Where are they now? - Brisbane Lions website interviews of Fitzroy players

Ozzie's quote ....

What are your most treasured memories from your playing days with Fitzroy?

I still can’t get it out of my head when Micky Conlan kicked that goal in the 1986 Elimination Final against the Bombers out at Waverley.

.... who can ? As a great man once said " 'scuse me while I kiss the sky ". Not easily forgotten.

I might be a touch biased, however, the embrace between Osborne and Conlan after the goal goes down as one of the best in Australian sporting folklore. If I was to generate a list I would rank:

1. John Landy helping Ron Clarke to his feet during competition
2. Norm Provan and Arthur Summons' sportsmanship in the mud
3. Conlan/Osborne: The relief shown on Conlan's face is priceless. Ossie virtually had to hold him up for a second so Mick wouldn't fall.

Other podium nominations may include Merv Hughes' tongue lashing of Allan Border purely for the comedy element and Pat Cash jumping into the stands of Wimbledon to embrace his old man.

If Marc Murphy had played for the Lions, I think I would have barracked for them.
I would've thought, having "Junior" Brown playing for the Lions, would be enough to sway anybody? His father, Brian and uncle Noel (Mugavin) were great characters in their respective days at the Lions.:D

Fantastic reading these pieces on here..... cheers guys appreciate you posting them :thumbsu:

Anybody know what Andrew Cavedon and Wayne Lamb are up to these days?

I would've thought, having "Junior" Brown playing for the Lions, would be enough to sway anybody? His father, Brian and uncle Noel (Mugavin) were great characters in their respective days at the Lions.:D
Having Brown & Murphy would have been a lot more enticing.

I might be a touch biased, however, the embrace between Osborne and Conlan after the goal goes down as one of the best in Australian sporting folklore. If I was to generate a list I would rank:

1. John Landy helping Ron Clarke to his feet during competition
2. Norm Provan and Arthur Summons' sportsmanship in the mud
3. Conlan/Osborne: The relief shown on Conlan's face is priceless. Ossie virtually had to hold him up for a second so Mick wouldn't fall.

Other podium nominations may include Merv Hughes' tongue lashing of Allan Border purely for the comedy element and Pat Cash jumping into the stands of Wimbledon to embrace his old man.

Great Australian sporting moments
Ian baker finch being by a golf ball while being interviewed
jack brabham taking a wrong turn down a escape road in a g.p
mal brown knocking out the entire carlton side

Not from the Brisbane Lions website this time, but from the AFL's:

GARY WILSON
https://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/116377/default.aspx

Excerpt (edited in by Mobbs - see above link for full article)
By Paul Daffey
10:00 AM Sat 18 Jun, 2011

Not even the odd stray dog could stop Garry Wilson in his prime.

GARRY Wilson, the courageous former Fitzroy rover, was knocked around so much that he played the final years of his career wearing a helmet, which was unusual in the early 1980s.

He says he was knocked out five or six times and, on about 20 occasions, finished a match with blurred vision.

But the repeated blows have done nothing to dampen his talent for figures.

During an interview in his apartment in Melbourne’s Docklands precinct near Etihad Stadium, Wilson, 57, recalls with great clarity how much he was earning as a Board of Works clerk when he made his debut with Fitzroy in 1971, aged 17.

Former ruckman and Club Best & Fairest Ron Alexander who played 133 games and kicked 30 goals for Fitzroy between 1976-81.

What are you up to these days?

I am the Director General for the Department of Sport & Recreation in Western Australia and basically help run all matters surrounding sport and recreation for the State.

Currently one of my key projects is to build a new major multi-purpose football stadium. It will be in addition to the new State basketball centre, new State athletic centre and new State hockey centre. We’re also just in the middle of building a new netball centre.

Then there’s a whole range of other things associated with the department. We run all outdoor events in WA and administer the adventure standards for things like four-wheel driving, abseiling, bushwalking, canoeing, kayaking and the sort.

