CARLTON vs PORT thread...

Didn't expect bagging Waite would win me many platitudes in here.
He seems to be our Bambi.

I just hope it makes a few people look at his game a lot closer.

Look beyond the VERTICAL LEAP.

How much better than best on ground did you want?

Great to get a win, however, we still have quite a few things to work on.

CHF is going to be a huge issue this year. Fisher was quiet, and it Cloke mainly played in the ruck. We need Hartlett to stand up and present accross the HF line.

Disposal is still an issue. Whilst it was ok tonight, it still needs a fair bit of work

Disappointed in Murphys game. Made a few bad errors, and didn't get a heap of the ball. Hopefully he'll get better before round 1.

Some positives were Pfieffer, Waite, Armfield, Houlihan and Hampson. Very good games by all 5 of these guys. Very big tick to Simpson as well. Was really the only mid that played well for all 4 quarters.

Special mention to Kreuzer as well. Never once saw him kick off his left in TAC, yet slotted a goal off his left like he had being doing it for ages.

have to agree with a lot of comments.

Hampson is the sh#t. great hands good in ruck, i hadnt seen much of him until that freo game and i am super impressed.

Waite took a bit to get goin but is so freakish. As a coach i really appreciate the small things and that smother really got me excited. Ran well as well.

Murph is my favourite player but was absolutely terrible tonight. bad skills, dropped marks hopefully he was crook or somethin.

Edwards not bad hard at it.

Gibbs what a goal. read the handball intercepted, had time to settle (like he always does) and finished.

Liking Jamo more and more every time i see him play.

Pfeiffer impressed me again good pick up.

Stevo showed his class and once hes 100% confident. oh yeah.

Kreuze impresses me with his attack on the opposition. his tackling for a big bloke is great and very mobile. if others dont think he will be a regular senior this year, think again.

Look for armfield to be given russells position as a project with russell falling out of favour.

Bowers skills still worry me.

Not a big fan of thornton but like someone already said did pretty well up fwd.

Saddo still strugglin.

Fev not 100% but still did some great things. his one hander and handball to cloke was great.

On cloke think he will be ok.

Houlihan still got it.

OVERALL
Attack on the ball and opposition was great. especially fwd pressure.

very happy to beat Port (hate them) especially away but wouldnt mind if we lost the next game and spent more time preparing for round one.

GIVE ME THAT SIDE WITH JUDDY, TEX, HARTLETT, BENTICK, SETANTA and HADLEY gee that sounds good.

BRING ON BITCHMOND. CANT WAITE (get it. ha ha)

My round 1 side:

Backs: Jammo (Pettifile) Setanta (Richo) Grigg (Browny)
H.Backs: Scotty Waite (Hogg) Tex (Deledio))
Centres: Simmo (tivendale) Juddy (Tucky) Murph
H.Fwds: Fish Hartlett Houligan
Fwds: Kreuze Fev (Honeybun) Eddie
Rucks: Hammo (simmonds) Stevo (Johnson) Carrots (Foley)
Int: Cloke Bentick Hadley Pfeiffer

Emerg: Thornton Armfield

Go boys

I told you lads, I told you. ;)

Pfeiffer IS a gun. Has all the tools to be a 200 game AFL player, I've said it since I first saw him at 17 years of age.

Still shattered the Crows dumped him, and we'll definitely regret it. What a fine performance by him today. Great hands, some nice work in trafiic, great tackling and of course his lovely goal on the run.

Get on board!

bandwagon2.jpg

Pfeiffer IS a gun. Has all the tools to be a 200 game AFL player, I've said it since I first saw him at 17 years of age.

Still shattered the Crows dumped him, and we'll definitely regret it. What a fine performance by him today. Great hands, some nice work in trafiic, great tackling and of course his lovely goal on the run.

Get on board!

bandwagon2.jpg

Im the one playin the saxamaphone!

Yeah, he was very good today. He seems to know exactly what to do in congestion, and has the right balance between composure and intensity. Miller let him slip to PSD pick #2. Could be another Miller gift. :)

What do these names have in common?

