Autopsy What have you liked, learnt and hated from Season 2015

Doing a great job of leading the "family" club. What's the latest on your two boys in trouble.

Apparently you're privy to information that's not in the public domain. So far all that's going on is an allegation is being tested by police.

Doing a great job of leading the "family" club.

can't argue with that...4 premierships, 3 in a row and a Norm Smith..

u could only dream of having him as your leader. oh maybe not.... success isn't a part of Freo's DNA. It's more important to have a captain that hasn't blown over .05 apparently. LMAO.

Hate missing the 8.

Grand Final was boring for 2 years in a row. (unless you're a Hawks supporter)

I enjoy a good team smashing a bad team, over 2 teams desperate to kill the ball and stop it being football.

2007 was far superior to 2005 and 2006. We got to see supreme skill and execution.

Liked
fast-paced games involving the Dogs, Saints, Crows, Eagles, Port, Giants and Tigers.
The continued success of Adelaide Oval
Rapid slingshots up the ladder (Bulldogs, Eagles)
The nrL melt following the AFL's media deal
Hird FINALLY resigning
Footy industry's response to Walsh's death
Crows back in the finals!

Learned
Attended a post match function at the learning life centre after the second Sydney derby this year. GWS feel like a real club.

Hated
Media negativity. I've found this year to be a fantastically close competition with some amazing games, but all you hear the media talk about is that the quality of play is awful.
Robbo. I'm done with him.
Mark Ricciuto still hasn't discovered the letter 'H'

Liked - See above

Probably the worst season I can remember.
I thought it was pretty good year of footy. The closest season I can remember in YEARS… 2-3 months into the year, the premiership race was basically wide open with two WA teams on top, but still very gettable for any one of 9 or 10 teams lurking below them on the ladder.

Port, North and Gold Coast went into the year feeling as though they'd take the next step, but they stuttered early on. You had Sydney & Fremantle sharing the early premiership favouritism with Hawthorn (who got the staggers with a 4-4 start)

West Coast, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide, GWS and the Bulldogs all jumped out the blocks and looked as though they would make the top 4 at various points along the way. Admittedly, the Bombers hype was short-lived, pre-Anzac Day mostly and then they fell away.

Easy to look back in hindsight and think it was all Hawthorn and West Coast, but all of those other teams gave their fans plenty to cheer about during the year.

Hawthorn, Richmond and North all got their s**t together as the year progressed and leap-frogged Collingwood and GWS. Most people here on Big Footy had written them off after the first 2 months. People have short memories.

The Essendon saga seemingly looking over only for WADA to appeal
Pfft…The only people who were surprised by WADA's appeal were the desperate Essendon fans hoping it was all over and also the rank and file footy fans who hadn't been paying close enough attention to the story.

Everyone in the media (Caro, Robbo, Smith) had basically been saying all along that the saga would probably drag out for 3 years and would involve court appeals, interminable delays and probably end up going to the Court of Arbitration in Switzerland. It's exactly as they predicted...

I think it had zero impact on the season anyway - apart from the drop in morale at Essendon as their players realised they weren't going to be let off the hook like they'd been promised. The Bombers were popping the champagne corks at the "Not Guilty/Not comfortable satisfied" tribunal whitewash. Then ASADA vowed an appeal was likely - WADA duly obliged - Essendon people and AFL sycophants moaned about it for a couple of weeks… And virtually nothing more was said for the remainder of the year!!

Hird was sacked because of poor performance. He was the one who kept making excuses and mentioning WADA every time his team got belted by 100 points.

The Essendon drug scandal was massive news in the previous years. It became a side issue in 2015.

The Adam Goodes s**t
Another side issue which was partly propagated by the man himself. The Swans also beat it up to large degree to distract from the growing Buddy Franklin story. It wasn't as though the Goodes stuff was a weekly story - it flared for a 2-3 weeks before & after indigenous round, then reared its head again late in the year.

Goodes was a veteran in his last season - basically a fringe player who enjoyed a pretty good year, all things considered. He copped a few boos along the way... Big deal… The media made an absolute mountain out of a molehill. They turned it into race row. Laughable.

People jump at shadows where racism is concerned, so we had a two week circus where everyone in the AFL decided we must "take a stand" against racism. The Goodsey haters didn't give a f**k and kept booing him in true Aussie larrikin tradition, i.e. mainly giving the finger to the AFL & media for telling us how to behave.

