Travel USA travel tips and tricks

Just booked first US trip! April 2016 LA 4 nights, San Francisco 3 nights, Vegas 2 nights, New York 7 nights.
If anyones got general tips about ANYTHING please share! So many s**t websites to try and go through on the net.

Just booked first US trip! April 2016 LA 4 nights, San Francisco 3 nights, Vegas 2 nights, New York 7 nights.
If anyones got general tips about ANYTHING please share! So many s**t websites to try and go through on the net.
Coachella music festival (if ur into festivals) incredible

No worries, thinking Point Reyes area for a week after SF, Napa maybe but looks a bit twee

Like to do some walking/hiking.

1. San Francisco. I have visited SF many times but do not know it all that well re dangerous areas, other than Oakland (i.e. parts of Oakland are dangerous). One side of my family lived in the People's Republic of Berkeley (which is safe) in the Bay Area of SF for over 40 years (they are now in Santa Rosa in the Napa Valley) and I have asked them for comments about the locations. I am waiting for a response. One Q is - are you looking at AirBnb as an accommodation option in SF? If so then you can get comments on the area. See also Trip Advisor. I also posted some sight-seeing suggestions for SF a while ago here in this forum.

2. A week on the coast near SF/other options. Some random comments-

Point Reyes - you could scope out Point Reyes National Seashore area while in SF - it is north just across the Golden Gate. Having done so it may be that you would not want to spend a whole week there, but certainly there are hiking trails etc. Stinson Beach is a popular area. But I myself would drive to Yosemite NP instead - plenty of hiking trails there.

The Napa Valley is not twee - I know the area quite well and have family members who have vineyards supplying grapes to some of the wineries there. But in August it will be crowded with tourists and heavy traffic. There is a wine train there if you want to Google it - meal and wine on board. But not noticeably cheap.

It depends to some extent if you are traveling as a family with young kids and want to stay in one place for a week on the coast, or wish to do more driving time and split it up into more of a road trip with some different stopovers during that week.

If you want to spend 1 week in the one place on the coast relatively close to SF, then south would be the way to go. The Monterey area is interesting but while I have driven thru it many times I have only stopped there for a meal/a stroll along Fisherman's Wharf en route to SF.

The beaches and the water along the west coast are not a patch on Oz beaches, so if you are looking for a beach holiday for the beach per se you may be disappointed. I would say that the best of the USA scenically is away from the coasts, altho it is well worth "doing" the west coast (at the risk of contradicting myself).

As a non-coast option from SF I would recommend driving to Yosemite NP (about 4 hours driving time from SF) and spend some days staying in that area and exploring the Park - it is well worth seeing, altho I prefer to see it outside of summer months.

If you want to spend a week driving along parts of the west coast, then here are my comments on that (I have kind of cut and pasted some comments from my road trip travel diaries, so a bit disjointed):

Highway 1 south from SF . Many US tourists and most international tourists seem to take this route. The scenery is somewhat reminiscent of the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, and it passes through places on tourists' lists such as Monterey, Carmel, Solvang, Santa Barbara, Hearst Castle etc. In August there will likely be heavy tourist traffic and accommodation highly booked. It is a scenic drive and I like it. I have done it 3 times. But I prefer the coastal road north of SF.

Highway 101/1 north of SF The northern coast highway 1/101 takes you thru forests, including sections of the California redwoods at Humboldt Redwoods State Park south of Fortuna (a must see and for reviews click on e.g. TripAdvisor.com). Nice hiking trails thru the redwoods, but there are bears...The northern sections of US 1/101 have less traffic. Motels should also be cheaper on the northern route.

Unlike the southern coastal road, the northern coastal road has rivers and streams and fishing villages en route, which you can explore. You can return to SF the fast way on I-5 South, which is a dual lane inland freeway.

If going north then from SF drive over the Golden Gate on US101 as far as Santa Rosa then turn left onto CA 12/Bodega Highway thru Sebastopol and then make your way onto CA 1/101which will take you to the coast and points north.

