Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Wednesday, 13th February 2008
Injuries, but no worries

Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell says his club's pre-season injury concerns won't upset its Goulburn Valley Football League preparation.
Former Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett recently underwent surgery on his knee that will sideline him for six to eight weeks, while new ruckman Jake Cowman suffered a back injury last week last week.
``We should be pretty close to right by round one,'' Campbell said.
``Tyson hurt himself a little while ago and just had to wait to get his operation, but he's in pretty good condition and we're expecting he'll be available early on in the season.
``Jake just pulled his back at work and had the week off training; he said it's feeling better, but we'll take it carefully.''
Campbell has been impressed with the attitude of his charges, but doesn't want to set expectations too high. The Cats have assembled a strong squad for the upcoming season, recruiting three players from former Diamond Valley Football League club Heidelberg in Marcus Dean, Russell Lee and Craig Waelan, along with Brad Lowe (Ardmona) and Cowman (Mulwala), while Michael Coad (Shepparton East), Dan Collyer (Sandringham) and Trent Freer (Wembley) return after stints with other clubs

Injuries, but no worries

Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell says his club's pre-season injury concerns won't upset its Goulburn Valley Football League preparation.
Former Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett recently underwent surgery on his knee that will sideline him for six to eight weeks, while new ruckman Jake Cowman suffered a back injury last week last week.
``Tyson hurt himself a little while ago and just had to wait to get his operation, but he's in pretty good condition and we're expecting he'll be available early on in the season.
``Jake just pulled his back at work and had the week off training; he said it's feeling better, but we'll take it carefully.''
Campbell has been impressed with the attitude of his charges, but doesn't want to set expectations too high. The Cats have assembled a strong squad for the upcoming season, recruiting three players from former Diamond Valley Football League club Heidelberg in Marcus Dean, Russell Lee and Craig Waelan, along with Brad Lowe (Ardmona) and Cowman (Mulwala), while Michael Coad (Shepparton East), Dan Collyer (Sandringham) and Trent Freer (Wembley) return after stints with other clubs

WILL HE GET A GAME???

would love for him to get a game against the swans.. i hear he isnt very well liked down there after an incident at a night club a while back

Talking to one of your x team mates the other day Boss, Still in talks with 2 players and are very optermistic of getting them. He wouldn't give names, and is certainly not in the habbit of BS'g. Do you know anything?

I was speaking to the current coach the other day on the phone and he informed that they are close to getting at least 3 new players in the next week, which will certainly help the stocks. From all reports, they will be more then handy at GV level.

Injuries, but no worries

WILL HE GET A GAME???

He'd be lucky too I reckon

Injuries, but no worries

Wont be long before this bloke breaks down either. A very injury prone player.

Hey bradrowe have you caught up with Rob "Terry" Tuohey and Brodes Monty in your travels around Canberra, the poor boys had to run up Mt Ainsley on Satdy mourning. These two will be a big loss for Rochy, two very good young players.

I was speaking to the current coach the other day on the phone and he informed that they are close to getting at least 3 new players in the next week, which will certainly help the stocks. From all reports, they will be more then handy at GV level.
Supposed to be a couple of players from Darwin commited to play. Anyone with more info on them?

Hey Brad Rowe have you caught up with Rob "Terry" Tuohey and Brodes Monty in your travels around Canberra, the poor boys had to run up Mt Ainsley on Satdy mourning. These two will be a lose for Rochy, two very good young players.

Nah mate, haven't seen them yet, but I hope to catch some of their games. You're right, they will be big losses for the club.

They might be in for a long year with Ainslie. The club does has fantastic facilities though (except for the away change rooms).

Gotta feel for the boys climbing the mountain. At least they would've had some kangaroos and rabbits keeping them company.

Relton Roberts is still good enough to play AFL - IMO. Hes a half forward/ on-baller.

What are you going on here? Hopefully not his for before christmas up in Darwin?
Yeah he's not a bad player but to say"good enough to be playing AFL" is a bit of a big call!

<H2 id=articleTitle>Seymour star Penn plays on

Three-time Seymour premierships star Matthew Penn will play on this season after seriously considering retirement.

