BigFooty News will be running a quick weekly wrap up of the Victorian Football League.

The VFL was formed as the VFA in 1877 and was renamed the former in 1995. It took on its current status in 2000, as the reserves league to the Victorian AFL clubs, as well as mantaining its traditional clubs and still creating a pathway for the best local players.

Round 12

Port Melbourne 16.18 (114) defeated Coburg 10.8 (68)

North Port Oval, 1:10PM Saturday 16th June 2012.

Leading goalkickers: Dean Galea (PM) 4, Chris Cain (PM) Myles Pitt (PM) Clayton Hinkley (PM) Andrew Browne (CT) Jayden Post (CT) Angus Graham (CT) 2.

The Votes: 3. Sam Dwyer (PM), 2. Shane Valenti (PM), 1. Andrew Browne (CT).

Sam says: Port back on the winners list after last weeks loss and they regain outright top spot on the ladder. They certainly didn’t play the best that they could have. Coburg, who were leading at quarter-time, were in the match until largely the final break, when the Borough kicked away.

Box Hill Hawks 9.14 (68) defeated by Bendigo Gold 14.16 (100) 

Box Hill City Oval, 2PM Saturday 16th June 2012.

Leading goalkickers: Amos Frank (BH) Adam Pattinson (BH) Tim Northe (BH) Kyle Reimers (BG) Steven Stroobants (BG) David Hille (BG) Matt Little (BG) 2.

The Votes: 3. Michael Hibberd (BG), 2. Stephen Gilham (BH), 1. Brendan Lee (BG).

Sam says: A good win for the Gold as they knock on the door of the top four. They now have four wins on the trot. Once again, the Hawks came out fast but were overrun in the last quarter by Bendigo. Good signs for Essendon with David Hille kicking two goals.

Werribee 20.16 (136) defeated Sandringham 8.9 (57)

Avalon Airport Oval, 2PM Sunday 17th June 2012.

Leading goalkickers: Ben Warren (WT) 4, Ben Speight (WT) 3, Myke Cook (SZ) Nathan Ablett (WT) Lachie Hansen (WT) Will Sierakowski (WT) Robbie Castello (WT) Ben Ross (WT) 2.

The Votes: 3. Ben Speight (WT), 2. Majak Daw (WT), 1. Ben Warren (WT).

Sam says: Their AFL affiliate is struggling, but Werribee is in fine form. They’re now third on the ladder and handing the Zebras that drubbing, which was unexpected, due to the closeness of each team to the other on the ladder.

North Ballarat 16.16 (112) defeated Northern Blues 13.8 (86)

Eureka Stadium, 2PM Sunday17th June 2012.

Leading goalkickers: Wilbur Pomorin (NR) Bret Thornton (NB) 3, Matt Austin (NR) Cam Richardson (NR) Bill Driscoll (NR) Aaron Edwards (NR) Dylan Buckley (NB) Adam Macron (NB) 2.

The Votes: 3. Liam Anthony (NR), 2. Cam Richardson (NR), 1. Andrew McInnes (NB)

Sam says: A win for the Roosters, but against the Blues, who have only won one game this season and sit last on the ladder. With this win, the Roosters remain in contention for the four, but it will be tough. Good signs for North Melbourne with Liam Anthony picking up best on ground.

Frankston 14.8 (92) drew with Williamstown 13.14 (92) 

Frankston Oval, 2PM Sunday 17th June 2012

Leading goalkickers: Matt Panos (WS) 4, Khan Haretuku (FD) 3, Justin Sherman (WS) Dylan Van Unen (FD) 2.

The Votes: 3. Thomas Campbell (WS), 2. Shane Hockey (FD), 1. Khan Haretuku (FD).

Sam says: A highly unexpected result as Frankston were sitting equal last and Williamstown well placed in the eight. In the end, the Dolphins should have won, considering they were leading by 37 points at the last change. A great game and effort by both teams and a draw may have been worthy of the result.

Round summary: The Borough are back on top after that win, Bendigo proved they were the real deal as did Werribee, Frankston showed they can compete and Williamstown showed fight. Casey, Collingwood and Geelong had the byes.

The ladder: 

1 Port Melbourne 36
2 Casey Scorpions 32
3 Werribee Tigers 28
4 Sandringham 28
5 Bendigo 24
6 Williamstown 22
7 Geelong Cats 20
8 Box Hill Hawks 20
9 North Ballarat 16
10 Coburg Tigers 12
11 Collingwood 8
12 Frankston 6
13 Northern Blues 4