Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Feb 1, 2005
Footscray Football Club
Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?

Re: Western Region Football League team

From my info, 19 "mumble mumble" must be before 1986 because my 1987 Footscray District Football League handbook and the 1986 Western Suburban Football League handbook make no mention of a club with "royal blue with white vee".

The nearest at this time were:-

FDFL - 1987
------------
ALBION - blue and white hoops
COBURG YCW - blue with red yoke
DEER PARK - blue with gold vee
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white vertical stripes
NORTH MELBOURNE & KENSINGTON - blue and white vertical stripes
RAAF LAVERTON - blue with gold collar, cuffs and monogram
ST ALBANS - blue with red yoke

WSFL - 1986
-------------
ALBION NORTH - blue and white vertical stripes
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white hoops

... but I don't think that will help you!

• Banned

Thanks, anyway, Motty, "mumble mumble" was more than 20 years before 1989. North Melbourne Kensington would be the only possibility because of geographic proximity.

Yeah I agree with you rightfoot, I think it the side would have been Avondale Heights. They wear the Royal blue with a White V.

Just on the WRFL, who will win the flag this week... will Parkside keep their winning streak going or will The Colts claim the cup and prove that they have been the best side for most of the year???

Motty said:
From my info, 19 "mumble mumble" must be before 1986 because my 1987 Footscray District Football League handbook and the 1986 Western Suburban Football League handbook make no mention of a club with "royal blue with white vee".

The nearest at this time were:-

FDFL - 1987
------------
ALBION - blue and white hoops
COBURG YCW - blue with red yoke
DEER PARK - blue with gold vee
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white vertical stripes
NORTH MELBOURNE & KENSINGTON - blue and white vertical stripes
RAAF LAVERTON - blue with gold collar, cuffs and monogram
ST ALBANS - blue with red yoke

WSFL - 1986
-------------
ALBION NORTH - blue and white vertical stripes
HOPPERS CROSSING - blue and white hoops

... but I don't think that will help you!

Motty - Can you list all the sides in the booklets (FDL and WSFL) as it will be interesting to see how many sides have survived, reformed or changed their strips.

Cheers,
RTS

craig_issa said:
lets hope parkside win by 10 goals

craig, do you have something against Port Colts or do you support/play for parks???

port colts have been good for a while, but some say they choke
lucky to make the grand final, thought spotty was the best side
well done to them though, they have some gun players in webb and winters
parkside will battle i reckon, not a big wrap for them but they must be playing some good tough footy to be in the grand final
will be a close one, reckon parkside will win just though

*** Note that some WSFL clubs seem to have moved into the FDFL between the two seasons.

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Braybrook YCW - maroon with gold vee
Central Altona - black with gold yoke
Coburg YCW (later Coburg District???) - "Melbourne"
Deer Park - blue with gold vee
Essendon H.S. Ex-Students - black, red, grey panels
East Brunswick - "Collingwood"
Flemington - "Williamstown"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Hoppers Crossing - "Geelong"
Kingsville - "Williamstown"
Melton Juniors - maroon with white collar cuffs and monogram
Nth Footscray - red and white stripes
Nth Melb & Kensington - "North Melb"
North Sunshine - "St Kilda"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Port Colts - red with blue vee
RAAF Laverton - blue with gold collar cuffs and monogram
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
Spotswood - green with gold vee
St Albans - "Melbourne"
St Bernards - "Sandringham"
Sunshine Heights - red, white and blue horizontal stripes
Sunshine YCW - gold with blue cuffs and emblem
Wembley Park (later Brooklyn) - maroon with white vee
Werribee Juniors - gold with black sash
West Footscray - red with white vee
West Newport - "Port Melbourne"
Williamstown Juniors - "Williamstown"
Wyndhamvale - green with gold yoke
Yarraville Boys - "Yarraville VFA - blue with red yoke and white monogram"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Albion North - "North Melbourne"
Altona City - purple with gold sash
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Laverton - black with white yoke
Newport - maroon with gold vee
Newport Central - "St Kilda"
Newport East - black with white collar and cuffs
St Albans South - "Essendon"
Sunshine Heights - red white and blue hoops (Footscray?)
Williamstown United - "Williamstown"

Motty said:
*** Note that some WSFL clubs seem to have moved into the FDFL between the two seasons.

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
St Albans - "Melbourne"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Altona City - purple with gold sash (then used the big v, then a jumper that looks like the e girls
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"

Good old flemo, how the WRFL was able to bend us over to get the hammerheads in was shocking, still we have a AA player still running around.