I recommend that you buy a hard copy road map of CA and a Garmin GPS at a Best Buy in the USA.

In summer there can be fog all along the west coast. Here are some notes on that based on my own travel diaries:
⦁ The west coast is extremely rugged, with limited access to beaches due to the terrain. The ocean water is generally frikken cold due to the southbound California Current and you usually need a wetsuit to swim. In summer months there is often heavy coastal fog which can stretch inland for about 3 miles (for example, in SF you quite often cannot see the Golden Gate for fog, and this fog effect can stretch right down the coast, north and south).
⦁ A few years ago I was heading to the coast from [my cousin's] place in Santa Rosa in the Napa Valley one August (summer) and it was about 80' F (27'C) and sunny. About 4 miles from the coast I ran into the fog and the temp dropped about 20 degrees and it started drizzling. Had to slow down and put the roof up on my convertible. When I headed back to Santa Rosa and out of the fog it got back to sunny and warm (and no roof).
⦁ When I was in Tillamook Oregon one trip (across the country from Cape Coral Florida to Santa Rosa via the South then up thru the northern states) I stopped at a store to get a drink. I overheard 2 middle-aged very tanned and bejeweled ladies say to the proprietor - we've flown all the way from Florida to see the Pacific Ocean and all we've seen these last 3 days is this goddamn fog. We ain't never going to see the Pacific Ocean if this keeps up !!
⦁ On the coast with the fog there can be very strong winds (I am talking over 30 knots). Non-summer months is best for no fog.

I can provide more specifics if you want - but now waiting for the SF dangerous etc areas heads-up (if my CA family ever get off their asses and reply) :$

1. San Francisco. I have visited SF many times but do not know it all that well re dangerous areas, other than Oakland (i.e. parts of Oakland are dangerous). One side of my family lived in the People's Republic of Berkeley (which is safe) in the Bay Area of SF for over 40 years (they are now in Santa Rosa in the Napa Valley) and I have asked them for comments about the locations. I am waiting for a response. One Q is - are you looking at AirBnb as an accommodation option in SF? If so then you can get comments on the area. See also Trip Advisor. I also posted some sight-seeing suggestions for SF a while ago here in this forum.

2. A week on the coast near SF/other options. Some random comments-

Point Reyes - you could scope out Point Reyes National Seashore area while in SF - it is north just across the Golden Gate. Having done so it may be that you would not want to spend a whole week there, but certainly there are hiking trails etc. Stinson Beach is a popular area. But I myself would drive to Yosemite NP instead - plenty of hiking trails there.

The Napa Valley is not twee - I know the area quite well and have family members who have vineyards supplying grapes to some of the wineries there. But in August it will be crowded with tourists and heavy traffic. There is a wine train there if you want to Google it - meal and wine on board. But not noticeably cheap.

It depends to some extent if you are traveling as a family with young kids and want to stay in one place for a week on the coast, or wish to do more driving time and split it up into more of a road trip with some different stopovers during that week.

If you want to spend 1 week in the one place on the coast relatively close to SF, then south would be the way to go. The Monterey area is interesting but while I have driven thru it many times I have only stopped there for a meal/a stroll along Fisherman's Wharf en route to SF.

The beaches and the water along the west coast are not a patch on Oz beaches, so if you are looking for a beach holiday for the beach per se you may be disappointed. I would say that the best of the USA scenically is away from the coasts, altho it is well worth "doing" the west coast (at the risk of contradicting myself).

As a non-coast option from SF I would recommend driving to Yosemite NP (about 4 hours driving time from SF) and spend some days staying in that area and exploring the Park - it is well worth seeing, altho I prefer to see it outside of summer months.

