the next AFL club

it was a good deal, but wonder, how much Kennett & his mates in government had to with brokering the deal.
if a team was set up full time in tassie how long and how much would the government sponsorthem

Why does the Tassy government need to sponsor the team? Qld and NSW governments arent the major sponsors of GC and GWS. The game is a national game, they can get a national sponsor, or even do a PA and go for some international sponsors.
The only 'sponsorship' the government will need to do will be in regards to upgrading a ground and dealings with the venue.

Why does the Tassy government need to sponsor the team? Qld and NSW governments are the major sponsors of GC and GWS. The game is a national game, they can get a national sponsor, or even do a PA and go for some international sponsors.
The only 'sponsorship' the government will need to do will be in regards to upgrading a ground and dealings with the venue.
read the previous posts, tassie has by far the lowest tv revenue dollar out of all the states, GDP, as well as small population in a large area,

even if the government did sponsor them, how much and long would is be, where would the rest of the dollars from?
tassie deserve a team but the only worry would be is can they sustain one, & get decent sized crowds each home game

btw, the governments do not sponsor GWS or GCS

read the previous posts, tassie has by far the lowest tv revenue dollar out of all the states, GDP, as well as small population in a large area,

even if the government did sponsor them, how much and long would is be, where would the rest of the dollars from?
tassie deserve a team but the only worry would be is can they sustain one, & get decent sized crowds each home game

btw, the governments do not sponsor GWS or GCS
Sorry I meant to say Qld and NSW gov are not the major sponsors of GC and GWS.

Its a national game. A national sponsor wont say no to sponsoring the tassie team because TV revenue is small is Tasmania. They will be looking at the national picture which all companies would be doing.
Tasmania have some good national companies that are based there, although some may not be allowed to sponsor them (being alcohol and all) they wont have to worry about the sponsorship.

NSW & QLD governments don't need to sponsor the teams there, as there are plenty of companies big enough and wanting the publicity to do it themselves.

Tas isn't exactly overrun with large private companies awash with cash.

In Tas, their best hope for sponsors would be companies looking to get on the TV back on the mainland cheaply.

That's why the Tas government would probably need to sponsor the team (probably under the guise of promoting tourism, but with small stadiums likely to be filled with locals, there doesn't seem to be a huge scope for that).

NSW & QLD governments don't need to sponsor the teams there, as there are plenty of companies big enough and wanting the publicity to do it themselves.

Tas isn't exactly overrun with large private companies awash with cash.

In Tas, their best hope for sponsors would be companies looking to get on the TV back on the mainland cheaply.

That's why the Tas government would probably need to sponsor the team (probably under the guise of promoting tourism, but with small stadiums likely to be filled with locals, there doesn't seem to be a huge scope for that).

I dont understand your logic here at all...
Why does a Tasmanian football team have to be sponsored by tasmanian companies?
Port Adelaide is sponsored by 2 international companies, Adel sponsored by an international company, Swans sponsored by an international company, Fremantle sponsored by a Victorian company, GC by a national and international company... get the picture... you aren't forced to only be sponsored by a private company in your home state... anyone in the world could sponsor you!

Very true, but where are those companies trying to market into?

They're all trying to gain support in the clubs region (yes, ssome national as well, but mostly targetted).

Tas is a small, widespread, economic backwater which doesn't even show up in TV ratings. Who, from outside the state, would be looking to spend the millions required to be a major sponsor to get into that area?

Most of the money from sponsorship is from corporate boxes, coterie groups and the like. Only companies with a significant footprint in the area the game is being played is going to be interested in paying for that. That's not to say they have to be Tasmanian, but they obviously need to have a half decent client base in Tasmania to make it worth their while.

Very true, but where are those companies trying to market into?

They're all trying to gain support in the clubs region (yes, ssome national as well, but mostly targetted).

Tas is a small, widespread, economic backwater which doesn't even show up in TV ratings. Who, from outside the state, would be looking to spend the millions required to be a major sponsor to get into that area?

Using that logic, one would argue why would Renault want to target Port Adelaide, most people in the Port couldn't afford a Renault, and those that have them stole them... Its about national exposure. Being the major sponsor of the newest team in the AFL will give the company great national exposure. Every week there will be thousands of people watching your logo on a football ground sending them subliminal messages about your company.

