Will we beat Collingwood?

ChrisFooty

Oct 12, 2005
Victoria
Not confident. Not because of our injuries, but the way St.kilda are playing. They have been lucky in winning four matches this year. They are not playing like a team who will raise fear against any top 8 side. Need to imrpove a truck load for Friday night, unless Collingwood play a shocker.

Will the midfield kick more goals?
Will G-train or Kosi kick a bag of five (there about due)
Can Milne pop with a bag (unlikely)
Can ferg or Allen come into the side and kick some goals?

If it was not for milne, would of been another 10-12 goal match against Rich.

Will the Saints kick enough goals?

The ball got to Milne one on one and was a great reversed exposure to his lack of pace.

The fact we got the ball to a player in our forward line to that advantage is a positive! Who knows which StKilda and which Collingwood will turn up. We are a chance and a chance to prove ourselves.

Apart from against Geelong it's been a while since we've gone into a game at Telstra Dome at such long odds. We're paying $2.35 and they are $1.58.

It's going to be a huge challenge and I'm not going to the game with a great deal of confidence but we can definitely win.

Losing 4 players, particularly Riewoldt, will hurt but it was pleasing to see the Scorpions win so impressively and having so many players put their names forward for selection. We desperately need King to return. We look so much with King and Gardiner playing in tandem and perhaps it's an area we could exploit them with Fraser in some doubt. Our midfield will benefit from the extra supply and that will hopefully translate into more inside 50 entries and more efficient use of the ball out of the middle. We also need Kosi to stand up. I know the media have jumped on him in a bit this week but in Roo's absence it's a great opportunity for him.

Plus it's Collingwood. I mean there are plenty of teams who we hate for various reasons but is there a club you love to beat more than them? We've copped a caning in the media and we're once again playing on a friday night in front of what should be a full house. What an opportunity to win back some respect.

Firstly, I enjoy beating Essendon more.

Secondly, we can certainly win. The Collingwood defence has been leaky this season. O'Brien is out of form, Brown has cooled off and Wakelin is getting on. Koschitzke should be able to dominate in the air, but the ball will need to be delivered correctly. If we send someone like Birss to H Shaw as a defensive HFF and he does well, that would be a plus.

Collingwood's area of strength is small forwards. Davis, Medhurst, Thomas & Didak. Do we have the smaller defenders to cover them? With no Baker this week, that leaves Gram, R Clarke, L Fisher, Dempster and possibly the aforementioned Birss. It will be hard work keeping them all quiet.

We have a better midfield, but they also like the contested ball. If King plays and Fraser doesn't, it will be a huge advantage.

On top of all that is Collingwood's poor record at Telstra Dome. They lost all three games there last season, and much prefer the open space of the MCG.

50/50 game I reckon, but it will really set us up if we win.

I'm happy we can, but then I said that about the Port game - once again, we could've won that, even on form, but the boys' heads weren't in the right place. Hopefully they'll come in their right mind.

With King in I am feeling more confident.

Roo is a big loss.

However Goose was not in good form. Blake is an ok fill in given Goose's form this year.

Bakes had only been fair since returning. Geary should do ok.

X had been patchy...good in some games, missing in others. CJ? or possibly Ferg should be ok.

Gardi should be a lot fitter than he was two weeks back against the Tigers where his TOG had to be limited after his month off.

we will put the pies down by 10 goals.... get yur house on the sainters

saints should win move upto a 5-3 record and a massive upset by melbourne will push the saints too 4th

Now THERE's some big calls! I'd love for you both to be right, but yikes! What makes you think this is what's going to happen?

Apart from against Geelong it's been a while since we've gone into a game at Telstra Dome at such long odds. We're paying $2.35 and they are $1.58.

It's going to be a huge challenge and I'm not going to the game with a great deal of confidence but we can definitely win.

Losing 4 players, particularly Riewoldt, will hurt but it was pleasing to see the Scorpions win so impressively and having so many players put their names forward for selection. We desperately need King to return. We look so much with King and Gardiner playing in tandem and perhaps it's an area we could exploit them with Fraser in some doubt. Our midfield will benefit from the extra supply and that will hopefully translate into more inside 50 entries and more efficient use of the ball out of the middle. We also need Kosi to stand up. I know the media have jumped on him in a bit this week but in Roo's absence it's a great opportunity for him.