While we fund different sports for high performance outcomes, we also do a lot for the social good of the community. We focus not only on physical health, but also recognise the value sport plays in mental health.

We’ve actually just received $20 million funding to pay for children from disadvantaged families to join sporting clubs. Of those disadvantaged families, 50% are Indigenous while the other 50% are unemployed or single parent families who often never join a community organisation.

If we can get some of these children joining sporting clubs, then we could potentially provide them with a decent pathway.

I’m certainly passionate about it - but most of my life I’ve been passionate about something.

What are your fondest memories of your time at Fitzroy?

I started with the Club in 1976 and we made Finals for the first time in 16 years in 1979. That was pretty special.

We had a great group of players and a really good board and administration.

One of the things that really stood out was the passion of our supporters. I’m a sort of people’s person, and I really enjoyed meeting all the different types of people as well as playing and competing at the highest level during a relatively successful era.

Being in Melbourne was fantastic. I was probably a bit reluctant to move initially, but really enjoyed it and ended up staying for six years.

Do you still catch up with any of your former team-mates?

Ian Miller is over her in WA so we still catch up from time to time.

I also catch up with Chris Hansen occasionally and Chris Smith who’s now living in Shepparton. I bump into various players around the way.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116885/default.aspx

A pity the Ron Alexander interview was so brief but I can't believe they failed to acknowledge that he was a former Fitzroy captain.

I got pissed (he didn't) with Ron after the 1978 Night Final. You couldn't meet a nicer bloke.

I was on the milk back then (only 10 at the time) but Ron was my hero. Great player and with the big mo and mane of hair, the bloke just looked like a lion.

I spent six months in Perth during 1973. As I was running a sporting goods shop in Subiaco, I followed that team (their colours bore a distinct resemblance to those worn by Fitzroy as well). Ron's battles with Subi's Mike Fitzpatrick were legendary. Just like when he played with Fitzroy, no matter how good the opposition, Ron was never beaten. He always, at the very least, broke even. He usually dominated. A most underrated player.

Popular Fitzroy forward Darren 'Doc' Wheildon who played 70 games and kicked 160 goals for the Club between 1989-94

I work for a local construction company in Wonthaggi, doing mostly carpentry stuff.

Yesterday I worked on building a deck, doing some handrails and other bits and pieces.

It’s a bloody good skill to have and comes in handy when you need to fix things up around home I suppose.

Fitzroy was very much like a family club. I reckon our fans had access to us players more than any other club at the time.

But it was a lean period on the field and we didn’t get to celebrate too many wins which was a bummer. We certainly had some good players, but just couldn’t put it on the board unfortunately.

You produced some miraculous things out on the field…

Yeah, that goal from the boundary line in Tassie should have been Goal of the Year.

I think Peter Daicos ended up winning it that year - they said that mine was too flukey.

But I can tell you that I was absolutely going for the goals - it’s not like I wasn’t trying to kick it into the hotdog stand!

It was a bloody fluke, but I was going for it.

You looked in good nick when you represented the Lions in the 2011 NAB Cup Legends Game. Do you still do any form of football training?

I really enjoyed that game, it was good to get back out there.

I don’t do any sort of footy training nowadays. I just eat better and look after myself a lot more than I probably used to.

Working outside and doing physical work every day helps as well. But that’s about the limits of my training these days.

I still go fishing once a year with Brett Chandler and Jason Baldwin in Tamboon. It’s great keeping in touch with those guys.

I occasionally speak with Kieran Sporn, but other than that I don’t really speak to many blokes.

What have been the biggest changes you’ve noticed in the game since you played?

It’s definitely changed - I just don’t know whether it’s for the better or for the worse.

They don’t play the same one-on-one style of play from back in my day. It’s all quick hands now.

In saying that, it looks like they’re starting to bring the long kicking back. I’ve noticed they’re starting to kick it quick into the forward line to give their forwards a chance one-on-one.