If you want to spend a week driving along parts of the west coast, then here are my comments on that (I have kind of cut and pasted some comments from my road trip travel diaries, so a bit disjointed):

Highway 1 south from SF . Many US tourists and most international tourists seem to take this route. The scenery is somewhat reminiscent of the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, and it passes through places on tourists' lists such as Monterey, Carmel, Solvang, Santa Barbara, Hearst Castle etc. In August there will likely be heavy tourist traffic and accommodation highly booked. It is a scenic drive and I like it. I have done it 3 times. But I prefer the coastal road north of SF.

Highway 101/1 north of SF The northern coast highway 1/101 takes you thru forests, including sections of the California redwoods at Humboldt Redwoods State Park south of Fortuna (a must see and for reviews click on e.g. TripAdvisor.com). Nice hiking trails thru the redwoods, but there are bears...The northern sections of US 1/101 have less traffic. Motels should also be cheaper on the northern route.

Unlike the southern coastal road, the northern coastal road has rivers and streams and fishing villages en route, which you can explore. You can return to SF the fast way on I-5 South, which is a dual lane inland freeway.

If going north then from SF drive over the Golden Gate on US101 as far as Santa Rosa then turn left onto CA 12/Bodega Highway thru Sebastopol and then make your way onto CA 1/101which will take you to the coast and points north.

I recommend that you buy a hard copy road map of CA and a Garmin GPS at a Best Buy in the USA.

In summer there can be fog all along the west coast. Here are some notes on that based on my own travel diaries:
⦁ The west coast is extremely rugged, with limited access to beaches due to the terrain. The ocean water is generally frikken cold due to the southbound California Current and you usually need a wetsuit to swim. In summer months there is often heavy coastal fog which can stretch inland for about 3 miles (for example, in SF you quite often cannot see the Golden Gate for fog, and this fog effect can stretch right down the coast, north and south).
⦁ A few years ago I was heading to the coast from [my cousin's] place in Santa Rosa in the Napa Valley one August (summer) and it was about 80' F (27'C) and sunny. About 4 miles from the coast I ran into the fog and the temp dropped about 20 degrees and it started drizzling. Had to slow down and put the roof up on my convertible. When I headed back to Santa Rosa and out of the fog it got back to sunny and warm (and no roof).
⦁ When I was in Tillamook Oregon one trip (across the country from Cape Coral Florida to Santa Rosa via the South then up thru the northern states) I stopped at a store to get a drink. I overheard 2 middle-aged very tanned and bejeweled ladies say to the proprietor - we've flown all the way from Florida to see the Pacific Ocean and all we've seen these last 3 days is this goddamn fog. We ain't never going to see the Pacific Ocean if this keeps up !!
⦁ On the coast with the fog there can be very strong winds (I am talking over 30 knots). Non-summer months is best for no fog.

I can provide more specifics if you want - but now waiting for the SF dangerous etc areas heads-up (if my CA family ever get off their asses and reply) :$

Thanks so mich thats super helpfpul, yeh I'm aware of the fog, so we'll just see what happens

Theres hust two of us travelling, we plan on avout 5 to 6 nights at point reyes and we have another week up our slleeves, maybe sonoma or napa, hoping to catch live music at some of the wineries, have been doing some web trawling. We will be in San Fran from 20 August for 12 nights then september for two weeks elsewhere, yes Yosemite NP is something we have discussed maybe september might be a good time. We do like the look of North of San Fran, yes we have checked airbnb and booked a cottage with them in san fran Noe Valley/ Castro appears to be a good district. I also post on tripadvisor, which iS also helpful. Car hire is another thing...will book that soon, probably Avis

Thanks so much for taking the time to post the info, greatly appreciated !

Under 3 months til i'll be in the US :D

My mates and I are planning on an airbnb for LA, any recommendations for areas to stay in? Had a look and im thinking West Hollywood or Santa Monica?

Going in January for around 3 weeks!

LA for 3 days
Vancouver for 10 days
New York for 7 days

Can't wait!

My favourite band The Cure released not long after I booked a full tour around America so I've decided to go for another week in June to see them. Decided on Salt Lake City!

Strange question:

I am looking to travel somewhere in December and January, yet cannot decide what to do.

