della

what a joke he is, i mean us supporters r a joke, we all wanted him out of the 07 granny we sack King then feel sorry for Blake, i feel sorry for him to, sorry that he cant play footy, hes a joke, we all laugh at him during the year and think its a joke, it want a joke yday, 4 touches and no influence on the game at all, i am hopimg mumford or west can step us cause this bloke is no god and cant be relied to perform in finals.

he is oke just in the centre square
i think the game has moved on from there, where a ruckman needs to add more to a game than just that

In a number of games we lose momentum when blake is in the ruck, so he needs to take responsibility for that. Having said that Renouf was shit too, but he is a lot younger than Blake.

To mind, next year is pretty pivitol for Blake, as he needs to show he can stand up, as he is very expensive as a second ruck. I think mummford would have assisted the onballers with some protection from the snippers.

Preseason should be fun.

Mark Blake

Drafted: 2003

Debut: 2005

Games: 58

West
Drafted:2005
Debut:2008
Games: 6

Mumford
Drafted: 2007
Debut: 2008
Games: 3

1 It takes a long while to develop a good ruckman, he's improved immensley from last season

2 You lose hope too quickly. But I am not surprised. Band wagon was full in 2007. No room for you.

m8 i am no bandwagon fan, been to every game under bomber thompson except 1 perth trip when my sister got married, but as of yday i am now only a person who barracks for geelong, i will no longer support them finacially, they lost me for life yday and that hurts...

Mark Blake

West

Mumford

1 It takes a long while to develop a good ruckman, he's improved immensley from last season

2 You lose hope too quickly. But I am not surprised. Band wagon was full in 2007. No room for you.

it is not that, as i said renouf was shocking too.

In a number of games we lose momentum when he is in the ruck, and 24 is no spring chicken. When Mummford had a few games, he threw himself around. As for West he is too short, and does not have the goodes type run for a shorter ruckman.

m8 i am no bandwagon fan, been to every game under bomber thompson except 1 perth trip when my sister got married, but as of yday i am now only a person who barracks for geelong, i will no longer support them finacially, they lost me for life yday and that hurts...

I haven't been to a game since 2006 (try feeding a family on one wage). When I was going to the footy, most of the supporters around me went there to bag out the team. :thumbsd:. You're a band wagon supporter.

You have every right to be angry, but I think you're carrying on a bit silly here.

You have totally jumped off your team based on one loss.

That is the exact definition of a bandwagon supporter.

u keep supporting that rabble m8, pathetic...

A rabble who has lost 3 games in 18 months. :rolleyes:

I'm as gutted as the next bloke, but you are a ****ing disgrace. You're probably one of those supporters who aren't satisfied with a 59 point win because it wasn't 10 goals.

It's amazing what some people expect when it's been handed to them on a platter for so long.

yday we could of got rid of so many demons from the past but as geelong do we fall away in big matches esp vs hawks
blake and lonergan dont deserve to ever have a premiership medal

Geelong will not be hurt by losing your support.

mate your sounding like a big sook try being a richmond fan.

It's understandable that everyone felt so sorry for him last year, but I would have thought that he had something to prove today. It's not like the Hawks duo are anything all that brilliant, so to have returns of only four possessions for the day is nothing short of pathetic. That said though, it was noted that our players often refused to kick it to him, looking for other options instead. This means that they obviously have no faith in his ability to play football and he is nothing more than a passenger. Big questions will be asked of this bloke during the off season.

A rabble who has lost 3 games in 18 months. :rolleyes:

I'm as gutted as the next bloke, but you are a ****ing disgrace. You're probably one of those supporters who aren't satisfied with a 59 point win because it wasn't 10 goals.

It's amazing what some people expect when it's been handed to them on a platter for so long.

Totally agree Fugsy.

Della, dry your eyes princess, build a bridge or whatever. The team lost, it is footy. So what. Get over it.

I will no doubt support the club yet again, couldn't think of a better thing to do. Also will continue to support the September club, and I'm buying an AFL membership also with club support.

