The SEN Thread 4

At 720 this morning the boys announced their top 10 and said "Please call in to discuss what you think of our top 10, we love compliments, discussion or anything"

I cringed at the next 10 minutes of radio

"Why no Richo"
"Buddy are you kidding?"

And the knobs that call in........ffs

At 720 this morning the boys announced their top 10 and said "Please call in to discuss what you think of our top 10, we love compliments, discussion or anything"

I cringed at the next 10 minutes of radio

"Why no Richo"
"Buddy are you kidding?"

And the knobs that call in........ffs

when there's no afl to talk about what do certain hosts do? talk about afl using top 10s or player x vs player y to fill in time.

A topic that annoys the crap out of me that happens every year after the Grand Final and that is "what will you do with your life without AFL for the next 6 months?" This topic is raised every year and bores me senseless.

If a person has other interests, the time should go real quick...

The spring carnival is upon us, then Xmas and family things,and as i'm not into the cricket, the tennis is next, not long after, the NAB cup starts............then before you know it...whoohoo!! the footy season is here again!!

A topic that annoys the crap out of me that happens every year after the Grand Final and that is "what will you do with your life without AFL for the next 6 months?" This topic is raised every year and bores me senseless.

I think it's a very valid question. I mean there's cricket of course but nothing else of any consequence.

Good ol' Dave called the gladiators the other night and revealed he had problems with law enforcement in Asia. Making accusations that the police had given him a hiding. Call was quickly dispensed with:confused:

Turfology VII

Turf-speak:D

I can understand how you can dance like that in the studio when it's just you and me, but there's people watching you dancing in this OB. …
- Turfy's on-going chagrin at KB's dancing doing intro theme.

[G]ot two-bob from a farmer and led the cow around; and off ya went to see Vanessa the Undressor again
- on going to the Royal Show as a kid and running out of money

That's a no-no, Kevin. You wouldn't understand this because your hand's never been in the vicinity of your pocket. …
- on KB announcing Doug Hawkins had won big on Adam Cooney winning the Brownlow

So you're not in a jacuzzi, you're under a sprinkler at the minute
- on discovering from Doug Hawkins there was no big win

I know blokes that have won tatts and never told their wives
- on further discovering from an ambiguous Doug Hawkins there was, maybe, a big win

I had to do the only thing I could do, she's going to boarding school in Siberia for this term, and she's not happy about it
- on Turfy’s eldest daughter barracking for Hawthorn because of Buddy Franklin

And also, congratulations to the TAB website, they've launched a new website last week, so congratulations to the TAB for doing that. They've got the WORLD'S FIRST Internet website powered by peddling monkeys. Well Done!
- on Turfy's least favourite betting organization.

Serious Turf:mad:

Further to the TAB website. It's about time that Elmer Funke Kupper and Robert Nason, one [or] the two of them, the two head honchos there at TABcorp gave a press conference and explained to the public cause we've heard five weeks of rubbish from them about what was being done. … The TAB website is failing on the weekends, every weekend… Kevin it's been five weeks. It has not been fixed! It was no better last Saturday than it was a month ago. It is incomprehensible how the new website could have been launched with these problems. It is mind boggling. But that is the substandard service we've expected from them. One hoped it was going to change with the new hierarchy there. But this is astonishingly inept. … And it's costing the industry a lot of money.
- Turfy yet again on his beloved TAB website

Bad luck if you were trying to watch in on Channel Nine because they had the late news on and they gave the score away before the broadcast began - the morons. Because the news is done from Sydney … it's just not good enough
- on the Victorian free-to-air Rugby League coverage.

Mea Culpa, Turfy?:eek:

I'm tellin' ya - Asafa's got him covered
- on Usain Bolt's chance of winning at Beijing.

The winner's gonna be Geelong
- GF prediction

We are coming into what I call the silly season at SEN..

Hopefully they have sorted out their programming issues this year, and we dont have to put up with repeats and more repeats..

