Our players listed heights

I don't remember the website or the media stating the club was buying any hotels. From memory it was announced that a syndicate made up of some directors of the club were acquiring an interest in a number of hotels & at least part of the profits from the hotel operations would be directed to the club. The club was not going to own the hotels, or have any debts as a result of this deal. We (the club) were never in negotiation to purchase any hotels.

you are correct but those details were not relevant to the point i was trying the make.

The club announced as you mentioned that the hotels had been purchased by an unnamed consortium and that Carlton would be a beneficiary without risk.

The point I was trying to make was that the club announced it as a "done deal", which it was not, and therefore misleading.

Youre yje idiot mate....I said there are examples of players heights being innacurate.

I gave Carrots as an example.....I also mentioned Grigg.........and Joey Anderson in nowhere near his listed 188cm..........i did not say I came to this conclusion merely by snapshots...........I stood next to these guys and was making sure they were standing straight.

Clubs lie about player's injuries, size, weight, speed and fitness regularly, but not all the time.
The CFC website also does not regularly update the player's profiles so stats like height and weight can become innacurate, even if originally correct

I was pointing out a couple of examples where the stats appear wrong.......you on your high horse without checking anything but CFC website claim that I am wrong with a sarcastic attitude.

You are disliked by many here on BF and its obvious why Mr Thesaurus

Starting to come around I see.......

insulting me with the logic of idiotic Essendon supporters is not going to cut very deep. (Mr. Thesaurus:rolleyes:). As mentioned Thrust and his cohorts considered frivolous, asinine and other every day words to be bombastic (or rhetoric as these idiots deemed analogous).

You have attempted to come up with every random claim available as to why your unfounded guestimates should be accepted as gospel, I have merely pointed out the obvious preference for relying on the official stats and somehow you just cant handle this.

Your choice of arguments, choice of evidence and inability to consider a reasonably standard position reveals more troubling than Thrusts' "PM" or your Möbius logic.

Here is a project for you, perhaps go down to the change room, measure the players, write this down on a card and photograph the players with the card so we can all have an accurate idea of their heights........

This is your claim - how about you just go do it.:thumbsu:

It was misleading as it was announced as a "done deal", before the contacts were signed. As we found out it was not a "done deal".

http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=45745

The deal is expected to take up to nine months to be finalised

Hardly a "done deal" :rolleyes:

The announcement on CFC website was that we had acquired these pubs and about the revenue we would get.

http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=45745

“I am pleased to report a Carlton-friendly investor has purchased a portfolio of nine hotels in Victoria – nine hotels,” a delighted Pratt said.

A group of Carlton-friendly people bought this portfolio, and they approached the club to be involved..."

They did not announce that we were only in negotiation to buy the pubs, or that conntracts had yet to be signed.
The truth is we were only in negotiation with no contracts signed.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/blues-500m-pokie-deal-collapses/2007/10/05/1191091368152.html

The hotel purchase was hailed by Carlton chief executive Greg Swann as the biggest off-field deal in AFL history in June, when club representatives signed a heads-of-agreement contract with hotel owners Sam Castello and the Zagame family.

Thats business...

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/blues-500m-pokie-deal-collapses/2007/10/05/1191091368152.html

But the deal fell over when the two poker machine giants moved to renegotiate the sale price, according to gaming industry sources.

...and that was misleading

It's pretty clear to me that the club did little more than announce the good news to the supporters as soon as they had a heads of agreement signed, and were sufficiently transparent and accurate in the process.

To suggest that the club deliberately mislead the supporters is way too much of a stretch.

Having said that, I still don't believe that the heights and weights of players listed on the club website are 100% accurate :p

Starting to come around I see.......

insulting me with the logic of idiotic Essendon supporters is not going to cut very deep. (Mr. Thesaurus:rolleyes:). As mentioned Thrust and his cohorts considered frivolous, asinine and other every day words to be bombastic (or rhetoric as these idiots deemed analogous).

You have attempted to come up with every random claim available as to why your unfounded guestimates should be accepted as gospel, I have merely pointed out the obvious preference for relying on the official stats and somehow you just cant handle this.

Your choice of arguments, choice of evidence and inability to consider a reasonably standard position reveals more troubling than Thrusts' "PM" or your Möbius logic.

Here is a project for you, perhaps go down to the change room, measure the players, write this down on a card and photograph the players with the card so we can all have an accurate idea of their heights........

