Jan 13, 2001
Waiting at the door for the pub to reopen
Brisbane Lions
Man City
While the US (and the West) to a degree have foisted themselves on the Middle East, I don't believe this has anything to do with a "failure to try and understand other cultures" as you put it, but because a) most of the world's oil reserves are in the Middle East and b) misguided white guilt over WW2 and therefore continued support of Israel. Neither I support (I would prefer we work on alternative energy sources and let Israel rot in the desert instead), but the way I see it, we are damned if we do and damned if we don't. We get involved, its because we want oil and we want to force our way of life on others. We don't get involved, we are accused of not being good "global citizens" but using our wealth to save those poor souls cutting each others heads off over Abu or Ali.

You also forget that multiculturalism is a Western institution. Outside the West societies are either a) in tribal form (which is a recipe for disaster) or b) monoethnic. I see multiculturalism as a pretty decent method of compromise (another thing I don't support). Its logical that people migrate to the West in search of a better future (which implicitly suggests an acceptance of our values and culture), but by your reasoning, it also follows that it's perfectly natural for Western societies to baulk at the notion of having other cultures and systems forced upon them (which is what multiculturalism is).

The West shouldn't need to compromise (our attempts at compromising have failed), it should simply leave the Middle East (and elsewhere) alone, stop Western multiculturalism and discourage purely economic migration.
I think it is BS that someone would say we aren't being good global citizens, as it is now we are terrible global citizens and that doesn't change if you take the Middle East out of the equation.

Multiculturalism has come out of the new world and the fact that migration removed traditional cultural boundaries to a large degree. There has been a strong push against multiculturalism in large parts of Europe. The more socialist the countries the less multicultural they are for the most part in Europe (France being the notable exception), but those not of a European background are definitely made to feel unwelcome on most of cotninental Europe.

Vic Vinegar

Suspended
Sep 13, 2013
Deep inside a really big house
I think it is BS that someone would say we aren't being good global citizens, as it is now we are terrible global citizens and that doesn't change if you take the Middle East out of the equation.
How so? What examples can you give outside the Middle East?

Multiculturalism has come out of the new world and the fact that migration removed traditional cultural boundaries to a large degree. There has been a strong push against multiculturalism in large parts of Europe. The more socialist the countries the less multicultural they are for the most part in Europe (France being the notable exception), but those not of a European background are definitely made to feel unwelcome on most of cotninental Europe.
Multiculturalism never came from the "new world" unless you believe the antediluvian notion that the West in the "new world" and the rest of the globe is the "Old World." How many truly multicultural countries can you name that aren't part of the West?

If there are "strong pushes" against multiculturalism it is because it simply isn't natural. "Diversity" in and of itself has no benefits to society at large. It's social engineering to prevent the majority of society from arking up over the continual supply of unneeded labour (easier than raising productivity).

Oct 9, 2006
Perth Wildcats basketball
I suppose this is the mirror image of ISIS's plan for world domination. It's also what some anti-Muslim folk have been saying for a while, but now the ex Army head makes the claim.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/nat...head-peter-leahy/story-e6frg8yo-1227018630297
First of all this so called expert ex army head makes these massive statements and begins a mindset hatred and fear. You know even these half brains out of ISIS are being used by Islamic or Arabic politicians for a different end .
And they all sooner or later have to live in this world and to understand what might stand against them. Even when screaming out slogans and looking like something out of the 7th century. Its not the 7th century. And the enemy they face in the west may just be more vicious and violent and world destroying that they could ever imagine.

What would stand against them is many nations who may turn the other cheek for a while bulk up its security and actually go to war in areas where they feel they could stop the activities of these misled fighters.

In the mean time these misled fighters with there fanaticism in their brains will see that the life they think they believe in not only doesn't but can't run your existence. You must have a family a relative a mother or father or brother that after killing and killing and killing in the name of what , to what end , for what purpose, will see NONE that is sensible. But the leaders of these fanatics are not fanatics at all , they are politicians with other agendas.

But the enemies they create over falsehoods in religious bull dust, will lead to the more militarily powerful world want peace very badly and will go to the extreme , that will mean the Hawks in Western governments end up getting their way, and the Islamic state or states will bring down upon themselves obliteration. Because the west will ,if this idiocy keeps going , have to kill everyone and anyone they think is a danger to their way of life. Won't have to worry about the army , it'll start amongst the populations themselves , it'll start with fanaticism built out of fear of losing good life styles that will cause the absolute persecution of anyone with a radical over bearing and unprovable beklief in killing in the name of your religion.

