Extended Teams: Round 1

Regarding midfield rotations, I don't think Sam is any superior than Kyle for agility and stamina. And plus Reimers attack on the footy and attack on the man with the footy is second to none.

Maybe up forward, but we're talking about the midfield. We already have Davey and Jetta up forward and Reimers, despite what you may have seen, was less impressive through the midfield than Lonergan.

I'm happy to see Dempsey in there, despite thinking he would only get on to the bench if he made it. I look forward to a good game from him and everyone else.

ESSENDON
B: Courtenay Dempsey, Mal Michael, Dustin Fletcher
HB: Henry Slattery, Patrick Ryder, Jay Nash
C: Ricky Dyson, Jobe Watson, Bachar Houli
HF: Leroy Jetta , Adam McPhee, Scott Lucas
F: Alwyn Davey, Matthew Lloyd, Sam Lonergan
Foll: David Hille, Brent Stanton, Mark McVeigh
I/C (from): Courtney Johns, Jason Johnson, Jason Laycock, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Angus Monfries, Damien Peverill, Adam Ramanauskas

I assume the on field guys will stay. Guessing that the bench will be NLM, Laycock, and.. the other two are hard to say.
Would put Dempsey at half back and Slattery in the back pocket. Would swap Lucas and McPhee so that our CHF is Scotty. Would have put Riemers ahead of Lonergan but im not gnashing my teeth in anger. At least the kid is getting a go and I was mildly impressed with his pre season. Unsure over Riemer's tank as a couple others have pointed out that Lonergan's selection may be due to him being rotated through the midfield. Disappointing to hear that Hocking is injured, but the side is fairly inexperienced already. Got to fit Winderlich into the side still. There are others too like Lovett and Gumbleton that need to be in the 22 so it will be interesting to see who drops out. Once Gumbleton is fully fit I refuse to concede that he should languish in the 2nd's. Perhaps a couple of games but I would like to see him in the seniors. John's may have missed his chance and I expect him to be off the list this year.
The side is decent and I am very excited in seeing Jetta, Houli and Dempsey play. Hopefully they all play well and cement their positions over the course of the season. Really looking forward to Lloyd's season as I whole heartedly expect him to kick over 70 goals. With Lucas there abouts also we shouldnt struggle to kick a winning score as long as the midfielders are getting it down there enough.
Expecting the Bombers to win by 4-5 goals:thumbsu:

One thing that is a little worry is that we have 3 of our most valuable players who are slightly underdone. Lloyd, Fletch and McPhee have all had close to no match-practice.
I know that they've all been training for a large part of the pre-season but once playing an actual game, you are tested and fatigue levels are a factor

You are a negative nelly arn't you:D
Hocking is injured . Has a groin problem.
Lonergan is in the side becasue he offer us more as far as midfield roataions go. Yes Reimers was good during pre season but hasn't got the engine to push into the midfield like Lonergan does. I guess you missed the good work Sam did in the middle in the couple of games he played. It is not madness at all that he was selected. His pres season was pretty good.
And Knights is giving the kids a chance. He said if there fitness was where it needed to be they would be selected. Lets face it there are 9 players named on the ground that have played under 50 games. How much more inexperienced would you like them to go in ? Too many more kids in the side and we would be tanking, sorry i belive the term is now turning over the list , in round 1.

And he played really well in the game against WC. Looks the goods imo.

One thing that is a little worry is that we have 3 of our most valuable players who are slightly underdone. Lloyd, Fletch and McPhee have all had close to no match-practice.
I know that they've all been training for a large part of the pre-season but once playing an actual game, you are tested and fatigue levels are a factor

You've got to be kidding about McPhee:confused:, there's no way he's one of our most valuable players. I'm surprised you mention him in the same sentence as Lloyd and Fletch, both extremely value.:thumbsu:

At least if Lloyd is unfit he should stick to the goal square where he belongs... :)

Ant, I don't think I am being negative. I just say what I believe. (ie, I am not the type who nods the head and says great for everything. I have an opinion).

I think you misunderstood me. Lonergan has played ok games where he did a couple of good things. (I like the kid btw). But Reimers played a couple of great games, where he kicked three goals or so.

In my opinion, I wouldn't mind if both were in the final 22 but if I had to choose between the two to be in the starting 18, then I would have Reimers way ahead of Lonergan. (That too to be named in the forward line).

Regarding midfield rotations, I don't think Sam is any superior than Kyle for agility and stamina. And plus Reimers attack on the footy and attack on the man with the footy is second to none.

Just having a look at the results from agility test of the super draft of 2006:

Agility

David Armitage - 7.88 sec
Daniel Hayes - 8.04 sec
Andrejs Everitt - 8.06 sec
Tom Hislop - 8.10 sec
Simon Hogan - 8.14 sec
Kyle Reimers - 8.16 sec
Gavin Urquhart - 8.17 sec
Nathan Djerrkura - 8.18 sec
Colin Garland - 8.18 sec
Brock O'Brien - 8.19 sec

He was in the top 6.

And don't you think Reimers is in our best 25 atleast?

Anyways putting that aside, I hope we can beat the Kangaroos. I think the last time we beat them was when we came from 69 points down. I feel exhausted just thinking of that game.