That’s what it was like when I played. It makes it a hell of a lot easier to kick goals when your forwards are one-out.

Do you have any kids hoping to follow their father’s footsteps?

I have one son who’s seven - turning eight in December. He’s doing Auskick at the moment and seems to like it.

But I won’t push him into anything he doesn’t want to do. He can do whatever he likes.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/117441/default.aspx

Thanks to mobbs, the goal mentioned by doc
[YOUTUBE]ytAyr_Q78sM[/YOUTUBE]

The Cougar

Fitzroy forward Anthony Mellington who played 24 games and kicked 24 goals for the Club between 1995-96.

I’m living in Shepparton now and have a curtains and blinds business called Wyndham Décor which keeps me busy.

I’ve been involved with that for around two and a half years. There’s plenty on the go.

Footy-wise, I’m still playing at the Heathcote Football Club in the Heathcote District Football League.

It’s my second season with them. We went through the season undefeated last year and won the flag. We were also undefeated this year until last week when we were beaten by Lockington - which was the team we beat in the 2010 Grand Final.

Before playing at Heathcote, I was at Tocumwal. I won a premiership in my last season with them in 2009 - so I guess I’ll be going for three flags in a row this year.

I play mostly in defence these days, predominantly at centre-half back. But I don’t mind running up forward every now and then to get amongst it.

But I think this will be my last year. I’m turning 37 later this month so it’s probably about time I hung up the boots.

The first thing that comes to mind is the Fitzroy supporters. I always remember how keen and one-eyed they were.

I felt for them more than anyone else when the team eventually merged in 1996.

While those that did go on to follow the Brisbane Lions enjoyed some success, I always thought a merger with another Melbourne Club would’ve been better suited.

Luckily enough for me, I was picked up by the Kangaroos in 1997 which was a real eye-opener. It was amazing to see how professionally run North Melbourne was compared to Fitzroy in those final years.

You are probably remembered most by Fitzroy fans for your six-goal haul against Fremantle in Round 8 of 1996 which proved to be the team’s last ever win...

That was actually the only win I was involved with in two seasons at Fitzroy.

It was a big day for our supporters - even though there were only around 5,000 people at the Whitten Oval that day.

I remember the siren sounding and all our fans ran onto the field and sang the song with us afterwards. It was a pretty special day.

Not really.

But I’ll speak to some of them on the phone every now and then.

Have you noticed a significant change in how the game is played now compared to when you were playing AFL in the mid-to-late 90s?

For sure.

You only have to look at the old footage to see how much it has changed. The game is so much younger and quicker now.

There’s also been plenty of rules changes - particularly in the way that free kicks are interpreted and players are reported.

Chopping arms is something that you can no longer do as a defender, yet I was always taught to chop arms during my junior football days.

Do you have any kids hoping to follow their father’s footsteps?

I’m married now with two children - Sienna (5) and Jack (2 and a half).

They come along and watch their dad play footy on the weekends.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/117974/default.aspx

Fitzroy centre half-back Chris Smith who played 163 games and kicked 58 goals for the Club between 1973-82.

I’m currently the Managing Director of a civil engineering, surveying and planning consultancy based in Shepparton. I’ve been involved in the industry since moving up here in 1984.

I played my last senior game of VFL for Fitzroy in June of 1982 and attempted an unsuccessful comeback in 1983. Then I retired and moved to Shepparton where I, in the first instance, took up the position of playing/coach with Mooroopna Football Club in the Goulburn Valley Football League.

I coached there for three years and we went on to win back-to-back flags in 1985-86 - breaking a 47-year drought!

Then it was time for me to pursue a professional career.

What are your fondest memories from your playing days?

My fondest memories were probably playing Finals in 1979 and 1981. We got knocked out in the first Semi Final in both years by Collingwood - but in both years we had won an Elimination Final against Essendon which was quite a coincidence. Our 1979 Finals campaign was under Bill Stephen, whereas 1981 was under Robert Walls who was in his first year as coach.

