We were very pleased to welcome leading journo and co-host of Footyology, Rohan Connolly, for a special Ask Me Anything Q&A with the BigFooty crowd.

Rohan was good enough to spend over two hours responding to over 90 questions covering all manner of subjects.

Once again, we would like to thank Rohan for his time. Be sure to look out for more AMAs in the near future.

Now onto some of the best bits of today’s AMA. Alternatively, you can read the thread in its entirety here (it’s well worth the time!).

With job cuts seeming like a monthly occurrence in Australian media, are you worried for the future of the media in Australia? Do you think The Age will be online only soon and how would you feel about that?

Yes I am, to be honest. People don’t want to pay, which is fair enough, unfortunately it also means being sentenced to a lot of clickbait and mindless crap. Think journalism will survive, but don’t think anyone can accurately say in what form. Think it’s pretty inevitable that sooner than later The Age will be online with print editions on weekends only. I think that will be sad. I’m happy to read papers online, but I know there’s plenty of people who still much prefer reading them in print, too.

Roco, should tigers trade away some of their stars for a rebuild, or rebuild around them? Who would you replace Hardwick with? When are you going to get a chest tat like your comrade Finey? Like footyology very much btw.

I think they need to be pretty careful who they consider trading. Their top five players are such standouts, and what I’d call “heart and soul” players, that I’m not sure it’s worth the risk. Other side of the coin of course is that they’re also the only players there who have much currency. Think I’d be hitting the draft pretty hard and perhaps trying to negotiate trades for lower round picks. Re tatts, no, don’t think they’d suit me to be honest. And thanks about the show, been great fun doing it!

Rohan, who’s currently your favourite U23 players to watch on each line – backline, midfield and forward (1 each)?

Tough call off the top of the head. Would probably say Jake Stringer forward, Rory Laird in defence, perhaps Stephen Coniglio midfield.

Do you still have a poster of Hird on your bedroom wall?

Never had one to begin with, numbnuts.

Are Hawthorn the best team you’ve ever seen ?

This will sound funny, but it depends how you define “best”. For example, I reckon Hawks’ teams of 1988-89 had more gifted individuals than this version, but then they never won 3 flags in a row, either. I’ll say this, if they win a fourth on end, would have to be best of all time I’d think.

Is robbo a flog?

Robbo’s fine, we get along pretty well actually.

Do you feel that it’s unfair for aspiring journalists that so many retired footballers just get gifted jobs in the media?

Occasionally, yes. I reckon TV networks in particular underestimate the intelligence of their audience. The most distinguished playing background counts for little if the person with it can’t string two words together. Alternately, I think there’s plenty of people who write and talk about the game who haven’t played at the highest level who have a great understanding of the game, AND can speak!

Describe Basil Zempilas in 5 words.

A former West Perth player?

What is the most disappointing thing youve seen in your time in football?

I think probably the disappearance of Fitzroy. It didn’t have to happen. And within a few years, Graeme Samuel, the driving force behind the push for mergers and relocations, basically admitted the strategy was wrong. Not only that, but the TV rights money went through the roof. Had the club been allowed to ride out the storm for not too much longer, they would still be here (as an AFL club) today. I reckon that’s pretty sad.

Rohan – why do you insist on referring to what WADA has shown to be a club wide doping program at Essendon as the “supplements scandal”?

1. Because it’s two words instead of 8-9. 2. This is Rory, isn’t it? Mate, I know you’re a North supporter, but you seem to have a really, really unhealthy obsession with Essendon. Can I suggest you try to enjoy the success of your own club a little more, it’s less torturous on the soul.

Rohan, do you think certain journalists were fed information by the AFL, in a bid to destabilize North Melbourne in 06/07, re: the Gold Coast relocation?

PS: how much did you enjoy the Roosistence concert?

Yes, I have absolutely no doubt that happened. And yep, was great night for a great cause!

Who are the best and worst players/coaches you’ve had to deal with for interviews?

Don’t want to sound like I’m copping out, but can honestly say I’ve never had problems dealing with anyone. As for best, in terms of coaches, I reckon most now are great. I do particularly enjoy talking footy with the Scott brothers, really intelligent guys who love the game and are happy to talk about it with anybody.

At the risk of asking a serious question, Rohan, what do you think about the direction we’re going with the draft. FA compensation and Acadamies have had a pretty big impact on the integrity of the draft, with the Vic clubs also now having a faux-academy it’s going to have a further impact.
Is it good for the equalisation of the game or not?

As I was talking about the other day, I don’t like the continued tampering with the systems without leaving long enough to see whether they actually work. And I don’t think the game needs any more equalisation. We’ve had a different AFL premier on average every 2.5 years, and (GWS and GC aside) only two clubs haven’t played in a GF. That’s a pretty good strike rate I reckon.

Who is your genuine flag favourite? Are Hawthorn faltering or foxing? Are Sydney the real deal? Are the Crows a real chance?

If I was tipping flag winner right now, would probably go with Sydney. But Hawks not done by any stretch, and yes, the Crows are a big chance.

There’s much more in the AMA thread, click here to read the full Q&A with Rohan!