Sunshine Coast looking to relocate a Melbourne-based club

People in western Victoria have grown up with AFL so the teams they support won't be altered by the Bulldogs playing a few games at Ballarat. I think it's good that we will see a few live games in Ballarat, shame it's going to be at that horrible ground though.
Yeah I know and I don't expect may old fans to switch over straight away (or at all) but it's the youngster and family's they have to target, like Hawthorn have done with Launceston down in Tas. If the Doggies go to the schools, give back to the community, market themselves well and have 3-4 (however many games it is) Ballarat memberships then they can really grown their brand. They need to target towns like Stawell, Ararat, Avoca, Beaufort, Skipton, Lexton, Creswick ect... that are much closer to Ballarat then Geelong if they want to make it work. It won't stop Geelong from still having a giant presence out that way but it could persuade a lot of people to get involved with the dogs.

The best way to grow your support base is through premiership success. Its no surprise that the most popular football clubs headline the premiership tally

If the Dogs won 2 or 3 flags over a decade their support base would snowball considerably

Recent history suggests the Tigers are more likely to go to Queensland than Hawthorn.
I wouldn't think so.;)

30 years of no flags and not really been very good onfield yet the club is thriving off field and membership will likely nudge 70k this year.

I don't think any other club could achieve that if they were over 30 years in the wilderness.

Hawthorn HAS to win flags.

The best way to grow your support base is through premiership success. Its no surprise that the most popular football clubs headline the premiership tally

If the Dogs won 2 or 3 flags over a decade their support base would snowball considerably

Oh for sure, that goes without saying.

Nice opportunity for Hawthorn the Sunshine Coast.

face palm** please don't be another flog... there's more than enough in this thread already

I wouldn't think so.;)

30 years of no flags and not really been very good onfield yet the club is thriving off field and membership will likely nudge 70k this year.

I don't think any other club could achieve that if they were over 30 years in the wilderness.

Hawthorn also has the 2nd largest revenue, 2nd most members, the 4th strongest balance sheet and has been consistently amongst the top 5 home and away drawers for almost a decade (5th, 4th, 5th, 5th, 4th, 5th, 3rd) in spite of Tasmania - including 4 of the 6 home and away games to draw 70k last year.

Lets not forget that Hawthorn will likely (some sort of optimistic presumption here) nudge 75k to 80k this year (we are already 6,500 ahead of the equivalent membership figure this time last year and we had 68,650 members last year, as you probably already know)

But yeah we HAVE to win flags to survive when we are already one of the most powerful clubs in the competition (probably 2nd or 3rd)

Jesus some posters are out and out flogs

Nice opportunity for Hawthorn the Sunshine Coast.

Revenue
  • Hawthorn - $67,663,161, up from $64,772,874
  • Richmond - $44,408,127, down from $44,848,083

Profit/Loss
  • Hawthorn - $5,332,184, up from ($545,614)
  • Richmond - $1,329,530, down from $3,317,405
Sponsorship and Marketing

• Hawthorn -$15,093,510, down from $15,226,374
  • Richmond - $4,700,000 (net)
Social Club/Gaming Revenue
  • Hawthorn - $18,190,452, down from $18,454,819
  • Richmond - $5,704,614, up from $5,549,920

Member Revenue
  • Hawthorn - $10,691,860, up from $9,731,397
  • Richmond - $7,600,000 (net)
Assets

• Hawthorn -$52,411,058, up from $51,467,222
  • Richmond -$29,345,548, up from $28,791,350

Liabilities
  • Hawthorn - $20,719,869, down from $25,648,217
  • Richmond - $5,632,806, down from $6,408,138
Net Assets/Deficit
  • Hawthorn -$31,691,189, up from $25,819,005
  • Richmond -$23,712,742, up from $22,383,212
The awkward moment when one club is thriving one hell of a lot more than another. Evidently Hawthorn has made operating profits for 19 successive seasons (since 1996) but you probably already know that, right?

