Ants, ants, everywhere!!

He can't, but I'm sure your new ant and cockroach overlords will. ;)

SimpsonsHailAnts.jpg

This summer I've had no ant problem, despite the housemate from hell and his ability to make food scraps miss the bin from 2 inches away. It hasn't been anywhere near as hot as last year (in terms of frequent hot days) - maybe that has something to do with it.

Got 'em in plague proportions here tonight.
Haven't seen that many of them around this summer generally but I moved about 150 bricks from the corner of the yard this arvo, cleaned out piles of leaves and removed old piping and scrap metal from down one end of the yard, sat out back having a barbie and someone looked down and noticed tonnes of them scattering around (at the other end of the yard) pouring out of every crack, walking along the shed roof, covering grass and all :confused:
Went through a whole can of spray, and buckets of boiling water to get rid of them.
Strange looking buggers too.

No biggie - just had some bowling gear being cleaned resting in a few paint buckets in the bath.
Took the stuff out and poured all the boiling water down the many cracks in the backyard.

Haven't seen anymore since that night. :thumbsu:

now i got cockroaches :( big fukas too

found one in the utensils draw. flicked it onto the stove :( smashed it but it was still alive. anyway took it outside and put him on an ant trail next to another one i killed earlier.

then sanity prevailed as there were more ants then usual after a few mins. the roach was still alive :D:D:D

then i got the mortein outdoor spray and let em have it.

need some matches now

LOL. I was SO gonna bump this thread up today... but nah cbf.

And lo and behold here it is again!!! :D

My mate (for once) had a run in with a hunstman recently!!! It was on her way to her bedroom apparently. Sprayed a whole lotta mortein on it, until it and I quote "turned white". Still took ages to ****ing die.

Ugh I hate cockroaches PN. you have my sympathies.

LOL. I was SO gonna bump this thread up today... but nah cbf.

And lo and behold here it is again!!! :D

What more can I say?....This thread was started in Dec 06, we have read about your ant tales, the havoc and angst that they have caused in your life eg:re: your opening post, paddle pop, chocolate and the chips were destroyed - time and time again, we have sympathised with you, the other Lifestyle posters have given you advice on ways to minimize and control the ant infestations that you have faced.

Never say we don't care! :D

Only started getting ants again in my kitchen after not having any for probably a couple of years.

I read somewhere that they hate vinegar so i've put some on a small plate in 3 different locations, not sure if its really working that well though.

Yes, apparently vinegar is not their favourite liquid...get a squirt bottle, place some vinegar in it and wherever you see a trail just spray the area.

Someone else told me once that black pepper does the trick also. Haven't tried that that one though.

What more can I say?....This thread was started in Dec 06, we have read about your ant tales, the havoc and angst that they have caused in your life eg:re: your opening post, paddle pop, chocolate and the chips were destroyed - time and time again, we have sympathised with you, the other Lifestyle posters have given you advice on ways to minimize and control the ant infestations that you have faced.

Never say we don't care! :D

I've never said that. :)

I'm glad to say this summer no food was destroyed by these pests. Except that one time last year where they got over the kitchen bin and empty coke bottle next to it. Ah i suppose I'll let them have that. ;)

We've had heaps around our house this summer too. Tried the normal thing of Ant Rid and YES it is suppose to initially attract heaps more ants, but then they take it back to the next and kill it off... so no more ants after a few days.

Thing is the black ants have so many nests around the place outside and quickly establish new nests that they're hard to keep control of.

I had my mate who runs his own pest control business come around, but he stated there isn't much you can do "i have all around at my house too" he quipped. Ant Rid is still one of the best products you can buy for them either the Liquid or he recommend the small bait traps they have out now too.

HTH

i hate cockroaches :(

Some stray cat gave birth in our backyard to SIX kittens three months ago. Thankfully, three of them ran off when they grew old enough to climb fences (they come back for food a few times) but the other three have stuck around. Even though it is getting pretty expensive to feed them, it is not all bad as they spend the night killing and eating every bug or insect they find, especially roaches. :)

There is heaps in the backyard (it gets annoyingly noisy some nights) and we used to find at least one every three nights; my mum and sister are terrified of them. We have only seen one or two in the past month, most likely because of the cats, now.

Birds are a good preventative measure. Sometimes we feed the magpies in our backyard, and I must say, we've had no bug problems because they very much love our backyard.

Shell said:
My mate (for once) had a run in with a hunstman recently!!! It was on her way to her bedroom apparently. Sprayed a whole lotta mortein on it, until it and I quote "turned white". Still took ages to ****ing die.

It's the same with white-tails too.

peternorth said:
found one in the utensils draw. flicked it onto the stove smashed it but it was still alive. anyway took it outside and put him on an ant trail next to another one i killed earlier.

then sanity prevailed as there were more ants then usual after a few mins. the roach was still alive :D:D:D

That's... uhh, a bit extreme. It's like using napalm when you can just use a single bullet.

There is a casino in Vegas that charges big time for fire ants in your pants.

You can also have a hooker dressed like Marylyn Monroe (or Elvis, depending upon your depending) lick them off.

Viva Las Vegas!

Could barely stop myself from cracking up reading through the first two pages. Seeing as though it's 3:30 in the morning and I don't want to wake up the house, I think I'll stop there. Fortunately, we never get ants inside the house, but we get millions of them extending from our backyard to a small park a couple houses down.

Anyone remember Lisa from "Six Feet Under"? SHe was sitting on the floor reasoning with them "OK ants, this is my kitchen, it's time for you to go"

Nate and Claire standing in the kitchen door just looking blankly at her.

Could barely stop myself from cracking up reading through the first two pages. Seeing as though it's 3:30 in the morning and I don't want to wake up the house, I think I'll stop there.

Yep, this thread has everything, I must say we have all become so completely aware of the devastation that Ants, Ants, everywhere can cause. Glad you have enjoyed the reading material - the author of this thread will be most pleased. :)

Was about to tell Shell to give it up and move houses, because the ants have won. But it wasn't bumped by him. :D

Was about to tell Shell to give it up and move houses, because the ants have won.

Shell shouldn't move houses - this thread is way to important to die we will need more updates to lead into next summer.

Besides you can't let the ants drive you out of your home. :D