That was a great experience because we had a lot of years where we weren’t that successful.

Also, very early in my career, I was part of the 1974 reserves premiership side. That was my earliest taste of the Finals.

Yeah, I’m still good friends with Kevin O’Keeffe who’s still involved with Past Players Association. I also still catch up with Neville Taylor and the likes of Dan Harrington and Gerard Noonan. I struck up good friendships with a lot of the players that were recruited to Fitzroy from the Hampton League which was the Club’s country zoning.

We tend to have dinner in Melbourne and/or arrange weekend away.

Ron Alexander from Perth has some acquaintances in Shepparton so he drops by whenever he’s in town.

What are the main changes you’ve noticed in the game since your playing days?

It’s a whole lot quicker and the skills have certainly improved.

I wasn’t the fast. I wouldn’t have been quick enough to survive in today’s game.

My style of footy was to use my body to protect the ball and my team-mates. I’d be umpired out of the game now with the new rules that are protecting players from bumps and knocks.

The game has also been sanitised a lot from when I played in the 1970s and early 1980s. I played most of my career wearing a helmet, mostly to help soften the blows on my head. I suffered from migraines even if I got a small knock to the head.

I actually gave Garry Wilson his first helmet and suggested he try it on. He had suffered from some bad concussions and I thought it might help.

There was actually a time during my playing days when myself, Peter Keays and Gerry McCarthy all wore helmets across the half-back line. We used to call ourselves the ‘half-helmet line’.

A lot of the juniors still wear them and I certainly promote it among the Goulburn Valley League. I advocate young players to ‘pad up’ because it helps you soften areas where you can’t put muscle - including your head. But it doesn’t befit the image the AFL wants to project.

The Club is holding a past players reunion in Victoria at next week’s match between the Lions and North Melbourne at Etihad Stadium. Are you looking forward to attending?

Yes, it’s always good to re-acquaint yourself the guys that you used to see every day.

Regardless of how long it’s been since you’ve seen your mates from all those years ago, those friendships remain and are revived instantaneously once you get-together again.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/118551/default.aspx

I've heard the anecdote in relation to Chris Smith and a Brownlow Count one year....
He was leading the voting half way through the year, mainly due to three strong games. Only problem was, he wasn't at the count, because, well with all respect to Chris, no one thought he would have had a chance in hell of ever winning it.

An official went up to the late Jack Hamilton, who read out the votes and said "there's a problem. Chris Smith from Fitzroy isn't here, and he's leading. Do you want us to track him down, throw him in a suit, and get him down here? He might win..."

Hamilton's answer - "No need. He won't win while I'm reading out the votes...."

I've heard the anecdote in relation to Chris Smith and a Brownlow Count one year....
He was leading the voting half way through the year, mainly due to three strong games. Only problem was, he wasn't at the count, because, well with all respect to Chris, no one thought he would have had a chance in hell of ever winning it.

An official went up to the late Jack Hamilton, who read out the votes and said "there's a problem. Chris Smith from Fitzroy isn't here, and he's leading. Do you want us to track him down, throw him in a suit, and get him down here? He might win..."

Hamilton's answer - "No need. He won't win while I'm reading out the votes...."
In Chris Donald's book, "Fitzroy - For the Love of the Jumper", Smithy said he was at home drinking a stubby, while listening to the count. He had his feet up on a coffee table & was wearing his dressing gown & his helmet! Even he couldn't explain why he was wearing the helmet.:D

Not exactly the same thing, but I thought I would put it here:

'Kevin Murray Bounces Back'

- Herald Sun article from Tuesday
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/mo...-saturday-losses/story-fn7x8me2-1226097175749
BROWNLOW medallist Kevin Murray feels he has finally come to grips with losing his Flowerdale home in the Black Saturday bushfires.
"It has turned the corner. It's a funny thing, time, it heals a lot of things," Murray, 73, said yesterday.

