Should WA secede

Are you saying that Tasmania will take that job over from WA, or what?

Anyway if some oldies want a sea change, selling a $1 million house & moving to Tassie, that would give them a good lifestyle.
Biggest issue there is lack of specialist medical care.
But cost of living and housing much less.

Interesting observation - thats the transparency of supply & demand. Excess demand & discounting real value, & lack of supply allows premium pricing.
That some try to characterise the WA pricing as gouging demonstrates their lack of understanding of how footy clubs make a profit without the scourge of pokies & associated social ills (as recognised by Geelong).
It's called you people being suckers and choosing to pay for it.

How specialist do you mean? RHH is a tertiary level hospital. Only very few specialist cases need to go to Melbourne. Its the case that very difficult cases go to the highest specialists in Melbourne of Sydney. The same would apply to Canberra or Newcastle, or indeed Gold coast, Townsville etc.

Cost of living would be higher, but off set by cheap housing. Petrol is dearer, but you dont have to drive as far!:p

It's called you people being suckers and choosing to pay for it.

To some the Tas sponsorship is Tas taxpayers being played for suckers - Caroline Springs folk pumping up Hawks pokies income ?

WA fans see club profits ploughed back into WA footy, whereas Vic clubs leave it to the AFL ?

How specialist do you mean? RHH is a tertiary level hospital. Only very few specialist cases need to go to Melbourne. Its the case that very difficult cases go to the highest specialists in Melbourne of Sydney. The same would apply to Canberra or Newcastle, or indeed Gold coast, Townsville etc.

Cost of living would be higher, but off set by cheap housing. Petrol is dearer, but you dont have to drive as far!:p
Had friends who weren't able to access a urologist so had to see one in Melbourne.

To some the Tas sponsorship is Tas taxpayers being played for suckers - Caroline Springs folk pumping up Hawks pokies income ?

WA fans see club profits ploughed back into WA footy, whereas Vic clubs leave it to the AFL ?
See, most would just say that the AFL is its own competition which truly does not give a fig for other competitions such as WAFL.

Bit rich, bit like describing Melbourne as the epicentre of protected industry - every car West Aussies bought for decades went to support SA & Vic jobs. No protection, no jobs.

So who are the suckers, your term Cranka, who?
Well, I'm not paying my money to fund competition that I have no interest in. And if I lived in WA I'd forgo the displeasure of sitting in an overpriced substandard stadium (as you have previously mentioned that the WA ground is crap compared to Etihad) just to support the WAFL. I'd let them die.

Bit rich, bit like describing Melbourne as the epicentre of protected industry - every car West Aussies bought for decades went to support SA & Vic jobs. No protection, no jobs.

No, based on my line of work and what I've heard from other medical professionals that work in Tasmania, about the lack of access for public specialist services.

Well, I'm not paying my money to fund competition that I have no interest in. And if I lived in WA I'd forgo the displeasure of sitting in an overpriced substandard stadium (as you have previously mentioned that the WA ground is crap compared to Etihad) just to support the WAFL. I'd let them die.

You summarise the difference in attitude between the States very well . WA footy is not just the WAFL, the money goes to the WAFC. Given your ignorance check out what the WAFC do:
http://www.wafootball.com.au/wafc/organisational-chart

Not sure I ever described the difference in stadiums as crap, no doubt you will prove me wrong.

You summarise the difference in attitude between the States very well . WA footy is not just the WAFL, the money goes to the WAFC. Given your ignorance check out what the WAFC do:
http://www.wafootball.com.au/wafc/organisational-chart

Not sure I ever described the difference in stadiums as crap, no doubt you will prove me wrong.

I'm pretty sure that you did say that you couldn't understand all the Vic supporters who refuse to go to Etihad, which was much better to watch football from than Subiaco. Although we're probably derailing this thread back to actual football instead of SRP.

And yes, you are correct in that I do not have a care about what happens to grassroots/ VFL football. Long term that is going to be a problem for the AFL competition - how the grassroots has been cut off. And one of the big drivers as I see it is the giant TV deals that allow full access to the "top level" competition - why go and pay to see the local club when you can watch the "best clubs" for free? Or why pay the high entry costs at Subiaco when you can watch it for free (may feel differently if I followed freo or the eagles, granted)

No, based on my line of work and what I've heard from other medical professionals that work in Tasmania, about the lack of access for public specialist services.

