Round 4 Team

i can see Setanta coming in and playing as a CHF

what i see is that he will be a presence in the forward line and maybe try to get a good match up

though his main aim is bang and crash packs in the forward and bring the ball to the ground and get our players like Betts to rove the contest

also will be there to ensure the ball pressure is kept up in the forward line

we will see anywayz!!

Meh, call me a cynic, but I don't really mind ins and outs at this stage (although It is pleasing to see another kid hopefully get a game in Browne) cause honestly I reckon we have no hope in hell of beating Collingwood, just got to try a new gameplan and stop the damage on the scoreboard.
Of interest is if we can actually keep a team under 100 points for a change, we won't win the game, but if we can keep the Pies under 100, I'll be happy.

yeh i dont mind them myself. at least one new guy in

guys how about jake edwards
wat do u rate as his chance of playing this weekend?

and why was he omitted in the 1st place?

I would say that, being conservative, he is a 0% chance of playing, seeing as though he isn't named in the extended squad.

He was dropped because he was quiet in round 2.

and your allowed to express your crap! get over yrself mate

No-one said you can't express your crap. Just that it would be preferable if you used a crayon in a public toilet on dark nights. :)

That's all well and good Gilly, but from what I have seen, his defensive pressure is almost non-existent. Would much prefer to see him line up on the wing, where he has been damaging for the past 2 years.

Just because he's lined up in the back pocket doesn't mean he'll play there. I think he'll play up the ground further personally. The one thing i'd like to see from Kade is for him to RUN IN STRAIGHT LINES. Every time you see him free he runs in a big arc towards the boundary line. Frustrates me no end. Gives us almost no chance of switching play or going through the corridor.

What a joke. We get a guy like Hampson who has only played 3 games of footy, but we all believe he could be something really good in a few years, then in only his 4th game you give hime 36% game time then drop him. I thought the Cloke, Hampson, Kreuzer combo would work well. And would help limit the pressure on Kreuzer? More importantly Hampson needs game time - lots lots more game time. Can't play Kreuzer for long stints at CHF if he is the back up ruckman.

Pretty much agree with your thoughts.

Setanta will come in as an option for Rocca & possibly relief ruck duties or a stint up forward.

I cannot beleive the amont of pressure carlton are putting on Matt, its absolute BS.

The kid is going to get a hammering this week ffs

From who? Josh Fraser!? Wood!? :D

I am a bit disappointed that Hampson got dropped, maybe they want more run, especially on the MCG so I guess it makes sense. In saying that I believe Setanta will come in to play on either Rocca or Fraser when he goes forward. I thought he did a good job on Gehrig, maybe they just want him for the, 'gorrilas', Lloyd is more of a lead up, which Jamison is comfortable with as he has got good closing speed. On the gorrilas Jamison might stuggle one on one, so i expect him to probably either start on the bench as a back up to Setana or the other way round. I hope they play Thornton on Medhurst as he seems to enjoy that role on a smaller player, with Bannister taking Thomas and Waite on Cloke. Didak is the worry for me, not sure who we have for him. Someone suggested that Jamison played on Medhurst, this would allow Thornton to play on Didak, however I am not sure if he has the smarts. I would take a bit of a risk with Bower, I think he is starting to show something and would like him to be given the challenge.

I am also very confident our midfield with the match fitness of 3 games is ready to rock and roll. I think Hadley's work has been great lately, tho only in patches, matched with Judd, Murphy, Stevens and co, we are ____en ready to ruin the Collingwood party. I say bring on Sunday and let the Carlton Party begin and all CARLTON people jump on board the wagon as it will be going places.

A further positive from all this is showing us that we are getting depth with all the discussion of who should be playing.

CARN THE BLUE!!:thumbsu:

I dont think we have quite reached the stage where players are fighting for their spots in the side. It seems that young players are getting a couple of games and then dropped for other young players who in turn are dropped and we go on in circles. We should just give grigg, russel hampson or whoever deserves a spot some game time and games. its not like we're throwing away the season. so lets see what these kids have and let them take the game on.

Winning games is the best development----> then game time---->then crappy development coaches

Could bannister possibly be a match up for neon leon????

I dont think we have quite reached the stage where players are fighting for their spots in the side. It seems that young players are getting a couple of games and then dropped for other young players who in turn are dropped and we go on in circles. We should just give grigg, russel hampson or whoever deserves a spot some game time and games. its not like we're throwing away the season. so lets see what these kids have and let them take the game on.

Winning games is the best development----> then game time---->then crappy development coaches

Could bannister possibly be a match up for neon leon????

Wouldn't it be grouse to look at the Cats' ins and outs over the last 6-8 years? How many weeks new players stayed in the team, how long they stayed in the 2's etc. They now have a brilliant team and we should obviously use them as the benchmark.

I dont see the point in bringing a youngster lets say grigg in this week only to drop him next week and maybe bring him into the squad the following week. why not give him a run of 3-4 games?

Can you explain what Geelong did? Which current players were ins and outs?? I was still very new to football in 02, 03

Round 4 Team