1st Qualifying Final that never was.

Re: Week 1 Final vs ??

We have a weakness down at the backline and opposition sides will exploit it to the tilt. Without Matthew Egan in the side, we are an actual tall man short.

Gee before the North Game last week not one person had mentioned any problems with our NUMBER 1 rated defence. It didn't seem to be a problem during the home and away season when we won 21 games against one loss.

Re: 1st Qualifying Final versus Adelaide (the type of game we usually lose)

Hehe...love it !! it's finals time....like its been said before, our own undoing will be ourselves !!! first things first is Adelaide !? should win...but take it one game at a time.Bugger if it's saturday arvo...as i've got a sure thing at flemington next saturday...:p but ive got an early flight back to maroochydore sunday...:p:D:cool:

I won a prize on SEN on the Casual Friday show on the "TOOL TIME" segment for nominating Andrew Jarman for what he said about Tom Harley, so this week I will be nominating "you" for the same thing. I'm not sure if you actually watch Tom Harley play the game, but I suggest you go back over the replays and actually take note of how he plays the game, and the courage he has in taking those marks and the things he does on our back line.
Of course this is only my opinion, and you are definately entitled to yours, even though I don't agree with you.:cool:

Wendy:thumbsdown:

Absolutely spot on Wendy. I think Harley has been in great form particularly in the second half of the season. A great leader, great backman and a great big spunk. (according to my daughter)

I'm pretty sure one game has to be played at the Dome. You'd imagine they wouldn't have first place playing there, and the Pies sure as shit won't play a final there. That only leaves one game.

Edit: This is all presuming the Swans of course.

That contract was waved away when the Preliminary Final clause was waved away, now its possible for 3 finals to be played in Melbourne, unless there has to be 2 Melb based finals on the one day (ie. Collingwood-Sydney and Hawthorn-Adelaide)

Unless all 4 finals are played in Melbourne or North host a final, we won't have a TD final this year

Qualifying final not Semi final.

And its not certain is it?...can't St Kilda still take 4th if they win tomorrow?

They'd need to win by 90+ points, pending on the relative scores

wouldn't mind knowing when the cats game is as i could fly over and back for the day from adelaide, but i'll have have to have my finger on the trigger to beat the crows fans !!!!! prices probably gone through the roof anyway, so i may just give it a miss.

Call me optimistic but I have a flight booked for the prelim weekend (fri morn) and grand final day (sat morn) :)

Lol poida. Funny,

Let's be honest, more than likely we will play the crows but whoever it is will feel the WRATH of the CAT.

Surprised we didn't have a 1st Qualifying Final versus North Melbourne (the type of game we usually lose) thread last week then, 'at that stage' it was them.

And, there is a weak link:

Tom Harley.

He is the best captain since Fred Wooler, Sam Newman and Polly Farmer. However, as Andrew Jarman said on radio 2 months ago, his finishing and decision making skills when under enormous intense pressure are average.

He is a great leader of people. But, as a footballer, he has to prove his worth in the heat of the battle.

THE GOVERNOR

Another martyk/flex alias ? :eek:

Bit paranoid there mate, just because Flex popped up when Martyk was red carded, and now this newbie pops up while Flex is red carded, and starts spouting the same tired old BS about Harley doesn't mean .......... ummm hang on you may have a point. ;)

Well he did take himself off McKinley pretty quickly after being out-bodied and goaled on, only for Le Cras to kick a goal on him soon after.

Harley is a good third man up and popular captain but has always been suspect in one-on-ones.

Some of you must learn to take criticism of our players.

Well he did take himself off McKinley pretty quickly after being out-bodied and goaled on, only for Le Cras to kick a goal on him soon after.

Harley is a good third man up and popular captain but has always been suspect in one-on-ones.

Yep got beaten in a couple of contests early, not denying that, but name me one player who doesn't get beaten on occasion.

Can't speak for others but I'm more then willing to accept criticism of Cats players "on a game to game basis" but get a bit sick and tired of the same sweeping statements made about Harley that he's a "weak link in our defence" or "can't play on a damaging key position forward."