Believe it or not, Tassy games won't only be broadcast in Tasmania... they will be broadcast across Australia, NZ and Asia, as well as USA and Europe too... now that is fantastic exposure for any company!

Most of the money from sponsorship is from corporate boxes, coterie groups and the like. Only companies with a significant footprint in the area the game is being played is going to be interested in paying for that. That's not to say they have to be Tasmanian, but they obviously need to have a half decent client base in Tasmania to make it worth their while.

IIRC when they proposed a team before the AFL rejected them, they already had a major sponsor at 4-5m a season.
Add in companies like Boags, Cascade, Mining companies, the 2 casinos in Tassy that would almost fill the corporate boxes, as any ground they have would hold only 25-30k with limited corporate suites. The government would take a few suites I would imagine.

IIRC when they proposed a team before the AFL rejected them, they already had a major sponsor at 4-5m a season.

lol. You might want to recheck that figure.

Add in companies like Boags, Cascade, Mining companies, the 2 casinos in Tassy that would almost fill the corporate boxes, as any ground they have would hold only 25-30k with limited corporate suites. The government would take a few suites I would imagine.

Maybe, but you're going to be talking about many dozens of them. At least 50 if they want to raise the required revenue. Most would need to be filled by the SME market, not large businesses.

I would probably agree, dont forget the chocolate factory in Hobart, first port of call for my Mrs when we visited Tassie :).

Tassie would need , and no doubt get have big Government backing, tourism is a big money spinner, beautiful place to visit.

lol. You might want to recheck that figure.

Maybe, but you're going to be talking about many dozens of them. At least 50 if they want to raise the required revenue. Most would need to be filled by the SME market, not large businesses.

Just checked the RFC website.
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/corporate/sponsors

There are 17 companies listed, and that's just be the big ones (probably 100K for the little ones, obviously the big ones are for millions)...The 'corporate hospitality' types (the 5 figure deals) would be a longer list found elsewhere (I've seen such lists, just can't find it right now).

Just checked the RFC website.
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/corporate/sponsors

There are 17 companies listed, and that's just be the big ones (probably 100K for the little ones, obviously the big ones are for millions)...The 'corporate hospitality' types (the 5 figure deals) would be a longer list found elsewhere (I've seen such lists, just can't find it right now).

I guess when the AFL jump on the footy dept costs then clubs wont have to worry about their incomes so much. FD spending has been getting like an arms race of late. Much of it, I suspect, is wasted. Clubs will be forced to be more efficient in their operations.
I think the AFL should take the lead in sports medicine areas & clubs will be able to better see what works & what is a waste of money. Footy will be the better for it.
No more Danks:rolleyes:

Using that logic, one would argue why would Renault want to target Port Adelaide, most people in the Port couldn't afford a Renault, and those that have them stole them... Its about national exposure. Being the major sponsor of the newest team in the AFL will give the company great national exposure. Every week there will be thousands of people watching your logo on a football ground sending them subliminal messages about your company.

Believe it or not, Tassy games won't only be broadcast in Tasmania... they will be broadcast across Australia, NZ and Asia, as well as USA and Europe too... now that is fantastic exposure for any company!

Exactly. Such a crap argument that Tassie couldn't afford a team, especially when they would have likely govt involvement. Why do GWS have good sponsorship - nobody actually watches them in their home market. Why does Mazda sponsor North Melbourne? In fact where do North Melbourne get their money from? They don't have many supporters, they don't have any pokie revenue? They have a bad stadium deal. Where does this magical $30-35 million actually come from? How can they magically conjure it up where Tassie can't? Vlad has done some good things, but his Victorian centricty was/is a huge part of his legacy.

I guess when the AFL jump on the footy dept costs then clubs wont have to worry about their incomes so much. FD spending has been getting like an arms race of late. Much of it, I suspect, is wasted. Clubs will be forced to be more efficient in their operations.
I think the AFL should take the lead in sports medicine areas & clubs will be able to better see what works & what is a waste of money. Footy will be the better for it.
No more Danks:rolleyes:

I suppose so.

