Health & Fitness The Hangar Meat Head Thread IV

So this is the gym thread huh?

Any advice on gym routines for skinny guys? I'm lightly framed so it is hard for me to keep this massive diet up. I used to go to gym as a teenager/early 20s, but kind of stopped going the past 2 years. Of course lost all of my gains since then.

I'm 184cm and 69kg. Any advice on workouts, websites, meal preparation and keeping up the routine?
So confusing with all the different advice that I receive nowadays.

1) don't be afraid of cheat meals or adding oil/butter to everything
2) you'd be better served on a lower volume/higher intensity program eg sets of 5-8 reps on a handful of exercises as opposed to 8-12 reps and heaps of exercises
3) moving more weight will be your primary driver so use big compound movements and don't worry so much about "feeling" muscles contracting. As the saying goes - you can't flex bone

Saturday - dynamic effort lower (week 2)
Main movement
1. Box squat w/giant cambered bar + doubled red bands - 20kg*5, 60kg*3, 100kg*2 (added squat briefs), 120kg*5*5
Supplemental movement
2. Wide stance deadlift + pink bands - 100kg*1*15
Accessories
3. DB paused split squat 3*6
4. Good morning w/giant cambered bar 3*8, 1*20
5. Single leg eccentric DB calf raise 3*8
Finisher
6. Seated back extensions w/KB 1*200

Monday - max effort upper
Main movement
1. Flat bench press + 2 chains (30kg) - 20kg*5, 40kg*3, 60kg*1, 80kg*1 (added bench shirt), 100kg*1, 110kg*1, 115kg*F
Supplemental movement
2. Incline band KB press - 16kg*25*2
Accessories
3. DB hammer curls 4*15 s/s Sphinx push ups 4*F
4. Bent over DB shoulder raise 4*15
5. Vogelpohl row 4*12
Finisher
6. Side raises w/ankle weights 1*100

Wednesday - max effort lower body
Main movement
1. Close stance barbell deadlift off 2 mats (10cm) - 60kg*5, 100kg*3, 140kg*1, 160kg*1, 180kg*1, 200kg*1
Supplemental movement
2. Standing barbell row off 2 mats (10cm) - 100kg*5*2, 80kg*6*2
Accessories
3. Glute ham raise 3*6, 1*15
4. Stiff leg sumo deadlift 3*8

Friday - dynamic effort upper body
Main movement
1. Bench press w/4" cambered bar + pink bands & small chain - 20kg*5, 40kg*3*9
Supplemental movement
2. Seated DB press - 15kg*25, 17.5kg*18, 20kg*13
Accessories
3. Reverse EZ bar curls 4*12 s/s lying DB extension 4*10 s/s elbows out KB extension 4*8
4. Chest fly w/DB 3*10
5. CS KB row 4*10

Notes
+ squats moved alright on Saturday, though I'm definitely glad the bands don't seem to add as much resistance as I thought they might haha. One of the guys really (really) sucks with the giant cambered bar so it's fun watching him struggle this cycle lol
+ would have liked to go heavier on speed deads but with numbers it would have taken too long to change plates, plus the main point of speed work is to work on technique and I got 15 opportunities to do that
+ going to start throwing in the finisher as a means of attacking a weak point with a buttload of reps
+ seated back extensions are pretty much as they sound: sit down, bent at the upper part of the waist, grab the KB and extend back up to upright. Smashes the erectors around lower shoulder blade region which is where I tend to break down on squats and deads
+ I'm not getting a lot of pop out of my shirt atm. Not sure if it's cos I'm that 2-3kg lighter than last training cycle or if the shirt has stretched a lot. They'll shrink down a little if you boil them so I might try that before the next session I use it otherwise I'll be trying to get hold of the one I gave to my friend that is 1-2 sizes smaller
+ sphinx push ups were surprisingly hard (was getting ~10 reps). You start in a normal push up position (hands maybe a little further out in front) then lower down onto your forearms/elbows
+ a Vogelpohl row is for all intents and purposes a standing close grip lat pull down
+ on Wednesday one of the girls squatted in her suit so we ended up running out of time a little bit
+ figured I wouldn't do my accessories at home on Friday after uni so I just went in late lol (means I can nap or start my 2000 word neuroscience essay when I get home)