My options as they stand are

1) Live in NYC for 6 weeks (my mate has an apartment in Manhattan and his roommate is away for that time)
2) Travel India with friends
3) Do my own thing (would think about Central+South America).

Any thoughts, questions or advice would be much appreciated

Late to the party on this, so you may have already done your plans up, but the best thing about NYC isn't NYC, it's that you'd be a 3-hour bus trip from so many spots on the East Coast - you could hit up Boston, Philly, D.C., etc. Plus cheap place to stay. The minus, of course, is having to pack clothing for below-zero temps.

personal opinion but i would swap LA and Vegas. think 2 nights in Vegas isnt enough. so much to see and do. On the flip side LA isnt all that exciting. do the Hollywood stuff, Universal Studios and thats about it i reckon.

anyway, onto some tips and possible things to do:
NYC:
-If you have a free day and are interested in seeing parts of NYC that you probably wouldnt normally go to and are really keen to try some local foods, book in a Famous Fat Daves food tour. the tour we did went for 4 hours and we tried some amazing food in parts od NYC you would never go to on your own. he provides some great history along the way and made it very enjoyable (check out trip advisor and read his reviews. book in advance!)

-If you do the hop on hop off sight seeing tour and head down to see Yankee Stadium, do not get off to wander around and wait for the next bus. just get off, go and take your photos while they wait then jump straight back on. Bit of a iffy neighbourhood is the best way to describe it.

-Climb the Rockafella and Empire State, don't just do 1. both give very different but very awesome views.

-9/11 memorial site is a must do, its very well done, very respectful to all the victims and their families.

-don't get your photo taken with the people dressed up in Times Square as they will harrass you for money ('Spiderman' once pushed a 4 year old and his mother)

Vegas:
- I know you may not have time but the Grand Canyon is amazing. however be weary of booking a helicopter tour of it as they get cancelled due to wind a lot. i found this out the hard way..

-Its ok to drink in the streets..

-Take your passport to casinos if you plan to gamble (to be safe)

-Quickest way to get around is making use of the monorail which runs at the back of s 1 side of the strip. and make use of the bus that goes up and down the strip. extremley cheap and its a bloody long walk if you do it on foot.

-If you like comedy, go to Brad Garrets (Robert from Everybody Loves Raymond) Comedy club. very funny night out. if you're sensative to rude jokes, don't go..

no doubt there are heaps more but regardless i reckon you will have a awesome trip!

personal opinion but i would swap LA and Vegas. think 2 nights in Vegas isnt enough. so much to see and do. On the flip side LA isnt all that exciting. do the Hollywood stuff, Universal Studios and thats about it i reckon.

anyway, onto some tips and possible things to do:
NYC:
-If you have a free day and are interested in seeing parts of NYC that you probably wouldnt normally go to and are really keen to try some local foods, book in a Famous Fat Daves food tour. the tour we did went for 4 hours and we tried some amazing food in parts od NYC you would never go to on your own. he provides some great history along the way and made it very enjoyable (check out trip advisor and read his reviews. book in advance!)

-If you do the hop on hop off sight seeing tour and head down to see Yankee Stadium, do not get off to wander around and wait for the next bus. just get off, go and take your photos while they wait then jump straight back on. Bit of a iffy neighbourhood is the best way to describe it.

-Climb the Rockafella and Empire State, don't just do 1. both give very different but very awesome views.

-9/11 memorial site is a must do, its very well done, very respectful to all the victims and their families.

-don't get your photo taken with the people dressed up in Times Square as they will harrass you for money ('Spiderman' once pushed a 4 year old and his mother)

Vegas:
- I know you may not have time but the Grand Canyon is amazing. however be weary of booking a helicopter tour of it as they get cancelled due to wind a lot. i found this out the hard way..

-Its ok to drink in the streets..

-Take your passport to casinos if you plan to gamble (to be safe)

-Quickest way to get around is making use of the monorail which runs at the back of s 1 side of the strip. and make use of the bus that goes up and down the strip. extremley cheap and its a bloody long walk if you do it on foot.