Doesn't seem to sink in with some people that he doesn't have to play on a KPF, hasn't for two years and yet we seem to be travelling fairly well.

Also this "good third man up in a contest" is wearing a bit thin as well, does that excellently but there's far more to his game then just that.

Probably playing the best footy of his career at the moment, so if he's the "weak link" in our defence we don't have much to worry about.

He has one average game and you pull that out?

Harley is great one on one. Doesn't play on the big forwards but kills the smalls week in and out.

Not to mention his leadership and his ability to zone of his opponent.

:rolleyes:

They'd need to win by 90+ points, pending on the relative scores

This is a very good chance to happen considering how terribly undermanned Essendon are going to be and how badly St Kilda will be gunning for it. This topic needs to be locked until that game and it's margin are decided imo.

He has one average game and you pull that out?

Get the feeling with Catfan it would not matter what Harley did, still wouldn't be content. He was pretty bad today the captain but I have no doubt he will bounce back.

Looks like the crows but could also be the saints either way could we pls lose the "(the type of game we usually lose)". I hate doom thinking before the game has even been played :)

Hmmm, nah. Sorry one superstition we must keep. Our finals performances will depend on it. :D

Interstate team at home for first final on a Saturday! Perfect.

We match up very well against the Crows and should be able to account for them without too many dramas. Would be great to see Wojack, Rooke, Kelly and Mackie back in giving us a full strength lineup. I would imagine Stokes will have 1 week off, but hopefully this allows us to keep Prismall in the side who is looking really good of late.

Out: Varcoe, Byrnes, Gamble, Stokes

Adelaide won't be easy and they will provide a solid contest but we just seem to have too much class at the moment.

Any reports on the VFL yesterday? Heard Hawkins kicked another bag, can't beleive we have a player of that calibre who can't be slotted into the side...Lonners just looking too good at the moment!

quote=The Governor;12254798 Wendy,

We have a weakness down at the backline and opposition sides will exploit it to the tilt. Without Matthew Egan in the side, we are an actual tall man short.
And, Geelong coaches will devise tactics to work - as they have since Egan was injured: result - one loss.
People forget that Matthew Egan makes Tom Harley walk an extra 5 inches tall!!
Ridiculous. Is the Geelong backline better with Egan in? Yes. Is he missed? Yes. Is he critical to Cats success or Harley playing better? The answer is in the records - NO.
IF we do play Hawthorn in the GF or Preliminary Final, the following forward and backline matchups will occur:

Scarlett on Buddy
Milburn on Roughhead
Hunt on Mark Williams

Is Tom Harley or Harry Taylor capable of picking up a damaging key position forward?
This question has to be answered in the heat of the battle.
You may be right, but I'm confident that we will have the right game plan and setup. After all, EVERY other team has to work out how to shut Geelong down, and at the same time how to kick a winning score.
And, if you recall last year's prelim final against Collingwood, Tom Harley's finishing skills off the right and left foot were not 100% accurate.
Same could be said of many Cats in that game.
Andrew Jarman has a point. He played AFL football and his younger brother Darren hit his targets with precision on all occasions!!
So, they were better by foot than Tom? Your point is?
And, Brent Prisnall does remind me of a young Darren Jarman.

THE GOVERNOR

GEELONG FOR BACK TO BACK FLAGS!!

There is only one way for us to lose this chance: Arrogance; the inability to outhink the opposition when they throw a "curveball" and the failure to adhere to team processes and rules that have been successful for the past 18 months.
Pay attention please. Bomber and the boys are clearly focused on another cup and have not shown even the slightest trace of arrogance.
A lot of hard work remains, and if/when they win this year it will be a(nother) hard earned premiership, irrespective of all the bull**** to the contrary ("it was easy for Geelong, no challengers" etc etc - that rubbish really gets on my goat).

I agree with Wendy.....:)

1st Qualifying Final that never was.