Go Tiges :rolleyes:

I wouldn't think so.;)

Up until last year you were playing games for money in Cairns ffs. And you have the temerity to say Hawthorn will see it as an opportunity.

Sunshine Coast has no industry, is top heavy with retirees and those that do have money are part time residents - presumably those from footy states gave a team already.
A team on the sunny coast would be a complete disaster.
Similar to the Gold Coast, retirees, Tourism, or drug dealing if your a Bikie:confused: or burglaries hence the high crime rates, a large portion of people drive to either Yatala or Brisbane for work.

the current population of the GC is just under 600k
the current population of the Sunshine Coast 316k and with a projected population of 516k in 2031
http://www.rdasunshinecoast.org.au/...e-of-the-Region-Report-2012-31-Final-V3.1.pdf
the population of the sunshine coast is more spread out as well

by 2030 it will be almost as populated as the GC is now. either way you look at it, an AFL team wouldn't survive full time, let alone a NRL team with the lower running costs.

the only way it would work is a FIFO team similar to what Hawthorn, North do in Tassie or Richmond in Cairns, but it would require to build a stadium

Revenue

Profit/Loss

Member Revenue
Assets

Liabilities
Net Assets/Deficit
The awkward moment when one club is thriving one hell of a lot more than another. Evidently Hawthorn has made operating profits for 19 successive seasons (since 1996) but you probably already know that, right?

The awkward moment isn't that, it's when you realize the person you spent so much time drafting that reply to was smasha. I think he was doing a little fishing off the last poster, and he caught you three bloody quickly

Revenue

Profit/Loss

Member Revenue
Assets

Liabilities
Net Assets/Deficit

When winning premierships,yes the Hawks do very well and stake up well against Richmond ,mind you who haven't won a flag in the AFL era.My comment still rings true.Wed be nudging 100k members if we won the amount of premierships Hawthorn has in that era.

Ah yes, the vagaries of potential performance...

Heck the Pies are a long way short of 100,000 themselves (they are barely touching 80,000 even with flag success in 2010 and GF's / PF performances littered over the last decade) so why the heck not!

Like I said expectation is relative. I have no doubt the Saints would have 70000 members if they even half the success of Hawthorn. In fact they would probably have many, many more given they have the bayside all to themselves. Forget Richmond how many clubs around the globe would have the level of support the Saints have despite 140 years of largely insipid performance...they went 90 years without a premiership (1873-1966) FFS...

So I will agree with you to this end, if Richmond win another 8 flags in 30 years I am sure they will be far bigger than Hawthorn...but the likelihood of that is?

The biggest clubs headline the premiership tally and success builds upon success...its all rather elementary.

I'm not sure exactly what this has to do with Hawthorn, Richmond or St Kilda relocating to the Sunshine Coast though :confused:

Good post Hawkk.
You seem like a good lad so I will admit I was being cheeky with my early remark,but that's footy aye ,,have a cheeky go like the good ole days unlike the PC word we live in today.Truth be known I love Richmond and will defend my club to the hilt as you have sir.

We just need one flag and our club,well my club will grow like wildfire.
Richmond better be ready this year because we will be hunted down.
Truth be known Hawkk I'm starting to get jealous of the success your mighty team is having.
Anyway peace bro,I'll shut me trap.

I wouldn't think so.;)

Which we do.

Everyone knows flags/GFs build support. This is why Blues/Pies/Bombers have been the biggest clubs the last 30 years.
And Richmond just before that.

It is also why we will be in front of everyone else (except Collingwood) in 20 years time once the 5 - 15 year olds who are now getting on the Hawks have kids, become adult members, etc.
Go to any Auskick centre (in the 90% of Melbourne that is not actually in Essendon or Carlton or Richmond) and you will see more Hawks jumpers than any others.
Barring a Carlton or Essendon style disaster, this Hawthorn train cannot be stopped.