Bottom line: had nothing to do with the footy - just all part of the AFL soap opera which the media & Big Footy thrive upon. Every year people seize on 2-3 side issues to crap on about relentlessly - sex scandals, drugs, racism, Wayne Carey, Cousins, St Kilda schoolgirls, Malthouse v Milne, Mitch Clark depression, Fevola, fights outside Crown Casino, players beating up cab drivers

A coach getting murdered?!
This was a shocker. Still hard to believe. I think it was a rare situation of life and death impacting upon footy and jolting people out of their complacent weekly barracking habits. All of a sudden, the game of footy on the weekend didn't really mean much.

Not to be callous, but people move on pretty quickly. It's human nature. You shake your head, maybe shed a tear, try to come to grips with it. And then put it aside and get on with life. That's how it goes…

Obviously a terrible situation, but I don't think it ruined the season. Ultimately, the Walsh tragedy drew people together and made us all realise we love the game just like Walshy did. The Crows were galvanised and played great footy with Camporeale standing in as caretaker coach. Whereas the negative s**t like Essendon & Goodes tends to divide people and push people away from the game.

The state of Qld footy with the Suns off-field dramas and an awful Lions team
Yes, agree with this. Aside from PEDs, this is probably the biggest lowlight in recent years. The Lions and Suns are a huge worry. They escape much of the scrutiny from the media, but they appear to be in big big trouble. The AFL seem to spend most of their time on the Sydney clubs to the detriment of the Queensland clubs.

And then to top it all off Hawthorn 3peat by destroying their nearest opposition, culminating with a hatrick of crap grand finals
Very glad to see the back of this year but at this stage it's hard to see who can stop Hawthorn rolling on for a 4th flag..
Yep, the average fan really hates seeing Hawthorn win the flag every year. Not sure it's worth bleating about. It's just part of the swings and cycles of top level professional sport. Just the tone of your post and your choice of words indicates you're fed up with Hawthorn. That's just too bad. Hopefully we can ruin the 2016 season for you as well. :D

I laugh when neutrals moan about "boring", "crap" Grand Finals. Spoiled brats mostly. It's as though they think the Grand Final exists to provide them with a 1 point nail-biter every year. This isn't a scripted Hollywood movie. Hats off the premier, I always say. Even when it's a team I hate such as Geelong, Collingwood or Essendon. I always liked watching a champion team do their thing. That's just me, the footy purist speaking.

I never really understood people's sense of entitlement that every game they watch on TV must be close. Especially the anguish over one-sided Grand Finals. I've seen plenty of those (Coll d St K, Geel d Port, Bris d Coll, Ess d Melb, NM d Carl, Carl d Geel, WCE d Geel, Coll d Ess) As a Hawk fan, I was envious of how good those teams were and wished my team could play like that, but I never gave a flying f**k about the closeness of the game itself.

The Grand Final is the culmination of a 6 month season. There's always plenty of close games along the way. It's not as the GF is a theatre performance which everyone has been practising for behind closed doors for 6 months and the whole thing is ruined by a terrible performance on the big day.

I thought it was pretty good year of footy. The closest season I can remember in YEARS… 2-3 months into the year, the premiership race was basically wide open with two WA teams on top, but still very gettable for any one of 9 or 10 teams lurking below them on the ladder.

Port, North and Gold Coast went into the year feeling as though they'd take the next step, but they stuttered early on. You had Sydney & Fremantle sharing the early premiership favouritism with Hawthorn (who got the staggers with a 4-4 start)

West Coast, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide, GWS and the Bulldogs all jumped out the blocks and looked as though they would make the top 4 at various points along the way. Admittedly, the Bombers hype was short-lived, pre-Anzac Day mostly and then they fell away. Easy to look back in hindsight and think it was all Hawthorn and West Coast, but those other teams gave their fans plenty to cheer about during the year.

Hawthorn, Richmond and North all got their s**t together as the year progressed and leap-frogged Collingwood and GWS. Easy to forget that most people here on Big Footy had written them off after the first 2 months.

Pfft…The only people who were surprised by WADA's appeal were the desperate Essendon fans hoping it was all over and also the rank and file footy fans who hadn't been paying close enough attention to the story.

