1. Give a Premium Membership

    Now you can give your BigFooty mates a Premium Membership! Give here.

    Great last-minute gift idea.

  2. Supercoach 2015 is now open for Supercoach Gold subscribers

    Post your team in this thread for feedback and advice.

    Discuss game / positional changes in this thread.

    Read Alex Docherty's List Analysis series.

The 2nd "What are you reading now" thread

Discussion in 'BigFooty Book Club' started by Heisenberg_, Nov 11, 2008.

Put it out there
  1. bradrowe#32

    bradrowe#32 Brownlow Medallist

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Rochester FC, Waroona FC, Pacers
    Joined:
    Oct 04
    Posts:
    11,818
    Location:
    Perth
    "Elizabeth Costello" by Coetzee. I don't mind Coetzee, but this was horseshit. And it won a Booker. FMD.
     
  2. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Joined:
    Feb 10
    Posts:
    5,059
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Decided to start reading the Smiley series by Le Carre.
     
  3. Magpies B2B

    Magpies B2B Senior List

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Seattle Seahawks
    Joined:
    Apr 11
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Currently reading 'The Mammoth Book of Muhammad Ali'. I've always wanted to read a book of Ali and this seems to be the book that I was always after just saw it at the Collins in Puckle St.
    Also I have just bought for my Kindle, Churchill:The Unexpected Hero and Ghosts of Manila.
     
  4. Cthublhu

    Cthublhu Crivens!

    Carlton
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Aug 07
    Posts:
    2,136
    Location:
    Placid Island of Ignorance
    "The Name of the Wind" by Patrick Rothfuss. It's the first in a new-ish fantasy trilogy. Fans of GRRM or Robert Jordan would like it.

    Just finished Paul Kearney's latest: "King's of the Morning", sequel to "The Ten Thousand" and "Corvus". It's David Gemmell type fantasy heavily based on Ancient Greece. TTT is just Xenephon with the serial numbers filed off, and Corvus is a fairly obvious Alexander the Great analog. Fun reads!
     
  5. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Joined:
    Feb 10
    Posts:
    5,059
    Location:
    Adelaide
    [​IMG]

    Basically it's a series of letters from a former SS and Gestapo officer to his brother-in-law, exploring and attempting to justify his past actions. Bit long winded in parts, but it's an interesting read
     
  6. blues4flag

    blues4flag Brownlow Medallist

    Carlton
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Jul 04
    Posts:
    21,331
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Brilliant. Different to either of those books though as it's a much more focused story, with only one POV. Aside from the obvious 1st person style similarities, it'd probably be closer Hobb's Farseer trilogy, though not quite as emotionally harrowing. The romantic aspects are fairly similar.

    Second book is a bit of a let down. Loses itself but sort of works its way back together towards the end.
     
  7. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Premiership Player

    Geelong
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Sep 05
    Posts:
    4,288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    "Here, There and Everywhere - my life recording the music of the Beatles" by Geoff Emerick and Howard Massey.

    bit dry, some of the technical stuff is interesting but I've read a lot of it before in other publications ... Emerick comes across as a bit of a bore, and is on pretty good terms with himself too ..
    I also find his manlove for MacCartney a bit cloying ..
     
  8. Belnakor

    Belnakor Premium Platinum

    Fremantle
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Apr 05
    Posts:
    12,516
    Location:
    Perth
    Nothing in fantasy holds a candle to the far seer trilogy in emotional stakes, nit even her own books post that.

    Will check out this new series sounds promising
     
  9. DREAM TEAM BUFF

    DREAM TEAM BUFF Moderator

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    MUFC & HRT
    Joined:
    Feb 11
    Posts:
    19,697
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Just started The Grapes of Wrath.
     
  10. Cthublhu

    Cthublhu Crivens!

    Carlton
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Aug 07
    Posts:
    2,136
    Location:
    Placid Island of Ignorance
    I hope not, I couldn't stand those things. I liked Hobb much better when she was Megan Lindholm.
     
  11. sydney eagle

    sydney eagle Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    South Sydney Rabbitohs
    Joined:
    Jan 06
    Posts:
    5,199
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just finished "The Pirate Wars" by Peter Earle. What to read next ? Back to my favorite stamping grounds of SF/Fantasy/Pulp i'm thinking.
     
