PORT ADELAIDE    3.2    5.6    9.9    12.11 (83)
SYDNEY SWANS    5.2    8.4    10.6    16.9 (105)

The Sydney Swans have claimed 4 vital premiership points after a hard-earned 22-point win over a spirited Port Adelaide outfit at AAMI Stadium.

The Swans had all the answers to Port’s constant challenges before running out comfortable winners in the final quarter.

Daniel Hannebery (36 disposals, 5 clearances) and Luke Parker (30 disposals, 17 contested) were excellent for the Swans whilst Jackson Trengove (25 disposals, 6 rebound 50s) was again great in defence for Port.

Port got off to the perfect start, kicking the first two goals. Sydney rallied, kicking three quick goals to erase Port’s early running. Parker was instrumental in setting up Sydney in the first quarter, amassing 13 disposals and four clearances as Sydney took an 11-point lead into quarter-time.

Port Adelaide started the second quarter much like the first, kicking the first goal to bring the margin back under a kick.

Yet again Sydney responded, kicking the next three goals to extend the margin out to 23 points. A late goal for Port Adelaide through Brad Ebert saw the margin reduced to 16 at the half, with the Power taking some hope in to the break.

The third quarter was all Port Adelaide’s, kicking five goals to Sydney’s two as the Power started to match the Swans in the contest.

Sydney though still hung on to a three-point margin going in to a crucial final quarter.

Port Adelaide once again had chances to take control of the match early in the final quarter, a shot from Jay Schulz to put the Power in front hit the post, followed by the Swans taking it straight up the other end to begin a run of five unanswered goals to give Sydney their third win of the season.

Sydney will host North Melbourne next Sunday whilst Port will travel to Etihad Stadium to meet Collingwood on Saturday.

Votes: 3. Daniel Hannebery 2. Luke Parker 1. Josh P. Kennedy

Port Adelaide:
D. Stewart 3, Schulz, Ebert, Westhof 2, Surjan, Broadbent, Thomas
Sydney Swans: Jetta 3, Bird, White, Goodes, O’Keefe 2, Bolton, McGlynn, McVeigh Reid, Mumford

Port Adelaide:
Ebert, Trengove, Cassisi, Gray, Westhoff, D. Stewart
Sydney Swans: Kennedy, Hannebery, Goodes, Malceski, Parker, Mumford

Port Adelaide:
Sydney Swans: Nil

Port Adelaide’s Cameron O’Shea replaced Alipate Carlile in the fourth quarter.
Sydney Swan Andrejs Everitt replaced Ben McGlynn in the third quarter.

Port Adelaide: Nil
Sydney Swans: Adam Goodes (rough conduct) against Jacob Surjan in the second quarter.

Umpires: Nicholls, Hay, Pannell

Official crowd: 19,032 at AAMI Stadium