Everyone in the media (Caro, Robbo, Smith) had basically been saying all along that the saga would probably drag out for 3 years and would involve court appeals, interminable delays and probably end up going to the Court of Arbitration in Switzerland. It's exactly as they predicted...

I think it had zero impact on the season anyway - apart from the drop in morale at Essendon as their players realised they weren't going to be let off the hook like they'd been promised. The Bombers were popping the champagne corks at the "Not Guilty/Not comfortable satisfied" tribunal whitewash. Then ASADA vowed an appeal was likely - WADA duly obliged - Essendon people and AFL sycophants moaned about it for a couple of weeks… And virtually nothing more was said for the remainder of the year!!

Hird was sacked because of poor performance. He was the one who kept making excuses and mentioning WADA every time his team got belted by 100 points.

The Essendon drug scandal was massive news in the previous years. It became a side issue in 2015.

Another side issue which was partly propagated by the man himself. The Swans also beat it up to large degree to distract from the growing Buddy Franklin story. It wasn't as though the Goodes stuff was a weekly story - it flared for a 2-3 weeks before & after indigenous round, then reared its head again late in the year.

Goodes was a veteran in his last season - basically a fringe player who enjoyed a pretty good year, all things considered. He copped a few boos along the way... Big deal… The media made an absolute mountain out of a molehill. They turned it into race row. Laughable.

People jump at shadows where racism is concerned, so we had a two week circus where everyone in the AFL decided we must "take a stand" against racism. The Goodsey haters didn't give a f**k and kept booing him in true Aussie larrikin tradition, i.e. mainly giving the finger to the AFL & media for telling us how to behave.

Bottom line: had nothing to do with the footy - just all part of the AFL soap opera which the media & Big Footy thrive upon. Every year people seize on 2-3 side issues to crap on about relentlessly - sex scandals, drugs, racism, Wayne Carey, Cousins, St Kilda schoolgirls, Malthouse v Milne, Mitch Clark depression, Fevola, fights outside Crown Casino, players beating up cab drivers

This was a shocker. Still hard to believe. I think it was a rare situation of life and death impacting upon footy and jolting people out of their complacent weekly barracking habits. All of a sudden, the game of footy on the weekend didn't really mean much.

Not to be callous, but people move on pretty quickly. It's human nature. You shake your head, maybe shed a tear, try to come to grips with it. And then put it aside and get on with life. That's how it goes…

Obviously a terrible situation, but I don't think it ruined the season. Ultimately, the Walsh tragedy drew people together and made us all realise we love the game just like Walshy did. The Crows were galvanised and played great footy with Camporeale standing in as caretaker coach. Whereas the negative s**t like Essendon & Goodes tends to divide people and push people away from the game.

Yes, agree with this. Aside from PEDs, this is probably the biggest lowlight in recent years. The Lions and Suns are a huge worry. They escape much of the scrutiny from the media, but they appear to be in big big trouble. The AFL seem to spend most of their time on the Sydney clubs to the detriment of the Queensland clubs.

Yep, the average fan really hates seeing Hawthorn win the flag every year. Not sure it's worth bleating about. It's just part of the swings and cycles of top level professional sport. Just the tone of your post and your choice of words indicates you're fed up with Hawthorn. That's just too bad. Hopefully we can ruin the 2016 season for you as well. :D

I laugh when neutrals moan about "boring", "crap" Grand Finals. Spoiled brats mostly. It's as though they think the Grand Final exists to provide them with a 1 point nail-biter every year. This isn't a scripted Hollywood movie. Hats off the premier, I always say. Even when it's a team I hate such as Geelong, Collingwood or Essendon. I always liked watching a champion team do their thing. That's just me, the footy purist speaking.

I never really understood people's sense of entitlement that every game they watch on TV must be close. Especially the anguish over one-sided Grand Finals. I've seen plenty of those (Coll d St K, Geel d Port, Bris d Coll, Ess d Melb, NM d Carl, Carl d Geel, WCE d Geel, Coll d Ess) As a Hawk fan, I was envious of how good those teams were and wished my team could play like that, but I never gave a flying f**k about the closeness of the game itself.

The Grand Final is the culmination of a 6 month season. There's always plenty of close games along the way. It's not as the GF is a theatre performance which everyone has been practising for behind closed doors for 6 months and the whole thing is ruined by a terrible performance on opining night.
All in all pretty well said mate, you've got me pumped up for next year haha!

