VFLBigFooty News runs a quick weekly wrap-up of the Victorian Football League.

The VFL was formed as the VFA in 1877 and was renamed the former in 1995. It took on its current status in 2000, as the reserves league to the Victorian AFL clubs, as well as mantaining its traditional clubs and still creating a pathway for the best local players.

Finals Week 1

Sandringham 14.4 (88) defeated by Box Hill 18.10 (118)

Elimination Final 2

Trevor Barker Beach Oval, 2PM Saturday 1st September

It was an upset win for the Hawks in that Sandringham had finished four points ahead of them on the ladder. The Zebras started fast and lead by two goals at the first break before Box Hill leveled it at the half and then ran away with the match, winning by 30 points. Big man Broc McCauley booted home four goals for the Hawks with Xavier Ellis chipping in with three. Marcus Marigliani and Daniel Markworth kicked three for Sandringham while the latter was also the best on ground. Luke Andrews was the best for Box Hill. The Hawks will play Geelong this weekend.

Leading goalkickers: Broc McCauley (BH) 4, Xavier Ellis (BH) Marcus Marigliani (SZ) Daniel Markworth (SZ) 3, Daniel Archer (SZ) Tom Curren (SZ) Max Bailey (BH) Adam Pattison (BH) Daniel Pratt (BH) Luke Andrews (BH) 2.

Votes: 3. Daniel Markworth (SZ), 2. Luke Andrews (BH), 1. Shane Savage (BH).


Williamstown 11.17 (83) defeated Bendigo 10.11 (71)

Elimination Final 1

North Port Oval, 2PM Saturday 1st September

Bendigo started fast, blitzing the first quarter and dominating the game to lead the shocked Seagulls by three goals at quarter time. Order was quickly restored though, with Williamstown booting six goals to one in the second term to lead by 14 points. From then on it was all Williamstown and they headed into the final term with a 30 poit lead. The Gold won back some respect by kicking four goals in the final quarter to make the scoreline a bit uncomfortable for the Seagulls, but the match was already in the bag. Veszpremi, Goodes and Hill kicked two for Williamtown while Justin Maddern booted three for Bendigo. Brett Goodes was best for the Seagulls while Ben Duscher was on top for the Gold. Williamstown will play Casey this weekend.

Leading goalkickers: Justin Maddern (BG) 3, Patrick Veszpremi (WS) Brett Goodes (WS) Tom Hill (WS) Sam Lonergan (BG) Sam Lloyd (WS) 2.

Votes: 3. Brett Goodes (WS), 2. Ben Jolley (WS), 1. Ben Duscher (BG).


Casey 3.10 (28) defeated by Werribee 6.10 (46)

Qualifying Final 1

Casey Fields, 2PM Sunday 2nd September

It was a very low-scoring game at the windy Casey Fields with the Scorpions opening the match to lead by 10pts at quarter time. Werribee then restricted Casey to only one point in the second term while kicking three goals of their own to lead by nine points at the main break. Only one goal was kicked in a tight third term and that was by the Scorpions and they reduced the margin to just four points due to innacurate kicking by both sides. In the last quarter it was all the Tigers’ as they kicked two goals to win by 18pts. Leigh Harding was best afield, racking up 21 disposals and kicking a goal while Ben McKinley kicked three.Casey will play Williamstown while Werribee move onto the Preliminary Final.

Leading goalkickers: Ben McKinley (WT) 3.

Votes: 3. Leigh Harding (WT), 2. Ben McKinley (WT), 1. James Magner (CS).


Port Melbourne 20.12 (132) defeated Geelong 16.14 (110)

Qualifying Final 2

North Port Oval , 2PM Sunday 2nd September

From the outset this game looked like it was going to be a belter, and it certainly didn’t disappoint.  Nine goals were scored in the first quarter with Geelong kicking five of them to lead. Port Melbourne then shifted into full throttle and kicked nine goals themself in the second term to Geelong’s four and it certainly put them in the box seat to win the match. The Borough contiued their dominance in kicking four more goals in the third quarter to lead by 6 goals at the final break before eventually winning by 22pts. Dean Galea booted five goals for the Borough while Jonathan Simpkin kicked four for Geelong. Mitchell Wooffindin was best for Port Melbourne with 31 disposals and a goal. Port Melbourne go through to the Preliminary Final while Geelong play Box Hill.

Leading goalkickers:Dean Galea (PM) 5, Jonathan Simpkin (GC) 4, David Wojcinski (GC) Shannon Byrnes (GC) Toby Pinwill (PM) Adam Bentick (PM) Joshua Scopione (PM) James Breust (PM) 2.

Votes: 3. Jonathan Simpkin (GC), 2. Mitchell Wooffindin (PM), 1. Shane Valenti (PM).


Round summary: Port Melbourne and Casey are the first teams to go through to the Preminary Finals after both winning while Geelong and Casey will use their double chances. Williamstown and Box Hill have moved through to the semi-finals after both winning with Bendigo and Sandringham being knocked out. During the week, the JJ Liston Trophy winner for the best and fairest VFL player in 2012 was also announced and Werribee’s Ben Ross was the winner.