He must not have been fit on the weekend from all reports he didnt have much of an impact. I heard me old mate Beazer went ok.
Beazer had a good first half. Shannon didn't get much of it. Strange game of footy though.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
He must not have been fit on the weekend from all reports he didnt have much of an impact. I heard me old mate Beazer went ok.
Beazer had a good first half. Shannon didn't get much of it. Strange game of footy though.
was a strange game
seemed 1 team played as a team
not sure about the other one
interesting observation, what makes you say that?
YC in the 5.! two massive wins.
Must win this week at home against Albion who also have come of the biggest win of the season. I can't see any changes for either team going into this match with wins like that, a lot has changed in 2 months and we are ready to take on Albion again! will be a ripper contest and can't wait. this game will be a mini final for us and could set us up for a top3 spot!
We know exactly where we are at. Make no mistake about it. I wouldn't read too much into what you read on here or hear anywhere else.
Losing to Glenorden is unforgivable and is a major setback in terms of where we should be and where we intend to go. But that's the nature of footy. Somethings just don't pan out how you want them to.
I completely agree with pretty much everything that has been said on here about Altona lately. We are a club in transition and as such are likely to have a few setbacks and false-starts. I do however have total confidence in saying that in the near future (2009/10) we will be a finals side.
[/b]
There is no chance in the world altona will play finals next year and i highly doubt it could make final in 2010, they would need to go on a huge recruiting drive.
I know they have some quality kids coming through but you would be lucky to get 6 quality "A" grade players from last years u/18's premiership teams. I hope i'm wrong the more competitive teams, the better for all.
YC in the 5.! two massive wins.
Must win this week at home against Albion who also have come of the biggest win of the season. I can't see any changes for either team going into this match with wins like that, a lot has changed in 2 months and we are ready to take on Albion again! will be a ripper contest and can't wait. this game will be a mini final for us and could set us up for a top3 spot!
[/b]
There is no chance in the world altona will play finals next year and i highly doubt it could make final in 2010, they would need to go on a huge recruiting drive.
I know they have some quality kids coming through but you would be lucky to get 6 quality "A" grade players from last years u/18's premiership teams. I hope i'm wrong the more competitive teams, the better for all.
agree young Jase and Cain had good games
pity most of spotty young kids watching on sidelines
What are you thoughts on this Rock or OBE? Are the kids getting squeezed out? Vicki3013 seems to think so from her posts this afternoon.
Without trying to sit on the fence its hard to comment on other clubs.
Every club that has the "depth of choice" in relation to the above have to consider many variables.
The colts side of last week was a very experienced line up, maybe Spotswood took that into consideration when picking their side?? I thought the young blokes s Spotty played weren't too bad, Sinnott in particular was quite good. I doubt Spotty neglect their younger blokes as suggested. I would suggest patience become the virtue ot the young blokes on the fringe.
Having said that we are playing the best of our youth at the moment and that can only hold you in good steed for the future. But then again we have the experience to support them.
Unlike Altona at this stage of their development, Freeland is one out on many occasions and as I have posted before as much as he has done a good job it may be time to look a little higher for their next coach or at least try and recruit an experienced "spine" to help out the younger blokes.
All that said, footy is stuffed without the evolution of youth, its how you manage it that counts.
from wher i stood ther was no game plan maybe the coach should have come and stood on the side to see what was going on because it wasn't good....couldnt quite make out the game plan of one of the teams,
Kids are being left out to favour older guys who have just walked back into the club after being away because they can smell a grand final think that is pretty outrageous..... Some kids have given it away because they are not getting a fair go..... Not sure how long the kids will hang around and put up with that.This could mean two things. One, the kids were out injured and Two, the kids were left out in favor of older blokes. Which one is it?
I know that clark and johhny always look to play a kid against the lower sides when possible and it is good for them and also for the senior group to see kids come through and many older players give advice and set up to bring them into the game. It gives them hope and l know young kids that played during the flag years have felt a part of it which is great for the club.With the way the competition has gone this year, it would be par for the course that some of the better kids in each club get a run against the lower sides. In effect, there's no excuse for a more experienced player to play injured against some of the teams. Would be good test for a younger bloke to get knocked around and even be exposed to the team demands of senior footy. Whether it's neglect or method in a coach's madness seems to be the question. Now would be a perfect time for clubs to try a couple of young players, especially when playing struggling teams.
I know that clark and johhny always look to play a kid against the lower sides when possible and it is good for them and also for the senior group to see kids come through and many older players give advice and set up to bring them into the game. It gives them hope and l know young kids that played during the flag years have felt a part of it which is great for the club.
Maybe the injured players are reluctant to pull out against the lower teams due to overpaided player payments?
Kids are being left out to favour older guys who have just walked back into the club after being away because they can smell a grand final think that is pretty outrageous..... Some kids have given it away because they are not getting a fair go..... Not sure how long the kids will hang around and put up with that.
Until you sit on any match comitte, and have been in the same situation it's hard to comment.
I doubt weather anyone has just returned because they think spotty have a flag for the keeping, simpson can't get a game at all in the seniors and i think beazer proved the coach right by playing a good game. Yes you must develop the younger players with games but once everyone is on the open age seen they are men and should be treated as such, so the object of the coach is to pick the best side for the upcoming opposition, forgetting age, experience and the like.
If players are walking out because they are not getting a game they need to have a look at themselves first but if relations have strained with coaches it mite be better to move on, we see afl players all the time prosper when changing clubs, a perfect example for us has been k.williams couldn't get a game at hoppers last year and this year he has fitted in perfect at colts, is a great team player and was just what we were after.
The run home for the three teams fighting it out for 4th and 5th spot.
Hoppers: West (a), Albion (h), Colts (a), Sunshine (h), Orden (a)
St Albans: Orden (h), Altona (a), Yarra (h), Spotty (a), Sunshine (a)
Sunshine: Albion (h), Spotty (a), Altona (h), Hoppers (a), St Albans (h)
The Kangas have the toughest run home, only playing one team below it in the final five games.
St Albans can really consolidate a finals spot over the next three weeks, playing teams teams below them over that time. If they slip up over the next three weeks, it may be crucial in their quest for a finals spot.
Hoppers form is hard to pick at this stage. However they will be looking to run into some form next week for a tough three weeks after that. Going to be an interesting final month a bit in the WRFL first division.
Massive game for the kangas this week against the arch rival at home. They pantz us at their ground earlier on in the year and we will be looking to make amends this week and keep our 2008 finals quest alive.
Just heard that this will be bigger than texas.
Albion still have to square things up with Sunshine after what happened on ANZAC Day.
The Glenorden/Spotty match will look like a playground fight between two 6 year olds fighting over who gets to have a go on the swing first compared to what is going to occur this Saturday.
Will be interesting to see how many Sunshine players pull a hammy this week at training.
Albion by 10 goals and lets see if the umpires call another game off?
Would really like to know who you are implying is not getting a fair go?
If you are talking about spotty there have been a few return who have been at other clubs for a while but is it bad that they want to finish off where they started.
I agree with ROCK once you put your hand up to play senior football whether you are 18 or 30 the coach will pick the best team. If a youngster is being left out then they should speak to the coaching staff to understand why and work towards improving those reasons. We are not playing Primary school footy where everyone has to get a go because mum and dad said so. each said must be pick on each individuals merit and what they will offer the team.
I'm very interested to who you think is not getting a go???
No one's implying a primary school mentality as that would be a very simplistic way of looking at it. If you go back a couple of pages you'll see who the young blokes are. I can only comment on what I've heard and a couple of two games coz that's all I've seen .