Already happening ,
They are shutting down even earlier on the weekends now by the looks if last night is anything to go by:thumbsdown:.
Midnight Saturday and its goodbye and close down with bullshit replays , at least during the AFL season they would continue to around 2am most weekends with English soccer scores and other sport but last night Phillips and Spider said bye and then a few minutes later some twit says sorry for a technical difficulty which is followed by the Best of replays.
Just a joke to say SEN is Melbournes home of sport 24/7 , not on weekends it isnt try 18/7.
This is my beef as to why we cant get the English Talking Sport played across after SEN closes shop for the night and has bullshit replays.
The decision makers at SEN dont have a clue at times:confused: , tell me if more people would be listening for live sport scores - 12.15 am Sat night or Tues Wednesday at 2.00 am when SEN think it is important enough and are live .

By the way if you are like me and like to know whats happening in the English soccer or any cricket overseas , like when Australia and India might be playing in the weekend midnight hrs.
Flick your radio tuner down to 1026 am , I do not know the stations name I think it is the blind radio.
Whatever after SEN closes shop they have a really good sports program with lots of English soccer and other sport score updates.
SEN it is quite a joke that loyal and regular listeners like myself are forced to go elsewhere because you have no idea of how " to service the client " thats sales talk !!

Yes, in my sleepy state last night, I think at some point i was listening to KB and Dr. Turf....or it might have been Robbo....either way, I knew it was a repeat:mad:

I no longer listen to SEN on sunday Arvo's lol ...

I can't stand Matt Thompson as that host, he has no personality whatsoever and is rather annoying, and he sounds like a sanctimionous Geroge Pell whenever a controversial subject is brought UP, IE last week Lance Armstrong was accused of embarrissing the Tour De France, fair enough I thought, but poor precious Matty had a sook about that ...

Morning Glory’s Week Of Turfology

Turfology VIII

Turf-speak

Well it’s an honour to be here audience-building for Kevin Bartlett
- On being back as fill-in on Morning Glory.

Just another player I suppose that’s gonna end up on the board of Visy
- On ruckman and Carlton’s interest in Robert Warnock

Whatya pay ‘em in cardboard do ya?
- On Jason Richardson's claim that Carlton don’t pay a lot of money to their younger players.

He must keep looking around his neck, Simon Taylor, for the premiership medal
- On the trade-week interest in the Hawks Simon Taylor

I’ll reckon he’ll get 20 years. He’ll get three for armed robbery, he’ll get two for the kidnapping, and he’ll get fifteen for gettin’ away with the last one
- on OJ Simpson’s possible sentence

She was reviewing the Benalla races and writing down some form comments for me. She know’s what side her bread’s buttered on
- Turfy’s explanation for going to bed before his kids and his seven-year-old being up late

Turfy’s “Cynical” Take
I’ve just been sitting down thinking about journos and sports commentators in Australia over the past number of years. I think there’s too much fence sitting… And I’ve had enough of it. There’s so many issues in sport, in football alone. There’s serious issues involving the governing body and clubs; the performance of coaches, the performance of players; there’s all these sorts of issues, and I don’t think there’s a great deal of honesty displayed by the respective media.

I don’t think there’s enough clinical analysis of it and no one seems to have the guts to come out and say what they’re thinking. And it’s no different up there in NSW. There’s a bloke up there called Ray Hadley. Friendless - Ray Hadley, they call him. And this bloke’s the world’s greatest fence-sitter, and I’ll give you an example of his performance on the weekend. Talk about fence-sitting, he won’t give his opinion on anything. ;) (Doc has his tongue firmly in his cheek)

Hadley audio:
I think Melbourne shot themselves in the foot. Firstly, their conduct, and they can blue about whether Cameron Smith should’ve been suspended, but accusing the judiciary of being complicit in some sort of rort, was a disgrace. And then the efforts by their chief executive, just snubbing his nose - all they wanted, those three decent men, four, if you include the judge whose a good man, the district court judge, Greg Woods [names other three] …required was a sincere apology. And that melon head (Brian Waldron] didn’t do it. So all that talk all the week was about that, and I think it detracted from their performance today. The talk today was ’we’ll apologize after the game.’ Well, that was on the basis they were gonna win. Lets see if the apology comes now, but it won’t be accepted anyway by the judiciary. I’ve spoken to one of them; they’ll be jamming it up them as far as they can in relations to legal proceedings - good luck to them.
I really think it was a blunder by a chief executive in rugby league whose got L-plates on. And he showed his L-plates attitude all through the week. The L-plates are on his big fat behind and they stuck out for everyone to see. And I think the coach tumbled into him. The coach thought he was a mug before, I wonder if the coach thinks he’s now a mug now.
(not altogether unlike Putz Smith? But definitely un-Doran like)

Tommy, Turfy, and the Other Guy
An insightful :)rolleyes:) interview between Jason Richardson, Turfy and rugby league stalwart, Tommy Raudonikis.