- and thread on the Brisbane Lions BigFooty Forum
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=849626

Lions.com.au catches up with former Fitzroy centre half-forward Robert Walls who played 41 games and kicked 77 goals for the Club between 1978-80. Walls also coached Fitzroy from 1981-85 and the Brisbane Bears from 1991-95.

The following content was collected from the Club's Lion Loyalist luncheon in Victoria at which Robert Walls was a special guest together with David Parkin.

What are your fondest memories of your time at Fitzroy - both as a player and coach?

I had eight years at Fitzroy and they were eight of the best years in my time in footy. I really enjoyed my time there and made some terrific friends.

I look at Laurie Serafini - who’s in his 50s now - and remember bossing him around on the training track.

Then there’s Des and Margaret Luckman who used to cook the meals for the senior players on a Thursday night. I remember on Thursday nights after training, I’d pull in one or two or three players to tell them they were out of this week’s team. They were so disappointed, not because they were out of the team, but because they were no longer getting a feed from Des and Margaret!

Do you still catch up with any of your team-mates?

I turned 61 yesterday and I can’t believe the years have gone so quickly.

But wherever you go, you seem to still bump into people from the old days. You see them now as parents and even grandparents and it’s wonderful to see that they’ve achieved so much in life and that they’re happy.

That’s the important thing - you enjoy your footy days, but then life goes on.

During my time at Fitzroy, some outstanding people came through the Football Club. One thing I really enjoy now is that so many of them are good mates with each other.

They are godparents of each other’s’ kids and went to each other’s weddings. They’ve just remained friends right through. That’s one of the lovely things football can give you.

Compared to your first club Carlton, Fitzroy wasn’t a particularly ‘rich’ club - at least in terms of finances. How did you find that change?

I still remember Les Parish, who was one player I played with and then later coached, had to be sold mid-season to generate some money.

Les came to the Club as an older player and was much loved by his teammates. But he went to Melbourne and it was like we had lost a member of our family. That part was tough.

Of course Les passed away at a very young age, but he left an impression on all his teammates. I remember they played a game for him up on the river and his old teammates came from everywhere to watch. Ron Alexander came over from Perth, Bobby Beecroft came from Adelaide and everyone dropped what they were doing to be there and honour a mate.

That was the sort of spirit that was at Fitzroy.

Did your relationship with your teammates change once you became coach in 1981?

Mick Conlan and I had a love/hate relationship.

I remember one day Mick did something that didn’t make me too happy in the first quarter, so I sent the runner out to get him off. Then, in the corner of my eye, I saw Mick walk down the race and into the rooms. I thought that was strange.

So I rang the runner from upstairs in the coaching box and said “Where’s Mick?”

He said “He’s gone in the rooms”.

I said “Why?”

He said “I dunno”.

I said “Well go and find out what’s going on!”

This all happened while the game was still going.

The runner came back from the rooms and said “Mick says he’s not coming out”.

I said “What do you mean he’s not coming out?”

“He said as long as you’re coach he’s not coming out!”

That was Mick (laughs).

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/119214/default.aspx

I loved that bit on Micky Conlan from Walls!

Anyway I think all of these interviews were in part leading up to the Lions are holding a massive Past Players Luncheon at Etihad on Saturday covering Fitzroy, the Bears and the Lions. Apparently about 150 Players are coming and hopefully a few of them will stick around for the Lions free aftermatch function.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/118988/default.aspx

former Fitzroy full-forward Bob Beecroft who played 96 games and kicked 291 goals for the Club between 1976-80.

I was working in Real Estate for about eight years over in Perth, but got sick of the city life and moved into the country to a place called Northam, which is about an hour drive from Perth.

We’re really settled up here now and I’m working at a chainsaw/pool shop. We sell chainsaws in winter and pools in summer. I’m also in the process of renovating a 100 year-old house.

Since being in Northam, I’ve also gotten back into coaching with the Railways Football Club. We’re starting off from rock bottom and are finding it pretty tough on the field at the moment. But there are some really good signs that will put us in good stead for next year. I love it, especially helping the young fellas.

