Adam Goodes -

HAWTHORN            5.3     8.6     8.6     10.9   (69)
SYDNEY SWANS          2.2     5.4     9.7     16.10   (106)

The Sydney Swans have completed a commanding win over Hawthorn in Launceston, winning by 37 points.

In what was a record breaking day for Adam Goodes, who became the Swans’ leading games record holder, Sydney finished strongly to claim a well-earned four premiership points.

The Swans started the game positively, dominating the possession stakes. However, Lewis Jetta was denied an incredible goal after he crossed the boundary line before his finish.

Hawthorn were lead by Roughead and Hale, who combined for five opening quarter goals to see the Hawks skip away to a 19-point lead at quarter-time.

Roughead continued his dominance in the second quarter, amassing another two goals to take his tally to five for the day, as the Hawks won a hard-fought quarter by a point to take the margin to 20 points at half-time.

The third quarter saw Sydney start to really dominate. Adam Goodes in his 304th game for Sydney, booted two goals as the Swans snatched the lead back.

Key players Sam Mitchell and Matthew Suckling struggled to get their hands on the ball as the Swans created a 7-point lead at the final change.

Hawthorn came back at the Swans early in the last quarter, even at one point reclaiming the lead.

The Swans proved to be too strong though, kicking away from the Hawks to kick the last 7 goals and claim a 37-point win in Tasmania to take their unbeaten run to 5 games.

Hawthorn will next face St Kilda next Saturday night at the MCG while Sydney will host Adelaide at the SCG.


3. J Kennedy

2. A Goodes

1. J Roughead

HAWTHORN            5.3     8.6     8.6     10.9   (69)
SYDNEY SWANS          2.2     5.4     9.7     16.10   (106)

Roughead 5, Hale 2, Lewis 2, Rioli
Sydney Swans: Goodes 3, Kennedy 3, O’Keefe 2, Bird 2, Bolton 2, McVeigh, Jack, Jetta, Hannebery.

Roughead, Burgoyne, Lewis, Guerra, Schoenmakers
Sydney Swans: Kennedy, Richards, Goodes, Bird, Hannebery, O’Keefe

Gibson (leg),
Sydney Swans: TBC

Josh Gibson replaced by Paul Puopolo in the third quarter
Sydney Swans: Nick Malceski replaced by Nick Smith in the third quarter

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Brett Rosebury, Stuart Wenn, Robert Findlay

Official crowd: 19, 217 at Aurora Stadium