Saturday - dynamic effort lower body (week 3)
Main movement
1. Box squat w/giant cambered bar + double red bands - 20kg*5, 60kg*5, 100kg*4, 120kg*1, 130kg*5*4
Supplemental movement
2. Wide stance deadlift from below knee + red bands - 60kg*12*4
Accessories
3. Kneeling good morning 3*8, 1*15
4. Reverse hyper 4*10 s/s banded ab crunches 4*15
5. Glute isolations on GHD 1*50
Finisher
6. Band marching 1*3 minutes

Monday - max effort upper body
Main movement
1. Decline bench press - 40kg*5, 50kg*3, 60kg*1, 70kg*1, 80kg*1, 90kg*1, 97.5kg*1, 105kg*1 (5kg PR)
Supplemental movement
2. Dips - 10kg*15, 15, 10
Accessories
3. Decline DB extensions 3*6, 1*15
4. Seated cable row 4*12
5. Upright cable row w/external rotation 3*12

Main movement
1. Barbell front squat - 40kg*5, 60kg*3, 80kg*1, 100kg*1, 110kg*1 (added knee wraps), 120kg*1
Supplemental movement
2. Standing barbell row - 80kg*10, 90kg*8, 100kg*6, 60kg*16
Accessories
3. Glute Ham Raise 4*F
4. Powerpulls 3*8 w/hold @ top, 1*30
5. Seated band hip abduction 4*12

Friday - dynamic effort upper body
Main movement
1. Bench press w/4" cambered bar + pink bands & big chain - 20kg*5, 40kg*3*9
Supplemental movement
2. Flat DB press - 25kg*20, 16, 11

Notes
+ squats were pretty brutes on Saturday - we were one short so went through sets a lot quicker and my back was pretty fried from deadlifting on Wednesday
+ the wide stance deads were done for time (15 seconds - upper limits of time for a 1rm). Just happened to get 12 each set
+ pretty happy with the decline PR as we didn't do it too long ago, and typically any sort of fatigue/weight loss affects my bench the most
+ that said ^ I got crushed by front squats lol. My pr is 130kg and 120 damn near killed me
+ powerpulls below: more erector and glute intensive than regular deads
+ normally I don't drop off quite as sharply in reps doing between sets like I did DB bench (particularly as the 20 wasn't that hard). Everyone looked like they were struggling a bit during speed bench so not sure if we all need a deload or if it's just me missing out on food and sleep (I'd hazard a guess it's a combination of both)
+ skipped accessories on Friday to go to uni and also rest in the arvo for Circa Max on the weekend (+ I had to work Friday night)
02:38 (I've got a DIY version using 3 poles and my power rack)

Saturday - Circa Max (week 1)
Main movement
1. Free squat + green & purple bands (100kg) - 25kg*5, 45kg*3, 65kg*1 (added briefs), 85kg*1, 105kg*1 (added suit straps down), 125kg*1, 145kg*1, 160kg*1
Accessories
2. Hip abduction machine 2*15
3. Belt squat machine walks 1*3 minutes

Main movement
1. Flat bench press - 40kg*5, 60kg*3, 80kg*1, 95kg*1, 110kg*1 (added bench shirt), 120kg*1, 130kg*1 (added 5cm board), 137.5kg*F
Supplemental movement
2. Dips - 20kg*10, 8, 6
Accessories
3. DB elbows out extension + band 4*10, 1*25
4. Standing barbell row 5*10
5. Band pull apart 4*15 s/s DB hammer curl 4*12

