WHERE AND WHEN: AAMI Stadium, Saturday July 14, 1.40pm

Essendon will look to bounce back after their disappointing loss this week when they face a Port Adelaide team that will fancy an upset at AAMI Stadium.

The Bombers were extremely  underwhelming last week in a 71 point loss to St Kilda. Essendon had to win the game to stay in the race for the top four and the loss meant they dropped down to sixth. They will be expecting to win this week and anything less will be a disaster.

Port Adelaide are in a form slump at the moment having not won since round 10 and are not living up to their potential. Last week they were smashed in the Showdown by 58 points, a game where regardless of ladder position they put in a good showing. They will least want to be competitive this week.

Players To Watch

Tom Bellchambers

Bellchambers has had a horrific start to his AFL career, a player with such promise, he has been cut down with injury. At the very least he will look to get through the game unscathed. Other than that he will just want to get his hands on the footy and begin to adjust to the pace at AFL. Hopefully it will be the beginning of a long stretch of games.

Travis Boak

Boak has been the centre of attention at Port Adelaide over the last few moths he is one of many players in the competition that are the focus of contract talks. As seen in many of these examples, this can sometimes effect their performance. While Boak has not been terrible he still has room for improvement, a great performance in this game may draw the spotlight away from him.


Both teams will be hurting after last weeks performances. The Power will be intent on prviding a contest and maybe even an upset.

However Essendon have shown over the year that they are a genuine top four chance and as such they should easily account for Port Adelaide.

Essendon by 40pts


B: Paul Stewart, Alipate Carlile, Jackson Trengove
HB: Darren Pfeiffer, Troy Chaplin, Tom Logan
C: Kane Cornes, Travis Boak, Matthew Broadbent
HF: Danyle Pearce, Justin Westhoff, Andrew Moore
F: Brett Ebert, Daniel Stewart, John McCarthy
Foll: Matthew Lobbe, Bradley Ebert, Matt Thomas
I/C: Jarrad Redden, Aaron Young, Thomas Jonas, Chad Wingard
Emg: Jasper Pittard, Ben Jacobs, Nathan Blee

In: Matt Thomas, Jarrad Redden, Daniel Stewart
Out: Jacob Surjan, John Butcher, Ben Jacobs

B: Dustin Fletcher, Cale Hooker, Mark Baguley
HB: Kyle Hardingham, Jake Carlisle, Michael Hibberd
C: Ricky Dyson, Jobe Watson, Courtenay Dempsey
HF: Dyson Heppell, Scott Gumbleton, Alwyn Davey
F: Leroy Jetta, David Hille, Cory Dell’Olio
Foll: Tom Bellchambers, Brent Stanton, Ben Howlett
I/C: Nathan Lovett-Murray, Kyle Reimers, David Myers, Jake Melksham
Emg: Sam Lonergan, Tayte Pears, Alex Browne

In: Scott Gumbleton, Tom Bellchambers, Cory Dell’Olio, Mark Baguley
Out: Heath Hocking, Sam Lonergan, Patrick Ryder, Michael Hurley
New: Mark Baguley (Frankston/Langwarrin Junior)