Picola District football league

Re: Piccola District football league

Whilst on the loss of kilo's, Herb, I hear you and TB, have shed a few, what's the go any reason for the conserted effort this season to shed of few kilo's ?

When you have a few kilos to lose, it makes it easier to lose them!

As for my 'complaining' I wasn't complaining about losing on Saturday... See my last few comments, Strathy were more than deserving winners, you don't deserve to win a game when playing 1 quarter of footy. It was obviously disappointing to lose.

As for Trent, he generally is a good kick for goal, fair bit of pressure on a 19 year old and he shanked it. He'll be better for it next time around.

i think Deni will be there abouts, they have alot of size and height around the ground, they could probably do with some speed, but when winter comes their big bodies will win them enough games to be around the top four, also they have the remote home ground which will help late in the year.

I am interested to hear thoughts on where Waaia are at, they seem to be playing some pretty good footy, my pick for minor premiers with Dookie.

i think Deni will be there abouts, they have alot of size and height around the ground, they could probably do with some speed, but when winter comes their big bodies will win them enough games to be around the top four, also they have the remote home ground which will help late in the year.

I am interested to hear thoughts on where Waaia are at, they seem to be playing some pretty good footy, my pick for minor premiers with Dookie.
We played Waaia at weekend , and they were pretty good and did enough to suggest they'll be pretty handy, big diffference from last season is a few of the older brigade appear fitter and the younger blokes have bulked up. Their couple of pick-ups are outside types, Ads didn't play, I reckon they still lack a bigger type on-baller as per last season, whereas in 2006 they had Trimby and Stevens and they need a second ruckman. Interestingly Glover and Walker didn't play either ?? To be honest think they may struggle if they come against a good ruck duo and a side which attacks them physically. Maybe Counsel could go into the midfield and Glover , if playing, into the ruck if needed, mind you when you consider there line-up they should be pretty handy.
Hey only an opinion, from what I seen ??

Was that donkey fleming? heard he is an average kick whenever he gets the ball these days

Bit harsh on poor old Bones there Shaggs. Bit hard to judge his kicking at the moment though, cos he hasn't had one for twelve months!

whats going on at blightly - purcell and jerilderie got a hold of them today

Think that Blighty are probably in that mid range of sides along with a fews others, which brings up a good point of the division which appears to be in this comp. based upon recruitment. I certainly don't have sour grapes as it's only a couple of years, or one in Dookies case from being a bottom 4 or so sides, to premiers, based strongly upon recruitement, but there is certainly 3 teers within the comp. It's astounishing to think Deni and Dookie possibly 2 of the 4 contenders for this year were bottom four 2 seasons ago.

Those which appear to have a high number of recruits.
Strathy, Deni, Katunga, Shepp East, Waaia, Dookie, Tungamah

Those which appear to have a few recruits :
berrigan, picola, jerilderie, blighty

Those thought to have less than a couple :
Katty, Mathoura, Yarraweah, Wunghnu, Katandra

Probably have marked Katunga very harshly and could possible be in the mid range group and only summizing that Jerilderie and Picola could have a fair influx of recruits and could possibly be in the top bracket.

With this in mind I reckon if you add Katandra to the top bracket you may well have the top eight, Picola 4 Shepp East ??

The other side which I beleive is performing very well based on recruitment is Katty who I think will be in that middle rung.

Look I hope we don't see clubs lost due to financial difficulties or inability to compete, ie lack of numbers, which is why I think we need to put the two teer, based on recruitment statis, back on the table, especially when there is so many teams in the comp and the old mixed fortunes of who you play twice.
For example:
Why can't we have amateur comp. and a pro. comp., with obvious criteria for the amateur comp. and sides which fit that criteria have the right to which comp. they compete. Allowing sides to be competitive during the rebuilding stage, whether it be financial or numbers, and still providing them the opportunity to compete on the big stage when they beleive they are right to or want to, through recruitment.
I guess the biggest difficulty would be the junior grades and netball but surely a play off type system , champions of champions, between both comps, could be played at seasons end.
Those that finish at the bottom in the pro. comp. may be relegated if a side in the amateur comp wishes to have a crack.
To start obviously all those that finished top eight would be given first opportunity to play in the pro comp.

New thread started, with poll to discuss

Think that Blighty are probably in that mid range of sides along with a fews others, which brings up a good point of the division which appears to be in this comp. based upon recruitment. I certainly don't have sour grapes as it's only a couple of years, or one in Dookies case from being a bottom 4 or so sides, to premiers, based strongly upon recruitement, but there is certainly 3 teers within the comp. It's astounishing to think Deni and Dookie possibly 2 of the 4 contenders for this year were bottom four 2 seasons ago.