-If you like comedy, go to Brad Garrets (Robert from Everybody Loves Raymond) Comedy club. very funny night out. if you're sensative to rude jokes, don't go..

no doubt there are heaps more but regardless i reckon you will have a awesome trip!
Legend! Thanks heaps for the reply.
All those are on the list for must do in NY. But I'll look into the food tour. Sounds good!
Yeah we originally had Vegas for 3 nights but we've got 3 full days there still (land early, depart late for NY) so its not too bad.
Thanks heaps for the reply though! Handy tips.

Legend! Thanks heaps for the reply.
All those are on the list for must do in NY. But I'll look into the food tour. Sounds good!
Yeah we originally had Vegas for 3 nights but we've got 3 full days there still (land early, depart late for NY) so its not too bad.
Thanks heaps for the reply though! Handy tips.

No worries!

I have just been booted off my work computer as its being updated, so here are a few more.

- The prices that are advertised in shops are excluding tax, which is bloody annoying. the amount of times i have got the correct money out based on the price tag and its wrong...

- Vegas: As nice as the Bellagio is, try to avoid eating there. we stayed there for 4 nights and ate there once. The Mirage does a nice buffett.

-Vegas: Have breakfast at Dennys at least one.. my god.. the prices are extremley cheap and amazing food. its in amongst some shops on the strip, up some stairs. i can't remember which casino its near though. I think it might be opposite the Mirage.

-NYC: Central Park is huge. the Zoo isnt that great. The Horse and Carraige ride through the park is a touch expensive but great for brownie points if you are going with a partner.

-LA: If you do Universal go the extra mile and buy the VIP pass which you can get upon arrival on the day. gets you behind the scenes of some extra lots, instant front of the line access for virtually all rides (your guide takes you to the front), lunch, drinks etc. well worth it.

Looks like I'm going to America, it's my second time only did west coast first time. This is the itinerary.

10th March: Arrive Dallas (QF7 @ 1:35pm) and stay the night
11th March: Drive to Austin
12th March: Austin/Winery around Lake Travis/Shooting Range
13th March: Austin/Austin River Ride
14th March: Drive to San Antonio / San Marcos Shopping Mall / San Antonio River
15th March: Natural Bridge Caverns / The Alamo / San Antonio Spurs Vs LA Clippers (7:30pm CT)
16th March: Drive to Dallas
17th March: Dallas Cowboys Tour / Gas Monkey / Dallas Stars Vs Tampa Bay Lightning (7:30 CT)
18th March: Day at Fort Worth / JFK Museum / Dallas Mavericks Vs Golden State (7:30pm CT)
19th March: St Paddy’s Day
20th March: Brunch (my mate has lovers balls)
21st March: Drive to New Orleans
22nd March: Mississippi Tour
23rd March: Swamp tour
24th March: Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
25th March: Drive to Dallas
26th March: 6 Flags of Texas
27th March: Brunch then fly out of Dallas (QF8 @ 9:15pm)

Looks like I'm going to America, it's my second time only did west coast first time. This is the itinerary.

15th March: Natural Bridge Caverns / The Alamo / San Antonio Spurs Vs LA Clippers (7:30pm CT)
17th March: Dallas Cowboys Tour / Gas Monkey / Dallas Stars Vs Tampa Bay Lightning (7:30 CT)
18th March: Day at Fort Worth / JFK Museum / Dallas Mavericks Vs Golden State (7:30pm CT)

You should stay another week in Dallas for WrestleMania

I just got back from 4 weeks in the states and had a ball!! Mainly did Cali, Mexico, Nevada and Texas. Already planning my trip back next year. This time Texas, Boston, NY, Chi Town.

San Diego was amazing, nearly my favourite place. So much too do and so many place to eat and drink.

