No-one's bagging Russell yet

While Russel hasn't had fantastic games, he hasn't done anything wrong either.

Today he improved on his chasing, tacking and spoiling. Unless someone from the bullants is tearing it up, keep him in I say.

I disagree.

In the 3rd quarter (I think), deep in the defensive pocket, JR went back with the flight of the ball to cut of a Melbourne kick. He had ample (and I mean ample) time to take the grab. He had so much time that if the leading forward had hit him, it would have been 50.

But JR heard footsteps and LITERALLY ducked his head, shelled the ball and Melbourne had another crack.

That kind of stuff is just too soft for an AFL footballer. I hope he proves me wrong but the signs aren't good.

If you break down every players game you will witness contests where they "should" have done something differently. Not every bloke in the side can pick up 20+ possessions. I agree JR is on the fringes of senior selection. I'm sure he is aware he is under some pressure to perform each week, but nobody is knocking down the door and demanding selection in the Ants. So meanwhile it makes sense to persevere with JR and let him make small improvements week in week out....as people have pointed out, he has the tools to be part of an AFL midfield rotation, I believe his weaknesses can be minimised with game time and some confidence from being part of a winning team for a change. God knows I wouldn't have wanted to be a skinny midfielder thrown to the wolves in the '05 - '07 Carlton midfield.

I thought his performance was fair - certainly not enough to justify his permanent inclusion. As for his replacement I would much rather see Ryan Jackson play. He is young, quick and has a bit of class about him. I think he should in the side permanently as he has shown a bit each time he has been given a chance.

I though today was one of JR's better games 4 the blues he did some good things. He seemed to be runningout of the backhalf rather than HFF. I would prefere wiggins in the side. He is underated and is a good marking option going forward he played some good gaes for uss last year. maybe he could even be a leading CHF sort of like brad miller was a few years back.

I really don't understand the call to play Wiggins. Problem with playing Wiggins is he isn't going to be part of our long term future.....why get games into Wiggins unless he and Loudy are planning on spawning a large number of male offspring.

Even Wiggins when interviewed after the Ants game was sounding like a permanent Bullants player.

I really don't understand the call to play Wiggins. Problem with playing Wiggins is he isn't going to be part of our long term future.....why get games into Wiggins unless he and Loudy are planning on spawning a large number of male offspring.

Even Wiggins when interviewed after the Ants game was sounding like a permanent Bullants player.

Totally agree he is probably getting to old and will be delisted at the end of the season but i always thought he was extremely unlucky, just when he started to show glimpses he did his hammy or something again. And he is tasmanian.

You guys should relax. JR played a tagging role on Davey, which to me Davey didn't have a much of an impact on the game. So JR done his job. I reckon with abit of confidence he will be good. But by rd10, if he hasnt had a awesome game then he should be dropped, and in comes Walker, and i dont think he will ever be back into the team...
How can you say he 'done a job' on a highly skilled player like Davey in one sentence......then in your next say when Walker is right he will 'never be back in the team after Rd 10 if he has not had an 'awesome' game.

Gee that makes a lot of sense....not.....if he can fill that role once on such a high quality player, why can't he do it again?

Some of the shit on here just makes you laugh!

Yes I know, like most know he has deficiencies and struggles in lots of areas......but FFS give the kid some reasonable chance......his baptism in the AFL has been in one of the histories worst teams ever going around over the last few years.

Funny how when we start winning a few games and the ball goes our way that Russell looks a little more comfortable......maybe time and a better team to 'work' in will see him improve more.

FFS every great team has players that are 'outside' types......this is probably his last chance season wise......I hope for our sake he develops into a great transistion player over and above the likes of Houlihan who we bag as well, but drool over when he does the 'magic' things that most dream of.

:confused::eek::confused::eek::confused:

I disagree.

In the 3rd quarter (I think), deep in the defensive pocket, JR went back with the flight of the ball to cut of a Melbourne kick. He had ample (and I mean ample) time to take the grab. He had so much time that if the leading forward had hit him, it would have been 50.

But JR heard footsteps and LITERALLY ducked his head, shelled the ball and Melbourne had another crack.

That kind of stuff is just too soft for an AFL footballer. I hope he proves me wrong but the signs aren't good.

It was in the 2nd quarter and i'm glad someone else noticed his lack of courage......unlike Pfieffer who puts his head over the ball 100% of the time.

For a bloke that's playing for his career he should be doing what pfieffer has done since day one!!

It was in the 2nd quarter and i'm glad someone else noticed his lack of courage......unlike Pfieffer who puts his head over the ball 100% of the time.

For a bloke that's playing for his career he should be doing what pfieffer has done since day one!!

Kruezer did that about 3-5 times vs Essendon. Where were you then?

Why is it that none of you are bagging Grigg? Grigg has had far less impact than Russell has had, he has been wasteful with the ball too. Yet for some reason his name hasn't come up?

Another win and more improvement shown by the side including Russell who I think is slowly building up his confidence and will get better with time. I cant wait til round 10-12 when Walker comes in and the "bag Walker" crew start sledging him about his poor disposal etc etc. Seems to me that there are a lot of yesterdays hero's on this forum who never made a mistake when they played u10's footy! Must live in glass houses as well

Kruezer did that about 3-5 times vs Essendon. Where were you then?

Why is it that none of you are bagging Grigg? Grigg has had far less impact than Russell has had, he has been wasteful with the ball too. Yet for some reason his name hasn't come up?

