Win Prizes Swans Board Poster of the Year 2015 - we have a winner!!

RW

10k Posts Sydney Forum Service Medal Sydney Swans - Jake Lloyd 2020 Player Sponsor BeanCoiNFT Investor Sydney Swans - Harry Cunningham 2019 Player Sponsor Ex-Moderator Sydney Swans - Gary Rohan Player Sponsor 2018 Sydney Swans - George Hewett Player Sponsor 2017 Sydney Swans - Callum Mills Player Sponsor 2016 Podcaster
Jan 11, 2003
Mod edit 29-Oct-2015: Nominations have now closed. A poll has been added to the OP so you can cast your vote for the Swans board Poster of the Year for 2015, voting closes next Thursday night.

As per last year the same rules apply

- Only Swans supporters can be nominated for the award
- Only Swans supporters can vote upon the award
- Mod can't be nominated ourselves for reasons of neutrality
- This isn't an opinion on if a poster is worthy of being a mod
- Also no self nominating in board round of nominations

We hold the right to disqualify anyone found to attempting to rig the vote to their advantage.
------------------

It's been an enervating year on and off the field for the club for a number of reasons, and while we didn't get the redemption we hoped for after last year, we have still seen some very good contributions from a number of posters on the board.

So without further ado, I present to you the Swans Board Poster of the Year awards for 2015!!

For a bit of fun we've included a few extra categories this year, but only the winner of the POTY or MVP (Most Valuable Poster) gets the shiny badge underneath their username.

So this thread is to ask you guys (and gals) for your nominations for POTY. Just copy and paste the award categories below into your post (along with any others you think of) and add in the users you would like to nominate.

These will be added to our own nominations to come up with a final field of 10. We will then go to a vote to decide who will be the Swans board Poster of the Year for 2015.

In coming up with our POTY nominations we took into account the following: posting volume and quality, contributions to board projects such as the podcast and writing match threads. As per last year, we decided that we wouldn't allow mods to be included as we all know Bonz would win hands down :D

POTY nominations close next Thursday 29 October at 5pm AEST.

Poster of the Year or MVP - Most Valuable Poster (the 'big one')

Organiser of the Year

Debate of the Year

Funniest poster

Weirdest thread

Best match preview

AFL Fantasy/SuperCoach & Tipping Awards

Life Time Contribution Award

Best poster on the Bob Skilton Bar

Pair with the most sexual tension on the board

Way too addicted to BigFooty 'award'

Gone but not forgotten (Poster)

My votes

Poster of the Year or MVP - Most Valuable Poster (the 'big one'):

(in alphabetical order):

grimlock - for providing the only Swans reserves news service in Australia and contribution of advanced stats
Punts - for being on top of all things Swans and all round footy knowledge
S120 - posting quality opinions that contributed to all threads he posted in
swansfan51 - for being the counterpoint, and for consistency in his opinions
Ticky009 - Best female (#lolvonn) and solid contributor
Tuco - Even handed poster who doesn't pick sides. Fair quality in his posts and long serving

Organiser of the Year:

Millky95 for services to the podcast and being a key driver of Melbourne BF meet-ups (and for welcoming newcomers)
scaryness for taking on Swans Board Player of the Year again
Klim for setting up and running the Reference Centre

Debate of the Year:
The Tom Mitchell thread!

Funniest poster: vonn see we found you a category that you might actually win :p

Weirdest thread: The All Things Dean Towers mega thread thanks to Close Contest

Best match preview:
Tie between discotobo for his effort before the Hawks game in Round 8, and who could forget swansfan51's work before the * game in Round 1

AFL Fantasy/SuperCoach & Tipping Awards: Banyo Bloods for winning the tipping comp

Life Time Contribution Award:
Tie between Tedeski and bedford, both long-time posters, honourable mention to bedford's one-liners

Best poster on the Bob Skilton Bar: vonn by the distance from Manly to Beijing

Pair with the most sexual tension on the board: vonn and Sir Tassie, I mean, Swansrule100

Way too addicted to BigFooty 'award': With over 43,000 posts who else could it be but Swansrule100

Gone but not forgotten (Poster): baja we need you to drive the Naismith bandwagon

grimlock - for reserves news and stats
S120 - for staying above the s**t fights this year and posting quality opinion that contributed to all threads that he posted in
Ticky009 - solid contributor as you stated and best female poster on the board #lolvonn
Millky95 - The big three - Podcaster, Meet ups and stupid predictions. But everything we look for in a poster.
Tedeski - Quality poster over a long period of time
Tuco - Even handed and long serving poster

Organiser of the Year:
Millky95 for the reasons stated above

Debate of the Year: The Sack Longmire Debate

Funniest poster: Sanecow

Weirdest thread: Swansrule100 Diary entries of vonn in Beijing

Best match preview: swansfan51 effort in Round 1 against *

AFL Fantasy/SuperCoach & Tipping Awards: @Banyo Bloods

Life Time Contribution Award: Tuco

Best poster on the Bob Skilton Bar: vonn

Pair with the most sexual tension on the board: bedford and Punts

Way too addicted to BigFooty 'award': Swansrule100 easy

Gone but not forgotten (Poster): CAS79

'The omission of Vonn for POTY is probably the worst decision in the history of civilisation.' - (Everyone, 2015.)

do we all nominate 6 RW?