  12. bradrowe#32

    bradrowe#32 Brownlow Medallist

    Collingwood
    Other teams:
    Rochester FC, Waroona FC, Pacers
    Joined:
    Oct 04
    Posts:
    11,818
    Location:
    Perth
    "Titus Alone" - Mervyn Peake.
     
  13. Dagless

    Dagless Hall of Famer

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    NYGiants
    Joined:
    Jan 07
    Posts:
    31,320
    Location:
    Not Scotland
    Choice.
     
  14. Dixie Flatline

    Dixie Flatline More Mo!

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    Cartagena C.F., NYJ, A's
    Joined:
    Jun 05
    Posts:
    12,820
    Location:
    Wherever I pitch a tent
    Just finished Edgar Rice Burroughs' The Princess of Mars and George Orwell's Animal Farm in quick succession, after finding them for free on Project Gutenberg (Edgar Rice Burroughs) and Project Gutenberg Australia (Animal Farm).

    Now in to The Gods of Mars.

    God bless the kindle.
     
  15. placebo

    placebo Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    May 07
    Posts:
    6,449
    Location:
    Perth
    [​IMG]

    An excellent writer. Fourth book of his I've read and currently loving it.

    Prose is orgasmically good. Beautiful, sad and funny. :thumbsu:
     
  16. Dagless

    Dagless Hall of Famer

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    NYGiants
    Joined:
    Jan 07
    Posts:
    31,320
    Location:
    Not Scotland
    Blood Meridian (And uni starting) has taken me a month and 4 days to get through only 250 pages :p

    He sure makes you work for it.
     
  17. Dixie Flatline

    Dixie Flatline More Mo!

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    Cartagena C.F., NYJ, A's
    Joined:
    Jun 05
    Posts:
    12,820
    Location:
    Wherever I pitch a tent
    Finished The Goddess of Mars and now onto the Warlord of Mars. Very easy to read, the ERB books.
     
  18. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Premiership Player

    Geelong
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Sep 05
    Posts:
    4,288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Blood Meridian was a weird, hazy nightmare, loved it though I won't pretend to have completely comprehended it.

    Might give Suttre a try on your recommendation, Placebo; I've read three of Cormac McCarthy's books and thoroughly enjoyed them all ...
     
  19. sydney eagle

    sydney eagle Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    South Sydney Rabbitohs
    Joined:
    Jan 06
    Posts:
    5,199
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I read somewhere that the Coen brothers were talking about filming "Blood Meridian". If it can be done at all I would think that Joel and Ethan Coen would be the ones to do it !
     
  20. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Premiership Player

    Geelong
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Sep 05
    Posts:
    4,288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that would be amazing - but I doubt it will happen.

    there is already a film of Blood Meridian 'in development'

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0983189/
     
  21. placebo

    placebo Norm Smith Medallist

    West Coast
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    May 07
    Posts:
    6,449
    Location:
    Perth
    I'm just about finished. Personally my favourite McCarthy yet.

    A word of warning - It is pretty much plotless so if a lack of narrative story throws you off it might not be for you, but his writing is utterly impeccable in it.
     
  22. grizzlym

    grizzlym Admin

    Hawthorn
    Other teams:
    ┼Źllamaliztli
    Joined:
    Sep 08
    Posts:
    60,776
    Location:
    Witness Protection
    Just about finished the latest Murakami - 1Q84. Really love his writing; finds the unexpected in everything.
     
  23. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Premiership Player

    Geelong
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Sep 05
    Posts:
    4,288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thanks - wow that is high praise, Blood Meridian was amazing, I would be hard pressed to find many other books that impressed me as much - the Road and No Country For Old Men are the other two McCarthy books I have read, both excellent.
     
  24. mojito

    mojito misfortune comes in threes...

    Adelaide
    Other teams:
    Adel. Utd, Manc. Utd, Molde FK
    Joined:
    Feb 10
    Posts:
    5,059
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Gone for something a bit easier for my next one, little less involved

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Cursed_Cat

    Cursed_Cat Premiership Player

    Geelong
    Other teams:
    Joined:
    Sep 05
    Posts:
    4,288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm nearly halfway through 'Moneyball' - I have no real interest in baseball, but the author has a nice breezy way of writing which makes what could be a very dry topic very interesting and engaging.