Life and peace and happiness is what western society tries top realise. Idiots that kill because their god told them to says two things , the first is they must have a pretty violent miserable murderous god if they had a good look, the other thing is the billions that don't think like that will destroy them completely, all of them , if that's what religious war and this is all about we all suffer and , we won't be the losers, the ignorant and the easily led will be the losers the victims, they'll all be dead too.
That may be the only way for it to end. But just maybe the fear mongers are full of s**t .And maybe humans have a little common logic to see no one wins .
Even if they survive. Even dick head mullahs know that.

Fletched

Feb 11, 2013
There is plenty of crap in the Bible no doubt, the difference is that large groups of Christians or Jews are not failing to integrate into Western society. There are not too many Christian women forced to walk around with a bag on their head. In fact it is pretty clear that Western society is based upon Christian and Jewish traditions and beliefs and has allowed society to evolve. If Muslims had their way, they would rather we devolved back to the dark ages.
For many years Christianity held the world back and the Arab countries were further ahead

Oct 9, 2006
Anti-Muslim folk are generally nutters who want a holy war just as much as Muslim extremists. None of them will have the balls or mental capacity to join the ADF though. Bunch of wannabes.
No wrong mate. Its not about anti Muslim, its about people who use this ambiguous religion to promote jihad to find a political end somewhere.

Its about some scum terrorist boss persuading some fool to kill himself by blowing himself up and 100 others for absolutely nothing .

Well except to get them martyrdom, which doesn't exist or its "proof" certainly doesn't exist, and that these terrorist leaders that do this false teaching don't even know themselves.
Why? because the idiots haven't been dead YET.

So how in hell do they know what happens when one of these stupid easily led donkeys kills him/herself.Virgins and pleasures, doesn't exist.

That is the wrong way of Islam. And the Islamic members in Australia should be screaming from the roof tops , we don't do or believe in wholesale slaughter in the name of their god.

We don't murder people who won't convert to Islam . That's what local Muslims should be saying, can't hear any yet.

Are the ISIS really that dumb. No, they are in the main, the leaders of the pack, that is , killers with a political agenda who help to manipulate the minds of other men who are ignorant or just people stuck in the middle of a s**t hole of misery and greed and oil and at least half of their misery caused by their own kind. Greedy tribal leaders and Sheiks and god knows what else.Gaddaffi, Hussein, Assad, despots and killers who have to be either evil or dumb bastards, they create torment , they all deserve to be gone form the world.

What I see is Sunnis killing Shi ite and murdering some other religions populations and threatening the rest of the planet. The dumbness of this is mind boggling.

And to think adult grown supposedly sensible leaders who create this , actually get into the positions to start this nonsense.How do they get to lead.

Are all the peoples of this region idiots.
Do they like hitting themselves on the head with a hammer because it feels good when they stop. Stupid comment? Why stupid? When these fools kill in the name of their god, what a nasty violent merciless god this is,and he leads all of them too, Christians , Jews, Islamics, are these people crazy or what.

If there is a god? he ain't no murdering bastard, that's just the imagination of f****its.

These jihadist dick brains also don't help the fight against the persecution of the people who rightfully own Palestine, THE PALESTINIANS , not the Zionists.

I for one am totally against the occupation of Palestine by a people who think the have a "god given right to it" they are as bad as the jihadists in Iraq and Syria.

Palestine is fighting a just cause for their homes , but if they follow the lines of the mad people who hate so bad to kill there own kind because of Mohammed's Son in law or Brother or whoever, well they destroy their su[pport that is being gained around the world , because Israel has no right to that land , except to live there in peace in a Palestinian Sovereign Nation State and safely, they don't they occupy and offend against the rightful owners.

So how do people like us looking at that from the outside reconcile those thoughts as to Israel being wrong and that the Hamas and others could be a fanatic and as idiotic as the nongs in ISIS.

I may be right off target with all this , tell me, what you think in BF land.

But one thing I do know is that if this ISIS /ISIL crap gets out of hand , and spreads, and if the lives of decent Arab and Persian people just gets worse and worse and the fanatics spread their terror the Israelis might just be the ones that blow the crap out of the Arab states with nuclear weapons , they are the most dangerous of all, and the Israelis will create the armageddon, so I hope a few brains start growing about the place.

Then again its finals time so who gives a s**t about idiots.

Oct 9, 2006
Is this a serious post?

Do you actually think that Communism was just misunderstood or something? Communism killed hundreds of millions of people and still killing them to this day.
NOT COMMUNISM the people who thought they knew what communism really was.You reckon Joe Stalin was a commie ha ha ha .
Actually real socialism would be great , but not one country in the history of the world has ever accomplished it absolutely.

Its because humans cannot be fair nor can they share equally . We are a flawed animal. Football, beer and just Australia , now that would be a good world.

No Muslims , no Jews, no Christians, maybe some buddhists PEACE AND QUIET. It wouldn't work of course.

