Griffin

astro_toby

Sep 30, 2004
hey all,

word is this kid wants out - gotta admit i know **** all about him - except he is a ruckman (and the tigs need a ruckman)

whats an honest opinion on this bloke? Meesen phase 2? what would his trade worth be to you guys.

not trolling - just asking the question, its september:eek:

Re: Griffen

He is contracted.

He doesn't want out

He is our top 2 ruckman.

He is unlikely to be traded.

as i said, im not trolling - just asking the question.

i've read he wants out in the papers quite a few times, so thats why i have assumed as much

Where are you getting your "word" from?

As far as I can tell it's one of those BF rumours that has no basis except for some troll putting two and two together to come up with 5 and every other gullible idiot on the forum jumping on board.

I notice Ben Rutten had a stellar season with Carlton:rolleyes:

hey all,

word is this kid wants out - gotta admit i know **** all about him - except he is a ruckman (and the tigs need a ruckman)

whats an honest opinion on this bloke? Meesen phase 2? what would his trade worth be to you guys.

As he's contracted the Tiges would have to pay above market value. Prob a late first round draft pick as ruckmen don't come cheaply

dont really know that much about him, so wouldn't know if thats a good deal or not.

for a first rounder though, i would prefer someone who is a bit more proven than griffen is - Ottens went for 12 & 16 and he is probably the best ruckman going round these days.

With all the ruckman you have lost over the past few years though - i am not surprised that you would want to drive a real hard bargain on any others that "want" to apparently leave

dont really know that much about him, so wouldn't know if thats a good deal or not.

for a first rounder though, i would prefer someone who is a bit more proven than griffen is - Ottens went for 12 & 16 and he is probably the best ruckman going round these days.

With all the ruckman you have lost over the past few years though - i am not surprised that you would want to drive a real hard bargain on any others that "want" to apparently leave

Remember Collingwood gave a first rounder for Wood last year. I think it was pick 12. So I would think Griff would be worth high teens

As far as I can tell it's one of those BF rumours that has no basis except for some troll putting two and two together to come up with 5 and every other gullible idiot on the forum jumping on board.

I notice Ben Rutten had a stellar season with Carlton:rolleyes:

the Griff trade is happening in Perth as well, attached to Warnock trades

hey all,

Ah no Meesen is the worst player on an AFL list.

While Griffin is a good player, and has shown it playing AFL footy.

Its on the backpage of the West.... Rumors around Freo have offered him 1 mill over 3 seasons doubling his Crows deal

Jesus... I hope that's not true.

Nice way to give me a heart attack!

As pointed out by jo172 and Vince Van Mackay its Griffin.

Mate, I read the thread and thought "Griffen from the Dogs wants to come home? Shit yes!"

firstly I don't know if its true, and neither does anyone else.

BUT consider this: if you were Freo, and you were losing Warnock, what would you do? would you sit on your hands waiting to be ravaged by the PSD, or would you look around for similar young ruck replacements who might be interested in coming home?

of course you would. and in that situation, what are the odds that you haven't at least even thought about Griffin? somewhere between zero and none I'd have thought.

If we were freo supporters, we'd be outraged if we weren't trying to see if Griffin is interested in coming home. and if you're Griffin, don't kid yourself that your head couldn't be turned, everyone likes to be wanted, courted, and if that were backed up by a big contract and all the faith that came with it...

bottom line, it might not be true but it is a little too plausible to think it hasn't crossed freo's mind, or that Griffin and his manager might not at least listen. and if they listen, then that is what starts rumours.

...and thats how little i know about him;)

all fixed:)

To answer your original question, he's probably the best genuine ruckman on our list, is quality in the centre square and has great potential. Has struggled to run out seasons in the past 2 years however, with another pre-season should be able to run out a whole season. IMO with the right offer he's not untradeable, although if that offer doesn't come up he's contracted and hence we keep him, no worries.

He is contracted.

He doesn't want out

He is our top 2 ruckman.

He is unlikely to be traded.

Thank god there is some sanity in this thread. :thumbsu:

Other teams can want, Griffin can even want, but the facts are he's contracted and IMO he'll be a Crow next year.

He was our No 1 ruckman for the first half of the year before injuring his hip. During that time we dominated the clearances because Griffin is an excellent tap ruckman and gave us first use of the ball.

Moran and Tippett will be KPP's - both back and forward for Moran and forward for Tippett.

Maric and Griffin will be our 2 ruckmen - and they are by far our best 2 as well.

Why would Adelaide trade a Contracted player who is essential to their future and is improving year by year?

Won't happen IMO.

Griffin