I love that Essendon and Richmond supporters get their back up and cannot handle that we have gone past them in term of membership and financial stability/success.
Interestingly, you don't see many jealous comments from Carlton fans.
Collingwood are still in front of us so they are above these petty arguments.

Which we do.

Everyone knows flags/GFs build support. This is why Blues/Pies/Bombers have been the biggest clubs the last 30 years.
And Richmond just before that.

It is also why we will be in front of everyone else (except Collingwood) in 20 years time once the 5 - 15 year olds who are now getting on the Hawks have kids, become adult members, etc.
Go to any Auskick centre (in the 90% of Melbourne that is not actually in Essendon or Carlton or Richmond) and you will see more Hawks jumpers than any others.
Barring a Carlton or Essendon style disaster, this Hawthorn train cannot be stopped.

I love that Essendon and Richmond supporters get their back up and cannot handle that we have gone past them in term of membership and financial stability/success.
Interestingly, you don't see many jealous comments from Carlton fans.
Collingwood are still in front of us so they are above these petty arguments.

What happened to North?

Memo: the dynamics of footy clubs changed a while back, the national comp ..... and pokies in Melbourne.

Similar to the Gold Coast, retirees, Tourism, or drug dealing if your a Bikie:confused: or burglaries hence the high crime rates, a large portion of people drive to either Yatala or Brisbane for work.

the current population of the GC is just under 600k
the current population of the Sunshine Coast 316k and with a projected population of 516k in 2031
http://www.rdasunshinecoast.org.au/...e-of-the-Region-Report-2012-31-Final-V3.1.pdf
the population of the sunshine coast is more spread out as well

by 2030 it will be almost as populated as the GC is now. either way you look at it, an AFL team wouldn't survive full time, let alone a NRL team with the lower running costs.

the only way it would work is a FIFO team similar to what Hawthorn, North do in Tassie or Richmond in Cairns, but it would require to build a stadium

Another team from Melbourne sucking up the money from a local footy community ....

Hawthorn also has the 2nd largest revenue, 2nd most members, the 4th strongest balance sheet and has been consistently amongst the top 5 home and away drawers for almost a decade (5th, 4th, 5th, 5th, 4th, 5th, 3rd) in spite of Tasmania - including 4 of the 6 home and away games to draw 70k last year.

Lets not forget that Hawthorn will likely (some sort of optimistic presumption here) nudge 75k to 80k this year (we are already 6,500 ahead of the equivalent membership figure this time last year and we had 68,650 members last year, as you probably already know)

But yeah we HAVE to win flags to survive when we are already one of the most powerful clubs in the competition (probably 2nd or 3rd)

Jesus some posters are out and out flogs

Excuse me but I think Tasmania provides a lot of the reason you are actually in the black financially.
But if you're not happy here, please feel free to piss off.

Revenue

Profit/Loss

Member Revenue
Assets

Liabilities
Net Assets/Deficit

One club has won 4 odd grand finals in the last decade, sells it self at every opportunity for a buck, has the largest revenue of pokies, sells home games thanks to a lucrative deal set up by old Jeff and co to the tassie government.

The other club has been crap for the past 30 years & is still rather financially secure.

The last time the hawks missed the finals for a few years they were bankrupt & in merger talks with the Demons

Financially the tigers are doing just fine!
It's not all about highest revenue

One club has won 4 odd grand finals in the last decade, sells it self at every opportunity for a buck, has the largest revenue of pokies, sells home games thanks to a lucrative deal set up by old Jeff and co to the tassie government.

The other club has been crap for the past 30 years & is still rather financially secure.

The last time the hawks missed the finals for a few years they were bankrupt & in merger talks with the Demons

Financially the tigers are doing just fine!
It's not all about highest revenue

Richmond sold games to get out of the red, grabbit & run style ! You are deluding yourself IF you characterise the Hawks & Tassie sponsorship in the same vein.

the hawthorn sponsorship is a very lucrative one that only an idiot would turn away from. i was just pointing out richmond it self have been pretty self sufficient in recent years despite being crap for the past 30