Plus it's Collingwood. I mean there are plenty of teams who we hate for various reasons but is there a club you love to beat more than them? We've copped a caning in the media and we're once again playing on a friday night in front of what should be a full house. What an opportunity to win back some respect.

Those odds are surprising. Thought it would be a lot closer than that especially now that Fraser probably won't play. Get on the Saints! Though I'm really worried about the matchups: Cloke (Fisher?), Rocca, Medhurst, Davis, Didack. The upside with Roo out is that we'll be a lot less predictable going forward. A big game from G perhaps?

Who knows what type of St Kilda will bother showing up.

Kosi needs to play forward for the whole game IMO. The whole game. No pinch hit in the ruck unless one of our two ruckmen get injured. And then if Blake plays I'd rather him there. 2 ruckmen in King/McEvoy & M Gardiner should play.

I want to see us play well and win, it will get us & the players confident for the coming weeks.

Not confident. Not because of our injuries, but the way St.kilda are playing. They have been lucky in winning four matches this year. They are not playing like a team who will raise fear against any top 8 side. Need to imrpove a truck load for Friday night, unless Collingwood play a shocker.

Have you seen us play this season? We have played so badly I wouldn't be surprised if you smash us. We are nothing on what we were last season, the team aren't playing the way they were and I am far from confident going into this game. It depends on which team from both clubs shows up, if our actual team shows up and plays we should win because of your injuries, if we don't then we will get smashed.

Sounds like it's going to be a fantastic shoot out from both sides. Going to be quite a spectacle. Can't wait to get there! Hopefully freezing cold too! Nah mate, a warm beer for me too thanks ... :eek::rolleyes:;):eek::(

Geeez the day I cop a warm beer at the footy is when it's definitely time to jump off!

Who knows? Collingwood are approaching Fremantle standards of ruining my tipping. At least we put consitently poor performances, but Collingwood go from looking the goods for top 4 to... well... losing to Carlton.

Anyway with our poor form and injuries even if Collingwood put in a poor performance they should win so I tipped them.

Every chance we can beat them, question of if the players are committed and hungry enough to do so.

C'mon Sainters, perfect time to spark the season alight.:thumbsu:

Have you seen us play this season? We have played so badly I wouldn't be surprised if you smash us. We are nothing on what we were last season, the team aren't playing the way they were and I am far from confident going into this game. It depends on which team from both clubs shows up, if our actual team shows up and plays we should win because of your injuries, if we don't then we will get smashed.
Yeah, it almost sounds like it's which team will lose the match, rather than which team will win it... if that makes sense.

I've just visited the Collingwood board.
They seem to have already given up on this season :confused:
Their board seems to be much more concerned with future recruitment than playing out this season manfully.

I've just visited the Collingwood board.
They seem to have already given up on this season :confused:
Their board seems to be much more concerned with future recruitment than playing out this season manfully.
Yep really is starting to shit me up the wall.

I tried to get interest by posting a story on the greening incident so posters realise we should hate your mob and really care about beating you but alas it seems to not have worked

Yep really is starting to shit me up the wall.

I tried to get interest by posting a story on the greening incident so posters realise we should hate your mob and really care about beating you but alas it seems to not have worked

I have also tried to remind people that we have a game this week. Its bloody frustrating.

The players are oblivious, I'm sure.

The recurrent O'Dea / Greening thread arising like a phoenix from the flames each time our clubs meet has definitely taken the edge off it. No-one (except Tess and Dave the man) can be bothered getting upset about it. It was 1972 - most of our posters were born after then!

The real issues are our current status. Either club will be under serious scrutiny after a loss in this. Commentators are already calling this a final for the Saints. What then is it for the pies?

Are you backs against the wall yet ?

As for the Saints, I expect them to lose 7 matches this season. If this is the fourth loss then so be it, we just have to get our game plan right. We have key players out and a query on returning players' fitness.

Rather than say a loss for St Kilda means the end of their finals chances, I look at it from the other angle and think that a win under these stresses would be seriously more significant than a loss. It would mean that we have triumphed over adversity, with an injury ravaged side against a well coached, fit and healthy team with a huge fan base screaming for free kicks before the first ball is even bounced.

We really have nothing to lose except a sense of comfort about how many losses we can afford. Collingwood may be out of the finals race altogether after Friday night, whereas we will be in it still.

Go watch the under 18's championships Collingwood fans, go find your new recruits.

Will we beat Collingwood?