Just on the 3 years of crap grand finals bit, that wasn't as indictment on Hawthorn - it's up to every other team to come up to their level, and nor do I think every game should be/will be close. It's more that grand final day is like Christmas for me and three years in a row now I've watched three teams crap their dacks against a team who I hate (begrudgingly respect) and have to wait all summer for the next season to start with that taste in my mouth =P but kudos to the Hawks, best team I've ever seen. I'll be on the Port/Eagles/Tigers bandwagon to hopefully knock them off next year.

People under estimate how Hawthorns three Grand Final wins required defeating three different and formidable game plans ...

What bored people was the clinical nature of it and the dismantling of these teams by a disciplined team with a strategy.

As a Hawk fan I found the 2014 Grand Final particularly amazing because we simply destroyed a team physically and tactically.

Liked: Having the AFL app on my phone and being able to watch games live and free on it.
Learnt: The sport is becoming more and more about money, less and less about the players and fans
Hated: The AFL using the word integrity, it in no way defines them, they have no understanding for its meaning and it is a quality they severly lack.

Liked: Having the AFL app on my phone and being able to watch games live and free on it.
Learnt: The sport is becoming more and more about money, less and less about the players and fans
Hated: The AFL using the word integrity, it in no way defines them, they have no understanding for its meaning and it is a quality they severly lack.

Dude read your first 2 comments.
They are completely contradictory.
You got free access to all the games all season yet you're complaining about it being a money grab?

Dude read your first 2 comments.
They are completely contradictory.
You got free access to all the games all season yet you're complaining about it being a money grab?
Yep, I know, but down here was the first season with ads between quarters for AFL shown on Southern Cross (our version of 7)
The app cost $150 odd but I was lucky enough to get it for free, complete rip off at that price however, but its not just that its an overall assessment that despite the more and more the competition rakes in over the TV rights they still charge the fans more and more each season

dkmb86g_483d3843pgh_b.jpg

Reading the score in a text message is not "watching footy"...

dkmb86g_483d3843pgh_b.jpg

Reading the score in a text message is not "watching footy"...
German telecommunication companies really need to get with the times. I reckon the AFL app looks pretty good on something like this:

gold-samsung-galaxy-s6-edge.png

It was a great year.In years to come Australians will be thankful for what happened to Goodes...Its exposed a fair percentage of Australians for what they really are..It cut through all the PR bullshit that the AFL creates eg Indigenous round, Womans round etc etc.....Now im looking forward to a womans competition in a few years and anticipating the following situation - guys booing a masculine lesbian girl with an opinion while cheering on the feminine girls.....I'm anticapating these people who boo her religiously being asked 'why are u booing her'...there response.. 'Oh I don't like the way she plays.She dives , she's rough.She plays for free kicks' blablabla

A situation like this will happen again but now we have some recent history to refer to.We now know that a section of society will never accept a minority spokesperson who is strong willed and opinionated.Especially if there opinions different to there own.Sometimes to make change u need a shock to the system.

Liked: the come from behind win against the swans.
First quarter against Fremantle (away)
Rance winning the JDM and a second AA selection

Disliked: The Racism controversy.

Learnt: The football community gathers round when tragedy strikes and Adelaide are an extremely resilient team.

liked. the premiership, bulldogs bouncing back, attacking football, carlton last, hirds overdue sacking. dislikes- boring grand final against witches hats, umpiring forgetting the old rule of letting finals flow.

West Coast, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide, GWS and the Bulldogs all jumped out the blocks and looked as though they would make the top 4 at various points along the way. Admittedly, the Bombers hype was short-lived, pre-Anzac Day mostly and then they fell away.

Easy to look back in hindsight and think it was all Hawthorn and West Coast, but all of those other teams gave their fans plenty to cheer about during the year.

Hawthorn, Richmond and North all got their s**t together as the year progressed and leap-frogged Collingwood and GWS. Most people here on Big Footy had written them off after the first 2 months. People have short memories.

The Grand Final is the culmination of a 6 month season. There's always plenty of close games along the way. It's not as the GF is a theatre performance which everyone has been practising for behind closed doors for 6 months and the whole thing is ruined by a terrible performance on the big day.

Just about everything you said personifies why everyone thinks hawthorn supporters are arrogant flogs. Congrats. Stereotype confirmed.