This is your claim - how about you just go do it.:thumbsu:

Shite you are back into using a theaurus again.....dont you ever learn .....nobody is impressed by it !

It is your claim the clubs sources are accurate, how about we both do it ?......IF i DID YOU WOULD SAY MY TAPE MEASURE IS INNACURATE OR THAT I CHEATED IN SOME WAY ( you just will never be able to admit ur stupidity). with a little wager on it which part of can be donated to the player(s) for his/their trouble.....I have offerred you this several times....but you are too gutless to be part of the process and take the risk with some sort of wager.

By the way the PM was not from thrust, but a carlton supporter who thinks your head is stuck way too far up ur a$$ to even see your bellybutton from the inside. There are many on the Carlton board who seem to think your needs to attempt to impress by using a Thesaurus hides a genuinely poor intellect and other insecurities.

So here is project for you.....remove your head from where it is stuck, wash your face thoroughly with metho, put some cologne on.........and meet down at training with a tape measure and some cash........what are you scared of ?....making easy money ?

Hardly a "done deal" :rolleyes:

It's pretty clear to me that the club did little more than announce the good news to the supporters as soon as they had a heads of agreement signed, and were sufficiently transparent and accurate in the process.

To suggest that the club deliberately mislead the supporters is way too much of a stretch.

Having said that, I still don't believe that the heights and weights of players listed on the club website are 100% accurate :p

you can mislead supportes without it being deliberate.......

you can mislead supportes without it being deliberate.......the club thought the deal was a certainty to go ahead and announced it without atating it had yet to be contractually signed off.......binding contracts were not signed and the deal fell through. Supporters were mislead because of the clubs assumption that the deal would proceed.

The club was mislead by the vendors, as were the supporters...and everyone else for that matter.

The club did not mislead the supporters.

The club was mislead by the vendors, as were the supporters...and everyone else for that matter.

The club did not mislead the supporters.

the reality is the supporters where mislead by the club, which was mislead by the vendors.

I am not accusing the club of doing it deliberately, but it was not the vendors that made public announcements prior to a binding contract being signed.

The club should have wauted until they signed off on the deal before making the announcements, and CFC did end up wioth a little agg on it's face

When was the last time any individual/corporation/organisation (especially those that attract public interest) waited until all contracts were signed sealed and delivered and all cheques cleared before announcing the good news of a deal that had been done?!?!

First rule of PR: as soon as you have good news, make sure it's everywhere!

Besides, in this case they did sign off on a heads of agreement; and as anyone who has been in business long enough knows, having a a signed agreement doesn't necessarily mean you can hold an unwilling party to it.

It's perfectly acceptable, both commercially and in terms of PR, to announce that a deal has been done as soon as it has been agreed to. If one party later backs out of that deal or tries to re-neg the terms you deal with that hurdle if and when it approaches.

The club handled this the way any other prudent and professional organisation would have. To suggest that they mislead the supporters is to draw a very long bow indeed.

Shite you are back into using a theaurus again.....dont you ever learn .....nobody is impressed by it !

It is your claim the clubs sources are accurate, how about we both do it ?......IF i DID YOU WOULD SAY MY TAPE MEASURE IS INNACURATE OR THAT I CHEATED IN SOME WAY ( you just will never be able to admit ur stupidity). with a little wager on it which part of can be donated to the player(s) for his/their trouble.....I have offerred you this several times....but you are too gutless to be part of the process and take the risk with some sort of wager.

By the way the PM was not from thrust, but a carlton supporter who thinks your head is stuck way too far up ur a$$ to even see your bellybutton from the inside. There are many on the Carlton board who seem to think your needs to attempt to impress by using a Thesaurus hides a genuinely poor intellect and other insecurities.

So here is project for you.....remove your head from where it is stuck, wash your face thoroughly with metho, put some cologne on.........and meet down at training with a tape measure and some cash........what are you scared of ?....making easy money ?

Alright now your being a rude.

I have kept this fairly civil but you are becoming exceptionally nasty.

Who gives a flying FCK what they measure up to, seriously. MY point has been made over and over again, If you cant get it through your, head that's your problem... you have issues.

Here is what I posted

Um, I reckon Im going to go with the measurements taken at a players physical than the "gee I look taller in this photo" approach.....just a hunch.

