GWS take on Adelaide

GWS Giants v Adelaide Crows

Skoda Stadium – 1:10PM – Sunday 15 July

Adelaide will look to bolster their all-important percentage when the crows take on GWS at Skoda Stadium.

The Crows will be looking to take advantage of their young Giants opposition as Adelaide sit in a long queue at the top of the ladder with only percentage separating teams.

It will be the second time these two teams meet for the season, with the previous clash resulting in a 46-point win to Adelaide at Aami Stadium.

For the Giants, pride and respect is all that is at stake, following the 163-point demolition the Giants copped from Hawthorn last week.

Adelaide has named Kurt Tippett after speculation the Crows may rest the star forward after suffering a recent spate of concussions.

It is hard to see how the Giants can remain competitive in this game, especially as tired legs seem to be coming more prevalent with each passing week, resulting in second half blowouts.

It is for that reason why the Giants will completely ignore the scoreboard today, instead focusing on glimpses from younger players to build upon for future years.

A trait they should learn today from Adelaide is showing no mercy.

The Crows will not take their foot off the pedal; they will be relentless in what is a deceivingly crucial game for Adelaide.

So while the result may already be beyond doubt, the main points of interest in this game revolve around Adelaide’s winning margin and subsequent percentage boost and signs of promise from the Giants youngsters.

Prediction: Adelaide by 112

GWS Giants
B: Adam Kennedy, Phil Davis, Shaun Edwards
HB: Curtly Hampton, Chad Cornes, Sam Darley
C: Tom Scully, Callan Ward, Adam Treloar
HF: Toby Greene, Jeremy Cameron, Devon Smith
F: Nathan Wilson, Israel Folau, Jonathon Patton
Foll: Dean Brogan, Stephen Coniglio, Steve Clifton
Int: Kurt Aylett, Jonathan Giles, Rhys Palmer, William Hoskin-Elliot, Nick Haynes, Taylor Adams, Luke Power

In: Kurt Aylett, Steve Clifton, Sam Darley, Israel Folau, Tom Scully, William Hoskin-Elliot, Dean Brogan, Luke Power
Out: Tomas Bugg, Andrew Phillips, Adam Tomlinson, Tim Mohr, James McDonald (Rested)

New: Kurt Aylett (Nth. Ballarat Rebels U18), Steve Clifton (Nth. Ballarat Rebels U18)

B: Sam Shaw, Ben Rutten, Brodie Martin
HB: Brodie Smith, Daniel Talia, Brent Reilly
C: David Mackay, Patrick Dangerfield, Bernie Vince
HF: Richard Douglas, Ricky Henderson, Rory Sloane
F: Jason Porplyzia, Kurt Tippett, Matthew Wright
Foll: Sam Jacobs, Scott Thompson, Nathan van Berlo
Int: Chris Knights, Andy Otten, Ian Callinan, Tom Lynch, Luke Brown, Josh Jenkins, Tim McIntyre

In: Andy Otten, Ian Callinan, Tom Lynch, Luke Brown, Josh Jenkins
Out: Michael Doughty (Neck), Shaun McKernan (Jaw)

New: Luke Brown (Norwood)

Read up on the respective fan base thoughts over on BigFooty!