Mick Malthouse would upset some mongrel, and bingo we'd all be at it again.

if we get rid of poverty we get rid a radicalism.

this worked for calming the majority of radical elements of christianity. the remaining radical christians are just loonie and nothing will help them.

so rather than bombing them we should help build their economies.

No wrong mate. Its not about anti Muslim, its about people who use this ambiguous religion to promote jihad to find a political end somewhere.

Its about some scum terrorist boss persuading some fool to kill himself by blowing himself up and 100 others for absolutely nothing .

Well except to get them martyrdom, which doesn't exist or its "proof" certainly doesn't exist, and that these terrorist leaders that do this false teaching don't even know themselves.
Why? because the idiots haven't been dead YET.

So how in hell do they know what happens when one of these stupid easily led donkeys kills him/herself.Virgins and pleasures, doesn't exist.

That is the wrong way of Islam. And the Islamic members in Australia should be screaming from the roof tops , we don't do or believe in wholesale slaughter in the name of their god.

We don't murder people who won't convert to Islam . That's what local Muslims should be saying, can't hear any yet.

Are the ISIS really that dumb. No, they are in the main, the leaders of the pack, that is , killers with a political agenda who help to manipulate the minds of other men who are ignorant or just people stuck in the middle of a s**t hole of misery and greed and oil and at least half of their misery caused by their own kind. Greedy tribal leaders and Sheiks and god knows what else.Gaddaffi, Hussein, Assad, despots and killers who have to be either evil or dumb bastards, they create torment , they all deserve to be gone form the world.

What I see is Sunnis killing Shi ite and murdering some other religions populations and threatening the rest of the planet. The dumbness of this is mind boggling.

And to think adult grown supposedly sensible leaders who create this , actually get into the positions to start this nonsense.How do they get to lead.

Are all the peoples of this region idiots.
Do they like hitting themselves on the head with a hammer because it feels good when they stop. Stupid comment? Why stupid? When these fools kill in the name of their god, what a nasty violent merciless god this is,and he leads all of them too, Christians , Jews, Islamics, are these people crazy or what.

If there is a god? he ain't no murdering bastard, that's just the imagination of f****its.

These jihadist dick brains also don't help the fight against the persecution of the people who rightfully own Palestine, THE PALESTINIANS , not the Zionists.

I for one am totally against the occupation of Palestine by a people who think the have a "god given right to it" they are as bad as the jihadists in Iraq and Syria.

Palestine is fighting a just cause for their homes , but if they follow the lines of the mad people who hate so bad to kill there own kind because of Mohammed's Son in law or Brother or whoever, well they destroy their su[pport that is being gained around the world , because Israel has no right to that land , except to live there in peace in a Palestinian Sovereign Nation State and safely, they don't they occupy and offend against the rightful owners.

So how do people like us looking at that from the outside reconcile those thoughts as to Israel being wrong and that the Hamas and others could be a fanatic and as idiotic as the nongs in ISIS.

I may be right off target with all this , tell me, what you think in BF land.

But one thing I do know is that if this ISIS /ISIL crap gets out of hand , and spreads, and if the lives of decent Arab and Persian people just gets worse and worse and the fanatics spread their terror the Israelis might just be the ones that blow the crap out of the Arab states with nuclear weapons , they are the most dangerous of all, and the Israelis will create the armageddon, so I hope a few brains start growing about the place.

Then again its finals time so who gives a s**t about idiots.

How many Irish Australians did you see condemning the IRA and it's terror attacks?

Why do those on the right always bitch about what those on the left say?

Oh the left said this, the left did that. Why am I such a little right wing bitch, it's the lefts fault.

Give me a ******* break!

Why is it that those on the left think that because whites/Christians/Jews did bad things in the past in makes it acceptable for Muslims to do bad things in the present?

they should learn from the past rather than justify today's wrongs by the events of the past.

DardySingh360

Mar 16, 2011
WA
Arsenal
Why do those on the right always bitch about what those on the left say?

Oh the left said this, the left did that. Why am I such a little right wing bitch, it's the lefts fault.

Give me a ******* break!

And here we see the classic example of the personal attack when their flawed logic has been exposed.

Xsess

Nov 22, 2007
On top of the world

this worked for calming the majority of radical elements of christianity. the remaining radical christians are just loonie and nothing will help them.

As soon as the ISIS's/Hamas/Syria/Taliban have industrial capacity it will be diverted into military capacity and they will be at the Wests throat.

And here we see the classic example of the personal attack when their flawed logic has been exposed.

And here we see a classic example of a righty being a little sook when you point out that they barrack for their side of the political spectrum like a footy team.