Hey moron.

KRUEZER never sherks a contest.

What about on the weekend when he put his head over the ball and knew he was gonna cop it????

What about against ESSENDON when in his FIRST game he took a mark and had to wait, it was in the 3rd quarter then copped another knock but just got up???

How about when he backed back in the NAB cup and Brown crunched him from behind and was suspended???

Yet all of this has come from a FIRST year player......

What games are you watching???:mad:

The scary thing is, I think he's being serious. :eek:

of course he is... he also thinks Thornton is a dud...

From Sydney, surprised he knows what AFL is...

in other words his opinion is not really considered/acknowledged/"heard" on this board as there isn't a shred of accuracy! :rolleyes:

Hey moron.

KRUEZER never sherks a contest.

What about on the weekend when he put his head over the ball and knew he was gonna cop it????

What about against ESSENDON when in his FIRST game he took a mark and had to wait, it was in the 3rd quarter then copped another knock but just got up???

How about when he backed back in the NAB cup and Brown crunched him from behind and was suspended???

Yet all of this has come from a FIRST year player......

What games are you watching???:mad:

Before you call me a moron I suggest you review Kruezer's game against Essendon.

Just in case you can't be bothered here is some proof from a fellow Carlton poster....

In his first game, I wont be too critical, considering he was awesome, and chipped in with two goals at the other end, one which he roved like he was 175cm, not 200cm... but, if he continues to pull out of contests which he clearly (as the ruckman 'in the hole' as they say, should be going up for), I'll be worried

I'll accept my apology here thank you ________________

Before you call me a moron I suggest you review Kruezer's game against Essendon.

Just in case you can't be bothered here is some proof from a fellow Carlton poster....

I'll accept my apology here thank you ________________

mate it was kreuzers FIRST GAME FFS! russels been on the list for what 3-4 years? Still has yet to show any real sign of making the grade. He has improved ill admit that but is still below par, the only reason his getting a game is because ratts and co want to see if this pee heart of a player can produce something to save his afl career.

Ill accept your shithouse knowledge of afl football here.......................

mate it was kreuzers FIRST GAME FFS! russels been on the list for what 3-4 years? Still has yet to show any real sign of making the grade. He has improved ill admit that but is still below par, the only reason his getting a game is because ratts and co want to see if this pee heart of a player can produce something to save his afl career.

Ill accept your shithouse knowledge of afl football here.......................

OK I don't care whether Russell makes it or not, If you look through my posts I said about 3 weeks ago that he should be dropped, and is no more than a depth player.

Upon his last couple of games, he has not been the worst and made some good moves. My point on the shirking contest of Kruezer was that you cannot single out things in the match without taking the whole match into consideration.

This guy stated that Russell dodged the contests , and didn't mention any of the good things he did which included putting his body on the line for the benefit of teammates.

When Kruezer had an awesome debut why wasn't this guy stating that he dodged a few marking contests?

This is in no way a go at Kruezer check the post I quoted and you will see my response so I'm not posting it here.

OK I don't care whether Russell makes it or not, If you look through my posts I said about 3 weeks ago that he should be dropped, and is no more than a depth player.

Upon his last couple of games, he has not been the worst and made some good moves. My point on the shirking contest of Kruezer was that you cannot single out things in the match without taking the whole match into consideration.

This guy stated that Russell dodged the contests , and didn't mention any of the good things he did which included putting his body on the line for the benefit of teammates.

When Kruezer had an awesome debut why wasn't this guy stating that he dodged a few marking contests?

This is in no way a go at Kruezer check the post I quoted and you will see my response so I'm not posting it here.

Mate do the math...Kreuzer first game against dons....russell been on the list 3-4 years....different expectations for players who have been on the list that long which makes it even worse that russel shirks tough contests.

I dont want to start a big argument here, but to have a crack at kreuzer in anyway seem ridiculuous in his first year and kreuzer want shirk many tough contests in years to come we can already see that.

Russel has improved slightly but come on put it into perspective.
We were playing against the dees, he seems to panic everytime he touches the footy, his skills are inconsistent and quite ordinary at times, needs to toughen up but he does have some pace i suppose :rolleyes:

Mate do the math...Kreuzer first game against dons....russell been on the list 3-4 years....different expectations for players who have been on the list that long which makes it even worse that russel shirks tough contests.

I dont want to start a big argument here, but to have a crack at kreuzer in anyway seem ridiculuous in his first year and kreuzer want shirk many tough contests in years to come we can already see that.

Russel has improved slightly but come on put it into perspective.
We were playing against the dees, he seems to panic everytime he touches the footy, his skills are inconsistent and quite ordinary at times, needs to toughen up but he does have some pace i suppose :rolleyes:

Hmmm you seem to have disregarded what I said and talked anyway.

I'll recap my points.

1. I don't rate Russell, my problem is with idiots bagging him after he has been far from our worst ( see last 2 games)

2. Check the quote from Kruezer my post which followed indicates that it was Kruezer's first game and not to worry ( I think I said I'd be shitting myself too if <player> was behind me

Russell's past 2 games haven't been great but also haven't been bad. If there was someone from the bullants who was pressing for selection then great drop Russell but atm nobody is setting the world on fire.

I don't think you will find me posting anywhere fighting for Russell's inclusion in the side, so I really don't see what you're getting all incensed about

No-one's bagging Russell yet