Travelling over from Perth - where to stay in Adelaide?

Hey guys

Sorry to intrude on to your board, but I am travelling over to Adelaide for the round 22 match between the Crows and Eagles.

Can anyone recommend where the best places to stay in Adelaide are? For example, casinos, bars, restaurants, etc.

Cheers,
Good luck on the weekend, i know all of the country will be barracking for your boys to win at Subi.

How much per night are you looking at spending?

I would stay at the Adelaide Intercontinental but that could be up to $200 a night. This is 200 mentres to the ground, less than 25 metres to the casino and bars are everywhere in the vicinity.

http://www.icadelaide.com.au

But saying anywhere in the heart of the city is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the ground.

This time of year you're best to just stay in the city. Depending on your budget I don't mind Ibis hotels for a quick cheapish footy trip. The Ibis in Adelaide is only a couple of years old and pretty much the same as the Ibis hotels you'll find in most capital cities.

In terms of restaurants etc then look no further than any combination of:

- Peel St/Leigh St (small bars, great restaurants, coffee etc)
- Gouger St (lots of restaurants, including cheap and quality Asian at Ky Chow or Ying Chow)
- Rundle St/East Tce/Ebenezer Place (bars, restaurants, coffee shops)
-Then there's the Casino precinct which is pretty stock standard for a smallish casino (small compared to Crown).

All of those places are pretty easy walking distance from your hotel if you stay at Ibis.

For a bit further walk/a short cab or bus ride you can also go North Adelaide for more great restaurants, cafes and pubs.

I found the Grand Chancellor quite a nice place to stay and pretty affordable (the singles and doubles, anyway) as far as I remember. It also puts you within jumping distance of the Casino and Adelaide Oval.

• Banned
cheers guys. So far ive booked the Majestic Hotel on Frome Street which doesnt look too far from Adelaide Oval and has a few cafes about. I cancelled the booking at Comfort Hotel Riviera already, if you guys come up with a hetter alternative ill do the same. My budget is $150 a night. Prefer to stay at a place that doesnt scream "budget" if you know what i mean, but not exactly a high roller.

It'll probably be a 15-20min walk from your hotel to AO but as it's an afternoon game do yourself a favour and walk to the ground along the river and take your time. The North tce/Uni/river area around there is very nice.
You've also got heaps of good restaurants, bars and pubs around Rundle st.
Enjoy.

I found the Grand Chancellor quite a nice place to stay and pretty affordable (the singles and doubles, anyway) as far as I remember. It also puts you within jumping distance of the Casino and Adelaide Oval.

Usually recommend this to anyone on a bit of a budget looking to stay in a twin room, 2 queen beds and a bit of extra space than most in the price range.

Hey guys

Sorry to intrude on to your board, but I am travelling over to Adelaide for the round 22 match between the Crows and Eagles.

Can anyone recommend where the best places to stay in Adelaide are? For example, casinos, bars, restaurants, etc.

Cheers,
Good luck on the weekend, i know all of the country will be barracking for your boys to win at Subi.

I've just sent you copy+paste of a PM I sent to somebody who recently visited Adelaide for a game at AO. Though bear in mind, unlike the original recipient, I have no idea how old you are, or what your tastes are.

Usually recommend this to anyone on a bit of a budget looking to stay in a twin room, 2 queen beds and a bit of extra space than most in the price range.
Grand Chancellor is already sold out. Obviously hugely popular.

I've just sent you copy+paste of a PM I sent to somebody who recently visited Adelaide for a game at AO. Though bear in mind, unlike the original recipient, I have no idea how old you are, or what your tastes are.
wow thanks mate!! Really appreciate all of the info in that message!

Will be copied and pasted on to the notes in my phone for the trip :thumbsu:

Grand Chancellor is already sold out. Obviously hugely popular.

wow thanks mate!! Really appreciate all of the info in that message!

Will be copied and pasted on to the notes in my phone for the trip :thumbsu:

No worries mate! If you'd like any more info about specific types of restaurants etc... let me know.

We stayed at the Mayfair a few weeks ago, corner hindley and king william - great location. Little bit more than $150, we paid $170 but worth it, very nice hasnt been open that long.

the city has definitely lifted its game lately, well ahead of North Adelaide in terms of nice places to go for mine.

a lot of places you need to seek out though, if you need ideas let us know what sort of place you're looking for.

I stayed at the ibis last year for the Tiges game. Was brand new then... Room was small but was fine just for myself. Cheap, nice view, and the brekky was top notch. Right behind Rundle Mall too so only a short walk to AO

Intercontinental is a great spot as close to everything and occasionally has very good rates.. I generally stay at Hilton, ranges from $180-$300 per night there though.

serious question - Would it be cheaper to stay at Glenelg and tram it up rather than the city?

Surely there's some cheaper hotels down there as it's away from the city (but maybe offset by beach?)

Majestic is pretty good, nice roof garden and across the road from the Polenta Bar which is a good restaurant.

Second the Kaffana rec if you want to OD on meat.

We stayed at the Mayfair a few weeks ago, corner hindley and king william - great location. Little bit more than $150, we paid $170 but worth it, very nice hasnt been open that long.
it's that cheap?
I thought I heard the Mayfair was to be our luxury hotel, 5 star + or something like that?
For that price it'd certainly be worth it!