What are your fondest memories from your playing days?

I reckon it was probably getting off the deck and eventually playing Finals.

I was at Fitzroy back when Bill Stephen was coach. I really enjoyed playing under Bill. He was fantastic - a great communicator and a gentleman. He never humiliated players in front of their team-mates which was refreshing back in those days. He was really ahead of his time and even won Coach of the Year in 1979. He did wonders for me as a player.

There were also some really memorable wins. One that sticks out was when we played South Melbourne and no one gave us any hope of winning. But we had a huge come-from-behind win. I remember Garry Wilson and I kicked 17 goals between us that day - I kicked 10 and he kicked seven.

You seemed to kick a few bags of goals during your time at Fitzroy…

I actually kicked 10 goals twice in my career - once against South Melbourne and another time against Melbourne when Fitzroy notched up the biggest ever win in VFL/AFL history.

I still that remember that record score. It was a bit surreal the way it happened. It was the only game I’ve ever been involved in where every player was at the very top of their game.

I really enjoyed my time at Fitzroy. Coming from WA, it was always a burning ambition of mine to play in the ‘big time’. I never wanted to just stay in WA and play out my entire football career there.

Every now and again I catch up with Ron Alexander who is over in WA.

I did catch up with John Duckworth a couple of years ago, and I see Ian Miller from time to time.

But other than that, it’s pretty hard to keep in touch, particularly when you’re living interstate and in the country.

What are the main changes you’ve noticed in the game since your playing days?

The main change I’ve noticed is the big focus on pressure to keep the ball in your area.

These days, forwards seem to have mastered defenders and no longer allow their opposition to get the un-checked possessions out of the backline. Forwards keep defenders under enormous pressure. That’s the biggest change I’ve noticed.

The kicking is pretty ordinary these days. I don’t think they work hard enough on it.

The whole game has changed. There is a lot more support at stoppages and contests.

And the torpedo punt, you don’t see that too much any more.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/119603/default.aspx

former Fitzroy rover Graham Campbell who played 151 games and kicked 154 goals for the Club between 1956-64. Campbell was also Fitzroy's Senior Coach for part of 1974 and in 1978.

Nothing, I’m 75 years of age so don’t work anymore.

I’m still living in South Australia where I initially came to coach football with Glenelg. I’m still living here because it suited me. Melbourne was very bitter in the winter, so my wife and I agreed to keep on living here. 11 of our 14 grandchildren have now been born over here - with the other three being born over in WA.

Having spent a considerable amount of my life playing and coaching football, I absolutely love it and still watch plenty of it. It’s something that has always captivated me.

I also used to enjoy betting on the horses, but that’s dried up now that I’m on a pension.

What are your fondest memories from your playing days at Fitzroy?

From a personal point of view, it was probably winning the Club’s Best & Fairest award in 1957. I managed to beat Kevin Murray that year, and no one ever beat Kevin Murray. I think I got up by about seven votes in the end.

Being part of Fitzroy's 1959 night premiership and representing Victoria in two State of Origin matches were other highlights. I remember winning those State games in Adelaide and Perth - it was wonderful!

I am also proud to have played 158 League games. In your record books it says I played 151 League games, but I also played seven night games throughout my career. I was fortunate to remain relatively durable as well and played 111 straight games at one stage.

There were no serious injuries and my body has held up pretty well, apart from my hands which don’t look too good. Throughout the last few years of my career, I had to play with the little finger on my right hand taped to my index finger. It’s one of the legacies of my football days.

I did receive a pretty bad knock during a final in the 1960s which almost cost me my sight. It was the last final I ever played in and I refused to come off the field. However, I ended up spending the night at the Alfred Hospital.

We played three finals under Len Smith - who was Norm Smith’s brother. Len was a genius. He never swore once in his life as coach which is something that I took on board once I started coaching.

