WOW!!! - Post Dubai Discussion

Dont know too many stats, but our midfield probably dominated the clearences. Good signs for what it is worth.

Of the youngsters...
  • Porps was a standout.
  • Tippett was very impressive.
  • Sellar good on the lead, kicks were a bit flaky, but the wind would'nt of helped.
  • MacKay showed enough
  • Campbell improved as the game went on, had a good second half
  • Jacky did'nt have much chance
  • Moran did his job around the ground, but his ruckwork was'nt too good. His skills were quite good. From the training reports (not having a dig at anyone) but I was expecting a burton like shank every kick.
  • Douglas was good in the second half
  • Knights dominated early did'nt see much of him in the last half, most likely rested
  • Maric, did'nt notice too much
  • Symes was quite good. Looked taller than I thought.
  • Doughty played well, needs to.
  • Vince was also good, except made me mad when he should of gone for goal

Dont know too many stats, but our midfield probably dominated the clearences. Good signs for what it is worth.

Of the youngsters...
  • Porps was a standout.
  • Tippett was very impressive.
  • Sellar good on the lead, kicks were a bit flaky, but the wind would'nt of helped.
  • MacKay showed enough
  • Campbell improved as the game went on, had a good second half
  • Jacky did'nt have much chance
  • Moran did his job around the ground, but his ruckwork was'nt too good. His skills were quite good. From the training reports (not having a dig at anyone) but I was expecting a burton like shank every kick.
  • Douglas was good in the second half
  • Knights dominated early did'nt see much of him in the last half, most likely rested
  • Maric, did'nt notice too much
  • Symes was quite good. Looked taller than I thought.

Any crows players dead men walking?

Doughty? Shirley?

Posted this in the other dubai thread, but it seems more relevant in here...

Sellar - Not the best on ground but the highlight for me. He presented VERY well, particularly in the first half, and to finish with 3 goals was a brilliant performance by him.

Bock - All Australian CHB this year. Maybe getting carried away just a tad, but he was excellent.

Symes - Looks at home with Adelaide. Some of his disposal was a little questionable but he got plenty of the ball and did some good things.

Vince - Had a good game. Looks stronger and fitter this year. Was dissapointed he decided to pass off in the 3rd quarter when he was clear for a shot at goal. Definitely worthy of a round 1 call up.

Jacky - Doesn't deserve a shot in round 1 off todays performance. Looked a little lost and should spend some time in SANFL before getting a shot, especially considering Goodwin's performance as a small forward.

Goodwin - Looks to be playing a Roo-like role, and I love it! 4 goals pretty much says it all. Troubled the Pie's defenders all game and should start deep in the forward lines in the premiership season. I can't think of a better way to prolong the champion's career.

Moran - Showed some good signs. Got quite a bit of the ball in the defensive 50 in the second half. Had never heard of him before he was traded but was competent in the ruck and looked handy as a loose defensive player.

Doughty - Surprised me. Had a decent game by his standards. I'll be happy if he can replicate today's performance for most of this year (if he gets games). Still would have prefered Torney to be playing his role in the side though, but that's old news now.

Stevens - Solid game, and actually got a run in the ruck later in the game. Was out-done in the ruck work, but Buckley made a good point in that he's more useful as an extra midfielder while playing in the ruck. Even though he will probably lose 9/10 ruck contests, he's still an extra running player who is likely more agile than his rucking opponent in most cases

Douglas - Quiet first half, but made up for it in the second half. His super goal from the centre square was definitely one for the highlight reel.

McKay - Very impressive in the first quarter but was quieter later on. Looks to be a ball magnet of sorts. Once he builds a little more onto that frame, he could be a very good midfielder.

Tippett - I'm surprised that this guy has played less than 50 games of footy in his life. Looks like he'll be a great player for his club, and I love how versatile he is.

Midfield - I'm very very confident that we will have one of the more competitive midfields in the competition this year in Thompson, VB, Knights, Rielly and Porplyzia. Porplyzia has always has a lot of class as a player, and now it appears he has the motor to go along with it. Will be buying him in dream team this year without a shadow of a doubt, I think he'll be our most improved player this year.

No one really had a bad game, with the exception of Campbell. Was unimpressed with his debut last year and he had a dud game today. Had probably 2 good plays today, but about 2000 clangers to go along with it. Should be delisted at season's end unless he proves otherwise in the next 7-8 months.