A combination of factors weighed heavily on Penn's mind, not least of which was a nagging knee injury, which restricted him to just nine games in last year's Goulburn Valley Football League season.
``I was going to have to give it away this season. I was frustrated with my knee, but I also had work commitments to consider,'' Penn said.
``Another big issue for me was if I still have the hunger to go on and do it all again for another season.''
Penn took up cycling before Christmas to get some fitness, rest his knee and avoid the rigours of running.
That has been a success for the tough midfielder. ``I have done plenty of work on the bike prior to Christmas and it has done wonders on my knee.''
Dogs confirm Eaton signing

FOOTBALL: Tatura has confirmed Mark Eaton is returning to the club after a year away.
Coach Paul Serra confirmed Eaton's signing yesterday, also saying the club had sured up the majority of its senior list for 2008.
``He (Eaton) will travel up from Melbourne each week to play for us,'' Serra said.
With players still being spoken to, Serra was not able to discuss the likelihood of other players being signed.
``We have a few that have a chance to play, but we are still talking to them,'' he said. Tatura will open the season on April 12 against Shepparton Swans at Tatura Park

</H2>

[/b]

What are you going on here? Hopefully not his for before christmas up in Darwin?
Yeah he's not a bad player but to say"good enough to be playing AFL" is a bit of a big call!

The Whip is probably going on what he has seen over the last 2 season and what he has heard around the traps. Im tipping he has a very good knowledge on these Darwin boys coming to Euroa.

What do you know of this particular player?

whats the word from ky on singh. heard he trained the other night. stretch limo from melbourne, down the main street to see his adoring fans, turned on to singh street (theyve named a street after him) and then into the ground. carried from car to oval and plonked in the goalsquare. security made sure that no team mate came within a 3 meter radius. at the conclusion of training he was air lifted home. is this info true or has someone stretched the truth a little????
icon12.gif

whats the word from ky on singh. heard he trained the other night. stretch limo from melbourne, down the main street to see his adoring fans, turned on to singh street (theyve named a street after him) and then into the ground. carried from car to oval and plonked in the goalsquare. security made sure that no team mate came within a 3 meter radius. at the conclusion of training he was air lifted home. is this info true or has someone stretched the truth a little????
icon12.gif

I know Singh doesnt appear to be the most popular bloke on here ( may have the clear favouritism for understatement of the year) but if they get the ball down to him one out quickly, I reckon he will kick 60-70 for the year. Most coaches would be happy with a forward who can do that.
Dirty will make him work for him and within the team or as stated previously Singh will be gone before clearances close mid season.

I know Singh doesnt appear to be the most popular bloke on here ( may have the clear favouritism for understatement of the year) but if they get the ball down to him one out quickly, I reckon he will kick 60-70 for the year. Most coaches would be happy with a forward who can do that.
Dirty will make him work for him and within the team or as stated previously Singh will be gone before clearances close mid season.
Like it has been stated on here plenty of times before, everyone knows the bloke can play. He will most likely kick 70+ this season but he is a fungus that shouldnt be aloud at clubs. Takes his money and runs, that is why no club except Ky wanted him.
I know a couple of blokes that are heavily involved in the Ky boat raffle that raises alot of money for the club and they are not happy that the money they worked hard to raise is going into Singh's pocket.

Like it has been stated on here plenty of times before, everyone knows the bloke can play. He will most likely kick 70+ this season but he is a fungus that shouldnt be aloud at clubs. Takes his money and runs, that is why no club except Ky wanted him.
I know a couple of blokes that are heavily involved in the Ky boat raffle that raises alot of money for the club and they are not happy that the money they worked hard to raise is going into Singh's pocket.

$100 a goal as well. He's not going to be sharing it around much is he.
Well he's only there for 1 person anyway

The Whip is probably going on what he has seen over the last 2 season and what he has heard around the traps. Im tipping he has a very good knowledge on these Darwin boys coming to Euroa.

What do you know of this particular player?

I know his coach for the past 4 years.
I also hope they didn't get the player they had signed for last year. he got 13 weeks for threatening an umpire last year before nearly killing himself accidently pig hunting.
They are gun players although they will give a lot of free kicks away this year. They are not very disciplined.

They might have changed

$100 a goal as well. He's not going to be sharing it around much is he.
Well he's only there for 1 person anyway
Agree with a previous thread that if Dirty can't get him to play within his structure he will not see the season out Dirty wont put up with any crap will give it to him pretty straight, can confirm Tatura have lost Ommy Kliendienst and Little leaves them short on height, hopefully have some big recruits coming

I know his coach for the past 4 years.
I also hope they didn't get the player they had signed for last year. he got 13 weeks for threatening an umpire last year before nearly killing himself accidently pig hunting.
They are gun players although they will give a lot of free kicks away this year. They are not very disciplined.

They might have changed

im tipping your talking about Burgoyne here. Im led to believe the whole threatening an umpire wasnt as bad as it was cracked up to be, but the league had to set a precedent. As for nearly killing himself, it was his mate who sliced his arm while he was holding the pigs head. Not to sure if he is even playing footy anymore after that bizarre accident.

Ah pig hunting accidents! Suffered a few in me time. Too bad they were in the GV night clubs, back a few years.:D:D