And you have crapped on like a petulant child ever since - get a grip, how pathetic can you get. Someone doesn't agree with you and you and you go into apoplexy and narcissistic stupor.

I have moved country several times since I was in Melbourne, but as mentioned feel free to prove yourself right, knock yourself out buddy ... go down and measure them. It is you who has the issue, resolve it. Here is what you need to prove to yourself:

I am a 182cm male who only wears stillettos on Fri nights when I go out, so I was in flat shoes the same as the players. I've measured myself (height only) enough times to be sure of my size.

Carrots height is listed at 185 or even 187 on CFC website but I am 1-2 cm taller than him.

So Carrots has to be less than 181 cm

you don't get my point though do you, whether their heights are accurate or NOT I will take the listed heights over your guesstimates. This entire thread is testament to your inability to accept people have opinions beyond your won.

Oh and by the way, continually referencing the idea I use a Thesaurus for normal words only highlights how linguistically challenged you are. These are normal words, if you don't understand them, well, like this thread, it says more about your own inadequacies than anything else.

Alright now your being a rude.

I have kept this fairly civil but you are becoming exceptionally nasty.

Who gives a flying FCK what they measure up to, seriously. MY point has been made over and over again, If you cant get it through your, head that's your problem... you have issues.

Here is what I posted

And you have crapped on like a petulant child ever since - get a grip, how pathetic can you get. Someone doesn't agree with you and you and you go into apoplexy and narcissistic stupor.

I have moved country several times since I was in Melbourne, but as mentioned feel free to prove yourself right, knock yourself out buddy ... go down and measure them. It is you who has the issue, resolve it. Here is what you need to prove to yourself:

So Carrots has to be less than 181 cm

you don't get my point though do you, whether their heights are accurate or NOT I will take the listed heights over your guesstimates. This entire thread is testament to your inability to accept people have opinions beyond your won.

Oh and by the way, continually referencing the idea I use a Thesaurus for normal words only highlights how linguistically challenged you are. These are normal words, if you don't understand them, well, like this thread, it says more about your own inadequacies than anything else.

And the point that you keep stating is that of a moron " I will believe what I read rather than what is seen by somebody's own eyes".....i get your point....you are a fool......that is my point

No measurements yet......?

Seems you are a little uninformed...or forgetful...or impractical....or lacking in geographical knowledge....he is in Sth Africa with the club.......since you arent even courageous enough to put up a single $ to back up your claims I wasn't really thinking of flying to Sth Africa to do the job .

I also said he was miles under 187cm and that I am 182 and appeared taller.....whether he is 181, 182 or even 183......my point is he is a long way shorter than listed by the club. My point was never about being taller, it was about his listed height being significantly overstated.

Anyway Audas....the offer is still well and truly open for you to meet at training when they return.......you just seem to use any excuse you can to avoid doing so.....as they say.....PUT UP OR SHUT THE F**K UP !

Most clubs tend to massage the truth a little with their reported heights. Carrazzo obviously walked taller after he was promoted to the senior list at the end of 2004 because after two years as a 182cm rookie at the cattery and 1 season at the same height on your rookie list, he then had a 5cm growth spurt.

In a night game against the Hawks in 2005 he played on the 180cm Mark Williams and they looked virtually the same size, there certainly wasn't 7cms between them. The commentators actually had a bit of a chat about it.

We obviously do the same at the cattery. Young Nathan Djerrkura was drafted as a 176cm onballer but is now measuring in at 186cm according to the GFC website. Interesting to see if he ever lines up on Carrazzo.

Most clubs tend to massage the truth a little with their reported heights. Carrazzo obviously walked taller after he was promoted to the senior list at the end of 2004 because after two years as a 182cm rookie at the cattery and 1 season at the same height on your rookie list, he then had a 5cm growth spurt.

In a night game against the Hawks in 2005 he played on the 180cm Mark Williams and they looked virtually the same size, there certainly wasn't 7cms between them. The commentators actually had a bit of a chat about it.

We obviously do the same at the cattery. Young Nathan Djerrkura was drafted as a 176cm onballer but is now measuring in at 186cm according to the GFC website. Interesting to see if he ever lines up on Carrazzo.

