Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening

Yes. Massively

Shit if what you say is correct, the uplift above and beyond what was expected must be somewhere between $5 and $10 million. And these theiving campaigner's wanted to take it all. It is all starting to come together, the SANFL know that they couldn't get this past most of the populace bar a few remaining troglodites. They can go and get ****ed.

Shit if what you say is correct, the uplift above and beyond what was expected must be somewhere between $5 and $10 million. And these theiving campaigner's wanted to take it all. It is all starting to come together, the SANFL know that they couldn't get this past most of the populace bar a few remaining troglodites. They can go and get stuffed.

Now for shits and gigs we should just burn down SANFL headquarters and take a shit on it.

5AA sports show should be interesting listening on Saturday. It's going to sound like an alley full of howling cats on heat.

Yes. Massively

Can I just say, this is a massive massive relief and turning of the tables.

I had previously heard whispers - well before the national media began agitating on our behalf and Fagan arrived to serve as a bulwark to our efforts - that the renegotiated deal would effectively be like signing a hit on ourselves should we have inked it.

The sleeping giant awakes.

I reckon the sleeping giant was always awake, it was just being kept alive like the junkie in Se7en. Now the giant is going to get full unit blood transfusions, a massive protein hit and a hard run around Nad al-Sheba. Awake, alive and increasingly powerful. Watch out.

And don't underestimate the role of the new crows CE in joining a truly united front, not Trigg's fawning $anfl sycophancy, as well as background leverage from the SA government. This was never a deal KT could have pulled off alone.

Congratulations to all concerned. Some crows' supporters will feel strangely empty about their not-a-part-of-the-Adelaide-bubble CE helping out Port. ;)

I reckon the sleeping giant was always awake, it was just being kept alive like the junkie in Se7en. Now the giant is going to get full unit blood transfusions, a massive protein hit and a hard run around Nad al-Sheba. Awake, alive and increasingly powerful. Watch out.

And don't underestimate the role of the new crows CE in joining a truly united front, not Trigg's fawning $anfl sycophancy, as well as background leverage from the SA government. This was never a deal KT could have pulled off alone.

Congratulations to all concerned. Some crows' supporters will feel strangely empty about their not-a-part-of-the-Adelaide-bubble CE helping out Port. ;)

When enough water goes under the bridge and historians look back on these days as 'olden days', the SANFL's governance of the game and sheer hubris will be viewed not unlike a dictatorship in the heart of civilised Europe.

"What? They were allowed to do that? And the masses loved it?"

Correct. My post a month or so ago was in relation to a critical event relating to this exact thing. I hope the details all see light of day very soon.

The North Adelaide board member I work with couldn't see the forest for the trees, insisting that everything wrong with football in this state is all Port's fault. He loved to remind everybody in the office about the huge dollars handed to the club by the SANFL, and he ridiculed the idea that our crappy stadium deal had anything to do with the fact that we've been making losses. Rather it was allegedly to do with the club's administrative incompetence.

He'll be rather sad today, as he reflects on our financial windfall.

The North Adelaide board member I work with couldn't see the forest for the trees, insisting that everything wrong with football in this state is all Port's fault. He loved to remind everybody in the office about the huge dollars handed to the club by the SANFL, and he ridiculed the idea that our crappy stadium deal had anything to do with the fact that we've been making losses. Rather it was allegedly to do with the club's administrative incompetence.

"Administrative incompetence"? Financially running an AFL club takes a bit more than getting the errand boy to run the gate and food receipts down to the Prospect Rd H & R Block every June 30.

Have I missed something somewhere?
Have the details been released?

Still find it hard to believe we will make a profit this year based on what was being said early on in the piece regarding the extra share that we were after.

A totally different set up from next year onwards yeah very possible but hard to see that being the case for 2014.
The only thing that could change that this year would be a reduction in expenses, including the sinking fund that REH talked about, if that is applicable.

I wanna know if this deal will make us better off for when we take our inevitable tumble to the lower parts of the ladder and our crowds start to drop to the High 20's low 30 thousand's or even lower. I'm not saying that those crowd levels are a certainty, they may still be very high when we have a down period, but just in case I'd like to know that we'll be safe if it does happen

"Administrative incompetence"? Financially running an AFL club takes a bit more than getting the errand boy to run the gate and food receipts down to the Prospect Rd H & R Block every June 30.
Mate I'm totally with you there. Of course, convincing my colleague of these facts is pretty much mission impossible.

Edit: he doesn't like it when I talk about 1989.....

Despite holding that view, he was part of a board that was happy to put a merger proposal to Port (I think it was Power Raid who mentioned this some time ago).

I pity you :) That is quite amusing. Have you mentioned Norrrfs financial woes in the last decades and how it took a rich mogul to pull them out of the shite. LOL at it being all our fault, yep some has been but "all" hmmmm fairly typical of these SANFL twats!

Still find it hard to believe we will make a profit this year based on what was being said early on in the piece regarding the extra share that we were after.

A totally different set up from next year onwards yeah very possible but hard to see that being the case for 2014.
The only thing that could change that this year would be a reduction in expenses, including the sinking fund that REH talked about, if that is applicable.
We'll remain in the red this year AFAIK.

Makes sense ... SANFL would have been quick to spend any uplift in case they feared a review in our favor ... campaigners

This

Please don't howl me down for what I am about to say.

I was firmly against Port's entry into the AFL;

1. Because allowing you in effectively ended my clubs existence in the AFL and

2. Your entry potentially had a limit on the supporter base given you were one of nine or ten clubs in SA at the time and I thought that in the down times it could finish you.

Congrats that you have survived the down times and now look set to prosper and hopefully have attracted some extras from the SANFL clubs who don't like the Crows.

I feel despite this deal looking like it will set you up for a bit, you need to make hay while the sunshines. the SANFL competition as you know it will drop massively as a result of this and I tend to think you will still cop most of the blame or at best 50%.

Still some rocky times ahead, but a good outcome nonetheless.

This

2. Your entry potentially had a limit on the supporter base given you were one of nine or ten clubs in SA at the time and I thought that in the down times it could finish you.

Congrats that you have survived the down times and now look set to prosper and hopefully have attracted some extras from the SANFL clubs who don't like the Crows.

I feel despite this deal looking like it will set you up for a bit, you need to make hay while the sunshines. the SANFL competition as you know it will drop massively as a result of this and I tend to think you will still cop most of the blame or at best 50%.

Fitzroy were shafted by the AFL because Port were promised as the next team.The AFL could have saved them and still let Port in.Look what has come since with GC and GWS but unfortunately there was and still is too many Victorian teams.

This

May have been one of ten clubs but Port was by far the biggest club in terms of supporter base in the state, you could get a few thousand between a South North H/A game but a Magpies game was always guaranteed big numbers and also being an AFL team would give the ability to grow from the largest supporter base possible.

The big supporter numbers came from the fact I believe that Port was always winning throughout the decades (which is also why all the other clubs supporters hate port so much more than any other individual club). I remember when I was 6 and a classmate came up to me and asked which club I went for (I grew up 2 minutes from NAFC in a non footy family), I said I don't have one and he said I should go for Port Magpies and I said why and he said "because they always win". To a 6 yr old with no allegiances that was as good a reason as you could get.

This

I have no doubt that as part of this new deal the AFL will have committed even more funding to SA junior development as compensation, assumedly with caveats such as the SANFL salary cap coming into line with the WAFL and VFL and so on.

The AFL have committed $45 mil to the sanfl for junior development over 15 years as part of the licence negotiations.

Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening