Opinion TOP 10 AFL/VFL Players of YOUR lifetime

Jeez you're making it hard - there's a fair era to cover In no particular order (and trying to spread the best over the field a bit)

Abletts (Snr & Jnr)
Royce Hart
Tony Lockett
Ian Stewart
Leigh Matthews
Chris Judd
Dean Cox
Steve Silvagni
Darrel Baldock

For you youngins a bit of Baldock magic (left foot - right foot - wet or dry - in the air - on the ground - 179 cm CHF)

The Doc sure punched above his weight. At 179cm he would almost be considered too small to play AFL, yet played at CHF! stewart was class and would easily fit into the modern era.

Top 10 is bloody hard.

Wayne Carey
Gary Ablett Jr
Gary Ablett Snr
Tony Lockett
James Hird
Michael Voss
Robert Harvey
Nathan Buckley
Matthew Pavlich
Nick Roewoldt

1. Carey
2. Ablett Jnr
3. Judd
4. Voss
5. Hird (genius on the field, not so much off the field)
6. Buckley
7. Franklin
8. Roo
9. Akermanis
10. Cox

So many unlucky to miss but especially Hayes, Milne and Scarlett.

1. Raph Clarke
2. Dean Polo
3. Richard Tambling
4. Zac Dawson
5. Jason Laycock
6. Kepler Bradley
7. Jack Watts
8. Josh Fraser
9. Courtney Johns
10. Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls

1. Wayne Carey
2. Ablett Jnr
3. Robert Harvey
4. Michael Voss
5. Nathan Buckley
6. James Hird
=7 Nick Riewoldt
=7 Matthew Pavlich
9 Mark Ricciuto
10 Lenny Hayes

Unlucky Cox, Lloyd, Cousins, Black, Aker, Scarlett, Enright and Tredrea off the top of my head.

Most overrated player during my time watching: C Judd, 3 votes.

Not sure what more Harves could have done

8 times AA
4 b&f
2 brownlows
2nd most brownlow votes
3 EJ whiten medals
Most possessions of any player

He was better than he's given credit for
Best midfielder in the game for a decade and a good mid for another decade

I was wrestling with putting him higher but didn't want to look too Saints focussed;)

Probably no one will agree with me but this is how I have viewed the last 47 years of watching our great game...(went to my first game, StKilda V Richmond, in 1968):

1st Leigh Matthews
2. Greg Williams
3. Gary Ablett (Snr)
4. Garry Ablett (Jnr)
5. Tony Lockett
6. Gary Dempsey
7. Peter Hudson
8. Rob Harvey
9. Simon Madden
10. Chris Judd
=10 Malcolm Blight

Most Over rated (all very good footballers but I didn't think they were as good as what others reckon):
1. J.Hird
2. R.Hart
3. T.Daniher
4. S.Kernahan
5. F. Bourke
6. C.Mew
7. B. McEvoy:D

Top 10 Saints since 1968: (I never saw Balodock. Ian Stewart was more of a Richmond player from my memories.)

1. Robert Harvey
2. Tony Lockett
3. Nick Riewoldt
4. Nathan Burke (seriously under rated player!!)
5. Lenny Hayes
6. Nicky Winmar
7. Stewart Loewe
8. Carl Ditterich
9. Trevor Barker
10. Nick Dal Santo

Top 10 Saints
1. Plugger
2. Rob Harvey
3.Lenny hayes
4. Nathan Burke
5. Max Hudgeton
6. Stewart Loewe
7. Nick Dal Santo
8.Nicky Winmar
9. Trevor Barker
10 Spud Frawley

Saints in my time of supporting 1982+

1-R.Harvey

2-T.Lockett
3-N.Riewoldt
4-L.Hayes
5-N.Burke
6-N.Winmar
7-S.Loewe
8-S.Fisher
9-N.Dal Santo
10-S.Milne

Then
Gehrig, Goddard, Montagnsa, Hudghton, Jones, Everitt, Dempster, Peckett, Grant, Steven

Probably no one will agree with me but this is how I have viewed the last 47 years of watching our great game...(went to my first game, StKilda V Richmond, in 1968):

1st Leigh Matthews
2. Greg Williams
3. Gary Ablett (Snr)
4. Garry Ablett (Jnr)
5. Tony Lockett
6. Gary Dempsey
7. Peter Hudson
8. Rob Harvey
9. Simon Madden
10. Chris Judd
=10 Malcolm Blight

Most Over rated (all very good footballers but I didn't think they were as good as what others reckon):
1. J.Hird
2. R.Hart
3. T.Daniher
4. S.Kernahan
5. F. Bourke
6. C.Mew
7. B. McEvoy:D

You can add M Voss, Goodes to that bottom list.

Top 10 Saints
1. Plugger
2. Rob Harvey
3.Lenny hayes
4. Nathan Burke
5. Max Hudgeton
6. Stewart Loewe
7. Nick Dal Santo
8.Nicky Winmar
9. Trevor Barker
10 Spud Frawley
I think you're forgetting someone :/

Geez thats a tuff list to do. I have changed my mind 20 times. So all i will say is.....
When he was on song, not injured and getting decent delivery TONY LOCKETT was pretty much totally unbeatable.
If Plugger had the cream of the crop ramming the ball down his throat like J.Dunstal did. Lockett wouldve kicked 1700 goals.
I dont care about todays defensive zones and blah blah blah. When it was one on one footy with people playing in their true positions the man was a FREAK!!!

1..T.Lockett

With the Saints being so crap for many years, loyalty to me was just as important as talent:

1. T Barker
2. N Riewoldt
3 R Harvey
4 N Winmar
5 S Loewe
6 L Hayes
7 N Burke
8 N Dal Santo
9 D Grant
10 G Young

* Lockett, it was one of the most distressing days of my life when he gave us the lemon and sarse, he can get rooted.

With the Saints being so crap for many years, loyalty to me was just as important as talent:

1. T Barker
2. N Riewoldt
3 R Harvey
4 N Winmar
5 S Loewe
6 L Hayes
7 N Burke
8 N Dal Santo
9 D Grant
10 G Young

* Lockett, it was one of the most distressing days of my life when he gave us the lemon and sarse, he can get rooted.
Loved David Grant great player