Honestly, I'm not sure how all that will work, but common sense suggests that there will still be benefit from having more money...It'll just be less dramatic (presumably).

I suppose so.

Honestly, I'm not sure how all that will work, but common sense suggests that there will still be benefit from having more money...It'll just be less dramatic (presumably).

I guess clubs wont be 'pressured' so much to raise money via things like pokies to waste on over paid phys-ed teachers & the cast of thousands to run the I.T analysis systems etc etc.
Maybe the players will get a pay rise.
Maybe lower leagues & country & regional footy as well as junior footy might get some help.
One lives in hope.

Exactly. Such a crap argument that Tassie couldn't afford a team, especially when they would have likely govt involvement. Why do GWS have good sponsorship - nobody actually watches them in their home market. Why does Mazda sponsor North Melbourne? In fact where do North Melbourne get their money from? They don't have many supporters, they don't have any pokie revenue? They have a bad stadium deal. Where does this magical $30-35 million actually come from? How can they magically conjure it up where Tassie can't? Vlad has done some good things, but his Victorian centricty was/is a huge part of his legacy.

I'm actually a big fan of something happening in Tassie, but there are three valid points you touch on

1) Its not that they will likely have govt intervention, they need it. To stay afloat, they need the money going to the Hawks and North directed to them. Thats fine now, but what happens if a party with a "bread not circuses" attitude takes power? Suddenly the team is left coming to the AFL for aid, because reality is they won't make up the shortfall just in the corporate sector

This is fine, as long as its a risk the AFL and the other clubs are prepared to take (its not one I'm opposed to)

2) GWS gets corporate attention because its one of two AFL options in Australia's largest city. Even if there is not huge demand for AFL corporate seats in the NRL focused town, having only two teams means both have a decent pond to fish from. In Tassie how many companies have a regional office there, let alone a head office? In sales roles, you generally find TAS combined with VIC these days, and that sales manager is based in Melbourne. Any corp entertaining they do is most likely always in Victoria.

This means you do have a small pond to get corps from in Tassie, so filling so those seats every week and getting premium prices will be tough.

3) You raise North, but the whole point is we don't want any more teams surviving year to year like North do. We want teams to ultimately be sustainable.

I guess clubs wont be 'pressured' so much to raise money via things like pokies to waste on over paid phys-ed teachers & the cast of thousands to run the I.T analysis systems etc etc.
Maybe the players will get a pay rise.
Maybe lower leagues & country & regional footy as well as junior footy might get some help.
One lives in hope.

Mostly I agree, but I'm too cynical to think they'll send much more money 'downstream'.

I'm actually a big fan of something happening in Tassie, but there are three valid points you touch on

1) Its not that they will likely have govt intervention, they need it. To stay afloat, they need the money going to the Hawks and North directed to them. Thats fine now, but what happens if a party with a "bread not circuses" attitude takes power? Suddenly the team is left coming to the AFL for aid, because reality is they won't make up the shortfall just in the corporate sector

This is fine, as long as its a risk the AFL and the other clubs are prepared to take (its not one I'm opposed to)

2) GWS gets corporate attention because its one of two AFL options in Australia's largest city. Even if there is not huge demand for AFL corporate seats in the NRL focused town, having only two teams means both have a decent pond to fish from. In Tassie how many companies have a regional office there, let alone a head office? In sales roles, you generally find TAS combined with VIC these days, and that sales manager is based in Melbourne. Any corp entertaining they do is most likely always in Victoria.

This means you do have a small pond to get corps from in Tassie, so filling so those seats every week and getting premium prices will be tough.

3) You raise North, but the whole point is we don't want any more teams surviving year to year like North do. We want teams to ultimately be sustainable.

I dont think a Tassie team would be any more precarious than any other team. Lots of things ultimately rely on Government. The AFL has relied on a close link with Government to get stadiums built. The AFL is worth a fortune to the Victorian government & economy. Having some Tassie government support shows how they view it as an arm of tourism & advertising. The Victorian government also does that for the Formula one Grand Prix. All governments do the same sort of things.
I'm certain a Tassie AFL team would do well. It wouldnt have to rely on Poker machine money for instance. It would certainly be a better prospect than FNQ, Newcastle, Sydney3 & the ACT. WA3 needs doing as well ASAP.