-LA: If you do Universal go the extra mile and buy the VIP pass which you can get upon arrival on the day. gets you behind the scenes of some extra lots, instant front of the line access for virtually all rides (your guide takes you to the front), lunch, drinks etc. well worth it.

Totally agree, we didnt get VIP but the front of line is a must!! When we went it made the day so so much better.

Definately a must see

You need more time in New Orleans.

I was there a month ago and there is so much to see and do. 3 days is not enough.

I did the swamp tour and it was fantastic. Saw a lot of gators.

I do a lot of travel/road trips thru the US each year by car. Since I retired 4 years ago I average around 30,000 miles (50,000 kms) a year, and you may be interested in some of my posts in this forum as background for you (in order not to repeat what I previously wrote).

Here are some specific comments on your itinerary:

1. As I read your itinerary, of the 36 days, you plan to spend a total of 31 days actually in the cities/areas you mention. That leaves you 5 travel days on the road between the various cities (excluding your flight sectors). This can't be done - the distances are too great.
2. I am not sure if you are traveling as a family - this can make a difference as to daily travel time on the road.
3. Anyway, looking at your proposed routeing (scenic routes on a scale of 1 -10):
LA to Las Vegas is about 5 hours driving time. The drive is thru very arid country, although mountainous in parts - I give it a 3 [altho admittedly I am not into dry desert country and prefer green]. As a tourist with limited time I would not do that sector by road. And unless you gamble why go to Las Vegas?
Las Vegas to Austin is around 20 hours driving time, using the most direct route down to Phoenix and then onto I-10. That is 3 days driving, 2 nites motels.That route is thru dry, boring country, with the exception of the wooded high mountain areas around Flagstaff AZ, thru Sedona, Jerome and Prescott AZ (I used to live in Prescott). Overall scenic rating 3; Flagstaff/Sedona/Prescott area 7. I would not spend 3 days Vegas to Austin as a tourist on limited time. Austin now has the reputation as a buzzy city but is long way to go by road as it is in the middle of nowhere (speaking as a guy originally from Houston). .
Austin - New Orleans is around 8 hours driving time mainly along I-10 past Houston and into Louisiana and then NO. Once you get into south east Texas it is green and lush, but flat all the way. Driving along I-10 on the Atchafalaya causeway is interesting. Overall scenic rating 5. I would not do that drive as a tourist with limited time. 3 nites in NO may be 1 too many.
New Orleans - Miami is around 13 hours driving time = 2 days, by the most direct route. I would take a longer route on I-10 then onto US 98 along the Gulf of Mexico coast thru Apalachicola (see earlier comments on this thread about this route and Apalachicola) and then down to Miami thru Cape Coral and Alligator Alley- traffic is way less that way as well. Scenic rating 6.
DC - NYC around 5 hours driving, heavy traffic on the Interstates, heavily populated.Some very pretty scenery and small towns all thru that area, but not on the Interstates. Scenic rating 6 to 7 not on the Interstate.
LA - Yosemite NP about 5 hours on the road and not all that interesting until you get past Fresno. It would be better to fly into SFO from NYC and drive to Yosemite from there, unless you are locked into plane fare routes. Yosemite is one of my 3 most favorite NPs (Yellowstone is #1 and is much bigger and more spectacular than Yosemite). If you are in the Yosemite area Lake Tahoe is also well worth visiting.
San Francisco - I gave some tips on SF attractions in some earlier postings on this thread.
Monterey - LA: it would be a real shame not to drive US 1 - the coastal route down to LA. Driving time is around around 6 and a half to 7 hours, without stopping. Scenic rating 8+ (altho the northern coastal road US 1 from SF to Portland is more scenic and I rate it a near 10).

As you can see, I am not all that enthused on some of your choices (my opinion only) and I could give you some other options which I think you would really like (e.g sections of the Natchez Trace or Blue Ridge Parkway/Upper Mississippi Valley, etc). As a road trip guy, a road trip to me is just that - on the road, driving thru country USA (which is the real USA) which most tourists don't see - they always go for the big cities. A road trip is not destinations, but being on the road itself and staying overnite in small country places/seeing the sights. Your itinerary is not really a road trip per se, time-wise.