Overall, I was very impressed with the performance. I may be getting a little carried away with it, due to the fact I've been starved of footy for 4-5 months, but I have more faith in the team than previous to today's game. Although it must be noted that a lot of the Collingwood squad have suffered Gastro recently and had a terrible game compared to ours.

I just watched Newsdesk on the AFL website and from what little you get to see I must say it was great to see Jacky roving the ball that he eventually kicked and bounced to Sellar for a goal. So all those people disapointed about his performace I'm sure he will play a part this year. That roving capability and then the abililty to get out of traffic in the forward line will be very very useful this year. He doesn't need to do much this year but if he does that 4 or 5 times a game his place in the team will be well worth it.

Well played guys and one of the more polished displays of football i've seen from the 1st round of an NAB cup..

You guys have some serious talent in the younger guys, but hey we all know that SANFL is the best breeding ground in Aus for AFL players.

Good pick up in Symes, Tippet, Sellar, Moran and Porps.

S. Thompson is a gun.....Bock once again has started off on fire but can be frustrating...

Well done

Campbell: I’m not doubting the fact he made lots of clangers, poor disposal by foot and some dropped marks. However, in my 4 years of seeing him play not once have I seen him play in defence. He looked a bit lost down there and I’m not surprised. Despite the mistakes, and there were plenty, he also did some great 1%’ers and his tackle which brought Thomas over the line was a beauty. He tackled hard (1 tackle, yeah right…) and applied a few great blocks for teammates. Got better as the game wore on and needs to stay in the side to gain confidence.

Doughty: Hit the packs hard and threw his body around, pleasing to see in the pre-season but I’m sorry he shouldn’t play a game in 2008. Mediocrity.

Jacky: After all the hype I had unrealistic expectations, and Jacky had a bit of a shocker. Was it just an off day or does he struggle to get good distance off the boot? There were glimpses, very few, but they were occasionally there.

McGregor: Played well however I don’t think he’ll be able to get away with as many hands in the back as he did today.

Moran: Quietly racked up 13 possessions in about 60-70% of the game. He rucked well and moves beautifully but it’ll take a lot to convince me. No doubt there’s a lot of potential but exactly what position will he fill? People bagged Meesen for a lack of intensity but it’s the same story here…

Shirley: With all the youngsters developing so well, I’m even less enthused about Shirley. Played well, but still, and it’s not his fault, but I’m just so underwhelmed by #12.

Overall a very good player by player summary there Drummond. Well done. :thumbsu:

Naturally people see things differently though and the ones I'd like to comment on are:

Campbell: You are more than generous in your assessment of Campbell. You've waved off Doughty and Shirley as irrelevant even though they played alright, while Campbell made a heap of clangers because he's too slow to get rid of the ball. To me he looks like an honest SANFL player trying to play AFL. To use the word you applied to Doughty - mediocrity.

Doughty: He will play games in 2008 because he can play at this level. I'm with the majority in hoping that our young bucks in the mid-field can play well enough to displace him and keep him out. But fair's fair. On what I've seen he poops all over Campbell.

Jacky: Along with Campbell the only other younster who struggled today - at his first crack at this level. He found the pace real hot initially and struggled but was starting to get into it near the end of the game. I would keep playing Jacky right through the NAB cup - but closer to goal. He will do better.

McGregor: Happy with his game but fair dinkum - has he rooted all 3 umpires' wives or something? He got manhandled chronically but the 3 blind mice apparently could not see it.

Moran: Have you been on the piss Drummond? To compare Moran's intensity with that of Meesen is a joke in poor taste. Moran was very impressive IMO - played a good game. Will anybody ever say that about that big dumb log Meesen??

Shirley: Neil Craig won't give a fat rat's clacker that you are underwhelmed by Shirley - he isn't. But keep whipping away - some people need a whipping boy.

Well played guys and one of the more polished displays of football i've seen from the 1st round of an NAB cup..

You guys have some serious talent in the younger guys, but hey we all know that SANFL is the best breeding ground in Aus for AFL players.

Good pick up in Symes, Tippet, Sellar, Moran and Porps.

S. Thompson is a gun.....Bock once again has started off on fire but can be frustrating...

Well done

Great comments to hear from an opposition supporter :thumbsu:

I think when our sides meet in the real season the game will be much closer. Going on last year's form, Collingwood VERY much under-performed tonight.

