Meet Up The 2015 Pre + Post Match Meet-up Thread

Hmm might think about going to this one, but that might depend on how the team sheet looks.

You have to reserve your seat yeah? And where do you park? At the ground or Willo_'s house?

Dont park at the ground. If you get there by about 11/11.30am, you'll get a free park right near South Geelong station no problem. Most of the street parking around KP is unrestricted and free, especially it being a Sunday. :thumbsu:

Hmm might think about going to this one, but that might depend on how the team sheet looks.

You have to reserve your seat yeah? And where do you park? At the ground or Willo_'s house?
Sorry I couldn't help you with a seat. The game we discussed later on could be an option. Probably can't meet up for this game. Birthday's and all that this weekend...

Dont park at the ground. If you get there by about 11/11.30am, you'll get a free park right near South Geelong station no problem. Most of the street parking around KP is unrestricted and free, especially it being a Sunday. :thumbsu:
Thanks for that.

I parked at the ground once last year when I wasn't getting there early. I was in my work van which is longer than a normal car.. so they put me right near the entrance cos it was bigger... took me a minute in the car to get out of the park after the game.

Was unreal

Sorry I couldn't help you with a seat. The game we discussed later on could be an option. Probably can't meet up for this game. Birthday's and all that this weekend...
No big deal, I have no problem with going to games on my own as I normally take a radio with me and listen to ABC Grandstand.

And yeah would be good if you could come to that game which we discussed :)

I parked at the ground once last year when I wasn't getting there early. I was in my work van which is longer than a normal car.. so they put me right near the entrance cos it was bigger... took me a minute in the car to get out of the park after the game.

Was unreal
What time are you getting there?

I bit the bullet with my car... just realised I've blown the head... Off to Melbourne in about an hour to buy a new one.

Was unreal

I bit the bullet with my car... just realised I've blown the head... Off to Melbourne in about an hour to buy a new one.

No big deal, I have no problem with going to games on my own as I normally take a radio with me and listen to ABC Grandstand.
I didn't realise you were 65 :p

I dont mind going alone either to be honest, you take more in I reckon

This week? Planning on getting to the pub at 11.30... not sure if I am driving yet. Missus has to work in the arvo after the game so I might be getting dropped off or having to drop my little bloke somewhere first

I'm thinking about driving. If I do decide to drive, I'll give you a lift.

I'll let you know tomorrow.

I'm thinking about driving. If I do decide to drive, I'll give you a lift.

I'll let you know tomorrow.
Righto.. I may have to drive if I need to pick up or drop off my son somewhere. But we'll nut it all out

And yeah would be good if you could come to that game which we discussed :)
Willo_ I must be 65 as well. Abc grandstand is staple of my cricket and footy viewing. Will have to see about the tigs game, not sure yet what I'll be doing. If not that one then dons away game in the middle of the year is a possibility.

Do you take the radio with you to games as well? And a chequed blanket :p

I loved grandstand for cricket until Skull retired.. i listened to fairfax alot over summer and enjoyed it bar the commercials every 45 seconds

Do you take the radio with you to games as well? And a chequed blanket :p

I loved grandstand for cricket until Skull retired.. i listened to fairfax alot over summer and enjoyed it bar the commercials every 45 seconds
I do take it to the football. No chequed blanket. I wear shorts all winter...

Was unreal

I have the opposite story to that-

Going to a game at Etihad with my aunty one time- who refused to get public transport and drove us in. We parked at some car park at Docklands. Anyway upon exiting the traffic was that heavy, when the lights to OUR car park turned green, there was literally no where to go, maybe 1-2 cars got out, because the traffic was just constant. We sat in that car park for 1.5 hours + until we got out. Was a ****ing nightmare.

Dunno why people would drive into the city. Geelong games are the only ones I drive to. Altho back when I didn't drive and caught the train down, those were some good times, chatting to the Geelong supporters n that on the train. :thumbsu:

I have the opposite story to that-

Going to a game at Etihad with my aunty one time- who refused to get public transport and drove us in. We parked at some car park at Docklands. Anyway upon exiting the traffic was that heavy, when the lights to OUR car park turned green, there was literally no where to go, maybe 1-2 cars got out, because the traffic was just constant. We sat in that car park for 1.5 hours + until we got out. Was a ****ing nightmare.

Dunno why people would drive into the city. Geelong games are the only ones I drive to. Altho back when I didn't drive and caught the train down, those were some good times, chatting to the Geelong supporters n that on the train. :thumbsu:
Before I moved out of Geelong, I used to drive to Melbourne games all of the time. I'd go with a car full of mates and we'd take it in turns to be the designated driver.

Since the trains didn't run all that late back to Geelong, if we went out afterwards we'd either have to rush back by midnight, or do an all nighter and get the earliest train back in the morning. It just wasn't practical.

Crown Casino car parking was reasonably priced back then too, but we're going back over 10 years, I don't know what it's like these days.

But I agree that for just going to the footy and not anything else where public transport would otherwise be a practical and viable option, why would anyone bother driving to the city.

Crown Casino car parking was reasonably priced back then too, but we're going back over 10 years, I don't know what it's like these days.

But I agree that for just going to the footy and not anything else where public transport would otherwise be a practical and viable option, why would anyone bother driving to the city.
Crown multi-level car park is $18 flat rate on weekends now (used to be $10 last year) so parking there is not a viable option if you're just going to the footy. I'll generally take the train into the city for games unless there's work being done to my line (which i think is going to be common as they rip up level crossings) and the trains aren't running.

One thing I've never understood is people parking at Yarra Park near the MCG, I mean at the end of the game you're going to be sitting there waiting for people to file past for a good 30 minutes or more.

Crown multi-level car park is $18 flat rate on weekends now (used to be $10 last year) so parking there is not a viable option if you're just going to the footy. I'll generally take the train into the city for games unless there's work being done to my line (which i think is going to be common as they rip up level crossings) and the trains aren't running.

One thing I've never understood is people parking at Yarra Park near the MCG, I mean at the end of the game you're going to be sitting there waiting for people to file past for a good 30 minutes or more.
If we don't get the train from Geelong we usually park is a sidestreet on the other side of the Botanical Gardens (sometimes near the Foxfooty studio).

$10 sounds about right. When you get four mates to come along, it was $2 each. Pretty reasonable. Even if I was doing the same thing these day, for under $4 each, it's still reasonable.

I've come down with a bug and have had the day off work. Been to the Doctors and got AB's.
I was feeling crook at work Thursday and the boys were getting stuck into a work mate Vinney because he has had a cough at work for a while and the blokes have been onto him about it. Apparently he is the cause of my illness.
Little Vinney has become the fabrication shop's Scape Goat.

Hoping to be fit for Sunday but I feel like crap ATM.

scapegoat.jpg

I didn't realise you were 65 :p

I dont mind going alone either to be honest, you take more in I reckon
I usually go alone to gee vs Coll games as my brother is too chickenshit to go to a Collingwood game. Have had some quite good conversation with Pies fans. Definitely not living up to their stereotype.

I usually go alone to gee vs Coll games as my brother is too chickenshit to go to a Collingwood game. Have had some quite good conversation with lies fans. Definitely not living up to their stereotype.
Lol what a scaredy cat :D

Best fun I've had with Pies fans was at the Adam Goodes pointing finger game.