Some road tips (assuming you have not driven in the US before):
  • Don't have any open bottles/cans of booze (beer/wine/liquor) in the cabin of your car when driving.
  • If stopped by a highway patrol keep your hands on the wheel where they can be seen. Do not reach into the glove box for ID/insurance papers until you tell the cop that is what you are doing.
  • Keep up with traffic on the Interstates looping thru major population areas, even if over the limit. In a number of states - especially Texas - this is the law.
  • Many states require traffic to move to the next lane over when there are govt vehicles/road work vehicles/police cars etc stopped on the shoulder with flashing lights. On the Interstates it is a good safe idea to change to the next lane whenever you see parked vehicles on the shoulder, anyway.
  • In California and some other states if you are on a one-up/one down road then if going slow you are required to pull over to let faster traffic past - there are some pullover areas on some country roads for this.
  • Be aware of one-way drop off charges on rental cars - see if you can get a vehicle which the company wants driven back to that particular center, for no extra charge.
  • All gas stations have credit card pay facilities at the pump. Try to get a credit card which will fit this scene. I can't help on this as as I have US credit cards in USD. Some pumps require a zip code - if an issue see the cashier inside.
  • Buy a Garmin GPS/sat nav at Best Buy for around $60 - $100. Best thing ever for road trips. Particularly when searching for food/motels en route.
  • All states have tourist centers just past the state lines on the Interstates with free maps etc. There are rest stops on most Interstates at various intervals.
  • Motels - I always go for smaller motels outside main centers, with doors outside each room where you can park your car in front and unload easily (but this is not so common in snow areas). I usually pay no more than $60.00 a nite, and in the South it is even lower - often $45 or less. Unfortunately many US motels have now been bought by a certain nationality who do not maintain/clean them properly, so be careful. In that event always ask to inspect a room and check that the a/c controls work etc etc. Just sayin...If in doubt, walk away and try another one.
  • Motels (cont) - do not stay in cheap motels in larger metro areas/cities as it can be dangerous for a whole bunch of reasons.
  • Motels (cont) - It is possible to negotiate prices, especially in some of the larger chains, in the evening. For example, I stopped over one night later than usual (I always try to find a motel by around 4 or 5 pm - but this was at 7 pm when driving from Houston to Hastings Minnesota up I-35, and I had done about 8 hours on the road). It was one of the bigger more up-market chains and I asked for the rate. The cashier said $80.00. I said -that's beyond my budget. He said - well, how much do you want to pay? $60.00, I replied. Done deal, he said. [But I wouldn't do it at the 4 Seasons New York City...]
  • Meals - I never eat fast food on the road, or at all. In the country I ask where the nearest mom and pop restaurant is for breakfast - the motel will usually tell you (or look up restaurants on your Garmin). The one with the locals' trucks parked outside is the one. Get a good breakfast from between $4 - $10. Similarly lunch/dinner - always go local. But if I am in a place which has a Ruby Tuesday I go for that.

Deltablues, thank you very much for your detailed reply. I have certainly taken many of your suggestions on board. The original itinerary had us going coast to coast both ways but we decided that it was too drive intensive. 4 blokes btw, so no kids or nagging wife to contend with.
I've already been to Vegas on 2 occasions so didn't really care if it was included but there was no way I was convincing 3 other blokes to give it a miss.
After Vegas, we will be staying a night in Flagstaff then doing a long stretch through to Wichita Falls which should take approx, 12 hours. From there its down to Austin. We've knocked back Austin to one night and will be staying in Houston to break up that drive into NO. Mainly to be in fine form when we hit Bourbon St on a friday night. After New Orleans it'll be the shortest route to Orlando for a night then down to Miami.
We preferred to kill a handful of days with long driving stretches rather than have to drive somewhere each day. I was leaning more towards a true road trip how you describe it but my travelling companions decided that they wanted more time to breathe and browse in each of our mayor stops.
3 internal flights, Miami>Cancun, Cancun>Washington DC and New York>LA eased some of the driving pressure. We decided to fly back into LA to save on a one way rental. We will most certainly be driving down the coast through Monterrey on our way back to LA.