TooFar

Sep 4, 2003
Les_Canadiens Philadelphia_Eagles

That is nice thought, but IMO misguided. One of the problems that most apologist have is that they have not read the Koran or really understand Islam.

The Koran and Islam are not like Bible and Christianity. Where the Bible is a generally viewed as a collection of stories, parables, advice and dreams written by many authors over hundreds of years. The Koran is a single book of commands written by one man in his lifetime, there are no parables, symbolisms or vagaries. There is no picking and choosing the parts you like and ignoring the parts you don't, like most Christian do with the Bible. It is explicit and followers must not alter or modify the message or they will burn in hell. Jesus never preached about war or violence or decept. The Koran does.

The other main difference is that Christianity is a religion, Islam is a totalitarian religious ideology that include legal, political and financial instructions. It emcompases a total way of life. The translation of Islam is submission. And that is exactly what it is.

So don't assume that just because Christianity went through a reformation, that Islam will as well.

In regards to poverty; there is very little poverty in Saudi Arabia, Qatar and the UAE, these countries are awash in petrodollars, yet this is where the "extremism" is coming from. It is their wealth that is furthering the spread of "radical" Islam.

And finally, Brunei, a wealthy Islamic country next to Malaysia that is also awash in petrodollars, has only this year imposed full Sharia law.

So for all the apologist out there, do your own research, don't assume anything.

DardySingh360

Mar 16, 2011
WA
Arsenal
Muslims are often the most homophobic people in society.

Unfortunately, as those on the left like to align themselves with minority groups, they refuse to speak out against homophobia in Islam. As Australia's Islamic population increases watch out for more gay hate crimes common in countries like Iran.

1526617_803023876381219_1826148481_n.jpg

Please tell us more about "the left" DardySingh360 as you seem to have such a balanced and nuanced view on what this group of people are like, noting they all act and think exactly the same way.

DardySingh360

Mar 16, 2011
WA
Arsenal
Please tell us more about "the left" DardySingh360 as you seem to have such a balanced and nuanced view on what this group of people are like, noting they all act and think exactly the same way.

It is a common trait among Greens and Labor voters in this country to defend Islam or at least remain silent about its atrocities against gay people and women, these same people may also support gay marriage and feminist ideals. Despite the apparent conflict of interest they are not vocal against Islam as say they are against Christianity.

I think most of us here on this board are mature enough to respect and support gay and women's rights, yet in the Islam related threads I rarely see any self confessed Green or Labor supporters vocally opposing it rather than the tokenistic "I dislike all religion" and then go on to write paragraphs defending Islam and/or bashing Jews/Christians/Whites.

That is nice thought, but IMO misguided. One of the problems that most apologist have is that they have not read the Koran or really understand Islam.

The Koran and Islam are not like Bible and Christianity. Where the Bible is a generally viewed as a collection of stories, parables, advice and dreams written by many authors over hundreds of years. The Koran is a single book of commands written by one man in his lifetime, there are no parables, symbolisms or vagaries. There is no picking and choosing the parts you like and ignoring the parts you don't, like most Christian do with the Bible. It is explicit and followers must not alter or modify the message or they will burn in hell. Jesus never preached about war or violence or decept. The Koran does.

The other main difference is that Christianity is a religion, Islam is a totalitarian religious ideology that include legal, political and financial instructions. It emcompases a total way of life. The translation of Islam is submission. And that is exactly what it is.

So don't assume that just because Christianity went through a reformation, that Islam will as well.

In regards to poverty; there is very little poverty in Saudi Arabia, Qatar and the UAE, these countries are awash in petrodollars, yet this is where the "extremism" is coming from. It is their wealth that is furthering the spread of "radical" Islam.

And finally, Brunei, a wealthy Islamic country next to Malaysia that is also awash in petrodollars, has only this year imposed full Sharia law.

So for all the apologist out there, do your own research, don't assume anything.

I have read the Koran and lived in islamic countries (albeit short periods) and more moderate places like Indonesia and the colourful area of mindanao

The differences you highlight aren't really differences rather just one of timing. Go back 60 years and Christianity was still a way of life and going back 400 years and christianity was all pervasive.

The only thing that saved us from christianity was middle class and education. Middle class and education will have the same effect on islam.

Xsess

Nov 22, 2007
On top of the world
We have the advantage of being 20-50 years behind Europe, so we can observe what happens there, learn from their mistakes, and see what we can do better here.

No we wont learn. The political left, media and bureaucracy think mass importing of this religion is a great idea and they wont be told otherwise. They take great offence - not at the daily litany of atrocities unleashed in the name of radical Islam, but by those in Australia who are horrified and dont want it happening here. You only need to look at some of the posts in this thread or see how the other threads about radical Islam have been locked (basically because some individuals take offence to people even talking about it).