I'm fairly sure that Avondale Heights have always only been involved with the Essendon comp at both senior and junior level. There is some chance that it could have been North Melbourne-Kensington before a jumper design change at a guess, but if it was the late 60s/early 70s, there are other clubs (including long gone ones like Maidstone and F & Y Socials) to consider.

Motty - Do you know which ground St.Albans South and Albion North played at ? I've hadn't heard of those sides before.

Cheers,
RTS

Motty said:
I'm fairly sure that Avondale Heights have always only been involved with the Essendon comp at both senior and junior level. There is some chance that it could have been North Melbourne-Kensington before a jumper design change at a guess, but if it was the late 60s/early 70s, there are other clubs (including long gone ones like Maidstone and F & Y Socials) to consider.
Maidstone would fit the bill geographically. What colours did it wear ?

Albion North played at Lloyd Reserve, Lurg Avenue, North Sunshine. They had sides in U14 and U10A. They don't seem to have ever fielded senior sides in any competition that I could find.

St. Albans South's seniors played at Errington Reserve, St. Albans Road, St. Albans and the juniors were at Scovell Reserve, Scovell Crescent, Maidstone. They fielded teams in A3 (2 sides), U16, U14, U10B. 1986 was their debut as a senior club.

I posted the query on the Bulldogs Board. One poster there thought it must have been the North Footscray State School rather than an FDL club and the colours and design of the jumper matched my memory.

Just wondering if anyone can give me any info on a player in the WRFL this season, plays for Seddon Yarraville.
What sort of season did he have this year?

you didnt mention the player mate
but the only seddon yarraville guy who has any football ability is goggins
the bloke is an absolute freak, best leap and set of hands ive seen in a very very long time, seen him tear a game apart when they got flogged
was seriously too good for that team, would be awesome elsewhere

acciarito said:
you didnt mention the player mate
but the only seddon yarraville guy who has any football ability is goggins
the bloke is an absolute freak, best leap and set of hands ive seen in a very very long time, seen him tear a game apart when they got flogged
was seriously too good for that team, would be awesome elsewhere

Your right, sorry, yeah, it was Ben Goggins.. So he has had another good year then?
Another is Luke Walker, how did he go this year?

O Grobbecker said:
Back in 19 mumble mumble, I ran into a bloke I'd gone to primary school with outside Rosamond Tennis Club on a saturday morning. He'd just finished playing footy and was wearing a royal blue jumper with a white vee. I've always had it in my mind that he said he was playing for a North Footscray under age side. By chance, I happened across the NFFC website this evening and discovered that it played in red and white. Which club would my old school friend have been playing for do you think ?
Don't quote me on the clubs details re;when they started and when they finished etc,but it was Maidstone.Used to have one of their jumpers myself.I think they were more prominant in the 70's as far as recent history goes.

While on the WRFL, any word on movements throughout the league for 06. James will be gone, i did also hear gav taylor is a chance to coach albion in 06.

Motty said:

FDFL 1987
----------
Albanvale - "North Melb"
Albion - "Geelong"
ANBY - "Richmond"
Braybrook - "Essendon"
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Parkside - "Collingwood"
Sandridge - "South Melb"
Seddon - "Hawthorn"
St Albans - "Melbourne"

WSFL 1986
-----------
Altona City - purple with gold sash
Glenorden - "Hawthorn"
Newport East? Can't recall playing against them.Also were'nt Newport (maroon jumpers) in the FDFL? Just a query.

Yes, Newport were. In the mid to late 80s, there was a flurry of movement from the WSFL to the FDFL, which resulted in the WSFL folding either in 1987 or 1988.

Travvy43 said:
While on the WRFL, any word on movements throughout the league for 06. James will be gone, i did also hear gav taylor is a chance to coach albion in 06.

Ben Goggins looks to be headed from Seddon to Strathmore in the EDFL.

I recall Maidstone wearing a royal blue with a white MFC monogram in the 70s. I think Sunbury wear that strip as well.

The WSFL folded after the 1988 season when Newport East folded (played at Digman Reserve) and Hoppers or Altona defected to the FDFL (now WRFL).

That left the WSFL with only 6 teams - Laverton, Newport, West Newport, Williamstown United, Hoppers or Altona and Central Altona.

They all then transferred to the FDFL forming a 2nd section of the 2nd division.

Tragedy is that Newport once had 4 football clubs operating at the one time - West,East,Central and Newport and now they have none.