Campbell: You are more than generous in your assessment of Campbell. You've waved off Doughty and Shirley as irrelevant even though they played alright, while Campbell made a heap of clangers because he's too slow to get rid of the ball. To me he looks like an honest SANFL player trying to play AFL. To use the word you applied to Doughty - mediocrity.
More than generous? I said he made many clangers, through poor disposal and dropped marks. While he still made a few errors in the second half I thought he improved. There’s no doubt I’m a hypocrite at times, but Campbell’s tackling and willingness to throw his body around was fantastic. When he settles down at this level I believe he’ll be a good contributor. But tell me this macca, why’s he playing in defence? Along with my fellow Redlegs fans I’ve seen him more than anyone on this board, and before today I’ve never seen him play in defence. I hope it’s not another Mattner experiment.

Moran: Have you been on the piss Drummond? To compare Moran's intensity with that of Meesen is a joke in poor taste. Moran was very impressive IMO - played a good game. Will anybody ever say that about that big dumb log Meesen??
As soon as I read my post I knew I was too harsh on him. He rucked reasonably well, better than I’ve seen him ruck in the past, and he looked good running through the midfield. It sure was weird seeing Bock give him a handball as he was streaming through the middle, not often does that happen to the ruckman!

Shirley: Neil Craig won't give a fat rat's clacker that you are underwhelmed by Shirley - he isn't. But keep whipping away - some people need a whipping boy.
No arguments there. ;)

Great comments to hear from an opposition supporter :thumbsu:

I think when our sides meet in the real season the game will be much closer. Going on last year's form, Collingwood VERY much under-performed tonight.

While I was delighted with our performance, there's no doubt that Collingwood under-performed massively.

They've been overseas for 3 weeks now and this game came at the end of it. IMO they would have been flat as a tack and apart from any physical sickness they may well have also had some of their younger brigade with home sickness.

They'll be much harder to beat in the season proper.

QUOTE Naturally people see things differently

Does Drummond always talk this much rubbish? People wake up, first game of the year, we have a nice win with the kids doing well. Leave it there. Too early to be anointing superstars after one meaningless game.

Collingwood just played poorly with half their team down with a bug and after 3 weeks away from home. If it was in the second half of the home and away I would be much more impressed.

Fantastic game by you guys tonight. You looked totally different to last year. Excellent disposal all round, very fluent and fast movement. Good signs for you. While it was only a NAB cup game, you can't argue with performances like that. I am revising my position on having you guys outside the 8 this year, if you keep that up you will go a long way!

For our part, dunno what we were doing. Disgraceful showing regardless of our problems with gastro.

EDIT: Very impressed with your young guys too... great to see you having some young talent come through, especially after all the talk of an aging team (myself included). Sellar will be a gun.. too good for all of our defenders on the night/day.

More than generous? I said he made many clangers, through poor disposal and dropped marks. While he still made a few errors in the second half I thought he improved. There’s no doubt I’m a hypocrite at times, but Campbell’s tackling and willingness to throw his body around was fantastic. When he settles down at this level I believe he’ll be a good contributor. But tell me this macca, why’s he playing in defence? Along with my fellow Redlegs fans I’ve seen him more than anyone on this board, and before today I’ve never seen him play in defence. I hope it’s not another Mattner experiment.

He has a ton of courage - no question. So did Matthew Smith and you know the story there. ;)

My concern with Campbell is that Thompson, Reilly, VB, Knights and Shirley (and Doughty :)) are all better mid-fielders than him, and we have added Porplyzia, Symes, Vince and Douglas to the mid-field - and they are all better than him.

That's why Craig would have tried him elsewhere. Personally I see him as no more than an honest battler at this level, although I concede that it is hard to adapt to a fixed position when you are an on-baller of his type.

I know you love him to death Drummond, but I fear that he isn't going to make it.

Overall a very good player by player summary there Drummond. Well done. :thumbsu:

Naturally people see things differently though and the ones I'd like to comment on are:

Doughty: He will play games in 2008 because he can play at this level. I'm with the majority in hoping that our young bucks in the mid-field can play well enough to displace him and keep him out. But fair's fair. On what I've seen he poops all over Campbell.

Jacky: Along with Campbell the only other younster who struggled today - at his first crack at this level. He found the pace real hot initially and struggled but was starting to get into it near the end of the game. I would keep playing Jacky right through the NAB cup - but closer to goal. He will do better.

McGregor: Happy with his game but fair dinkum - has he rooted all 3 umpires' wives or something? He got manhandled chronically but the 3 blind mice apparently could not see it.

Good assessment there M23, especially regarding Doughty and Shirley. They are not everyone's favourites, but they give a good consistent honest contest and will see plenty of game time this year.

You are right in that everyone sees things differently, and the comments I'd like to make are:
Porpoise - awesome, just awesome.

