Merged Lovett threads

Re: Lovett suspended for 2 games

Actually no, i never said that. What I said that was a 2 match ban was a good result, trading him is an exagerration. Understand?

This isn't the first time he's done stuff like that. If he keeps going on, two week bans aren't going to cut it.

You tried to reply to an argument saying he should be traded because of his misdemeanours by saying he's a good player. That sends the wrong message.

True that, but Dyson is not a AFL standard player he has had 57 games to prove himself and what has he given us?? Two good preseason games. Time to go in another direction and with Dempsey, Hocking, Houli, Hislop and others still a few weeks away and the size of the Tigers I think it's time to role Hooker out.

Atkinson is a new option. He will offer more than both Dyson and Hooker.

Leadership groups... what a load of wank. :thumbsdown:

I want to watch our team win this weekend!!!!!! Why do we penalise 40000 members for one guy having a bit too drink.

Fine him and make him do some grueling training or something similar.

Leadership groups... what a load of wank. :thumbsdown:

I want to watch our team win this weekend!!!!!! Why do we penalise 40000 members for one guy having a bit too drink.

Fine him and make him do some grueling training or something similar.

I say remove his match payments for those games rather then affect the side’s structure. Hit him where it will hurt most I reckon!

Hurting a player most means suspending him from playing with the firsts.

I would imagine that if we lose to either Richmond or Collingwood that Andrew would be feeling pretty guilty.

i dunno i think its a bit harsh on lovett

afl clubs have got to understand us and where we come from
imo they have got to give us indigenous a bit of extra lee way with things like this

where magic on the field but some times where un disciplined off it thats life

i agree 100% with you don5.
i have written to the club saying he should be fined a MONEY VALUE,instead of suspending him for what will be our 2 most crucial games of the year,it by doing this it only punishes the other 21 blokes who will take the field on saturday. a bloody terrible decision by the lasdership group, they need to STRONGLY RECONSIDER this decision. and allow him to play.
it might make him think how lucky he is a it might make him turn in 2 rip snorter of games.

leadership Groups... What A Load Of Wank. :thumbsdown:

I Want To Watch Our Team Win This Weekend!!!!!! Why Do We Penalise 40000 Members For One Guy Having A Bit Too Drink.

Fine Him And Make Him Do Some Grueling Training Or Something Similar.

I Seconded This Comment.
Maybe We All Should Write To The Footy Club And Voice Our Dissapproval Of The Decision Made. Give Him A 10 Grand Fine

It's a team game and if he doesn't committ as his team mates do then he is letting them down. The suspension is fine and years end see you later. He wants to continue to take for granted being on an afl list like the world owes him a favour then see how he feels lining up for a suburban team.

Enoughs enough

i dunno i think its a bit harsh on lovett

afl clubs have got to understand us and where we come from
imo they have got to give us indigenous a bit of extra lee way with things like this

where magic on the field but some times where un disciplined off it thats life

huh?

No one player is bigger than the club and his team mates. Having said that though, having him out of the side for two weeks not only hurts him, but his team mates on game day and us as supporters.

Yes he has disiplinary issues but does it affect him or the club/supporters more by suspending him for 2 weeks?? It's a tough balance!

1 week IMHO would have been fair along with in club penalties set by the leadership group; fines, extra training sessions etc etc...

Very dissapointing. Andrew is 1 of the players who have lifted dramatically over the past month & he was playing really really good football. He has let himself down but more importantly the club.

110660.jpg

Proof, gah when's this bloke ever gonna learn? Looks a bit out of it in the picture to tell you the truth. Just a quick question did Neagle turn up for training because he was with Lovett at Cushion as well.

110660.jpg

Proof, gah when's this bloke ever gonna learn? Looks a bit out of it in the picture to tell you the truth. Just a quick question did Neagle turn up for training because he was with Lovett at Cushion as well.

If Jay hadnt have shown up then im sure the EFC would have said.

This isn't the first time he's done stuff like that. If he keeps going on, two week bans aren't going to cut it.

You tried to reply to an argument saying he should be traded because of his misdemeanours by saying he's a good player. That sends the wrong message.

OK. Concentrate whilst you read the following;

Im aware of his history. That's why I believe the 2 match ban AT THIS STAGE is suitable. If he keeps doing it, then it will obviously be a dissapointing result in which we have little choice but to trade him. However, AT THIS STAGE trading him is a bit of an overreaction. At the moment, his off field demeanour does not warrant a trade and he is an important part of our team and this would damage our game as well.

That being said, I agree that if such behaviour continues, more severe penalties must be given and eventually he will have to be traded. This is a situation I hope never occurs.

Hence, trading him at the end of the year purely for the off field mistakes that he has made to this date is not the correct decision. If such behaviour continues, trading should definately be looked at.

If i was referring to you i would have quoted you, like now.

Well I was actually joking with you anyway, but you did write a post about trading directly below mine that refered to trading so who were you refering to, the OP? He didn't say trade him either, he said Lovett should "pull his head in" or we should get rid of him. That's not a totally unreasonable attitude and it's not like Lovett is irreplacable so calling him a twit doesn't really make a case for not trading him.

I was calling Lovett a twit mate.

A slip up once or twice throughout a career is acceptable, but it seems he doesn't want to follow team rules for a fair while now and doesn't mind the consequences or else he would have pulled his head in ages ago. Some serious trade bait at the end of the year I reckon, and a few people in this thread agree with me as well, while he still has value and it is evident that he doesn't want to follow team instructions that are required, things need to change.

Merged Lovett threads