Do you still catch up with any of your team-mates?

We have reunions every now and again. We had the ‘Kings of the Pride’ reunion function in Melbourne a few years ago now.

A few have since passed on, but the majority are still alive. But they’re all in their 70s as well now.

What do you remember most from your time as a coach?

After spending some time at Reservoir, I returned as the Lions’ Reserves coach in 1971. I took over the senior job from Graham Donaldson after he resigned during 1974 and when the Reserves went on to win the premiership, I thought they might have offered me the full-time senior job at Fitzroy.

Unfortunately they didn’t, so I moved to Western Australia after applying for the Senior Coach position with West Perth from an advert in the paper. We won a premiership in my first year as coach and I really enjoyed my time in WA, but eventually ambition got the better of me and I wanted to coach my own VFL Club.

So I went back to Fitzroy as Senior Coach in 1978 and we won the night premiership that year. What made it extra special was the fact we beat North Melbourne in the Grand Final. Barrassi was coaching them at that time and they were very tough to beat in those days.

Then the bombshell dropped because my wife and kids wanted me to go back and coach in WA, so I was reinstated at West Perth the following year. As soon as I had retired from coaching West Perth, Glenelg came after me. I got offered the job for good money at the time, so moved the family to SA. Eventually I finished with Glenelg and became more of a media person.

Most of my work was coaching in three different States - Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. Not many coaches could say they’ve coached in all three!

What has been your proudest moment in football?

I’ve had plenty of really great moments, but the West Perth premiership in 1975 really sticks out.

I didn’t have a clue who they were, only that they’d finished dead last the previous year. We lost our first game of the season and then went on to win the next 8-9 matches.

We ended up finishing on top of the ladder by one game, but Swan Districts has beaten us by nearly 100 points during the minor rounds. They annihilated us. It was in the wet and we played dry weather football. I remember the lead-up to our return match against Swan Districts in the second Semi Final and they said there was no way we could beat them. But we ended up beating them by 85 points and then went on to beat South Fremantle by what still is a record Grand Final margin the WAFL.

I still remember the score - it was 23.17 (155) to 7.6 (48).

Winning that premiership is something that I would never have dreamed of. That was my non-playing moment of glory - along with helping Fitzroy win the night premiership.

Do you still keep a keen eye on the Brisbane Lions?

Absolutely. I am a proud Life Member of the Club. I just love the connection between the Brisbane Lions and Fitzroy - they’re called the Lions, they wear the Lions’ colours and sing the same song! Although when I first played in 1956 we were known as the Gorillas.

I really enjoy watching guys like Jonathan Brown play the game these days - he’s just a great man, a sensational player and a courageous bugger. I coached his father Brian who was a tough little nugget who played in the back pocket. I’m pretty sure he was a member of our night premiership team.

What’s your opinion on the modern AFL game and how has it changed from your playing days?

Football is my life and I love it, although I hate this kicking backwards business.

I always told my players to kick the way we’re going. We were never thinking of killing the game or slowing down the tempo. The only time it might have happened was on a wet or windy day. Those types of tactics weren’t that important in my day compared to the modern game.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/120135/default.aspx

Anyway I think all of these interviews were in part leading up to the Lions are holding a massive Past Players Luncheon at Etihad on Saturday covering Fitzroy, the Bears and the Lions. Apparently about 150 Players are coming and hopefully a few of them will stick around for the Lions free aftermatch function.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/118988/default.aspx

Article on the Past Players reunion of Fitzroy, the Bears and the Lions that was held at Etihad a few weeks ago.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/120155/default.aspx
Before the Lions' match against North Melbourne in round 18, the club hosted a reunion of about 150 past players and officials at Etihad Stadium.

The AFL Record attended the function and spoke with former players from all three of the Lions' eras.

The oldest living ex-player, Des Calverley, 91, was a rover/winger who played 52 matches for Fitzroy from 1940-46 and another 18 for Richmond from 1947-48.