HAWTHORN     1.3     9.9     13.12     24.15 (159)
PORT ADELAIDE     3.4     5.7     10.9     13.9 (87)

Hawthorn, despite shaky first and third terms, have smashed the Power by 72 points at Aurora Stadium in order to solidify its position in the top four.

The lopsided scoreboard would not concern the new Power coach Garry Hocking, as they only trailed by 17 points early in the final quarter after Paul Stewart kicked the first of the term from the boundary.

The scare sparked the Hawks into action however, as they kicked 11 of the next 13 goals to obliterate the Power and still receive a healthy percentage boost.

The victory was soured by an apparent shoulder injury to Cyril Rioli who was eventually substituted at half time. It meant the Hawks were without three of their top four goalkickers this season, with Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead also missing, but Hawthorn once again found plenty of attacking options.

Paul Puopolo kicked five, David Hale kicked four and the Hawks found 13 individual goal kickers as they kicked away in the last term.

The Power midfield was eventually worn down by the stronger and more experienced Hawks, with Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis and Brad Sewell all producing quality games.

Knowing that they were able to match one of the competitions better sides for the best part of three quarters should provide confidence to a playing group that was devastated last week in losing to the Giants. Things don’t get any easier however, with the Power set to face the Eagles next week.




 Puopolo 5, Hale 4, Breust 3, Ellis 2, Smith 2, Guerra, Lewis, Hodge, Suckling, Gilham, Young, Rioli, Gunston
Port Adelaide: Schulz 4, Brett Ebert 2, Lobbe, Stewart, Broadbent 2, Brad Ebert, Boak, Westhoff

 Mitchell, Puopolo, Lewis, Sewell, Hale
Port Adelaide: Pearce, Boak, Ebert, Schulz, Cornes

 Rioli (shoulder), Gibson (ankle)
Port Adelaide: Nil

 Cyril Rioli replaced by Matthew Suckling at half-time
Port Adelaide: Andrew Moore replaced by John McCarthy in the third quarter

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Armstrong, Mitchell, Bannister

Official crowd: 14,431 at Aurora Stadium