No, just anyone you think we might have missed. We'll consider everyone's nominations and come up with a final field of 10.

Poster of the Year or MVP - Most Valuable Poster (the 'big one'): grimlock - have to agree RW, grim always has a measured, insightful opinion to add and his reserves updates are great

Organiser of the Year: Millky95

Debate of the Year: Should vonn be mod? Maybe a bit too one-sided to be considered a debate, but it gets extra points for the variety of threads it popped up in.

Funniest poster: @bungwhal

Weirdest thread: The nomination is "Happy Canada Day", directed by robbieando

Best match preview: discotobo's round 8 Hawks game

AFL Fantasy/SuperCoach & Tipping Awards: Banyo Bloods for winning the tipping comp

Life Time Contribution Award: bedford for contributing "WTFDWTF?" If I could work out exactly who started the trend of counting things in "Birds" recently, they'd be in with a shot too.

Best poster on the Bob Skilton Bar: no idea sorry. if @bobskilton was a thing that's where my points would go, an opportunity missed by every user that chose a different user name

Pair with the most sexual tension on the board: I've seen Punts and bedford getting a bit terse with each other on occasion, could pretty easily spill into an unexpected kiss imo

Way too addicted to BigFooty 'award': Swansrule100, not contest

Last edited by a moderator:

Poster of the Year or MVP - Most Valuable Poster (the 'big one')-
I think swansfan51- because he is the most even poster and supports views with facts and treats all with respect and is funny
Heeney2franklin- name change makes him fly under the radar- is in every thread, great poster
Markp- just for dealing with the bleeding heart brigade so well
Vonn- cmon she should be a nominee- I look at this way imagine if the poster left – she would leave a massive hole
If I can only add one nominee I give it to Vonn – for her work in the goodes threads

Organiser of the Year

Vonn- she organised every podcast that actually happened- dunno which one milky did must of missed that

Debate of the Year
anchorman battle that ended up moved

Funniest poster
tie between Markp and swansfan51

Weirdest thread
swans poster of the year thread is up there,

Best match preview
swansfan51 no doubt

don’t care

Robbieando- been here for years and throws the crap out in an entertaining way eg with that saints flog

just rename it Rw and Millky talk together that’s all it is usually

bonky! Tho the bon part is MIA

well I wont nominate myself so lukeparkerno1- check the stats

Gone but not forgotten (Poster) SM- guy went from here every day to only coming in once to whine like a little princess

grimlock easily. Not one other poster contributed as much to the board as much as he has this year. Thank you very much grim.

Organiser of the Year
scaryness for organizing the POTY award.

Debate of the Year
Positive posting vs negative posting Shaw debate from early in the season until the bye

Funniest poster
Syd always comes in with something witty

Weirdest thread
Wank The Swans BigFooty Podcast

Best match preview
The Essendon one from R1 was awesome

Lukeparkerno1, Woodie99, tonk and Banyo Bloods for all finishing with the most tips

robbieando been around for ages

RW only person trying to keep it alive

Punts and bedford

lukeparkerno1

Gone but not forgotten (Poster)
SM

Weirdest thread
Wank The Swans BigFooty Podcast

The thread where you guys were listing all the things that would be quicker than waiting for Bonz to upload the podcast was pretty funny too

Also enjoyed Swansrule100's "Sum up the Swans season in pictures" thread

Should put together a montage of the board's highlights for the year set to "Time of Your Life" by Green Day

Best thread of the year was everyone (lead by vonn) posting anchorman pictures until the grinch (RW) shut us down. Post of the year was the one about the OJ Simpson Bombers, by whoever that was

It's technically not the Swans board, but a special MVP mention to all those who fought the good fight on the Adam Goodes threads on the main board: SBD Gonzalez, Gongswan, Kummerspeck, skipper kelly, momentbymoment, Number37, bungee, Tedeski, kneecapper and all the others - too many to name them all. You did the Swans board proud!

Aw shucks, it got pretty torrid in there but I figured the guy is worth standing up for!

Whatever happened to sir swans?