T.R.: Geez, I’ve had a big night, too

Turf: Is the antipathy … the hatred against the Melbourne Storm that’s been permeating through the entire Sydney media … is that because of the Judiciary and the way Melbourne responded to the suspension of Cameron Smith…?

T.R.: I think it’s more than that, too. … All Bellamy had to do was shut his gob, ya know. … The thing is we don’t like you blokes. We don’t like Melbourne people

J.R.: Why? What did we do to you, Tommy!?

T.R.: I told ya, when I drove the cabs. I knew in three minutes where they come (sic) from. Victorians whinge, they aorrrr- honestly guys

Turf: Well just as long as you’re not making any generalisations, Tommy, we’ll accept that

T.R.: There’s only one good bloke whose come out of bloody Melbourne and that was Teddy Whitten…

Turf: The only decent Melbourne person you’ve ever met, Tom?

T.R.: Ever met, ever met, ever met. And ah, me, me, me mate’s horse broke down on Saturdee (sic) and ah-

Turf: And the relevance to that to this discussion?

T.R.: Ah no, me mate, Singo, he’s from NSW

Turf: Oh, Singo’s mate. Sorry. Yeah. He’s a battler:)rolleyes:)

T.R.: Yeah, yeah, she bled the other day (still talking about the horse). Ya know, very sad. Hey, what happened to Weekend Hustler, boys? Any reason there why she ran bad?

Turf: Now we’ve rang you to talk about the reaction to the Melbourne Storm and you’ve brought up Singo-

T.R.: Who cares about Melbourne? Who cares about Melbourne? You blokes don’t care about me. But listen guys, I wouldn’t mind gettin’ down there and havin’ a talk to you Melbourne people one day, and ah-

Turf: And what lesson would you like to impart upon us?

T.R.: To, just some good manners and that … some decorum

J.R.: Enjoy the win, Tommy…

T.R.: Guys, listen, it’s been a pleasure to talk to youse, anyway

Turf: Yes!

J.R.: There is Tommy Raudonikis, NRL legend. Whata great banner person he is for the NRL. [bold emphasis added]

(now back from a commercial break with a summation of a truly not-awesome interview :rolleyes:)

J.R.: We had Tommy Raudonikis on and Turfy can you summarize some of the thoughts on our - our SMS machine has got five pages of comments in regards to Tommy Raudonikis!

Turf: I’ll read one out that says that “Tommy is living proof that rugby players should wear helmets.” That is the kindest one of the five pages of SMS’s that we’ve had regarding Tommy Raudonikis’ comments.

The Pearls of Wisdom
You don’t need an education in life to kick on. You go to the racetrack and that’s all the education you need. Mathematics, social sciences, geography, weather, it embraces all, the racing industry. You learn everything about life from the one sport.
- Doctor Turf

Turfy is golden to listen too!!! This bloke is a gun, how does he not have a regular hosting gig on SEN?

Morning Glory’s Week Of Turfology

Turfology IX

Turf-speak

I think if you can get up a 4:30 every morning and the first person that you run into, morning in - morning out, for three or four years is Kevin Bartlett, I think you can cope with anything
- On years of doing breakfast radio with KB

I may have an Australian passport but my pocket is a citizen of the world. I’m not going to be there watching the cricket wearing a turban, eating curry
- On being un-Australian by betting on India against the Australians in cricket

As a punter I was never a fan of Werribee, we used to call it the Bermuda Triangle
- On betting at the now-closed Werribee racetrack

I’m not a fan of vegetarian food or stuff like that. I always figured if it’s green, it’s off
- On mixing vegetarian sauces on the barbecue with meats

Oh, what about “the hands in the back” rule
- On Kevin Bartlett never having done anything un-Australian in his entire life

Richo and Turfy are great in the morning.

I caught the start of the show on Monday and they started off by saying something like..."Firstly we'd like to thank Andy, Tim and Bill for filling in for us over the past 3 months"

Never truer words spoken