They are my club, I love them through thick and thin. It is obvious that you're disappointed, so are we all. How about being adult about it and be a favourable loser instead of a sore one. Alike the team, be gratious in defeat, it is more sweeter when the win eventually comes!

Mark Blake

West

Mumford

Back in 1987, Hawthorn were smashed in the 1987 Grand FInal against Carlton. They were smashed in the centre clearances. Allan Jeans made a phone call to John "Sammy" Newman in 1988 to teach Greg Dear and Paul Abbott the art of ruckwork and centre clearance strategies etc.

Hawthorn won back to back flags in 1988-1989. Greg Dear became a dominant ruckman in 1988!!

Brad Ottens is clearly Geelong's best number 1 tap on ruckman. He played an oustanding game.

Mark Blake may need some special tutelage from former Cat great Damian Bourke or Sammy Newman to fast track his development as an AFL ruckman.

What really suprises me is Geelong does not have a ruck coach since the end of the 2004 season. Damian Bourke was Geelong's ruck coach during the 2004 season, and he went AWOL!!

Should not it be time for Bomber to call Damian Bourke?

Darren Flanigan is Collingwood's ruck coach whilst Simon Madden is St Kilda's ruck coach.

THE GOVERNOR

What really suprises me is Geelong does not have a ruck coach since the end of the 2004 season. Damian Bourke was Geelong's ruck coach during the 2004 season, and he went AWOL!!

Should not it be time for Bomber to call Damian Bourke?

Bourke didn't go AWOL.He left because his business commitments increased and he lives in Brisbane.

What about Mark Seaby. Same age as Blake and when Cox isnt in the side dominates the ruck for us. (Plays shit house when playing 2nd fiddle to Cox though)

He is a dead straight kick aswell so you can rest him up forward knowing he can kick goals.

What about Mark Seaby. Same age as Blake and when Cox isnt in the side dominates the ruck for us. (Plays shit house when playing 2nd fiddle to Cox though)

He is a dead straight kick aswell so you can rest him up forward knowing he can kick goals.

hypothetical......who or what would you want for him?

Well thats the thing. We only played him about 4 times this yr and it was just backing up Cox in the ruck (As i said he plays shit when Cox plays) So his value has gone down hill big time. Not to sure what WC would want but it would probably just involve upgrading draft picks.

I like the fact that hes a dead staright kick (from what ive seen) hed be a great no2 from a top line club I think.

Jesus Christ there are some absolute muppets on here.

For starters suggesting Blake needs a ruck coach is absurd - he averages 21 hitouts a game. Secondly, while he played an ordinary, ordinary game yesterday he's still credited with 2 clearances; Bartel and Corey got 3. He's easily the best second ruck in the competition and has plenty of improvement left in him.

I'm disappointed with Mark Blake. If it was twenty years ago, he may not be so bad. But in today's football, you cannot have a ruckman like Blake playing the game. His kicking and disposal is poor, he doesn't pick up many kicks around the ground, and he can't be played in another spot on the ground. We can't put him up forward, for example, because of his poor kicking.

Also, when Ottens was out earlier this year, we lost the hitouts every week. It was only our stellar midfield which kept other teams from thrashing us in clearances. Blake had all those weeks to show himself as a possible No. 1 ruckman (which he will be expected to be the day Ottens retires) but he failed to dominate ruck hitouts. Brad Ottens is a better ruckman, but if Blake could ruck better, we could then use Ottens up forward more often. Also, I cannot think of one game where Mark Blake has got three votes. He barely picks up a Brownlow vote.

Yesterday, Blake was hardly used in the ruck. We could have had him ruck, and then throw Ottens up forward to stretch Hawthorn's defence. It would have also forced Clakson to move Campbell Brown back to the backline, taking away a forward option. So Blake isn't played at all in the Grand Final last year, and wasn't allowed to ruck yesterday, which makes me think that "Bomber" questions whether Blake can deliver on Grand Final. Well, I think, either commit to the guy, or trade him. We could get another young ruckman, who can kick, pick up kicks around the ground, has great disposal and can play up forward or down back. But Blake isn't the answer.