conquer. Make sure you don't get sucked in to having a stoppage with 10 of each team around it. Stand a couple out away from the pack in a dangerous spot, as a go to man if you win the ball. They then have to decide whether to man the free players up or not. Having a 10 to 8 advantage in a confined space is not really an advantage, but having 1 or 2 free men away from the pack is. If they send men away from the pack to man you up, send another one out to find a space. And so on until you spread them out, then use leg speed to burn them off.

* As a member of the sacked coaches club I take no responsibility for any damage the above tactic may cause.

Albert Park

Jan 23, 2007
Albert Park
Mitta are extremely good in tight, so if the game turns into one where there is a lot of packs forming, it plays right into their hands. When the game slows, they keep sending men to the stoppages, and opposition players keep following them to the stoppages, thus creating more packs and slower movement of the ball. (Which is reflected in their low scores). The solution is divide & conquer. Make sure you don't get sucked in to having a stoppage with 10 of each team around it. Stand a couple out away from the pack in a dangerous spot, as a go to man if you win the ball. They then have to decide whether to man the free players up or not. Having a 10 to 8 advantage in a confined space is not really an advantage, but having 1 or 2 free men away from the pack is. If they send men away from the pack to man you up, send another one out to find a space. And so on until you spread them out, then use leg speed to burn them off.

* As a member of the sacked coaches club I take no responsibility for any damage the above tactic may cause.

Mitta's scores have indeed been low. Struggled to kick over 10 goals for the last 4 or 5 weeks.

What is going on with coaching positions next year ?

Barny: Burgess, 1st year so will probably go again, but rumoured to be in for the Rovers job.
Beechworth: Romeril stood down, searching.
Chiltern: Dickins not coaching, searching.
Dederang: Dicketss done 2 years, job would be his if he wants it.
Kiewa: Plenty of rumours from the nest that only a flag will save Bone.
Mitta: Cohen again despite upsetting plenty of the locals.
Rutherglen: Definitely Sarue, they love him down there.
Tallangatta: Mathey again.
Thurgoona: Hargreaves appointed.
Wahgunyah: 1st yr coach so probably go again.
Wodonga: Butters finishing, job available to those who want it.
Yack: Been disappointing but probably Lillis again.

Anyone confirm or deny or add anything ?