Analysis The Bigfooty Best 22 - Voting closed! We have a best 22! Head to post #263!

Saintly Viewed

30k Posts 10k Posts Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies - Brayden Sier 2019 Player Sponsor Collingwood - Jaidyn Stephenson Player Sponsor 2018 Collingwood Board Goal Kicking Tip Comp Collingwood - Matthew Scharenberg Player Sponsor 2017 Shiny Penny
Aug 10, 2015
God side,looks about what could be our best possible side.
For mind, id have Narsh in at CHB, Reid forward supporting Cloke (see other threads re this)
And alas Fasolo drops to emergency.

Lets hope we win heaps then next or is it now this season

mike123

30k Posts 10k Posts Pokemon is Life
Sep 13, 2013
Juventus
Good team and thanks for putting that together!

Overall, that's quite a young and inexperienced team. While not in the bigfooty best 22, Blair, Toovs, Macaffer and Goldsack will all be getting games next year (if they get pushed out of the team it will be a good sign ala what happened to O'bree, Lockyer, Medders and Fraser in 2010). No matter what you think of them, they are handy depth to have with such a young list.

Personally, I have Toovs in ahead of Maynard (again, if Maynard or say Ramsay displace him that's a good thing) and Witts ahead of De Goey (don't want to play Moore as the 2nd ruckman) for our round 1 team.

Agree

May 27, 2008
Wherever I May Roam
Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
Good point.

I see you've got De Goey outside your best 22, along with Maynard from the consensus side. Who do you have in, out of curiosity?

I have Broomhead as a half forward midfielder. I think we need some options forward of centre. With Reid back, Varcoe and Broomhead on the bench we can mix it up.

I also like Ramsay over Maynard. I like Maynard. But he is inexperienced and loose defensively. He needs development. Ramsay has speed, a neat kick and doesn't get beaten often. But he needs to stay fit.

I left out De Goey because I felt Greenwood can tag. And he wins more ball when he plays centre. Also, on my wing I have Crisp, who goes alright in the guts. Varcoe, Broomhead and Aish can easily shift to the wing if he goes centre.

THE FINAL TEAM

B:
Marley Williams --- Nathan Brown --- Tom Langdon
HB: Matthew Scharenberg --- Ben Reid --- Brayden Maynard
C: Steele Sidebottom --- Scott Pendlebury --- Jack Crisp
HF: Jeremy Howe --- Travis Cloke --- Dane Swan
F: Jamie Elliott --- Darcy Moore --- Alex Fasolo
R: Brodie Grundy --- Adam Treloar --- Taylor Adams
Int: Travis Varcoe, Jordan De Goey, Levi Greenwood, James Aish
Emg: Tim Broomhead, Jonathan Marsh, Jarrod Witts
Great work and the team looks solid.

I still worry that we lack that specialist small forward role, each of the forwards in the team play tall which is a good thing, but I'd love to see a guy that just crumbs 24/7 and applies F50 pressure.

I think we lack depth at the moment though and carrying JT and Okeefe won't help so I think we may look at a ready made mature age player. Emg's are solid, but very rarely we get best 22 on the park all at once, a couple of injuries could hurt us big time.

THE FINAL TEAM

B:
Not going to lie, this team makes me moist.

677-That_makes_me_moist.jpg

Bring_Back_Brad

Jul 16, 2013
THE FINAL TEAM

B:

In: Frost
Out: Howe
Reid moves to F, ELLIOT to HF.

May 7, 2011
Wangaratta
Celtics, Tottenham, Oakland Raiders
I think we've done a really great job picking our best 22. Some unlucky omissions, but some serious depth to contend with. Thank you all for participating - let's see how our hive-mind prediction pans out in round 1, 2016!
Thanks for the collating and stuff, Lenny.
It's an interesting exercise.

I disagree.
The first two I associate with males and the other one I associate with females.
LOL, that thought did go through my head before posting my reply.

Good team and thanks for putting that together!

Overall, that's quite a young and inexperienced team. While not in the bigfooty best 22, Blair, Toovs, Macaffer and Goldsack will all be getting games next year (if they get pushed out of the team it will be a good sign ala what happened to O'bree, Lockyer, Medders and Fraser in 2010). No matter what you think of them, they are handy depth to have with such a young list.

Personally, I have Toovs in ahead of Maynard (again, if Maynard or say Ramsay displace him that's a good thing) and Witts ahead of De Goey (don't want to play Moore as the 2nd ruckman) for our round 1 team.
It's a couple of interesting points you make. It is a young and inexperienced 22. Too young I would say.

With your reference to Blair, Toovs, Caff and Goldy v O'Bree, Medders, Fraser and Tarks I think there are 2 clear differences. The O'Bree group overall were significantly better players than the Blair group through their careers. However they were in a different position career wise in 2010. O'Bree and Tarrks were 31 and close to finished. Fraser and Medders were younger but their end of career came quickly.

Blair is in his prime years and the other 3 are still better placed career wise. I think for that reason they offer more likelihood of remaining best 22 for a while yet. I still see the young blokes as needing to push out Blair and Toovs especially by superior performance. Ramsay, Maynard and Shaz are babies in football terms and need consolidated performance in 2016 to be best 22. they need to step up from what they have offered so far

With Scharenberg out with a long term injury, who fills his position in the team?
First point I would make is he didn't yet have a spot in our best 22. There is a big group of players vying for that honour. I reckon Sinclair, Ramsay, Marsh, Maynard, Oxley and Toovey are fighting for 3 places. Toovs has best chance but there is not much, at present , between this group. Williams, Langdon, Brown and Frost/Reid are already in the 22.

May 27, 2008
Wherever I May Roam
Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
First point I would make is he didn't yet have a spot in our best 22. There is a big group of players vying for that honour. I reckon Sinclair, Ramsay, Marsh, Maynard, Oxley and Toovey are fighting for 3 places. Toovs has best chance but there is not much, at present , between this group. Williams, Langdon, Brown and Frost/Reid are already in the 22.

Who fills his position in the BigFooty consensus best 22? That was the question. Scharenberg was our half back flank following the close of voting.

Sorry. For me that would be Toovey. Although Marsh is the other I want to see playing. Loved the look of him late 2015.

mike123

30k Posts 10k Posts Pokemon is Life
Sep 13, 2013
Juventus
Varcoe played his best footy at the half flank earlier in the IMO. Destroying opponents and giving us run. As a forward he's just another Goldsack.

I'd move Varcoe to the half back line and bring Marsh in.