Merged Draft Threads - Part 3

Re: U/18 gf

Scully and Sidebottom going well .

The trouble is thats its ok to be King of the Kids like some of them are but can they perform at the AFL level : ie Palmer , Rioli etc

Thats why i like Robinson ( Tas 18's ) and Cockie ( Subiaco )

Re: Yarran Targeted by Dons

If they wanted him at 5, they wouldn't be talking in the media about it.

Yeah I find it interesting that'd they're talking about some of them & taking looks at the draft so early on that features on our website.

You seem quietly confident that if Hurley's there at five we'll most probably pick him up, do you know something we don't? Or are you like most of us, taking some educated guesses?

nah.
listening to it on radio instead. SEN1116 are doing it live. :thumbsu:

very disappointed they aren't doing the game at the MCG tomorrow morning, because i am going to the GF and always enjoy watching the U18s GF before the big game.

Rockliff. i remember him from last year. very surprised he wasn't picked up. he's a very influential forward. takes marks, kicks goals, gets heaps of stats. i've heard people describe him as a Steve Johnson type, but i think he's more Brad Johnson than StevieJ. if there's 1 player i want from today's game, it's him.

Zabiell. don't know much about Zabiell, and still don't. i wouldn't even know what he looked like. haven't heard his name called a lot, but the commentators all rate his draft prospects.

I heard Ziebell's name quite a bit late first quarter, early second when I turned on SEN for my drive home, sounded like he got a few clearances in a short period and kicked it inside 50 a couple of times, didn't hear him hit a target though... hard to tell via radio though. Commentator said he'd go around the same as Sidebottom, between 6-15... don't know if that means much.

Steele another goal he now has 24 disposals 6 goals 10 inside 50s and he kicked the last goal from 50 :eek: looks good and preforms in finals any chance for a second round pick now

Re: Yarran Targeted by Dons

That's the most important part of the article I reckon. If he thinks he has similar talent to Paddy Ryder and he is a rare type of player, I'd have no issues with nabbing him at pick 5. He looks so smooth with the ball in his hands, shows good goal sense and applies good defensive pressure. The only concern with Yarren from my point of view is his fitness. I wouldn't think he'd be able to play over a half of footy in the midfield and if the supply didn't come to the forwards enough throughout the match, he wouldn't have any effect on the game at all. Interesting to see the lead up thus far, at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

I've heard the name Trengrove (sp?) thrown about a little bit, will he drop to 2nd round? I've never seen him, kp?

Sidebottom killing it here: 20+ possessions and 6 goals. He is great overhead, is silky on both sides and doesn't mind the hard stuff. Not to mention he kicked a left foot goal from 50m out.

As far as pick 5 goes, it's between Hartlett ,Hurley and Sidebottom for me.

EDIT: Sidebottom 7 goals and 25 touches, and it's not even three quarter time!!!

I never really watch the up and coming kids play but enjoy reading the reports from some of our posters.

I am only watching today's game because it is live on Fox.

From what i have seen Sidebottom looks an amazing talent.

Highly skilled on both sides of his body and a great overhead mark for his size. Also a dead straight kick for goal.

I also like the look of a few others such as Ziebell and the kid that looks like Thomas (number 13)

I reckon you guys are now in the box seat for Sidebottom:mad:. He will be an be absolute super star! Maybe though will go in the top 2 or 3 though.

we must take sidebottom after todays effort
He's had an amazing game, but you don't choose someone based off one performance.

Was just about to post the same thing RIG, though Sidebottom has been named in the best a fair few times as well throughout the TAC Cup season on top of today's great performance.

Anyone have Ziebell stats? I'm not to worried about his disposal rate because when he touches the ball, he always uses it beautifully.

Was just about to post the same thing RIG, though Sidebottom has been named in the best a fair few times as well throughout the TAC Cup season on top of today's great performance.

Anyone have Ziebell stats? I'm not to worried about his disposal rate because when he touches the ball, he always uses it beautifully
Not sure of how many touches he had, but i barely noticed him. At the end of the game, one of the commentators said something like "Another solid performance by Ziebell", but i thought he was very disappointing.

He may have been carrying an injury, and he did some nice things but to me, he didn't stand out much at all

Merged Draft Threads - Part 3