Based on my line of work, access via private insurance for most specialists is ok, the waiting list for public patients is a problem. Outside of Hobart it gets harder, reason being the same for most regional/country areas, that specialists need a large enough population to give them enough of the types of patients they need to justify their time. Also Guments cant pay heaps to keep the full range of specialists sitting around in rural areas. The specialists just wont go their.

And for those in the northern part of the state, accessing Melbourne is easier than going down to Hobart, with more available choice.

I'm pretty sure ...

And yes, you are correct in that I do not have a care about what happens to grassroots/ VFL football. Long term that is going to be a problem for the AFL competition - how the grassroots has been cut off. And one of the big drivers as I see it is the giant TV deals that allow full access to the "top level" competition - why go and pay to see the local club when you can watch the "best clubs" for free? Or why pay the high entry costs at Subiaco when you can watch it for free (may feel differently if I followed freo or the eagles, granted)

Why pay the cost seems to be a driver of Melbourne based fans, when equalisation ..... is the TAC cup grassroots footy & AFL money well spent? The WAFC funds the equivalent WA comp, producing the likes of Hogan, Cripps, Sheed, O'Meara, Jack Martin ... the national comp is well served from WAFC spending, spending on the back of the Subi management deal & dividends from the Dockers & Eagles.

WA fans seem to value their footy more highly than you do Cranka.

Secession would also stop the conveyor belt of money from West to East.
Go for it secede, ha! Mining only makes up 8% of Australia's GDP and the tax payers in the east subsidise most of the roads, healthcare, education, and infrastructure you need in the West. Just face it the east would cope much better without W.A than W.A would without the east. In fact if W.A did secede it'd be in recession and poverty stricken within the decade due to falling resource prices and falling demand for resources especially from China, not to mention the huge amount of capital that would discontinue flowing from the Aus federal govt in to W.A., so I say go for it! I understand your sentiment in a way as I hate NSW, and QLD and wish Victoria could secede from them, but now I'm becoming more ambitious about it and really think the AFL states and territories VIC, SA, WA, NT, Tasmania should just unite and secede. Leave those redneck pommy football code loving convicts to destroy there own little nation. Imagine it! Finally all our states would get some non NSW players in the Australian cricket team, we'd have a less backward electorate and wouldn't have to tolerate those pathetic nothing clubs like Sydney, GWS, Brisbane, and Gold Coast being in the AFL.

WA, NT and Qld secede leaving Vic, NSW and Tassie

SA can choose either side as they suit the south east better but the north west needs cheap labour
No it would be better this way:
  • WA, VIC and Qld secede
  • WA, VIC and Qld sign non aggression pact
  • VIC annexes Southern NSW, SA, Tasmania
  • QLD annexes NT and Northern NSW
  • Sydney walled off

Go for it secede, ha! Mining only makes up 8% of Australia's GDP and the tax payers in the east subsidise most of the roads, healthcare, education, and infrastructure you need in the West. Just face it the east would cope much better without W.A than W.A would without the east. In fact if W.A did secede it'd be in recession and poverty stricken within the decade due to falling resource prices and falling demand for resources especially from China, not to mention the huge amount of capital that would discontinue flowing from the Aus federal govt in to W.A., so I say go for it! I understand your sentiment in a way as I hate NSW, and QLD and wish Victoria could secede from them, but now I'm becoming more ambitious about it and really think the AFL states and territories VIC, SA, WA, NT, Tasmania should just unite and secede. Leave those redneck pommy football code loving convicts to destroy there own little nation. Imagine it! Finally all our states would get some non NSW players in the Australian cricket team, we'd have a less backward electorate and wouldn't have to tolerate those pathetic nothing clubs like Sydney, GWS, Brisbane, and Gold Coast being in the AFL.

You sure you are across the financial side of things ? Maybe you could back it up, can you? For example:
http://www.agriculture.gov.au/ag-farm-food/crops/wheat
The majority of Australian wheat is sold overseas with Western Australia the largest exporting state.

Easy to make claims b-lighty, just as easy to support them.