My point is that people always quote this magical figure of $30-35 mill to run a footy club. I'm using North as an example because they don't have pokies specifically. Where does the money come from? No pokie revenue, poor stadium deal, small membership. Where do they get the funds? Huge sponsorship? White Knights?

My point is that that a Tassie team could make as much membership revenue as a team like North, they could have licensed pokie revenue, they would have govt support, they would have a good stadium deal. Sponsorship? I note some of the reasons given for this, but i'd suggest the biggest thing a sponsor is looking for is national exposure and this has more to do with the AFL's TV deal more than anything else.

I dont think a Tassie team would be any more precarious than any other team. Lots of things ultimately rely on Government. The AFL has relied on a close link with Government to get stadiums built. The AFL is worth a fortune to the Victorian government & economy. Having some Tassie government support shows how they view it as an arm of tourism & advertising. The Victorian government also does that for the Formula one Grand Prix. All governments do the same sort of things.
I'm certain a Tassie AFL team would do well. It wouldnt have to rely on Poker machine money for instance. It would certainly be a better prospect than FNQ, Newcastle, Sydney3 & the ACT. WA3 needs doing as well ASAP.

Never said they would be worse off than all other clubs, far from it, just that their prosperity will be tied to govt generosity.

And remember there is significant pressure growing on the Vic govt to ditch the F1 due to cost. Just because a govt agrees today doesn't mean they always will

My point is that people always quote this magical figure of $30-35 mill to run a footy club. I'm using North as an example because they don't have pokies specifically. Where does the money come from? No pokie revenue, poor stadium deal, small membership. Where do they get the funds? Huge sponsorship? White Knights?

My point is that that a Tassie team could make as much membership revenue as a team like North, they could have licensed pokie revenue, they would have govt support, they would have a good stadium deal. Sponsorship? I note some of the reasons given for this, but i'd suggest the biggest thing a sponsor is looking for is national exposure and this has more to do with the AFL's TV deal more than anything else.

I'd stop using north as an example though, we need to set the bar higher

On sponsorship I agree, just not corporate support. Corps buy seats to take their clients and staff to the game. They won't be buying seats if they have no decent office down there, or the decision makers they are targeting are Vic based

I'd stop using north as an example though, we need to set the bar higher

On sponsorship I agree, just not corporate support. Corps buy seats to take their clients and staff to the game. They won't be buying seats if they have no decent office down there, or the decision makers they are targeting are Vic based

Given the state of manufacturing in this country I doubt their would be too many office managers left in Melbourne to make decisions to spend any money on football:rolleyes:. But really all ares of income are important, supporters, members, small business, big business & Government. Given the wide exposure of all AFL clubs & games I think a Tas team would do well enough with the necessary sponsorship.

Also given the AFL apparent desire to reduce the cost pressures on clubs, it would make a Tas team even more likely to succeed.

Given the state of manufacturing in this country I doubt their would be too many office managers left in Melbourne to make decisions to spend any money on football:rolleyes:. But really all ares of income are important, supporters, members, small business, big business & Government. Given the wide exposure of all AFL clubs & games I think a Tas team would do well enough with the necessary sponsorship.

Also given the AFL apparent desire to reduce the cost pressures on clubs, it would make a Tas team even more likely to succeed.

you have this massively wrong. FMCG is still predominately based in Victoria. Also its not about where head offices are, but your clients decision makers. These are often at site level, or regional location level. In all cases, Tassie rarely has independence on this anymore - most of the companies I've worked with who have a Tassie presence have moved more and more management away from Tassie over time (partially for staff consolidation, partially because there isn't enough work to justify a stand alone tassie role anymore).

For something like this you don't think about where are the guys who buy the seats, you think about where are the guys who get the invites. No matter what way you cut it, Tassie is at the lower end of the totem pole.

Again, I'm not against a Tassie side, but I think people need to go in eyes wide open. Thinking it will be a money spinner long term is wishful thinking