Main movement
1. Wide stance deadlift (comp opener) - 60kg*5, 100kg*3, 140kg*1, 180kg*1 (added suit), 200kg*1, 215kg*1
Supplemental movement
2. Powerpulls - 60kg*12, 80kg*8, 100kg*5, 40kg*25
Accessories
3. Seated band hamstring curl 4*35
4. Hip & quad extension 4*6
5. Static holds w/Zercher harness 3*1 minute

Friday - dynamic effort upper
Main movement
1. Flat bench press + black bands (55-60kg) - 20kg*5, 30kg*3, 40kg*3*3
Supplemental movement
2. Isometric bench press + purple bands (80-90kg) - 20kg*F*3
Accessories
3. Seated overhead cable extensions 4*10, 1*25
4. CS KB row 4*12
5. Band pull parts *100
6. DB hammer curls 3*20
7. Elbows out DB extensions 4*12

Notes
+ squats felt really good on Saturday so we will see how they carry over to the comp
+ bench on Monday did not feel great lol. The lost body weight means I'm getting no carryover from the shirt. I've teed up a spare but won't know how that fits until the day of the comp lol
+ a few technical errors to clean up on deads but the weight moved super fast so there's minimal chance of me missing my first lift even accounting for the fatigue from squats/bench
+ Friday was a bit all over the place as it was actually divided up over effectively 3 training sessions lol first one starting at 6am and third finishing at 09:30pm. Definitely not doing that again

Been a while ...

Finally getting back into a gym routine after 6 months of minimal training (had a lot of personal health issues going on).

Feel like I'm starting from scratch but it's nice being able to lift weights again, although my muscles are constantly on fire at the moment!

Also making sure I'm stretching before and after each session as I got real lazy with that the last couple of years.

I hate that I've lost so much strength but hoping it won't take too long to get the numbers back up :D

i thought this was about discussing your favourite steaks...

Thinking about starting a little bodybuilding and fitness cooking instagram or something similar. Lots of people telling you how to bulk meal prep but it always taste like a mix of rubberised arse and tasteless shite.

If anyone would be interested, that is.

Thinking about starting a little bodybuilding and fitness cooking instagram or something similar. Lots of people telling you how to bulk meal prep but it always taste like a mix of rubberised arse and tasteless shite.

If anyone would be interested, that is.

Can you do vego ones? :p

I follow so many meal prepping ig's but I'm so damn lazy I never actually do the meal prep part haha.

Saturday - Circa Max (week 1)
Main movement
1. Free squat + green & purple bands (100kg) - 25kg*5, 45kg*3, 65kg*1 (added briefs), 85kg*1, 105kg*1 (added suit straps down), 125kg*1, 145kg*1, 160kg*1
Accessories
2. Hip abduction machine 2*15
3. Belt squat machine walks 1*3 minutes

Main movement
1. Flat bench press - 40kg*5, 60kg*3, 80kg*1, 95kg*1, 110kg*1 (added bench shirt), 120kg*1, 130kg*1 (added 5cm board), 137.5kg*F
Supplemental movement
2. Dips - 20kg*10, 8, 6
Accessories
3. DB elbows out extension + band 4*10, 1*25
4. Standing barbell row 5*10
5. Band pull apart 4*15 s/s DB hammer curl 4*12

Main movement
1. Wide stance deadlift (comp opener) - 60kg*5, 100kg*3, 140kg*1, 180kg*1 (added suit), 200kg*1, 215kg*1
Supplemental movement
2. Powerpulls - 60kg*12, 80kg*8, 100kg*5, 40kg*25
Accessories
3. Seated band hamstring curl 4*35
4. Hip & quad extension 4*6
5. Static holds w/Zercher harness 3*1 minute