We are not locked in all the way so the itinerary is always evolving so detailed responses like yours are much appreciated. Cheers.

Deltablues, thank you very much for your detailed reply. I have certainly taken many of your suggestions on board. The original itinerary had us going coast to coast both ways but we decided that it was too drive intensive. 4 blokes btw, so no kids or nagging wife to contend with.
I've already been to Vegas on 2 occasions so didn't really care if it was included but there was no way I was convincing 3 other blokes to give it a miss.
After Vegas, we will be staying a night in Flagstaff then doing a long stretch through to Wichita Falls which should take approx, 12 hours. From there its down to Austin. We've knocked back Austin to one night and will be staying in Houston to break up that drive into NO. Mainly to be in fine form when we hit Bourbon St on a friday night. After New Orleans it'll be the shortest route to Orlando for a night then down to Miami.
We preferred to kill a handful of days with long driving stretches rather than have to drive somewhere each day. I was leaning more towards a true road trip how you describe it but my travelling companions decided that they wanted more time to breathe and browse in each of our mayor stops.
3 internal flights, Miami>Cancun, Cancun>Washington DC and New York>LA eased some of the driving pressure. We decided to fly back into LA to save on a one way rental. We will most certainly be driving down the coast through Monterrey on our way back to LA.

We are not locked in all the way so the itinerary is always evolving so detailed responses like yours are much appreciated. Cheers.
Re the bolded - Wichita Falls is a good choice - you should find I-40 much more interesting than the southern route I-10. You will go thru northern Arizona, New Mexico and the Texas Panhandle. I have driven I-40 many times thru Flagstaff AZ over to Knoxville Tennessee where I visit some friends. I guess you will turn off at Amarillo and head down US 287 to Wichita Falls. Amarillo is a cowtown so you will smell what I mean when y'all get there.

You should drive thru Winslow AZ - a little burg about 50 miles east of Flagstaff on I-40; and crank up the Eagles' Take It Easy -
Well, I'm a standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona
and such a fine sight to see.
It's a girl, my Lord, in a flatbed Ford
Slowin' down to take a look at me

He has his bronze statue there - it's Jackson Browne. East side of town.

Flagstaff is 7,300' up, and the high plains thru New Mexico and across to Amarillo are over 7,000' high - in winter cold and icy and snowy, but in summer OK. If you make Amarillo for lunch/dinner try the Saltgrass Steak House in West Amarillo just off I-40 - is a Houston-based chain and pretty good. Baby back ribs, a baked potato with the trimmin's, and a Texas Shiner Bock beer do it for me.

When you are in Navajo country along I-40 in east Arizona/west NM tune to the local radio stations and you will hear them speak Navajo and hear the Navajo tribal chants, between the country and western fare. Navajo sounds like background Japanese to me, until I tune in.

When you get into Texas you will feel right at home - Texas and the Texans are the nearest to Aussies imo. More laid back.

If you stay in Houston try the Galleria Area (west of downtown) where I lived for many years. The big skyscraper the Williams Tower is the landmark there. And take a drive thru the nearby River Oaks suburb if you want to see some huge mansions - Dynasty in Dallas, but Houston's is better, hah. Downtown Houston canyons not worth seeing, but Galveston is - along I-45 to the coast. Don't stay anywhere near Hobby Airport in the south, nor east of downtown, nor south west of downtown.

Safe travels.

Just wondering for my trip coming up -when we are in Vancouver (will be there late Jan) should i be looking at staying in Ski resorts or hotels and do day trips to the snow?

Ski resorts everyday.

Then if you wish, you can do day trips to Vancouver or Seattle or wherever