I know for a fact that Lonergan has a better tank than Riemers. You only had to see some of the Bendigo games last year. So far Kyle has only been able to play in burst of 10 minutes or so at half forward and then he has had to go to the bench.Nothing has changed so far this year. Sam is definately a superior midfielder at the moment becasue Reimers has hardly played any midfield. I dont know how you can say Reimers is better if he has not played the position. Dont give me agility test's to pick a midfielders anyway. An agility test does not show if a player can run 14km during a game or know how to win a clearance.
It is not that i dont think Kyle isnt a good player but you have to pick sides that reflect the postions you need. He is simply not ready for midfield yet where Lonergan is.
The question you have to ask is how many half forwards do you need ? With Jetta and Davey in the side spots are limited . I would have said that Jetta has actually taken the spot that Reimers would have been competing for.

Now as far as having an opion and not being negative wel i beg to differ. Yes you can have an opinion on things and not be a yes man but you always seem to put the negative slant on things. Most of your post are complaining about what is going on. You complain about us not playing the young kids yet we have 9 players named on the ground with under 50 games exeperience and another couple on the bench. And maybe you should wait to see who is actually named on the bench before complaing about who is named in the squad ;) In the end only 22 can play so the squad of 25 is not worth worrying about.

Much rather have then going in under done than peaking too early.
Fletch is not getting any younger and has missed the end of the season a couple of times in recent years. Im not worried at all that he may only be 85% ready.

Slattery very lucky indeed by the way, why NLM is not starting is a joke.

My thoughts also though I would have thought come Monday arvo, NLM will be on the deck. Been in ripping form.

Slattery very lucky to be there. Just a plodder in the side to nag one of their players. Offers prescious little other than that. Has some quality players barking at his heals so will need to play bloody well in first few games to hold his spot.

Spot on there Ace...Reimers should be in. No doubt about that. He was exceptional in the NAB cup games. I don't know how Reimers can miss out on a squard of 25, unless he is injured. Just staggers me. And to think the coaching panel thinks Sam Lonergan is ahead of him is plain madness.

Atleast Houli, Nash, Dempsey and Jetta are named. I just hope they are not dropped in a couple of weeks.

All these talk about giving kids a chance... In the end just like I suspected Pev, Rama, JJ and Johns named in the squad. We just can't afford to play two or more of them in the same team.

Hislop and Lovett missed all the pre-season games, so I guess they need a couple of games in the 2nds.

Monty-fries should make the bench. Where's Hocking?

Don't know about exceptional... Showed glimpses would be more like it.

Still a little way off our best side and will hopefully get about 8 - 10 senior games into him this year. Still a baby at 18 and needs to develop his game over this year. Look to see him in our best side and playing good CONSISTENT footy by mid next year.

My thoughts also though I would have thought come Monday arvo, NLM will be on the deck. Been in ripping form.

Slattery very lucky to be there. Just a plodder in the side to nag one of their players. Offers prescious little other than that. Has some quality players barking at his heals so will need to play bloody well in first few games to hold his spot.

Exactly and its not as if he is a GREAT tagger anyway. I would rather play a young kid in his position. Heck I'd rather put Myers in even if it is round 1!

Would love to have a poll done on whether any other Bomber fans feel Reimers should be in the team for round 1. I feel like majority will say yes.

No arguments or fights...just your opinion. Yes or No.

Would love to have a poll done on whether any other Bomber fans feel Reimers should be in the team for round 1. I feel like majority will say yes.

No arguments or fights...just your opinion. Yes or No.

I would say yes at the expense of JJ/Pev

Very happy with the team. Hopefully the bench reads

Laycock NLM Rama JJ

Would have like to have seen Reimers named

i was at training yesterday morning and from the looks of match simulation i'd say your bench is right with johns, peverill, monfries to miss. laycock did all the ruckwork with hille up forward so i'd expect they would start that way. rama did the kick-ins.

personally i'd have played monfries ahead of lonergan.

david myers is very impressive and tate pears will be a gun defender like glass.

oh and someone asked about hocking - he has a groin injury. he did light drills with rehab group which included welsh, gumby, neagle. none of these guys joined the main group at any stage.

daniher and williams were both running with the main group but stayed out of contact situations as expected. winderlich looked pretty good so should be a chance to play next week (probably vfl).

laycock, jetta, dyson, mcveigh, mcphee and rama most impressive from training during match simulation.

watson disposal was ordinary although he was a bit nonchalent about the whole thing and lloyd looks underdone - wouldn't expect too many goals on monday. lucas should be the go to guy.

laycock, jetta, dyson, mcveigh, mcphee and rama most impressive from training during match simulation.

watson disposal was ordinary although he was a bit nonchalent about the whole thing and lloyd looks underdone - wouldn't expect too many goals on monday. lucas should be the go to guy
Good to hear Dyson training well. He has impressed me during the pre season and Ill readily admit that that I had written him off. When he received his 2 year contract I was extremely surprised. I was willing though to give the kid a chance as I knew that Knights had seen him up close at Bendigo. He looks streamlined this season and I can see why Knights had singled him out to have a big season as he looks like he has actually had a massive pre season. Hopefully he carries on his promising form into the regular season.
Never write Lloydy off mate. Absolute champion. Will have kicked over 1000 goals by the end of his career. Expecting a massive season from him. Sure he is underdone, but class generally prevails. Expecting at least 3 from him. With him and Lucas up forward Im not particularly worried about our forward line. My main concern is the midfield. Loving Knights though:thumbsu:

Extended Teams: Round 1