Friday - dynamic effort upper
Main movement
1. Flat bench press + black bands (55-60kg) - 20kg*5, 30kg*3, 40kg*3*3
Supplemental movement
2. Isometric bench press + purple bands (80-90kg) - 20kg*F*3
Accessories
3. Seated overhead cable extensions 4*10, 1*25
4. CS KB row 4*12
5. Band pull parts *100
6. DB hammer curls 3*20
7. Elbows out DB extensions 4*12

Notes
+ squats felt really good on Saturday so we will see how they carry over to the comp
+ bench on Monday did not feel great lol. The lost body weight means I'm getting no carryover from the shirt. I've teed up a spare but won't know how that fits until the day of the comp lol
+ a few technical errors to clean up on deads but the weight moved super fast so there's minimal chance of me missing my first lift even accounting for the fatigue from squats/bench
+ Friday was a bit all over the place as it was actually divided up over effectively 3 training sessions lol first one starting at 6am and third finishing at 09:30pm. Definitely not doing that again

God I'm tired just reading that. Do you have kids?

I can try!

I struggle, I'm eating lots of eggs, veggies and lentils at the moment.

I need to find some low fat/sugar condiments though, any recommendations?

I struggle, I'm eating lots of eggs, veggies and lentils at the moment.

I need to find some low fat/sugar condiments though, any recommendations?
Any hot sauce is perfect. Failing that I've found that the Flavor God seasonings really make a huge difference. Nandos sauce doesn't have sugar either.

Sweet, thanks :D

God I'm tired just reading that. Do you have kids?

Nah, no kids.
That was actually a low(er) volume week for me as I was leading into a comp.
Normally I try and do some light stuff between training sessions but I was doing footy 2-3x week (depending on work/uni schedule) so skipped them to conserve energy.

Guess who's back!

14kg lost in 6 weeks, strength returning very quickly, getting some shape to my arms and legs again.

110kg squat, 300kg leg press this evening!

Feeling so good.
Nicely done.

I raised the bat and looked settled in for a big score so I've jumped back into training as well. I've also been experimenting with intermittent fasting etc. I have gone about it a bit differently and am seeing a PT 3 times a week but only for 30 minute intense sessions. I had never used bands before and though I knew my way around a gym but am amazed at how much you can do with body weight and a band under the watchful eye of a good trainer.

I'll be 40 next year and realised that if i don't change my ways I will be 30kg's heavier than I was when I turned 30! The body remembers the gym quickly but the first few weeks were tough! I had crazy DOMS in my quads that were so bad I was struggling to get in and out of my car and had to take Voltaren to sleep! Now I am into it, I leave every session with a wave of euphoria and am approaching everything with a more positive outlook. Further to the obvious physical benefits, the psychological benefit is also huge. I am feeling much happier about life and am kicking myself for forgetting how much of an outlet strenuous activity is...

So it’s that time of the year again in Crossfit, The Open.

First weeks workout was as many rounds of 19 wall balls and 19 cals on the rower in 15 minutes. Managed 4 rounds and 19 wb, was aiming for five full rounds but I’m pretty happy with that. A couple of others at the gym I go to got 8 full rounds, as a guide one of the fittest women in the world managed nine and a half!

Having a rest this afternoon....

I don't know why, but this thread isn't changing to 'read' once I've clicked into it, so annoying :mad:

Probably something to do with all the Crossfit talk, as everyone knows the first rule of Crossfit - talk about Crossfit!

I don't know why, but this thread isn't changing to 'read' once I've clicked into it, so annoying :mad:

Probably something to do with all the Crossfit talk, as everyone knows the first rule of Crossfit - talk about Crossfit!
Yeah, very annoying.

When did this start happening for you?

I’ve just armed this forum read and it cleared the unread status off this thread.

Weird that there are some posts not clearing as read.

If it’s still happening to anyone else I will have it checked out tomorrow.

When did this start happening for you?
I don't know for sure but probably over the weekend. I had all of the EFC board's read and this one wouldn't mark as read. Then when I posted in it, 2 new posts appeared. This issue was the same on phone and PC.