Sarah Jones to host W Awards

The  2021 W Awards will be held on the evening of Tuesday, 20 April 2021, hosted by Fox Footy’s Sarah Jones and featuring Katherine Loughnan.

The W Awards will recognise the league Best and Fairest, NAB AFLW Rising Star, All Australian Team, Four’N Twenty Mark of the Year, and rebel Goal of the Year.

Can Gemma Houghton pick up Goal of the Year for this beauty?

All your W Awards talk is on BigFooty >>

Coverage of the W Awards commences at 7 pm AEST on Fox Footy.

First up is the naming of the All-Australian side and the NAB AFLW Rising Star.

All AFLW players 21 years and under as at 1 January 2021 and who have not previously been nominated as a rising star qualify for consideration for the award.

AFLW Rising Star nominees:

R1: Belle Dawes (Bris), Tarni White (StK)
R2: Jess Fitzgerald (WB), Tyla Hanks (Melb)
R3: Nat Grider (Bris), Abbie McKay (Carl)
R4: Tyanna Smith (StK), Rebecca Webster (Geel)
R5: Mikayla Bowen (WC), Ellie McKenzie (Rich)
R6: Daisy Bateman (NM), Tarni Brown (Coll)
R7: Lauren Bella (GC), Eliza McNamara (Melb)
R8: Bella Lewis (WC), Courtney Hodder (Bris)
R9: Eleanor Brown (WB), Tahlia Hickey (Bris)

AFL 360 will broadcast live from the studio from 7:30 pm, followed by the official vote count of the league’s best and fairest at 8.30.

The live vote count will be held at five different locations around Australia including the SCG, The Gabba, Adelaide Oval, Crown Palladium, and Optus Stadium.

Ponter for Mark of the Year?

AFL General Manager of Women’s Football Nicole Livingstone said the AFL was delighted to recognise the achievements of all players and clubs in the NAB AFL Women’s Competition at this year’s 2021 W Awards.

“The entire AFL community is looking forward to celebrating the achievements of each club and individuals who played a key part in the 2021 NAB AFLW Women’s Competition. This year we have seen the NAB AFLW Competition continue to evolve – club membership numbers, game attendance, and broadcast numbers have all grown which shows the strength of the NAB AFLW Competition in its fifth year,” Ms. Livingstone said.

Last year’s winners were Madison Prespakis of Carlton FC – Women’s Best & Fairest.

AFLW Mark of the Year was awarded to Rebecca Privitelli of GWS Giants.

AFLW Goal of the Year was awarded to Kate Hore of Melbourne.