Toby Thurstans, Peter Burgoyne, Kane Cornes,
Daniel Motlop, Warren Tredrea, Brendon Lade,
Brett Ebert, Dean Brogan, Chad Cornes,
Shaun Burgoyne, Michael Wilson

While I'm sure your happy with a win I wouldnt be betting your house on a 2008 premiership just yet.

Get on board!

bandwagon2.jpg

Probably the most impressive of the Carlton players tonight. Ran very hard, and was in the game for all of the 4 quarters.

While I'm sure your happy with a win I wouldnt be betting your house on a 2008 premiership just yet.

We understand that, and are all aware of how many Port players had out tonight. However, you can only beat the team that the opposition puts out onto the park, and when C.Judd plays, he will make an enormous difference.

I can't tell you how pleased I was to see Pfeiffer out there today. It's been a long, long wait for him and with that performance I see him playing Round 1. He's been AFL ready from the day he was drafted, but for one reason or another he hasn't yet made his debut. He was close last year, but instead we went for Jericho (world's biggest dud). Then he had a 4 week stretch where he was either best or second best for Norwood, but not once was he named an emergency. Yes, Neil Craig wasn't a fan and regardless of what he did on the field it wasn't good enough. That's what been so frustrating, he's been ready to play at the top level but the AFC didn't even gime him a single game. :thumbsdown:

Enjoy him guys, he'll be a beauty for you. Taken in the 1st round back in 2005, I've always said he'll become one of the best 5 players taken from that draft. He has everything you want in a footballer, skill, poise, aggression, courage, and an amazing vertical leap which you probably haven't even seen yet. Let me tell you, he can take an absolute hanger!

Tredrea and brogan played mate.

and we had out juddy which would cancel out 2 of those boys, plus walker, ohailpin, bentick, hadley, grigg hartlett which are all senior players for us plus we have the youngest side in the comp. plus it was at your home ground. SORE LOSER!.

Give us a break. we have been down the bottom for the last few years and our future is looking bright. forgive us for being excited.

1. the bold played...
2. we had players missing too...
3. no one here is claiming premierships...
4. Thurstan... HAHAHAHA
5. get off your high horse and tone down the sarcasim, you look foolish

My round 1 side:

Backs: Jammo (Pettifile) Setanta (Richo) Grigg (Browny)
H.Backs: Scotty Waite (Hogg) Tex (Deledio))
Centres: Simmo (tivendale) Juddy (Tucky) Murph
H.Fwds: Fish Hartlett Houligan
Fwds: Kreuze Fev (Honeybun) Eddie
Rucks: Hammo (simmonds) Stevo (Johnson) Carrots (Foley)
Int: Cloke Bentick Hadley Pfeiffer

Emerg: Thornton Armfield

Go boys

No Gibbs??? Or am I missing him there.

I echo Drummond's sentiments, another massive fan of Pfieffer, AA U18, dominant SANFL player when fit first roun draft pick. Only dumped for his lack of following of the strict team rules we had over here. But spewing raw chips that he left, bloody awesome player, natural HBF, long raking kick of the footy, find a stack of it for a HBF and uses it well more often than not and as Drummond said can seriously JUMP. Takes many a screamer. Absolutely a 200game AFL player there no doubt at all. One of the best players we have drafted in the past 10 years and he's all yours....

They all played when we beat you at home and the game went down to the wire at AAMI stadium.
No Gibbs??? Or am I missing him there.

I echo Drummond's sentiments, another massive fan of Pfieffer, AA U18, dominant SANFL player when fit first roun draft pick. Only dumped for his lack of following of the strict team rules we had over here. But spewing raw chips that he left, bloody awesome player, natural HBF, long raking kick of the footy, find a stack of it for a HBF and uses it well more often than not and as Drummond said can seriously JUMP. Takes many a screamer. Absolutely a 200game AFL player there no doubt at all. One of the best players we have drafted in the past 10 years and he's all yours....
I'd rather have Sellar.

CARLTON vs PORT thread...