BigFooty News will be running a quick weekly wrap up of the Victorian Football League.

The VFL was formed as the VFA in 1877 and was renamed the former in 1995. It took on its current status in 2000, as the reserves league to the Victorian AFL clubs, as well as mantaining its traditional clubs and still creating a pathway for the best local players.

Round 13

Sandringham 10.17 (77) defeated by Casey Scorpions 11.15 (81)

Trevor Barker Beach Oval, 1:10PM Saturday 23rd June

Leading goalkickers: Beau Wilkes (SZ) 4, Cameron Shenton (SZ) Ricky Petterd (CS) Stefan Martin (CS) Jordan Gysberts (CS) 2.

The Votes: 3. Brett Peake (SZ), 2. Adam Cockie (SZ), 1. Evan Panozza (CS).

Sam says: A close match for the duration, the Zebras edged Casey with a three-goal-to-two last quarter. The last quarter was however plagued by bad kicking in front of goals. Beau Wilkes continued his good form for Sandy with four goals. Prolific ball-winner Tom Couch was kept to only 14 disposals.

North Ballarat 14.15 (99) defeated Frankston 10.8 (68) 

Eureka Stadium, 2PM Saturday 23rd June

Leading goalkickers: Bill Driscoll (NR) 3, Paul McMahon (NR) Aaron Black (NR) Shaun Marusic (FD) 2.

The Votes: 3. Matt Campbell (NR), 2. Mitchell Bosward (FD) , 1. Myles Sewell (NR).

Sam says: The Roosters were in control of this match from the first bounce and were never going to lose. Matt Campbell impressed for North Ballarat and Myles Sewell continues to astound me as to why he hasn’t been picked up by an AFL club yet. As a stand alone side, Frankston held their own but having only one multiple goalkicker is never a good sign.

Northern Blues 2.9 (21) defeated by Geelong 9.18 (72)

Visy Park, 2PM Saturday 23rd June

Leading goalkickers: Lincoln McCarthy (GC) Jordan Schroder (GC) 2.

The Votes: 3. Cameron Eardley (GC), 2. Simon Hogan (GC), 1. Orren Stephenson (GC).

Sam says: We all knew the Blues were bad, but never this bad. Two goals for the whole match is horrendous and Geelong really should have won by more if not for poor kicking. The Cats ruckman were dominating again, with fomer VFL Team of the Year big man Orren Stephenson giving his midfielders the tap 39 times.

Bendigo Gold 17.6 (108) defeated Werribee 8.15 (63)

Windy Hill, 2PM Saturday 23rd June

Leading goalkickers: Justin Maddern (BG) Matt Little (BG) 4, Robbie Castello (WT) 3, Steven Stroobants (BG) Sam Lonergan (BG) 2.

The Votes: 3. Mark Baugley (BG), 2. Matt Little (BG), 1. Cam Pedersen (WT).

Sam says: The Gold kicked away after only leading by a goal on quarter-time. Bendigo’s big men Matt Little and Justin Maddern continued their good form with four goals each. Unfortunately for Bombers fans, Scott Gumbleton had a poor game with only two ineffective kicks. Roo Cam Perderson impressed for Werribee with 17 disposals and 25 hitouts. Bendigo are looking good so far this season and will definitely feature in September.

Coburg Tigers 10.23 (83) defeated Collingwood 9.3 (57)

Mantello Holden Oval, 2PM Sunday 24th June

Leading goalkickers: Caolan Mooney (CM) 5, Luke McGuane (CT) 2.

The Votes: 3. Matt White (CT), 2. Daniel Vendetti (CT), 1. Caolan Mooney (CM).

Sam says: In reality, Coburg should have smashed Collingwood. Their goalkicking however let them down, particularly in the last term. Collingwood’s new Irish recruit Caolan Mooney looks the goods with 10 disposals and 5 goals. The word from the Westpac Centre is that he is the fastest player the club has ever seen. Matt White had 28 disposals for Coburg.

Round summary: Sandringham reassured themselves as a real contender while doubts arise about Casey. Geelong will be there abouts in the finals while the Blues have shown how bad they really are. Things are definitely happening up in Bendigo with the side gelling well before they break-up with Essendon at the end of the season while Collingwood are putting up decent fights despite depth. Port Melbourne were playing in the Foxtel Cup while Box Hill and Williamstown had the bye.

The ladder:

1 Port Melbourne 36
2 Casey Scorpions 36
3 Werribee Tigers 28
4 Bendigo 28
5 Sandringham 28
6 Geelong Cats 24
7 Williamstown 22
8 Box Hill Hawks 20
9 North Ballarat 20
10 Coburg Tigers 16
11 Collingwood 8
12 Frankston 6
13 Northern Blues 4