Those which appear to have a high number of recruits.
Strathy, Deni, Katunga, Shepp East, Waaia, Dookie, Tungamah

Those which appear to have a few recruits :
berrigan, picola, jerilderie, blighty

Those thought to have less than a couple :
Katty, Mathoura, Yarraweah, Wunghnu, Katandra

Probably have marked Katunga very harshly and could possible be in the mid range group and only summizing that Jerilderie and Picola could have a fair influx of recruits and could possibly be in the top bracket.

With this in mind I reckon if you add Katandra to the top bracket you may well have the top eight, Picola 4 Shepp East ??

The other side which I beleive is performing very well based on recruitment is Katty who I think will be in that middle rung.

Look I hope we don't see clubs lost due to financial difficulties or inability to compete, ie lack of numbers, which is why I think we need to put the two teer, based on recruitment statis, back on the table, especially when there is so many teams in the comp and the old mixed fortunes of who you play twice.
For example:
Why can't we have amateur comp. and a pro. comp., with obvious criteria for the amateur comp. and sides which fit that criteria have the right to which comp. they compete. Allowing sides to be competitive during the rebuilding stage, whether it be financial or numbers, and still providing them the opportunity to compete on the big stage when they beleive they are right to or want to, through recruitment.
I guess the biggest difficulty would be the junior grades and netball but surely a play off type system , champions of champions, between both comps, could be played at seasons end.
Those that finish at the bottom in the pro. comp. may be relegated if a side in the amateur comp wishes to have a crack.
To start obviously all those that finished top eight would be given first opportunity to play in the pro comp.

New thread started, with poll to discuss

It depends on what you call a recruit pace. In Deni's case you say that there were only 9 playing in saturdays game who played in the last game in 06. All of Deni's recruits over the last 2 years have moved to Deni with work, or are living and working in Deni. I Supose it would fall under the "local" footballer against the non local footballer. INteresting topic though.

Any news on the guy who died in the crash at Waaia, all I have heard is that he was in his 20s.

It depends on what you call a recruit pace. In Deni's case you say that there were only 9 playing in saturdays game who played in the last game in 06. All of Deni's recruits over the last 2 years have moved to Deni with work, or are living and working in Deni. I Supose it would fall under the "local" footballer against the non local footballer. INteresting topic though.

Charles not having a sly dig at anybody for recruiting, good luck to them, most clubs choose to do it, or have to , at some stage to get members and supporters back to keep players at clubs. I've been around a bit and it happens every where. The criteria as non local, was hoping to cover all those who generally get offered a quid to join or stay with a club. Could have easily said non local meant those who receive no coin to play at the club, but to do it you need some system. The GV tried the points system and it was a farce, obviously clubs in DIV 2 would be allowed a certain amount of non local players.

Terrible news to hear of a footballer losing his life, although I didn't know him personally condolences to all at the U, it's a hard time at a footy club when you lose one of your own.

Ronnie also played at Strathy and Katunga over the years. Great sense of humour and good fun. He was a great bloke and will be sorely missed by everyone that knew him. Condolences to the Gardner family and friends.

Oh sh!t, just heard..... Very nice bloke indeed. Always up for a chat and a beer.

I too send me condolences to the Gardner family..

Lost too many footballers in car accidents over the last few years.:thumbsd:

Can anybody fill me in on the apparent leagues decision to impose a $ 88 non refundable fee upon a club should the club have a matter before the tribunal, whether through not excepting a set penalty or other. Heard of this happening elsewhere and the umps went silly, I agree if found guilty , but surely if found innocent having to take the time out and fuel cost to attend is enough of an insult.

Petrol money, refreshments costs for umpires, tribunal members etc?

Petrols $1.52 a litre atm, just a guess.

Its to cover the hire of the rooms they hold it in mate. Never mind about it because no one ever gets found guilty at our trib do they?

That's my point big fella, your found innocent and still have to fork out the cash.
Just another point can you Dookie blokes have somebody ready to count how many of our players go in for a beer after the game this week, don't want the same things said on here next week as were last year.
If the grog is as hot as it was last year I won't be staying long, so don't whinge, also can you store a few Carlton Lights aside somewhere, probably going to have to navigate home.
Was hoping Dookie might of travelled to Mathoura one day to return some hopitality.:D:D:D:D:D
Also congratulations to Katunga for having a bit of grub on the B.B.Q. last week straight after the game !!!!

Round 4 tips:

Blighty
Strathmerton
Katamatite
Deni Rovers
Katandra
Tungamah
Dookie
Picola

Round 4 tips:

Blighty
Strathmerton
Katamatite
Deni Rovers
Katandra
Tungamah
Dookie
Picola

Herb interesting neither you or Tainer1 picked SE to win. Could they really start the season 0-4 or even worse 0-5. Hard road back from there.

I heard the Jerilderie boys dont mind going the Knuckle behind play?

Herb interesting neither you or Tainer1 picked SE to win. Could they really start the season 0-4 or even worse 0-5. Hard road back from there.

I heard the Jerilderie boys dont mind going the Knuckle behind play?

must be an old habbit from the CDFL!