Douglass - for all the hype, I think he was average once again. Sure, he did a few nice things, but needs to get more involved. A few times Thomas made him look silly.

Symes - just average I thought, quite slow with his disposal at times.

Vince - very good; certainly ahead of Douglass and Symes if you ask me. Seems to have an exciting intensity about him.

Moran - I agree with Drummond on this one - I understand the Meeson comparison. Also, did anyone else notice he can't jump ? Ruckmen need to be able to jump. He is certainly 4th in line for ruck - behind Maric, Griffen and Tippett (if they consider Tippett a ruckman).

Don't get me wrong, Douglass, Symes and Moran are worth perservering with, but lets not get carried away - especially with their performance tonight.

Good assessment there M23, especially regarding Doughty and Shirley. They are not everyone's favourites, but they give a good consistent honest contest and will see plenty of game time this year.

You are right in that everyone sees things differently, and the comments I'd like to make are:
Porpoise - awesome, just awesome.

Douglass - for all the hype, I think he was average once again. Sure, he did a few nice things, but needs to get more involved. A few times Thomas made him look silly.

Symes - just average I thought, quite slow with his disposal at times.

Vince - very good; certainly ahead of Douglass and Symes if you ask me. Seems to have an exciting intensity about him.

Moran - I agree with Drummond on this one - I understand the Meeson comparison. Also, did anyone else notice he can't jump ? Ruckmen need to be able to jump. He is certainly 4th in line for ruck - behind Maric, Griffen and Tippett (if they consider Tippett a ruckman).

Don't get me wrong, Douglass, Symes and Moran are worth perservering with, but lets not get carried away - especially with their performance tonight.

Were we watching the same game?

You are shitting me right?

Moran had a VERY impressive leap...VERY impressive.

Well I certainly didnt expect that but glad to see no one is getting ahead of themselves here, or in the Adelaide camp. Great performance against a leg weary Pies outfit who were extremely ordinary. Without Presti and Clement theyll struggle big time down back IMO. However, I said I wanted to see the young boys have an impact and they did.

I also though Campbell had a dirty day. Love his intensity and he hit the pack hard which he is renowned for but just doesnt have the polish or quickness to succeed at AFL level IMO. Did work his way into it but still made too many mistakes. Jarhan Jacky will not play round 1, doesnt look strong enough yet but you can tell how smart he is by the way he moves around the packs.

Vince in the midfield was a great sight, is it just me or does he looked to have picked up a yard of pace ?? In fact everyone that played through the middle had a good night with very little opposition. Mackay looked the goods when he was on the field but did tire a tad. Doesnt Brad Moran move well for a big fella !?!?! Love seeing him run past for the hands and backing himself in.

Sellar was a highlight. Contested well and whilst his goalkicking was of normal AFC standard that can be improved. He's a big lad and his stamina will only improve. Surely Kurt Tippett has played more than 50 games of footy. He knows where to run, when to do it and what to do when he gets there. VERY impressive with limited gametime. Also, I feel very happy with Maric leading our rucks this year. I know its only a Micky Mouse game but he went very well

Macca and Goody can stay up forward if they continue to play like that !!! Strong bodies that had a presence. Oh and if anyone had any thoughts of playing Bock up forward...... I suggest you watch the game again and again and tell me if you come back with the same thoughts.

All in all a good performance against a below-par Collingwood. If we can continue to play with that attacking flair and pace ill be a happy man.

Were we watching the same game?

You are shitting me right?

Moran had a VERY impressive leap...VERY impressive.

Yes, I dare say we were watching the same game.

No, I don't shit on people - that is a different website.

Can't agree that he had a VERY impressive leap; I think you are being VERY generous. Good luck to him though, with Clarke'y the ruck coach down there, I'm sure he'll find his leap.

Fantastic game by you guys tonight. You looked totally different to last year. Excellent disposal all round, very fluent and fast movement. Good signs for you. While it was only a NAB cup game, you can't argue with performances like that. I am revising my position on having you guys outside the 8 this year, if you keep that up you will go a long way!

For our part, dunno what we were doing. Disgraceful showing regardless of our problems with gastro.

EDIT: Very impressed with your young guys too... great to see you having some young talent come through, especially after all the talk of an aging team (myself included). Sellar will be a gun.. too good for all of our defenders on the night/day.

I should also add that I was very impressed with Bock, who I haven't been overly impressed with in the past. Knights was good too, but I've always rated him.

WOW!!! - Post Dubai Discussion