I doubt Carrazzo is 187cm, but he's definitely taller than 180cm. More like 183-184cm. But he's an inside midfielder, so does it really matter? :)

Seems you are a little uninformed...or forgetful...or impractical....or lacking in geographical knowledge....he is in Sth Africa with the club.......since you arent even courageous enough to put up a single $ to back up your claims I wasn't really thinking of flying to Sth Africa to do the job .

I also said he was miles under 187cm and that I am 182 and appeared taller.....whether he is 181, 182 or even 183......my point is he is a long way shorter than listed by the club. My point was never about being taller, it was about his listed height being significantly overstated.

Anyway Audas....the offer is still well and truly open for you to meet at training when they return.......you just seem to use any excuse you can to avoid doing so.....as they say.....PUT UP OR SHUT THE F**K UP !

Sorry buddy, your the one carry on like a pork chop, with your bets and carry ons.

You claimed you were taller than Carrazzo, and you are 182, meaning he must be less.

Are you now admitting that your comments were wrong ? That you are mistaken about his height ?

You have carried on foolishly after someone simply questioned the veracity of your claims, offering wagers and all kinds of ridiculous excuses.

I am not the one making any outlandish claims, you are, the burden is to there fore back up your claims. If Carrazzo is not shorter than you are, meaning he is less than 182cm then just admit you are wrong.

Which you are.

You miss the point yet again....

This entire thread is about you trying to prove that I, and for that matter everyone else, should take your word, hearsay, and guesstimates as being more reliable and worthy than what is posted on the AFL - carlton website.

Making preposterous bets, relaying ridiculous posts by Essendon idiots, querying a mistaken footy arc, and questioning the veracity of the carltons football business operations have all been employed by yourself to back yourself up as more reliable than the Carlton Football club.

The type of examples you have employed in your argument are completely ridiculous. Simple as that.

For example you have decided to choose Carrazzo as a template to prove your reliability over Carltons, well if we measured other players and one was found to be correct then would the opposite be true?

You just don't get what is being said to you.

I missed you:thumbsu: when you disappeared after your credibility was torn to pieces I feared the worst.

COFFIN.jpg

crying.jpg

Just a spot on that, I don't think you should call me an idiot as it is known that i do in fact own you. Here's the receipt to prove it;)

receipt.jpg

You seem to think that my assumption that you use a thesaurus is unfounded I was actually lying before about how I came about it, it was not through the incoherent ramblings you made. I actually made all my assumptions from this graph.
graph.jpg

And we know graphs don't lie.

Yup, the number of times Ive had listen to "oh man Im looking down at him, I must be taller"....while every one around them is saying, ahhh mate he is taller than you.

And as far as your photos are concerned I have some of me where Im taller than the empire state building, all of this is a matter of perspective, you can wish and dream your taller than anyone you want, but for me, Ill go with the figures put up by the club.

Im 5'7" and I was definitely looking down on Setanta last time I was at the G, must be taller :rolleyes:

Sounds like it. But I'm sure that your snaps are more accurate than the results of a physical, hey ? Who cares about shoes, the ground, the angle etc. :rolleyes:

Regular Einstein.....

Do seriously expect people to engage in this kind of drivel.

You have twisted yourself into an euclidean knot, get over yourself. Here you are gallivanting around a web sighting erroneous field markings as proof your sunday snaps of the players, checked against your rule of thumb - guestimate is waaaay more reliable than figures posted on the official afl web site, and questioning your pathetic claims of reliability are self promoting claims of intellectual aggrandisement, .....................your a complete fool.

The fact that you persist with this ridiculous claim, and even attempt to come up with such juvenile and rudimentary claims of proof by wagering $500 dollars, (the misplaced ground markings are just sad) only goes to show how truly misguided you are.

Get a grip mate.

Great response, really, terrific. Moving on from where the ground markings were in some obscure game, we now have business interests in pubs as evidence that snap shots of footy players advocated by some tosser on an obscure chat room is more reliable than the official heights put forward by the AFL.

I am in Melbourne, there are planes. We still have a house on each side of Princes Park.

You are consistantly proving to be a most unworthy adversary, however as it is I will await your considered response.

You cant read, I will take the AFL official websites stats over yours any day of the week, you meet with Arthur Tuttle and measure his sphincter for all I care.

You go down and measure em up, take photos and post your results on here if your so confident buddy. Go lurk around the change rooms with your measuring tape and camera, don't forget to get the boys to sign something so we know.......you really have NO IDEA.

Best of luck and look forward to your results.

If you cant get them, and lets face it, a freak like you wont have a chance in measuring all the boys up :rolleyes:, what next after pubs, ground markings, and random bets......

Hey, how about you take a photo of yourself next to Eureka tower and guess its height within 2 centimetres and bet everyone $5k your right.....

The bet has been offered (a lazy $5000) that Carazzo is less than 187cm tall, you have tried to use difference of angles and positioning to discredit TheAissasins claims which is illfounded as they are standing next to each other. Not only this but you try and talk down to him whilst doing this and you don't even have the beans to show up to make a lazy $5000

If you trust the club's listing as 187cm, this is an easy $5000 and we've already been through all the wonderful things you could buy with that.

comedy goldmine

The bet has been offered (a lazy $5000) that Carazzo is less than 187cm tall, you have tried to use difference of angles and positioning to discredit TheAissasins claims which is illfounded as they are standing next to each other. Not only this but you try and talk down to him whilst doing this and you don't even have the beans to show up to make a lazy $5000

If you trust the club's listing as 187cm, this is an easy $5000 and we've already been through all the wonderful things you could buy with that.

comedy goldmine

It was claimed that Carrazzo was shorter than the original poster, the original poster claimed that he was 182cm AND at least one or two centimetres taller than Carrazzo leaving Carrazzo at 181cm or less.

This is his claim, I don't think there would be anyone on here who would agree with that....

Further, my point has never deviated, I will take the clubs listed heights before the guestimates of BF posters who have based their judgements on snap shots... as has been proven by this thread...

As for you Thrust, placing snapshots of people with Down Syndrome on here is actually a breach of BF rules, and as an Essendon supporter coming here slagging me of like this AND using images of Down syndrome sufferers is just asking to be banned.....

However, if it is an intellectual challenge you are after, and lets face it breathing comes at top of the list for you, perhaps you could list the words I have used which which one would need a Thesaurus for.....

Failing that, we can have a Photoshop-off....you'll do about as well in that as you have so far with insults. Real genius putting up Photos of mentally disabled people.

It was claimed that Carrazzo was shorter than the original poster, the original poster claimed that he was 182cm AND at least one or two centimetres taller than Carrazzo leaving Carrazzo at 181cm or less.

This is his claim, I don't think there would be anyone on here who would agree with that....

Further, my point has never deviated, I will take the clubs listed heights before the guestimates of BF posters who have based their judgements on snap shots... as has been proven by this thread...

As for you Thrust, placing snapshots of people with Down Syndrome on here is actually a breach of BF rules, and as an Essendon supporter coming here slagging me of like this AND using images of Down syndrome sufferers is just asking to be banned.....

However, if it is an intellectual challenge you are after, and lets face it breathing comes at top of the list for you, perhaps you could list the words I have used which which one would need a Thesaurus for.....

Failing that, we can have a Photoshop-off....you'll do about as well in that as you have so far with insults. Real genius putting up Photos of mentally disabled people.

No audus.....for those not mentally challenged my claim in the OP was that Carrazzo was not 187cm as listed on the CFC website.

I stated I am 182cm and was 1 - 2 cm taller than him and I stand by that.
The point I was making when saying even if he was 180 or 182 or 183 cm was that even making an allowance for Carrots standing with a slightly bent knee, or wearing shoes with soles of 0.1mm HE IS STILL A LONG WAY SHORT OF THE LISTED 187cm on the CFC website.

Can you comprehend without getting a headache ?????

I stand by the claim I am taller than him......but if I was 1 or 2 cm out he is still nowhere near his listed height !

Ground control to audus......can you understand this ?

Ground control to audus......is it all too much for you and you have a headache now ?

Ground control to audus......my offer to have a wager anywhere up to 5K is still open to you if we both go down to training and measure.

Ground control to audus......do you have the balls to back up your stated disbelief in my claims with a wager.

Are you a man or a mouse audus ?...........do you wear pants or a skirt ?.........do you occassionally wear nappies ?

MEET ME DOWN THERE AND SEE WITH YOUR OWN EYES, AND YOU WILL REALISE YOU HAVE BEEN AISSASINATED.

YOU ARE BRAVE HIDING BEHIND YOUR COMPUTER SCREEN.......BE A MAN......SHOW UP IN PERSON WITH A FEW BUCKS IN YOUR POCKET